Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XI *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

When is the announcement does anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Indestructable

This farce should be enough to collapse a Government. It won't, but it should.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Someone should remind them that they actually run the country and are not obliged to do whatever NPHET tell them.

I suppose that would make it harder to throw NPHET under the bus when it comes to the inevitable tribunal though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

These morons on government are the ones putting nphet in the spotlight and towing their line, sick of their abdication of responsibility... come the next election, can we vote for the civil servants running the country instead of these spineless puppets?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

funnydoggy wrote: »
    When is the announcement does anyone know?

The next two weeks are crucial... and the next 52 after that will be too...

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Daniel son

What a backward little country, led by a pathetic cowardly shower hiding behind General Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

Stheno wrote: »
    I don't think anyone expected what NPHET came out with

If the NPHET recommendations came totally out of the blue to the government, that's a pretty incompetent failure of communication between two groups who've been working together for 15 months.

Of course, that's assuming all this isn't just political cover for the government once again not willing to make a decision. Now it's "We're opening indoor hospitality! But we just need two weeks to get the whole vaccine cert thing planned, so unfortunately we can't go ahead on Monday even though we really want to". And now people are getting more annoyed about the vaccine cert than the delay in reopening.

Then in two weeks time, it'll either be "oh now we realise two weeks was a bit ambitious for the vaccine cert thing so we're delaying another month", or "we've looked at things again and now we think we can open without the vaccine cert".

If the latter, then they'll expect people to be grateful that they're not introducing the vaccine cert restriction, and forget that in reality they'll have just implemented the two week deferral they wanted but didn't have the political balls to admit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭theballz

RobitTV wrote: »
    This is the end of Fianna Fail. They have completely alienated their traditional voter base and the party is close to collapse. No small business owner in rural Ireland will vote for them again. They are completely and utterly toast.

It's over for Michael Martin.

Why make this political?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Someone should remind them that they actually run the country and are not obliged to do whatever NPHET tell them.

I suppose that would make it harder to throw NPHET under the bus when it comes to the inevitable tribunal though.

We really need to go back to the true spirit of democracy, which is a nation ran for the people, not the politician. They are meant to be our servants not our masters. If the people don't support this, then they have no mandate to do any of it.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    People who oppose summer restrictions due to the seasonal nature of Covid are called conspiracy theorists around these parts :rolleyes:

No I mean once we hit autumn we will have the seasonal aspect to contend with

• Registered Users Posts: 33,526 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There was a thread on here called "Don't be a boiling frog...." and I always thought it was for people who were nutters who were anti-everything.

Starting to look like they might have been on to something after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭growleaves

I tell ye this much, the presser later today with the three musketeers (possibly 4 is Stephen Donnelly crawls out of his cave) will be something else.

Or will they all weasel out of it? Wouldn't be surprised. Incidentally when's the next NPHET presser?

Donnelly is D'Artagnan

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Absolutely fantastic.... fantastically funny really

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1409834351064403968?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 18,211 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Would they ever fook off. Honestly.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Would they ever fook off. Honestly.

Sure it won't matter. They can advise all they want

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

theballz wrote: »
    Why make this political?

Is this government beyond criticism?

They have been jumping from one disaster to the next. They aren't leaders. Fianna Fail is finished because of this crisis. Fine Gael will survive sadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Quags

Sometimes I think NPHET think of the best ways to wind people up

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

I'm not sure what planet our leaders are living in if they think this is good news.

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1409834929236684804

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

So we are ok to travel abroad using the green cert and do all the indoor stuff that pretty much every other EU country has but we can't do indoor stuff at home in our own country because there's gonna be an an apocalypse of 700,000 cases. Very cool NPHET.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

RobitTV wrote: »
    This is the end of Fianna Fail. They have completely alienated their traditional voter base and the party is close to collapse. No small business owner in rural Ireland will vote for them again. They are completely and utterly toast.

It's over for Michael Martin.

It's not just a FF government, you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭Jay Pentatonic

So weddings of 50 can happen, but we can't have a meal indoors with just our significant others...okay

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Avon8

This farce should be enough to collapse a Government. It won't, but it should.

But then what's the alternative? An opposition who have all called for an even greater level of farcical restrictions, and who'll throw the government under the bus if they go against NPHET? Bar a handful of independents, absolutely nobody here can hold their heads up high.

Until we get national consensus from the public, media, government and opposition that NPHET's power needs to be curbed, nothing can be achieved. We have a government that's weak as sin and an opposition who appear even more delusional

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    It's not just a FF government, you know?

Yes, but FF will come out of this more wounded. FG will survive as the main 'centre-right' party in the future.

So weddings of 50 can happen, but we can't have a meal indoors with just our significant others...okay

Can't even have one on your own!

• Subscribers Posts: 41,527 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I'm not sure what planet our leaders are living in if they think this is good news.

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1409834929236684804

they are weeks behind as always...... people (especially the elderly) have been doing this since receiving their second jabs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Has that actually been confirmed re: 50?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭timmyntc

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Can't even have one on your own!

You can if its a hotel restaurant!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,365 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

What's even worse about this whole thing, where is the ambition to get to a Level 0? It's never even mentioned. We'll be all vaxxed and wearing masks into 2022, it's an absolute farce now.

Large scale protests are the only way our spineless leaders will listen to us.

timmyntc wrote: »
    You can if its a hotel restaurant!

Or a wedding. Makes total sense. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,636 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Quags wrote: »
    Sometimes I think NPHET think of the best ways to wind people up

Sometimes I think NPHET is led by an egomaniac who is intent on putting his own daft twist on things. For example:
    • Insisting that nursing home visits go ahead when everyone could see it was a daft idea
    • Refusal to support antigen tests despite them being widely used elsewhere
    • Advising that only vaccinated people travel despite the travel cert allowing recovered people and those with a negative test to travel
    • Pushing back indoor dining altogether despite the fact the rest of Europe have opened it in some form

When are our government going to grow a spine and tell this crowd to cop on?