Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

SeaFields wrote: »
    This 100%. Also the line that the journalists use "so what you're say is....". Attempting to put words in both politicians and medical experts mouths. It's p!ss poor interviewing and the real message is lost but they get their headline and get to keep the fear narrative going

It's not always a fear narrative they want. It's a narrative that gets the most polarised emotive reaction. That doesn't always require fear.

Turtwig wrote: »
    It's not always a fear narrative they want. It's a narrative that gets the most polarised emotive reaction. That doesn't always require fear.

That's bad enough in itself.

Pretty desperate that so-called journalism has sunk to such a low standard.

That's bad enough in itself.

Pretty desperate that so-called journalism has sunk to such a low standard.

Caught the 9am bulletin on Radio 1, "Sam McConkey warned about increased socialisation..."

Firmly in the gutter, our national media still hanging on every word of a discredited spoofer who forecasted deaths in six figures last year. Credibility shot to pieces. And like a slobbering pack of bloodhounds, chasing after tidbits left out by Tony Holohan and obediently toeing the line. Employing Twitter as a primary source of information, treating it like holy parchment on the mount. What would have been derided a few years ago is now the gold standard for investigative journalism. Embarrassing.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,408 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Yesterday Israel had 4 confirmed cases of Covid-19. 0.02% positivity.

Would be nice if these sort of facts could be included in the discourse about vaccines being ineffective.

We won’t be long catching up with them if we’re doing 300k+ per week

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

It's obvious there's increased socialisation. It's allowed so there had to be.

It's obvious it has to be watched. See how the case numbers are going.

We have to see if we are vaccinating fast enough to be ahead of it the potential rising case numbers from increased numbers of contacts.

We have to be careful. I know. You know. Everyone knows.

Some care. Some don't care. It's kind of sad but we all know that.

Personally I'm just sick and tired listening to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,297 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The radio shows will be intense today. A lot of anger out there. I do get the sense that some people will relish this last opportunity for some vigorous finger wagging before Covid effectively ends due to vaccinations.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 31,073 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I do get the sense that some people will relish this last opportunity for some vigorous finger wagging before Covid effectively ends due to vaccinations.
    I don't care for the finger wagging either but we're not quite there yet.

The case rate in the UK has doubled in the last week, and they're two months ahead of us in their vaccine rollout. Whether that will amount to a 4th wave or whatever in the UK, and whether we can expect the same, remains to be seen.

I am very optimistic in the medium term but it is too early to declare the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

The radio shows will be intense today. A lot of anger out there. I do get the sense that some people will relish this last opportunity for some vigorous finger wagging before Covid effectively ends due to vaccinations.

Honestly though people are being utter Muppets for gathering in huge crowds in the Middle of town when our fully vaccinated population is only @ 20% so far. Was ridiculous yesterday with the amount of people cramming into the DART. Literally the minute the Sun comes out people stop caring. Its just the sheer amount of making excuses instead of waiting a bit longer to get things right thats annoying or at least having enough cop on to space out from one another.

Lumen wrote: »
    I don't care for the finger wagging either but we're not quite there yet.

The case rate in the UK has doubled in the last week, and they're two months ahead of us in their vaccine rollout. Whether that will amount to a 4th wave or whatever in the UK, and whether we can expect the same, remains to be seen.

I am very optimistic in the medium term but it is too early to declare the end.

Its that poxy Indian Variant thats gotten out over there that isnt helping its reportedly twice as virulent as the Brit variant. I don't know if there would be a 4th wave here but considering were still not yet at a critical mass of fully vaccinated people yet the last thing we need is that fecking Variant getting out and starting more shìt again on us just as were about to see the back of this fecking thing.

Infini wrote: »
    Honestly though people are being utter Muppets for gathering in huge crowds in the Middle of town when our fully vaccinated population is only @ 20% so far. Was ridiculous yesterday with the amount of people cramming into the DART. Literally the minute the Sun comes out people stop caring. Its just the sheer amount of making excuses instead of waiting a bit longer to get things right thats annoying or at least having enough cop on to space out from one another.

The Dart overcrowding looked bad alright, but I'm not sure how that can be prevented except by closing the Dart stations or turning away anyone who looks fit enough to walk.

It also would have happened whether or not outdoor dining was allowed. It's a sunny weekend, people are going to head outdoors regardless.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

well what ive listened to so far im surprised most people who arent the councils are saying what did they expect after telling everyone to have an "outdoor summer"

The Dart overcrowding looked bad alright, but I'm not sure how that can be prevented except by closing the Dart stations or turning away anyone who looks fit enough to walk.

It also would have happened whether or not outdoor dining was allowed. It's a sunny weekend, people are going to head outdoors regardless.

