Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social media sexualization of western women

12345679»

• Registered Users Posts: 23,926 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

That makes sense that a child that troubled would be the poster child for this kind of thing. Turning a desperate cry for parental love into money is the name of the game now for these 'influencers'

Tbh Eric I’d be just as critical of the kind of person who would exploit people in those circumstances. You have a point of course, but without an audience for this kind of behaviour it wouldn’t be as popular as it is. I’m always reminded of how Sam Fox’s parents pimped out their daughter to the national media back in the early 80’s when she was only 16 at the time. It’s really nothing new.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Tbh Eric I’d be just as critical of the kind of person who would exploit people in those circumstances. You have a point of course, but without an audience for this kind of behaviour it wouldn’t be as popular as it is. I’m always reminded of how Sam Fox’s parents pimped out their daughter to the national media back in the early 80’s when she was only 16 at the time. It’s really nothing new.

The men, women and media outlets who hit 'subscribe' on her content are culpable in her exploitation, its sad on all counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Wallet Inspector

That makes sense that a child that troubled would be the poster child for this kind of thing. Turning a desperate cry for parental love into money is the name of the game now for these 'influencers'
    sHe'S a FeMiNiSt IcOn BoOmEr

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Eh there is. You think any man tells someone they pay for onlyfans

Bigger fool them if they do when whey can pull off to as much free porn as they like on thousands of sites for nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,155 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

A singer I think? So an established fan base and known already. It was in the AH woke thread.

Would you do onlyfans?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,120 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Would you do onlyfans?

No, I've said earlier in the thread it wouldn't be for me at all.

Why do you ask?

What do you feckin want from me?
    You quoted me saying "Ah, mens fault again. Grand." - to which I reply correcting you I did not say their fault, they're just ejjits for giving their hard earned money over.

Now you say what about women who pay as well? - well you know what, also idiots. Giving some person your hard earned money as they play a video game and show of a bit of tit is stupid.

Did that insult you somehow?
    Do you give these people money? Is that the real reason you are offended?

I'm a bit late in replying to this, but no, my issue is with the image that it's just "all men are morons" again and again. Women are being empowered by getting their tits out, but men, as usual, are idiots.

For what it's worth, I don't give money to women (or men) online for porn that I can get for free elsewhere with the click of a mouse. I don't know how onlyfans has become so popular, I don't know how people can begrudge someone making money doing nothing at all, and I don't know why anyone would actually pay someone to show them their tits on a computer screen, when there's a million pairs of tits across hundreds of websites doing it for free.

However, I do have a tendency to get annoyed at the constant "women good, men bad" atmosphere that's being created all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,155 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

No, I've said earlier in the thread it wouldn't be for me at all.

Why do you ask?

Just curious. I think a lot of people forget OFs is what the user wants it to be. There is no one there off camera with a gun to your head '' do this, do that or else !'' It's all about total independence

There are 1000s of OFs users that make a nice monthly sum with non explicit accounts.
    People on there doing Yoga, no not naked Yoga, just Yoga, Cookery, Music, Fitness, Travel Vlogging, General vlogging, Make-up, Carpentry ect ect.

Yea you'd probably only get 50 subs, but 50 x 20 is 1k a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Don’t have tok tok but there are similar shorts on you tube.
    Some bugs bunny where the try to look like a bunny by sticking their arse in the air.
    Every third video

• Registered Users Posts: 17,120 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Just curious. I think a lot of people forget OFs is what the user wants it to be. There is no one there off camera with a gun to your head '' do this, do that or else !'' It's all about total independence

There are 1000s of OFs users that make a nice monthly sum with non explicit accounts.
    People on there doing Yoga, no not naked Yoga, just Yoga, Cookery, Music, Fitness, Travel Vlogging, General vlogging, Make-up, Carpentry ect ect.

Yea you'd probably only get 50 subs, but 50 x 20 is 1k a month.
    The discussion here is specific to sexual content though. While it's done willingly there is a chance that some are naive. The content is leaked to mainstream porn sites and has the potential to cause difficulties and embarrassment in future.

Some do make a living from it, but a lot don't. If you need to go into more traditional employment you don't really want a potential or current employer finding clips of you masturbating or having sex.

I'm a bit late in replying to this, but no, my issue is with the image that it's just "all men are morons" again and again. Women are being empowered by getting their tits out, but men, as usual, are idiots.

For what it's worth, I don't give money to women (or men) online for porn that I can get for free elsewhere with the click of a mouse. I don't know how onlyfans has become so popular, I don't know how people can begrudge someone making money doing nothing at all, and I don't know why anyone would actually pay someone to show them their tits on a computer screen, when there's a million pairs of tits across hundreds of websites doing it for free.

However, I do have a tendency to get annoyed at the constant "women good, men bad" atmosphere that's being created all the time.
    Those paying for it might not all be men. I don't think it's stupid men - just stupid people. Same as those who believe celebrity gossip and worship influencers (tend to be women).

People who say all women who do sexy stuff on OnlyFans are all empowered have a vapid take on things. No sense of nuance or complexity. Wouldn't get bothered by them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,679 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It’s ironic how it’s women encouraging other woman to go do the exploitation and porn path

One of today's takes on feminism. Although plenty of men encourage it too.

I don't think it's exploitation but not sure how wise it is.

It’s ironic that “get your tits out for the lads” is now the woke position.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Hmmm my post was deleted....i didnt actually want to see the poster's female relative's OF pages, obviously, i was making the point, would he be cool with his wife/daughter/sister doing OF..

fvp4 wrote: »
    It’s ironic that “get your tits out for the lads” is now the woke position.
    And very much the "male feminist" one.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

You're arguing with yourself mate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

my issue is with the image that it's just "all men are morons" again and again. Women are being empowered by getting their tits out, but men, as usual, are idiots.

Totally agree with this