Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling all English teachers

Options
  • 19-04-2021 12:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12

Hi all,

I'm looking to start training as an English and history teacher in the coming months(fingers crossed). I'm actually 39(yikes) and it's being over a decade since I got my degree, so i'm a little rusty.

I've reviewed the course syllabus for English and done some self examination and to be honest found some gaps in my general/technical knowledge, in particular with poetry and theatre.

Can anyone recommend good(ideally one volume) books that can help me improve my knowledge in these areas?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

Firstly it's going to be hard to get a job with those subjects.
    You will be in college for 2 years and reading lots of academic bull****. Though to be fair some of it will be relevant.
    That will occupy you.
    You will be probably be doing mostly JC for teaching practice
    Study the curriculum and then buy and read a good JC textbook. In English id try Kingdom. Can't recall the publisher. Then read the Shakespeare plays again and a few of the novels
    At JC level it's very basic for theatre and poetry. Trust me.
    The JC exam is so random you might not even get drama on it-or poetry.
    You are dealing with kids. Not university students.
    Look at the JC exam for English and you will be shocked at the drop in level and we had to fight to keep honours English at JC level.