Yeah it was a mess but noone on the ground can do anything as the system is designed to be a free for all, Staff dont have the numbers to enforce any sort of capacity numbers except on mainline services and noone in management level would not have the guts to close down the DART system on a day like last Sunday for a few hours. Obviously people will want to be out on a sunny day but crowding onto the Dart when theres always huge numbers there is just showing a lack of coherent thought

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭seamie78

marno21 wrote: »
    Yesterday Israel had 4 confirmed cases of Covid-19. 0.02% positivity.

Would be nice if these sort of facts could be included in the discourse about vaccines being ineffective.

We won’t be long catching up with them if we’re doing 300k+ per week

great news, am I right in saying that they only have about 60% vaccinated in total, if so we might be getting very close to the end

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Israel are about as trustworthy as China, its a basket case of a country thats bombing its neighbours children and rumoured to be responsible for our HSE cyber attack after we sent some criticism its way over the killings of innocent people

I wouldn't be taking any information from them on anything

We can look to the UK to see how vaccination is going and they are doing brillantly to reduce hospitalisations, transmission and cases still a concern but they are protecting vulnerable and doing a great job

So we won't listen to Israel because of some antisemitic conspiracy theory about the HSE, any evidence to back up this ridiculous claim? Infowars maybe?

seamie78 wrote: »
    great news, am I right in saying that they only have about 60% vaccinated in total, if so we might be getting very close to the end

Israel unlocked at around 100 doses/100 population.

We are currently around 55/100. At the current rate of vaccination we will reach 100/100 around the second week of July.

Bombing children should be enough to ignore them

Whatever you say about the Jewish state, they have been phenomenally successful with their vaccination campaign -- and no doubt that frustrates the far-Left.

We can learn a lot from the way they've conducted the vaccination campaign.

Bombing children should be enough to ignore them

So in that case then we should ignore data from the UK the USA, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Russia, Turkey just to name a few, so who's left to listen to?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Israel are about as trustworthy as China, its a basket case of a country thats bombing its neighbours children and rumoured to be responsible for our HSE cyber attack after we sent some criticism its way over the killings of innocent people

I wouldn't be taking any information from them on anything

We can look to the UK to see how vaccination is going and they are doing brillantly to reduce hospitalisations, transmission and cases still a concern but they are protecting vulnerable and doing a great job

Israel by any measure has done better than the UK. Don't let that stop your thinly-veiled diatribe though. And, earlier in this thread (weeks) I posted a link to a paper about *how* Israel managed this. It makes interesting reading - among other things, they rehearse 'bioterrorism drills' as a matter of course.

https://ijhpr.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s13584-021-00440-6

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

ypres5 wrote: »
    So in that case then we should ignore data from the UK the USA, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Russia, Turkey just to name a few, so who's left to listen to?

That's a silly comparison. The misdeeds of UK the USA, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Russia, Turkey aren't making headlines currently so they hold no relevance. Same as how there was no housing crisis in 2020. It just suddenly happened again in 2021.

So it's alright to blow up children so long as it's not on the front page of the Sun?

This has got absolutely nothing to do with COVID.

I agree but the poster I'm responding to said we should ignore the amazing data coming from Israels vaccine rollout because of the conflict with Palestine and compared Israel to China, even though Israel is a democratic country with a free press

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

seamie78 wrote: »

I think i heard Leo saying 60% fully vaxxed “ is where we need to get to”.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Sorry. Was being sarcastic. Completely agree with your point.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Mad suggestion, but provide additional transport options for people?

Public transport still operating at 50% of normal levels is completely unacceptable. There's been essentially no pro-active approach to things like this from the councils or Government.

Sorry. Was being sarcastic. Completely agree with your point.

Sorry sarcasm detector was on the blink

Amirani wrote: »
    Mad suggestion, but provide additional transport options for people?

Public transport still operating at 50% of normal levels is completely unacceptable. There's been essentially no pro-active approach to things like this from the councils or Government.

The logic/motive seems to be don’t provide these things in the hope people won’t do anything and continue to #StayAtHome.

It’s not like we’d no lead in time. We’ve been told about an outdoor summer since February. What have we done? Pedestrianise 3/4 streets and provide no extra capacity on public transport.

And then we operate a massively reactive response of closing streets, canals, or discussing closing transport or stations. Our problem for a long time is that we are about 99% reactive, 1% proactive. The councils/gardai/government response stinks of a Simpsons quote “Won’t somebody else do it?”

I'll stick my neck out and say that I don't think the antics at the weekend will change anything.

Perhaps cases will rise, but that's an inevitability with increased socialization.

But in terms of risk of public health, hospitalizations etc., I don't believe there will be any big effect whatsoever.

There comes a point when the public must be allowed to decide their own level of risk, as we do with everything else in life.

Holohan and the government are effectively nannying and policing this risk. It's totally unwarranted at this stage when 60% of adults are very shortly going to be vaccinated.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

So many young people perhaps influenced by the far right who were against lockdown measures.

Yes because only raging neo Nazis take issue with being locked up for 6 months of the year