Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social media sexualization of western women

• 27-04-2021 11:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭

I might just be getting old but I am very uncomfortable with the way social media is normalizing suggestive behaviour in young western girls.
    A young lad at work just showed me the live broadcasts on tiktok and every second streamer was a girl posing suggestively trying to get tokens. To me it feels like they are being conditioned that showing flesh for attention or money is OK.
    Don't get me wrong I have watched porn as all men have in the past but it is going too far now with the likes of only fans. Maybe a bit of reversing censorship is needed to make people more prudish again

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Women have conned other women into selling their bodies for money. Many women who have not other qualities bar their aesthetics have re marketed selling flesh from a last resort into ‘empowering’

Social media is a horrific place now for women damaging other women.

Selling your body has always been wrong and will always be, we need to get back to teaching youbg girls that.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Selling your body has always been wrong and will always be, we need to get back to teaching youbg girls that.

Or maybe you should realise that women are able to make their own decisions and don't need you to teach them what they should think based on what you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Even when I was a young lad, I thought it odd how much the music industry pushed for hyper sexualisation, especially when it comes to female artists, knowing that most of their fans were likely young girls. You see the affects of the likes of this stuff on Tinder and other dating apps, where a large of amount of women below 30 feel to need to have several half naked photos of themselves. It's completely trashy, yet is viewed as progress by some.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 12,493 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Many forms of social media are a poison chalice.

All Eyes On Rafah

Or maybe you should realise that women are able to make their own decisions
    ...in an ideal world. Most people irrespective of gender are socially conditioned and struggle to reach a point where they actualize themselves with a set of values which they built without influence from "society".

• Registered Users Posts: 19,849 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Women have conned other women into selling their bodies for money. Many women who have not other qualities bar their aesthetics have re marketed selling flesh from a last resort into ‘empowering’

While I would not like to see anyone feel that they are forced to do something that they don't want to do, or naively get dragged into something that could have later repercussions for them, I'll just point out that each and every person sells their body in some form or another. Whether you are out laying blocks or sitting in a chair behind a screen for 8 hours a day, you are using your body for something that you wouldn't do for free, in order to receive cash in return.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I mean it happens because we watch or used to watch at some point in our lives. We feed the beast and the beast devours young women and then discards them. The only solution is to raise children who can delay gratification both boys and girls. It's an age old struggle. The ones who can are successful in life and the others have problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Re: tiktok / twitch / YouTube women streamers.
    Lot of people in this world will do anything to be famous let alone rich. Pay no attention to them and don't think they are being sexualised. They themselves are doing it because idiots, sorry I meant men ( :pac: ) are giving them money to do so.

If the new trend next week was dressing up as a nun they'd all be doing it. Then a week later if it was dressing up as a clown they'd all be doing that too.

The real idiots are the guys who give them money.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭beerguts

Or maybe you should realise that women are able to make their own decisions and don't need you to teach them what they should think based on what you think?

No argument from me that your body your decision regards how you show it or even use it. But there is nothing wrong with people pointing out that what you might be OK with doing now with it might negatively impact people's opinions of you in the future. Not fair but that is the reality of it

• Registered Users Posts: 17,120 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Sex sells, it always has, the internet just increases the market size.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

beerguts wrote: »
    No argument from me that your body your decision regards how you show it or even use it. But there is nothing wrong with people pointing out that what you might be OK with doing now with it might negatively impact people's opinions of you in the future. Not fair but that is the reality of it

But do these people do the same in all walks of their life? Walking down the street and start lecturing to strangers about how they should be living their lives and telling them what decisions to make?

It could be worse. They could be signing up to get shipped off to some foreign country to fight and get killed in a war or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,120 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

beerguts wrote: »

Did you listen to advice when you were younger? Chances are you scoffed and thought the older person hadn't a clue.

I agree many will regret it, but it's only when they see the repercussions that others will maybe reconsider before following suit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

For me it's not about how they will be potentially judged, its that you waste your entire youth making easy and temporary money instead of investing in your own training and education. Actually restricting your freedom in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,926 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

The easiest way for women streamers to get followers especially male followers is to show a bit of flesh. Look at some of the women streaming on twitch with the likes of dancing, body painting etc they know exactly what they are doing. If women are happy to do it, leave them to it

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

I think its fair to say our society is becoming hyper sexualised. I have a 12 year old daughter and her class mates are plagued by mental health issues etc.

Yeah womens choice etc etc, but the onlyfans thing and insta huns are a plague on our society. As are the men like dan bilzerian and fitness infliuencers peddaling bull****.

Its toxic and we're going to have to accept it needs changing. Its been a slow burner and magazines etc have pushed this for years. Its going to only get worse and we're sleep walking into massive problems under the pretence of choice and individualization as well as a society fueled by entitlement.

We've all seen the squats at the gym insta models. Yep its for the fitness. Who the **** are you kidding...blokes like Lipsett etc pushing an idiolized version of life. AS adults we can ignore this, but kids are getting access now across the board.

Fair enough people can say its about money. It is and its choice, and i don't blame the individuals, i blame the platforms. but theres real damage being done to people. The stats back up the mental health plague our society is facing.

