Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship (Liam McCarthy Cup) 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

That's true. But people are not just predicting a winner based on that game they are going on what they have sent all championship.

Limerick as favourites but with Cork having a decent shout is more than a fair enough call. Limerick are definitely favourites and losing would be an upset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭lukin

I am not saying Limerick won't beat Cork, I won't be at all surprised if they do. But if you look at what I outlined in my post, history is actually against them. So Cork being such massive underdogs doesn't make sense. They are underdogs for sure, but not to the degree the media are making them out to be.

Tipp had Kilkenny to contend with and Galway came very close.

The Cork and KK teams you are talking about were exceptional generational teams and the hope would be in Limerick that this is a golden generation. The fact that Tipp,Clare or Galway could not do back to back has absolutely zero, zero bearing on who will win between Cork and Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

‘Limerick will fear Cork’

Why am I hearing this absolute shite so much????

I am from Cork and I don't think this is true. Limerick won't fear Cork, Cork won't fear Limerick either. Once the ball is thrown in past games don't enter player's heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Listing to the GAA hour

Paul Murphy saying 'Kilkenny never dived or anything when they were hit' when questioned about the diving in the Limerick vs Waterford match

needed a laugh

I get the feeling this is how most Limerick and Cork people feel.

Most of the pure waffle on here is coming from other counties

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Exactly this. With sports psychology now previous games wont come into anyones head because its wasted energy. You can only influence the present and future. The history of cork and limerick wont matter a jot come sunday week. John fentons goal, tomas mulcahys juggle in 92, the rocks shoulder in 01, horgans sending off in 2013, limericks win in 2018, corks win in 2019 and most definitely limericks win last month have no bearing on Sunday week.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭One_More_Mile

you should lump in on Cork so, you'll get 3 to 1 easy money. Maybe even borrow a couple of grand to maximise your investment. Post up the docket there before you cash in after the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Got them at 10/1 before the Clare game, which is when I entered the form. 100 to win a handy grand, like Italy

If people don't like my comments, fair enough. I'm not from Cork, just incase people think I give them a bad name. Just like how they play, how hurling should be played imo. But don't want people criticising Cork people over what I say, I'm not from there, just wish them the best. The last true hurling county imo

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭raindodger

Like all limerick people hope this team can tag on a number of all irelands if not they owe us nothing.

BUT any body from all the other hurling counties should be hoping we nip the cork revolution in the bud because otherwise winter is coming for us all.Just look at the conveyer belt of talent coming through fair dues to them

• Registered Users Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭blackcard

I think most "nuetrals" would like to see Patrick Horgan win an All Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭One_More_Mile

Yes we have a lot of good young players coming through (Jack Leahy last night for the minors is just one) but that is no guarantee of senior success.

Full credit to the unsung heroes who have trained all those young lads over the last few years. We just have to wait and see how good they can become though.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Col. Blackbeard

"The last true hurling county" Can I ask, what do you mean by that?

Also, you state that Cork play hurling "how hurling should be played" do you mean from a tactical and/or results perspective or from an entertainment perspective? I ask since a significant portion of the Cork-Kilkenny game was a poor spectacle, largely due to how Cork play the game

I think Canning is the best ever, all around, but from a pure level of players taking a punt for a point, I've never seen a man hit so many ridiculous impossible points over the bar. Freak ability to put impossible shots over the bar, generally from over 50 yards. The Alex Higgins of hurling, in the sense of the single point scorer, Horgan scores the ridiculous

Don't know how to take a photo and upload it tbh, just look at my posting history tbh. There's many bluffer's in the world, I'm not one of them, just look at my Italy predictions in the euros before the tournament started.

As much as I dislike him, I think even external association or whatever his name is would verify this. He's knowledgeable, just never seems to agree with me for some reason :( haha. He's called me up on Cork everytime since the Clare game, was just never right haha :). But I'd think he'd verify this ha

• Registered Users Posts: 34 AllSquare

Looking forward to the final now. I know limerick are favorites and rightly so but I think galway have a great chance. They were excellent in the league.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What you classify as a poor spectacle, I would classify as a fantastic, close, entertaining game that I would gladly pay money to see, again and again.

