Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 45,414 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Not really.. See the comment above from a younger poster asking why they should bother.

All NPHET have done here is say the vaccines are basically worthless. You can be sure it'll have quite the opposite effect you suggest.

It's their loss then.

When they see their mates enjoying pints I bet it'll be a different story.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Why are NPHET so anti effects of vaccination
    It's a fear of Delta. While it is reasonably obvious that a delay gets more vaccinated, they've opted for the power of their data instead. There's also no guarantee that the recommendation will be any different in 2-3 weeks, especially if they think the risk is so stark for the next three months.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

The infectious disease experts are out in force on boards this morning haha

At this point members of boards.ie, or indeed a random goat herder from Kazakhstan would appear to have more saavy than the NPHET and their models of mass destruction.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

If Tony Holohan & NPHET don’t give clear evidence as to how they came up with their fake figures that nowhere else in Europe has come up with - they should be disbanded immediately. There is clear evidence from the U.K. re what will happen.

This is incredibly serious. They have deliberately tried to mislead the Government - akin to ISAG. They are no longer fit for purpose.

Any voter who remains passive to what is currently happening should be ashamed. Email TD’s - back the businesses, take no more. This should not have to happen & has gone too far.

What is disgraceful is how the Irish public’s trust in institutions may be irreversibly damaged by Dr Tony & NPHET’s behaviour in the last two weeks.

After Ireland being effectively closed for 6 months - this is not acceptable to peddle this any longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

Apologies I’m sure this has been discussed before but I’m genuinely trying to weigh up the Actual benefits of getting this vaccine, I’m young fit and healthy. If I can still catch and spread covid after I have been vaccinated, what is the benefit?

I’m not being sarcastic here, I’m trying to decide weather or not I want it.

The benefit looks like it could be eating inside or travelling abroad. People are choosing to get vaccinated for reasons of personal freedom instead of the intended reason of health.......to me that is completely backwards.

What the hell happened to get the vulnerable vaccinated and open up? A few thousand sixty somethings not having 2 jabs is not reason to stall reopening as they have some cover and are only relatively vulnerable because older cohorts (the ones where the majority of serious illness and deaths occurred) are fully vaxxed.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

6 wrote: »
    It's their loss then.

You cant have different rules for vaccinated people they tried in Denmark and Israel they failed it wont work

• Registered Users Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

funnydoggy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus, you don't need to be an epidemiologist to know that 700,000 cases and 2170 deaths here in a 2 month timespan is horseshít ;)

I thought it was 170 deaths? Can't find a link to it

None the less the question should be, are we willing to allow these numbers? Sam McConkey was on newstalk a few minutes ago explaining the figures, and it made sense where they were coming from, but he was advocating that we should reopen none the less

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

Tork wrote: »
    Well, other than not being able to tell the difference between weather and whether?....

Good response, thanks for the input!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's a fear of Delta. While it is reasonably obvious that a delay gets more vaccinated, they've opted for the power of their data instead. There's also no guarantee that the recommendation will be any different in 2-3 weeks, especially if they think the risk is so stark for the next three months.

In that case we are never opening up.

Delta will take hold regardless, then schools will have to open, then winter will happen.

I have disagreed but somewhat understood our slow gradual opening, to move from that to indoor and travel on the same weekend is a sea change

agoodpunt wrote: »
    You cant have different rules for vaccinated people they tried in Denmark and Israel they failed it wont work

Well it looks like you will. No vaccine, no entry.

It's up to the government and businesses to make it work. This should have been in place ready to implement months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

The infectious disease experts are out in force on boards this morning haha

You do know that even the majority of the NPHET members are not infectious disease experts?

I think if they can be given complete governance of our freedoms without an elected mandate then we can talk about the rights and wrongs of it on an internet forum. Should I not post on the soccer forum because I don't play for Liverpool?

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

It's up to the government and businesses to make it work. This should have been in place ready to implement months ago.

Bot.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

agoodpunt wrote: »

I'm not in favor of it but can you point to how it failed ??

Doesn't look to have failed in Denmark anyway, they got infections right down and were able to open up with it, now it'll be phased out because it's worked.

