Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

funnydoggy wrote: »
    The guards will be busy lol

Thats the thing, would they bother?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,091 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

namloc1980 wrote: »
    What countries are using vaccine only status to access parts of society?

Denmark are. Even for hairdressers.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,023 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

gozunda wrote: »
    "Slow lads in the class" and other insults - tbf you describing anyone you disagree with using such bile and puerile language is certainly not unusual. But no matter

If you check facehugger - plenty of rational discussion- you may have missed it.

But What have we gained Facehugger? We have achieved one of the lowest overall death and case rates of our closest EU neighbours. And yes all countries have in incurred huge financial burdens to deal with the Pandemic. And yes we had mountains of debt long before Covid reared its ugly head in 2020.

The issue atm is that some have deliberately only taken the worst case scenario 'leaked' and ran off raving and screaming as if that the one and only thing is most definitely odd.

If you bother to check - the most "benign scenario" 'leaked gives figures in or about where we are at the moment and that seems to have completely flown over the heads of some

This from the IT (the figures are for 3 months - July August Sept)

But hey why ignore that to whipp up even more frenzy?

I knew you wouldn't back down, fair play to ya in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

charlie14 wrote: »

What do Denmark do about children who are clearly all unvaccinated?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,363 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

MOH wrote: »
    He also said earlier yesterday that they were rejecting the vaccinated idea because it was totally unworkable. The man must be permanently dizzy.

This vaccine passport app or whatever idea isn't gonna happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,587 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

seamus wrote: »
    They don't really get to reject any plan, they can only refuse to open. But there'll be no appetite to piss them off that much.

Most likely, as per the other thread, the official government advice will be that unvaccinated people should not sit indoors, without creating any obligation on places to check.

And to accommodate this, the opening will be pushed back to the 19th. Whereas if they were willing to get on board with this, they could have opened on Monday.

But no system would be in place to prove vaccinations by Monday? Or by the 17th for that matter

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

So then shuttered up it is?

Talk about harming their own interest

Always someone else's fault. Never NPHET's or governments. Question the people who won't support the stupid plan, rather than the stupid plan.

If the app was available within the week and also allowed entry for people with a negative antigen test it would be a reasonable solution. It won't though, because we'll decide to develop our own app instead of getting a perfectly functional one from elsewhere, and His Majesty doesn't like antigen tests.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

The Nal wrote: »

I agree with you 100%

• Registered Users Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

SusanC10 wrote: »
    What do Denmark do about children who are clearly all unvaccinated?

You can get an antigen test that covers you for 3 days I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

If the choice is between

Hospitality closed up and shuttered with dust balls rolling past

Or the pub passport app to allow some trade

I’d say app worth a go?

It is yes. But by the time it's implemented it will be well past Summer IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

They have been told to back off on outdoor drinking can expect a lot more in the coming weeks

funnydoggy wrote: »
    I agree with you 100%

Would be like whack-a-mole.

tenor.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

charlie14 wrote: »

No they aren't. In Denmark the Coronapas is based on vaccine status, a clear test (rapid antigen) within 72 hours or evidence of illness and recovery. Having a vaccine only status to access services and ignoring testing in Ireland would be completely uncharted territory and on a different level to Denmark.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    It is yes. But by the time it's implemented it will be well past Summer IMO.

Yeah but from then on it would be a runner?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭titan18

The vaccination passport is akin to ageism if we do it on an only vaccinated basis. Likes of Denmark have done it on vaccinated, negative test or proof of immunity so that covers them but if it was only vaccinated people and the rollout has been done based on age, that's seriously discriminatory. Never mind going to the staff working there, you're free to serve us but not free to actually go to the place yourself. Logistically, it's probably not a runner anyway but in a country where the young people already feel like they're getting kicked every day, this would be taking the piss.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

This 'covid app' and NPHET's indoor fully vaccinated recommendation is dead in the water before it has even begun, and it's only been less than 24 hours since the leak.

Pubs and restaurants will not implement this. NPHET won't even recommend the use of antigen testing.

It's all utter tripe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

No they aren't. In Denmark the Coronapas is based on vaccine status, a clear test (rapid antigen) within 72 hours or evidence of illness and recovery. Having a vaccine only status to access services and ignoring testing in Ireland would be completely uncharted territory and on a different level to Denmark.

The state pays for the rapid tests there too don't they?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭prunudo

This vaccine passport app or whatever idea isn't gonna happen.

You'd swear they only discovered in the last 24hrs we were going to open up. Antigen testing, apps and whatever else should have been planned for months ago if that was the route they wanted to take.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Reading an article a few days ago (more linked to the euros) but they seem to have it very well organised. Pop up tents that you can go for your free test. Get a cert and away you go for 3 days.

Call me Mr Cynical but my faith in an Irish government, any Irish government, to get an app going for 5 million people in a few weeks or even months is fairly low.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

bear1 wrote: »

"A final decision on international travel will not be taken until next week’s Cabinet meeting."

I am now 100% in the "they can go fúck themselves" camp.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

The legal profession are licking their lips now.

Blatant two fingers to the youth of this country

• Registered Users Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭Patser

RobitTV wrote: »
    This 'covid app' and NPHET's indoor fully vaccinated recommendation is dead in the water before it has even begun, and it's only been less than 24 hours since the leak.

Pubs and restaurants will not implement this.

Even beyond the pubs, who and how would it be checked? Guards going onto pub person to person to confirm whatever proof it may be that us needed to say you're vaccinated.

It could easily be the Irish solution that's being suggested- We recommend unvaccinated don't go indoors, but sure whatever you think yourself, you're an adult, we've made a recommendation not a law

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The state pays for the rapid tests there too don't they?

Yeah read about it. c.700 test locations in the country. If you fancy going out just pop along to your local centre. Get your antigen test (15 mins or so). Once clear they scan your app and your good to go for 72 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,530 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Love this line:
    Worst case scenario could see more than 2,000 deaths by end of September

Yeah, but worst case's rarely come to pass.

Remember 100,000 dead at the start of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭facehugger99

What would happen if hundreds of pubs and restaurants just opened?

I'm presuming we'd have hundreds of thousands of dead - maybe even millions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

As I've said, as long as it is coupled with neg antigen test, neg PCR, or proof of recovery, then its a good idea going forward.

There are problems though. It will take ages to implement. This summer is gone.
    If people think this will be implemented by mid-July they are crazy.

Also, the fact we are an outlier in the EU in relation to antigen tests means the system is far more discriminatory than other countries and thus won't be accepted in the first place.

If NPHET climbed down off their high horse re antigen tests a few months back, this idea would be better received.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

seamus wrote: »
    They don't really get to reject any plan, they can only refuse to open. But there'll be no appetite to piss them off that much.

Most likely, as per the other thread, the official government advice will be that unvaccinated people should not sit indoors, without creating any obligation on places to check.

And to accommodate this, the opening will be pushed back to the 19th. Whereas if they were willing to get on board with this, they could have opened on Monday.

Thinking this is the way they'll go myself, given it's one of the things being considered. Wait until the 19th and then say right its up to you, do your own risk assessment. Also takes heat off government

• Registered Users Posts: 24,359 ✭✭✭✭lawred2