If you wanted a poor spectacle (for various reasons)you should have watched the game on Saturday by comparison.

I may be totally biased, but Cork v Kilkenny was a cracker in my eyes, how you classify it as a poor spectacle for the most part, is hard to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Limerick are proven winners..they've been there and done it...twice.

Their performances this season coupled with their experience has them justifiable favourites against Cork.

Cork are still a work in progress and will be delighted to have reached an AI Final.

Cork's main asset is pace but they need to stay within a couple of points of Limerick entering the final quarter to have any chance or Limerick will just close the game out and win easily.

If Cork can manage that then their pace will trouble Limerick as bodies tire and the game becomes disjointed as happened against KK.

Fear won't come into it from either side.

Btw I'm from Cork and while my heart says Cork all logic points to Limerick and I'll be more hopeful than expectant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,169 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

I can't believe Canning retired with a final to come.

All joking aside, what has slipped under the radar for many is how quickly Patrick Horgan is catching Shefflin and Canning in the All time scorer charts. He is now 29 behind HS and only 31 behind JC. After the final he could be close enough to take the lead next time out - but he will probably need two more games post final. If he plays next year he's very likely to overtake both. I hope he doesn't become all time top scorer whilst being without a Celtic Cross - but it's very possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

think I read somewhere that Horgan is the all time top scorer from play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Are you ok.? Did you get your second moderna shot yesterday...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Thought the first half was fairly turgid myself other than a few lovely points from Horgan. Second half and extra time were excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭mohawk

I definitely think there is a real chance of a dominant Cork team about to emerge. All the signs of it are there. Especially as there is rebuilding to be done in Tipp and Kilkenny. I think ye took longer then you should have to get your act together. It takes years for the hard work to pay off at Senior level.

I am from Limerick and hope this year isn’t Corks year. The Limerick lads have already achieved more then any of us dared imagine. We know this team won’t be around forever and we will be back to not being contenders.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Your average age is still about 24/25 not counting Nicky Quaid. I don't think ye're gone anywhere for a long time yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭OEP

It was a great game because it was close, but in terms of pace and skills, lagged well behind what Limerick showed in the semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Cork are only now becoming competitive at the business end in hurling after years of not being so. Its still quite a long way to go from that to actually being dominant. As of yet, they haven't done anything particularly special. Lost badly to Limerick, beat Dublin, Clare and KK is a decent year, but they have done nothing yet this year that a few other teams couldn't have done. Bad and all as Tipp were, if we had muddled over Waterford somehow (undeservingly, but it wasn't that far off), I'd have given us a good chance of beating KK.

There is no sign of Limerick going anywhere for quite a while. While their u20 team was beaten by Cork this year, I'd be surprised if they don't get a couple of seniors off it in the future - I'd actually not be surprised to see a few of them play in the league next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Something I'm so, so sick of reading/hearing at the moment is talks about the '1st quarter, 3rd quarter'.... etc

There is no such thing as a quarter in Hurling/Football etc. Similarly when Soccer had a water break they didn't refer to them as quarters. Sooner that stops, the better. 'The infamous Limerick third quarter' Donal Óg said...what??

People seem to like to use the terms to sound intuitive or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Agree 100% with this.

I always shout for the team playing against Tipp, Cork and Kilkenny.

Even if I am not mad on the overphysical style of hurling shown by this Limerick team

Horgan's appointment as referee for the final will suit Limerick down to the ground as they will be free to blow the Cork lads out of it without too many frees being blown for illegal play

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

They will be no one blowing this Cork team away. They held their ground against Kilkenny who would be one of the most physical teams to play hurling. Come up with something else. The pace of Cork will trouble Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

We have Cathal ONeill and Colm Coughlan playing U20 and for the seniors. There 2 very talented players..

Age doesn't always translate into further success though. that 2013 Clare side was incredibly young for example. It's incredibly hard for amateur athletes to give what needs to be given to stay at the top of the tree.

