Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leinster vs La Rochelle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

That wasn’t even a bad performance it was just a non performance, they didn’t even fire a shot in that second half and it was like they were competing with Ulster for who can make the least effort in the second half of games...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭uptherebels

Still, you might win the Rainbow Cup. The world is holding its breath.

You might care about the rainbow cup, I don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Rugby4568

Is that a joke?

He’s better than Cullen anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

AdamD wrote: »
    Leinster needed to compete at the breakdown more. Was clear the ref decided early on that any contest was a penalty. La Rochelle reacted, Leinster didn't.

An awful stop start game

Wrong result but it was a very good game imho. Much better than any game involving Toulouse recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

The amount of turgid box kicks we done in this match. I feel like we are living off past glories to a certain degree when people casually say “Leinster like to throw it about” we don’t throw it about. When it was clear La Rochelle power was going to mean we were going to be limited in terms of the factors of production. I don’t think you have much choice but to inject a high energy off the cuff style. But we simply don’t have it IMO.

At what point in time is it acknowledged that there is a serious lack in attacking chemistry between Henshaw and Ringrose?

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Skelton was going through leinster tacklers like a bowling ball hitting the pins.

Serious unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Vito has been an excellent signing for La Rochelle. Would happily have him back in nz.

Think Leinster need to have wee rethink in the off season. Still remain one of the best sides in Europe.

The signings by Gibbes have been absolutely cracking in fairness, if you said that TKB and West would be the starting halfback pairing in a European final 3 or 4 years ago you would've been laughed at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭KaneToad

The truth hurts it seems

Ah here, save it for when you're back in school on Tuesday...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

Clegg wrote: »
    Sexton might have helped put us in better positions on the pitch, but I don't think he would've win us the game. This was lost up front just like the two Saracens games.

Ross Byrnes roll at Leinster is to be the scapegoat sadly. Leinster had him at 10 when they were 7 points down at Exeter for over an hour and didn’t have much issue at all, maybe for once the pack needs to take responsibility for completely checking out and giving nothing for the backline to work with.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

La Rochelle worthy of their win. The second half in particular reminded me of Munster's performance vs ye in the Pro final; couldn't keep possession and couldn't get any territory to work off, giving no foothold in the game.

ROG is putting a pretty tidy CV together, tho. Next season will be a big one for him, without Jono Gibbes.

Hard luck Leinster.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

The exact same as Leinster. Looooosers. At least Munster don't get overhyped like certain teams on here.

Small cock syndrome....not pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Unlucky lads, can't win them all unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Apologies on behalf of the regular Munster fans for the eejits coming into the thread stirring up s**t. We've been on the wrong side of the result and the slating enough times ourselves to know better than stoop down to that level.

Didn't happen on the day for ye, but swings and roundabouts. You'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

The truth hurts it seems

No, you're a grown up adult going on like this. Cop on for jaysus sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

The better team won. End of. When you face units like they have in the forwards that are that well conditioned and that skillful then you're always going to struggle. Fair play to LAR. They deserve the win.

I wonder if this is reflective of the increased professionalism in France. There was a time when a big French team could be counted on to be less fit and less able for 80 mins. If that's changing then we could be a while waiting for a 5th star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Rugby4568 wrote: »
    He’s better than Cullen anyway

Leo has 4 pro14s and a European Cup. ROG has the square root of **** all. His team play nice stuff but let's not get ahead of ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Leavy, Doris, JGP and Sexton. Four injuries that Leinster desperately missed today. Unfortunately, they couldn't build on a strong start and were dominated in collisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,501 ✭✭✭swiwi_

The signings by Gibbes have been absolutely cracking in fairness, if you said that TKB and West would be the starting halfback pairing in a European final 3 or 4 years ago you would've been laughed at

TKB was always class. West on the other hand was like Elton jantjes. Very good today though.

KaneToad wrote: »
    Fancy that Leinster supporters talking up their teams.

There is talking up and then there is Leinster fans. Unwavering delusion would be an accurate description. How long will it be before we hear them complaining that they only lost because the pro 14 isn't good enough.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Leo has 4 pro14s and a European Cup. ROG has the square root of **** all. His team play nice stuff but let's not get ahead of ourselves.

Why bother responding? This is what people like that are here for. Stop feeding them ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,574 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Are we doing Coaches top trumps now? Jaysus wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Leavy, Doris, JGP and Sexton. Four injuries that Leinster desperately missed today. Unfortunately, they couldn't build on a strong start and were dominated in collisions.

Not sure we can keep saying this about Leavy. Another knee surgery surely puts his career in jeopardy.