You either go with it at the beginning or not at all, definitely not now, it just annoys more people at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

So folks, with NPHETS outrageous numbers proposed, do you honestly think that they'll revise in 2 weeks time? Then we'll be coming into August. Do you honestly think they'll revise their predictions with the threat of Schools going back?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

None the less the question should be, are we willing to allow these numbers? Sam McConkey was on newstalk a few minutes ago explaining the figures, and it made sense where they were coming from, but he was advocating that we should reopen none the less

Nope, was 2170 unfortunately! I must correct myself though, it was 3 months not 2 :)

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/grim-covid-projections-put-opening-of-indoor-hospitality-in-serious-doubt-1.4606220

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

It's their loss then.

But sure I’m enjoying pints outside with my mates now? Nonsensical comment, so basically take the vaccine if you want to have indoor pints. If that’s the stage we are at and no one can provide a valid argument for actually having the vaccine, then there is no hope. The question o asked is, If after I’m vaccinated, I can still catch and spread covid, then why bother taking the vaccine at all? Just so I can have indoor pints? Absolutely ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭landofthetree

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Do you honestly believe a pub or a restaurant is going to turn you away because you have no proof of being vaccinated :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

This is what the NPHET numbers would look like. A peak 3x the January one at the end of August. We’d be well out of PCR capacity to even test that many cases

https://twitter.com/riochtconor2/status/1409771678549295106?s=21

So folks, with NPHETS outrageous numbers proposed, do you honestly think that they'll revise in 2 weeks time? Then we'll be coming into August. Do you honestly think they'll revise their predictions with the threat of Schools going back?

By the time schools back how many more will be vaccinated? Most of the country surely.

But keep pushing that doom door.

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Ballynally

Northern Ireland pubs and restaurants have been open since late May? Has there been an increase in deaths and serious illness in the last month there? Let’s just keep this simple now.

and Michelle O' Neill was saying they are looking into the start of live music indoors soon.
    So, wanna go f a pint and some craic, head North, my son !

Further lockdowns, ridiculous levels of debt
    MNC leaving (maybe), SF likely to win the next election and increase the majority of our taxes. It’s going to be a long few years!

I generally would have been supportive of restrictions up until the last few months but this new forecast is just plain ridiculous unless NPHET know more than the rest of the worlds scientists.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

In that case we are never opening up.

Delta will take hold regardless, then schools will have to open, then winter will happen.

I have disagreed but somewhat understood our slow gradual opening, to move from that to indoor and travel on the same weekend is a sea change
    It is puzzling that they would use these numbers as an argument, rather than say we view a 2-3 week delay as prudent given that we only have X% vaccinated and we are concerned at the increasing number of Delta cases. Even their best case scenario model opens them to ridicule and has echoes of Ferguson in the UK last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

are you living in the real world?

active discrimination against perfectly healthy people who want to socialise?

are you gona ban people who have HIV from entering pubs aswell?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

What's confidential about being vaccinated?

The fact you have to ask...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

The fact is when you see this thread and no one is actually bothering to defend or argue for the projections of NPHET, on this thread of all threads then ye know something is seriously off here!

I mean the only way any sense could be made was if vaccines were just pure useless.

I’m in for my second one today and genuinely wondering what’s the point?

The numbers just don’t stack up, anywhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,221 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Really? NPHETs projections are showing us to have an outcome multiples times worse than India had during it's Delta peak, in the next 4-8 weeks or so. NPHETs projections are off the charts and out of line with real world experience.

Newstalk presenters are fully on board anyway with continued/further restrictions.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,221 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

They are projecting complete doom for August and September so they won't be changing their advice in 2 weeks time. If anything they'll be looking to ramp up restrictions to protect the schools etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,227 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

You do know that even the majority of the NPHET members are not infectious disease experts?

I think if they can be given complete governance of our freedoms without an elected mandate then we can talk about the rights and wrongs of it on an internet forum. Should I not post on the soccer forum because I don't play for Liverpool?

There's hashtag doing the rounds, disbandNPHET, a good measure of the stupidity in this country.

Putting aside all the obvious reasons as to why it's so stupid, even after a year of a pandemic people still don't understand what their role is and who actually make the decisions based on their advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

You know that phrase expect the worst and hope for the best? With this government its expect the worst full stop.