Ah come on now, that was a bang average Kilkenny team. They stumbled over Wexford and beat a depleted Dublin side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Limerick's physicality is on a different level to Kilkennys. In my opinion.

You are having a laugh. There is never a poor Kilkenny team. They beat Limerick in 2019.

Again it's fine saying that but physicality won't make you hit a ball over the bar or score a goal.

I said average, not poor. 2 years is a long enough time to go back - they were knocked out by Waterford last year and didn't beat anyone of note this year.

I'd always be very wary of predicting any team to dominate based on success at U-20 level. Tipp won the U-20 All-Ireland in 2018 and 2019 (beating Cork in both finals) so they must have a lot of young talent too . Although significantly Cork have now reached four successive U-20 All-Ireland finals which is impressive. They have lost two and won one with one still to be played.

Only got to watch the games yesterday.

I think Limerick are there for the taking once some coaches with a brain get involved with the other counties.

They dont have great individual players and most were there losing a few years ago. But what they do is play smart. They don't puck the ball from play or restarts more than 100 metres. Once a ball is played from FB line to FB line the advantage to the attackers is gone. They only leave two inside the 45 and the ball isnt played blindly so its played into the corners for the attackers to run onto. Similar for puck outs, if its far its still aimed and into space.

So the other teams are going to have to make them do what they dont want.. and thats hold shape in your 45 and mark space... let Hegarty take 20 shots from midfield, he'll miss enough.

The problem is that teams are falling into the trap of playing their game, you need to force them to puck it to your HB line, leave more space outside and let their HBs shoot... i remember when we beat them in the league 1/4 2017, they kept shooting from way out and missing.

Looking at the other teams and you constantly see backs hitting blind balls or pucking it to a disadvantage, managers need to cut that out, if you look down the field and see 4v6, you have two free somewhere else so dont put it in there.

How many puck outs did Waterford hit where they had less players?.. or how many did they win?..thats a set play and on Cahill as you can completely plan that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

Hurling can be a funny game. While KK had Tipp's number from 2002-2016 (bar 2010). I think Tipp put so much into beating KK they now have there number! If they got past Waterford they could have got to the AI.

These gaps since All Irelands are also a bit scary. It doesn't seem seem like 16 years when Cork did back to back in 2005. Also KK are now at a gap of at least 7 years until 2022.

If there's a lesson from history it's enjoy your dominant spells. They don't last forever. Unless you're the Dublin footballers with huge resources of population etc.

How many times did Limerick beat Kilkenny in championship from 2010 to 2021? Answer that please.

Gillane, Hayes, Lynch, Hannon and Hegarty would get on absolutely any team in the country and the rest of the starting 15 would get on most.

It's hilarious watching people try comfort themselves with this "don't have great players" bo11ix and telling themselves all Limerick have is muscle.

Limerick are the biggest fastest but also easily the most skillful team in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭billyhead

Also the Morrissey's and Flanagan would get on every team in the country. WOD and DOD are 2 underated workhorses in the middle aswell and what about Byrne's and Finn in defence. There's some nonsense posted on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Kyle Hayes is well on his way to all time greatness. I have rarely seen a more dominant player physically, but he combines that with immense skill and a knack of making the right decision. It pains me slightly to say it but this Limerick team could be as special as the Kilkenny team of the turn of the last decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭farmerval

To add to all the excellent players Limerick have, they appear to have the best coaching team. They're the first team to use the water break to adjust their shape etc, which they have done to great effect. To have a team so clued in that they can adjust as explained in 1 to 2 minutes is amazing.

The other area that Limerick are excellent in, and this has improved immensely since 2018 is their accuracy, they shoot little enough wides now, their ability to work the ball to someone in a good position is excellent, Tom Morrissey is a good example this year, his movement is great and he shoots on his terms, most of his points are from within the 65, but good interplay means his success rate must be very high.

Jaysus, reading this I wonder should we in Cork even bother fulfilling the fixture? Limerick are unbeatable it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

It’s the way we want it.

im delighted we are been written off. I hope nobody gives us a chance