The exact same as Leinster. Looooosers. At least Munster don't get overhyped like certain teams on here.
    There is talking up and then there is Leinster fans. Unwavering delusion would be an accurate description. How long will it be before we hear them complaining that they only lost because the pro 14 isn't good enough.

tenor.gif?itemid=12085233

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Faugheen wrote: »
    And the quiet Munster fans coming in to gloat is big leagues, is it?

Pot Kettle..

Coming to gloat? Give over

Leinster were incredibly second best and a Munster legend had a part in a game plan that tore them apart

Add in Ruddock then as well. He was a massive loss as he's the closest we have to that kind of physicality in the back row. Baird is good, but isn't a blindside and showed some of his inexperience at times today.

No, you're a grown up adult going on like this. Cop on for jaysus sake.
    Well it definitely does, because I seem to have touched a nerve. When you can take reality on the chin come back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

Have to say I thought Baird was disappointing enough when he came on. His work around the breakdown needs a lot of tidying up.

I don't think they're deluded. They've a recent history of winning trophies. They've an excellent squad and a strong coaching team. Why wouldn't they think they'd be able to win a 5th EC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

La Rochelle are a physically huge team.

Not to be this year, hopefully Leinster can learn but it feels a bit like the way Leinster lost to Saracens in the past.
    Not a great game to watch, very stop start.
    Good luck to LaRochelle in the final. Well worth their win today.

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Delighted for ROG, better team won

Which part do you think is incorrect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

The provincial rivalries in Ireland are a great thing. It adds flavour to the build up when fans are rabid. And it's good fun in online match threads when they play each other.

But the downsides are obvious when a bunch of Munster fans come in to gloat about how one ex player, coaching for a foreign side, has coached a victory against an Irish side they really should be supporting.

It's toxic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,574 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I thought Furlong, Conan and Healy played well. Strong carries and the set piece was very solid overall. For all the quick ruck ball, we weren't making the incision through middle. Needed more forwards running off shoulders maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Bringing munster into a thread where they're not playing should be a holiday from the forum.
    Hard luck leinster, I'm gutted for you. Always support the irish teams, the gloaters are Muppets. Goes the other way too.
    Ill be cheering for the team ROG helped build in the final. From a munster fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭twinytwo

The provincial rivalries in Ireland are a great thing. It adds flavour to the build up when fans are rabid. And it's good fun in online match threads when they play each other.

But the downsides are obvious when a bunch of Munster fans come in to gloat about how one ex player, coaching for a foreign side, has coached a victory against an Irish side they really should be supporting.

It's toxic stuff.

Trolls are not fans, they are trolls.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It's toxic stuff.

It happens for all sides, and it's pretty putrid stuff tbh...

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    Delighted for ROG, better team won

Delighted for Gibbs too. Met him once, he was very pleasant.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

twinytwo wrote: »
    Unlucky lads, can't win them all unfortunately.

God, this one hurts more than the w*nker comments!

It's toxic stuff.
    Again you of all posters in here complaining about fans gloating is hilarious. Why would someone support a club team just because they are from Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Plus Ryan and Ringrose arguably not back to anything like their best.

Which part do you think is incorrect?

A Cork GAA fan calling other teams 'losers', for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭mun1

La Rochelle bossed Leinster up front , the same story for Leinster as v saracens last year.
    No shame in losing to that powerful La Rochelle team.
    Gibbs and ROG worked Leinster out and had the tools to blunt the Leinster attack, unlike most other teams Leinster have played this season.

Some of the decision making by Leinster in the second half was awful.
    Missed sexton more than they would like to admit.
    Hard luck lads .

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Gloat? Coming from you, that's hilarious

Suppose you’ll go find a post of me gloating to other fans on this forum, then?

I do a lot of things here, one of them is not gloating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The provincial stuff is embarrassing us all lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭VANG1

It might just be that LAR are the best team in Europe right now, especially up front. Credit where credit is due. Johnno Gibbs had them well schooled.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

I said it the other night, sometimes you can’t compete with raw power and that’s what Leicester and La Rochelle brought to the party in the 2nd halves. It wears you down, suffocates you, and eventually the collisions take their toll. Really disappointing weekend.

Buer wrote: »
    God, this one hurts more than the w*nker comments!

Solidarity, Buer. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Do you know her personally and request bespoke GIFs when needed?

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Rugby4568

As a Leinster fan I’m obviously gutted but I’m happy for Rog. Always had a soft spot for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Well it definitely does, because I seem to have touched a nerve. When you can take reality on the chin come back to me.

What the **** are you on about lol