Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Hardly a coincidence that the emergency powers are up on Thursday and there’s a media stir to reintroduce restrictions. Absolute lunacy, it would be pandering to the wet wipes of society.

Just Let it go, it’s over. I’ve had it twice now and it’s no different to a mild cold. It’s up to the HSE and fat salary Paul Ried to sort their house out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

You really need to move on. Wearing a mask on the packed dart before going to a concert in, for example, the three arena is a waste of time, always was, always will be.

Masks were a failure at Christmas and would only fail again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,320 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Who are you talking to , and what ...are you talking about?

• Administrators Posts: 55,171 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Covid is rampant in hospitals, and hospitals are definitely a location where masks are worn more than anywhere else. Square that circle for us.

The reality is that communal mask wearing is pure virtue signalling. It makes no difference at all at this point. You may as well tell people that they have to do 5 decades of the rosary before they step foot out their door.

For what it's worth I am pro-vaccine, and was all for masks earlier in the pandemic when it made sense. It no longer makes any sense, and masks should not be imposed to keep the very vocal hysterical loons happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Calling German people what you called them is deeply offensive . Regardless of what you think of their rules it was totally unacceptable and unnecessary

Completely wrong . One of the main pillars of chronic disease management is looking at how things can be better managed in a community setting to do just that , prevent admission to hospital .

This is the main push behind Slaintecare and why healthcare are so behind it.

You continue with this silly revisionism ...Covid is only ' mild' now because of what has 'been forced ' as you say upon you .

Vaccination and boosters have reduced severe disease and illness while restrictions controlled levels of infection over the past 2 years . Removal of said restrictions and a milder strain have not resulted in less infection and It is just most can manage to knock it back with their improved immune response.It is no longer a novel virus to our imune systems

So many have been laid up with severe illness and died, before we have come to this though .

You know this.

Edited for spaces between words .

Post edited by Goldengirl on

Nursing homes even more so. Far less turn over of patients, less visitors, less movement between areas for procedures etc.

A far more controlled environment yet 324 active clusters last week.

But let's all wear masks on the dart to pretend we are doing something useful.

Restrictions and mask wearing have nothing whatsoever to do with the severity of the disease.

We lucked out on the mutations, getting a super transmissible, mild version was the holy grail. It allowed us to remove restrictions and let it run through the community, and if you don't think this was part of the plan all along you are deluded.

Actually not fair or correct.

Most issues with the health service will never get sorted while there is high levels of covid in the community . Staff in hospitals are firefighting and change in any organisation is restricted in those circumstances.

For all that most people know at this stage , or should know that levels in the community will affect availability of beds and services inevitably , and any measure that can reduce community levels need to be employed albeit shortterm, to try to improve the situation.

That means back to all of us and everybody, known as " the public " .

A pain isn't it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

I have moved on . Long before you re/ joined the thread .

I support nurses and think that a temporary increase in use of masks might give them a dig out. Nobody is forcing you .

So nurses and other healthcare professionals are vocal hysterical loons now ?

Not going to reply further as that is a disgraceful and completely unjust statement there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

The longer this list gets, the further away the booster gets.... Sorry Pfizer 😁

No, I think all the dopes on twitter and the likes who think mask wearing is going to make any difference whatsoever are hysterical loons.

It is unsurprising that some who work in healthcare are calling for restrictions. Had restrictions been a thing pre-covid when hospitals were queued out the door every single flu season they'd have called for restrictions back then too.

Wear a mask, don't wear a mask, that's up to individuals. The reality is they make no difference, if people want to wear one to make themselves feel better I fail to see the issue, but to enforce it is nonsensical and not supported by any data at all.

You said covid is only mild now because of what was forced upon us.

This is absolutely false. And I say that as someone who is overwhelmingly pro-vaccination for covid.

You also said removal of restrictions has not led to less infections. Well yes, obviously. That was the whole point.

No one once called nurses hysterical loons. The people calling for masks are ISAG loons, RTE presenters, and lobby and interest groups. Even the HSE group that called for masks weren’t in unison. Anyway, this group was set up to address overcrowding in 2014, they’ve done a great job obviously…

There are nurses who don’t think masks will make a difference, just like the CMO. There is no way of just helping out ‘a little bit’. It’s either full lockdown to control it, or plough on through. Government and health officials have acknowledge this. The rest need to catch up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭DLink

Friday can't come fast enough, we need to get over the finish line and ditch those emergency laws before someone in power has a "great idea" and extends them.

It should hopefully also kill the debate in the media because they'll need to push new laws through the Dail after they lapse, and I can't see them being universally supported like they were last time, but then again, flogging a dead horse can still sells papers.....

Only three more sleeps 😬

The INMO want to force me.

The Tánaiste's comments come in the wake of calls from the General Secretary of the INMO for the reintroduction of mandatory mask wearing in certain places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Cars are the place that seat belts are used most, but most death on the roads happens as a result of car carashes. Just goes to show that seat belts are pure useless.

That's the sort of logic that keeps getting pushed out around here. Think about what you're saying, lads.

The one from the INMO certainly is.

Interviewed outdoors on a lovely day wearing a mask to try score some cheap point.

Made an absolute tool out of herself, I'd be embarrassed if she was my representative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

This is it

I don't trust Donnelly and a few more to hold out for too long

Holohan at least has a backbone and probably won't want to row back on his decisions anyway

"masks make no difference". How did you come up with brilliant piece of utter boll*x?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭KieferFan69

Will there be another booster?

The masks that the general population wear are not effective against super transmissible variants like Omicron.

I would have thought this was well known by now, and not even up for dispute.

So again if you read my post properly you would have seen that 1) that enforcement is not being looked for and 2) that mask wearing was used in hospitals pre Covid for infectious patients , as proven to reduce transmission despite the " Don't like them and thus they don't work " attitude of some people .

Of course how you wear them and what type of mask in what type of situation makes a difference ....but there is a whole other thread for that discussion.

Typical ...3 posts from you jumping on a bandwagon without reading what I was saying ...what a waste of time !

Have to admit I was giving out about that myself..just making the point I think but totally unnecessary 😁

She is representative of the INMO , btw , not ALL nurses .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

This is a pretty disingenuous take. Saying that masks, as a whole, make no difference to the spread of SARS-CoV-2 is blatant misinformation.

Here's a pretty conclusive up-to-date study conducted by the Max Planck institute for one: https://www.mpg.de/17916867/coronavirus-masks-risk-protection

It took what was increasingly obvious about Corona, modelling it as an airborne virus and analysed the problem across a variety of methods, exposure times, mask types and environmental conditions.

There's plenty of issues in Ireland specifically when it comes to this issue. The initial himming and hawing over whether they should be used, allowing plastic shields in front of your face, allowing bits of cloth and rag as a "mask", all that. But we compounded that by having little to no education on their effective use, what they can or can't do, making available FPP2 masks far too late, or avoiding the chronic repeat-use of them and outdoors too (where rain and high-moisture environments immediately ruin the filtration effect).

But, in saying all that, we are roughly at the point where they don't make any sense from an epidemiological perspective. The Omicron genie is well and truly out of the bottle and even immediately reintroducing effective masking rules like Germany had with FPP2 masks, won't stop infection en-masse in the wider population over the next couple of weeks.

The real issue I have is the timing of the relaxation, before we have any deliveries of paxlovid to date and would be able to keep literally hundreds of those hospitalised for covid to recover safely at home. We only have small stocks of the one effective monoclonal antibody treatment and it has to be administered in a hospital.

But please let's not say that actually-useful respirators are a useless waste of time