I love women, sex is great. But mass adoption of porn like tendencies/casualisation of sex etc isn't.

at its core its not a sex problem, its a mental health problem. I say this to a mate in work who's Danish and he laughs it off as he sees it as prudish. I'm not talking about naked beer ads like you might get a bus stops in Denmark. This is a much deeper issue. Men and women being given platforms by huge media companies that don't have to abide by the normal rules. There's a reckoning coming probably quite soon. And its not just about the sex, its about all of it. The libel, bullying, racism etc. Look at the premier league blackout.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

What is your point?

Of course they can do as they please but your idea that other people can't have a negative view on those actions, is bizarre.

He is correct selling your body isn't a good thing.
    But should it be banned , no?
    people should always have a free choice to make stupid decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Many forms or social media are a poison chalice.

Its all toxic. Twitter, Tik Tok, Onlyfans.... its all the worst of the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I always find it weird day time radio wont play anything "hard" but its perfectly fine to peddle tawdry sexualised pop songs.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭KeepItLight

Of course they can, but they'll be judged for it.

The media acceptance & promotion of attention seeking, whorish behaviour doesn't make it any less distasteful or degenerate.

Everyone knows this deep down, but many are intoxicated by the faux 'empowerment', amongst other things.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

Of course they can, but they'll be judged for it.

The media acceptance & promotion of attention seeking, whorish behaviour doesn't make it any less distasteful or degenerate.

Everyone knows this deep down, but many are intoxicated by the faux 'empowerment', amongst other things.

Yeah and its also having to not abide by the same standards as they would if it was a different medium. This will be seen in history as the Wild West days of the internet in most aspects. Look at the stance being taken by the Premier League etc. The EU has big plans in place. The Trump incitement thing was a turning point. I mean in the US you can pretty much do and say what you like on it under the pretence of absolute free speech. Here you can be sued as Mary Lou proved.

On the sexualisation point there's real damage being done to people both doom scrollers, normal users and the actual people doing the stuff. For every 1 succesful person there's at least another 50-100 ruining their lives and prospects. The tech companies call it User Engagement and want it all, no matter the cost. And theres plenty of porn stars who have rued their choice as well, many exploited etc. Its multi faceted. And like you said its all under the banner of faux empowerment. Also money of course. Its the gig economy in our hyper capitalized World obsessed with money, and with ever increasing costs actually needing to be obsessed with money.

I'm a hypocrite though as i look, and all that. But as a person who uses Instagram for actual photography i sometimes sigh when i have to scroll through absolute toxic ****e from both men and women.

for the record i work as moderator for one of the tech firms dealing with this.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

If someone would give me money to show my arse id have a camera on it all day.
    Unfortunately they wont give me money for it though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Fake Scores

It's not just in Mayo and Galway.
    They're at it in Dublin as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

But do these people do the same in all walks of their life? Walking down the street and start lecturing to strangers about how they should be living their lives and telling them what decisions to make?

It could be worse. They could be signing up to get shipped off to some foreign country to fight and get killed in a war or something.

Oh well f**k it so since it could be worse.

Nobody is walking down the street lecturing anyone. But people aren't born knowing how to operate in the world, it's a parents responsibility to raise their kids with the values they think are important. Not selling your body would be a fairly obvious one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Careful JimmyVik, don't want to offend the lovely girls.

It's a chicken and egg thing for me; women putting up sexual images of themselves on social media was because men gave them more attention when they posted sexual photos (and I mean sexual as in the photos which might even be a workout photo but the arse is clearly the focus) or men gave them attention when they looked sexy so they posted to give men more of what they liked?

I'm a bit confused, as a man; these are very sexual photos being posted and that is because that is what gets more attention from men, but then there are claims of feminism and empowerment which means I don't know if it is then acceptable, as a man, to only care about how the sexy the girl is. She's selling sex and we are consuming which gave their popularity but then it is or isn't acceptable to continue to sexualise her?

I find the most outspoken women on this sort of stuff are the ones who people wouldnt be paying to see in sexy poses anyway.
    So its more like you cant do it if i cant do it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

"Selling your body is wrong"

'unless you're selling it to me'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭NSAman

All you have to do is look at Cardi B.

Sex sells, doesn’t matter about talent or social correctness.

It is a product and those that flaunt it, seem to be “successful”.

Wait till they get to their 40’s and the realisation that it’s all BS and you are either working for a living and earning a crust or you are still living in dreamland.

I blame the parents and lack of the wooden spoon..:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

I don't know about Tik tok or instagram, I have zero interaction with those platforms. In some ways though the overt sexualisation in mainstream media is less now in my opinion. In the 90s the lads mags were the whole rage prominantly displayed in shops for all to see, not just the people looking it up.

Take for example Game of Thrones great show I loved it, but in the early seasons virtually every lead female did a nude scene, and there was a lot of gratutious sex and nudity. I don't think that would happen nowadays, only 10 years later.

I'm not a prude, if you want to access porn go for it. Anything involving consenting adults is fine by me but I'm happy enough there is less on mainstream media.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,686 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

And as we know, men have no access, input or influence in to womens experience of social media, how their bodies are viewed or the influence men have in creating the sex industry market.

Your post is laughable for what it doesn't say.

Women. Women are the problem. /end thread.

Ok. Strange response to the sexualisation of children though.

because idiots, sorry I meant men ( :pac:

Ah, mens fault again. Grand.