Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,814 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

eskimohunt wrote: »
    To be honest, I think Brenda is spot on here.

In your view. Problem here is that Brenda thinks she speaks for all of us. Right down to saying that she knows nobody else was having a good time regardless of what they said, because Brenda knows better. Looney stuff.

As Jim and others have pointed out, everyone has preferences. I'd prefer a bar stool at this stage of life myself. Brenda should zip it in terms of speaking for eveyone and concentrate on speaking only for herself. RTE should consider why it was newsworthy. Hope they don't pay Brenda for the likes of this ****e.
    Allinall wrote: »
    Person uses a public platform to express their opinion and give out about a person using a public platform to express their opinion.

You'd have to laugh.

Eh no. The difference is that Brenda was using a public platform to express other people's opinions. Without asking them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

How long is it taking for people to hear back on covid tests? A friend of mine is approaching 48 hours now.

In your view. Problem here is that Brenda thinks she speaks for all of us. Right down to saying that she knows nobody else was having a good time regardless of what they said, because Brenda knows better. Looney stuff.

I think the broad point has value though.

Many times, people go out and are going with the flow. Then, the next day, it's portrayed as if it were the best thing since sliced bread.

She is exaggerating, yes, but many people exaggerate how "amazing" their night was, too.

I can never understand all the moaning about packed pubs and drinking culture in general.

If it’s not your thing, just don’t do it…
    Plenty of places where you can have a quiet drink or meal if that’s your thing.

If life in other countries is so appealing, people have the option to visit or live in those countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Someone should tell Brenda that here in the real world people will go back to the way things were as soon as they get the chance.

What's the obsession with moving to the "continental model" anyway? Holohan was spouting similar nonsense at some stage from what I recall.

People believe that the Irish relationship with alcohol is a total free for all where between 8pm and closing you have to get as much booze down the swanny as you possibly can, full of debauchery and shenanigans like a shebeen in the prohibition era. Which is totally untrue - our consumption is similar to those on "the continent", and most pubs in this country are full of tables of people chatting. people also like the music and the dancefloors and the packed standing room places, hence why they are the way they are.

it would be nice to have the option of a cafe-culture, buy a beer in a corner shop or deli and sit out with it if its nice at a table. But anybody saying we need a paradigm shift to be more like X, Y & Z can go and do one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

timmyntc wrote: »
    People believe that the Irish relationship with alcohol is a total free for all where between 8pm and closing you have to get as much booze down the swanny as you possibly can, full of debauchery and shenanigans like a shebeen in the prohibition era. Which is totally untrue - our consumption is similar to those on "the continent", and most pubs in this country are full of tables of people chatting. people also like the music and the dancefloors and the packed standing room places, hence why they are the way they are..

I’ve seen that sentiment repeated regularly on this forum that the Irish are lawless drunks

I can only assume those who believe that have never been abroad in their lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭shadyslimshady

She's 59. Don't think i'd want to be a pub i can barely move in at that age with a heap of drunk younger people around bumping into me.

Plenty of other pubs around more suited to the older folk with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

She does talk some scutter, its like our media are twenty years behind and ran by oul wans and oul lads close to retirement age.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭corkie

https://twitter.com/roinnslainte/status/1395414433955041282

As of midnight, Wednesday 19th May, the @hpscireland
    has been notified of 469* confirmed cases of #COVID19.

103 in hospital. 38 in ICU.

*Daily case numbers may change due to future data validation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

She's 59. Don't think i'd want to be a pub i can barely move in at that age with a heap of drunk younger people around bumping into me.

Plenty of other pubs around more suited to the older folk with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

She does talk some scutter, its like our media are twenty years behind and ran by oul wans and oul lads close to retirement age.

Absolutely, I’ve never really struggled to find a quiet pub in Dublin or my native area in South Down for those who don’t want to be crammed in like sardines and shouting over eachother. I also think the options for those who prefer a quieter drink have improved in the past ten years.

I’d personally be more than happy if the pandemic encourages authorities and business owners in places like Dublin to put more effort into street dining and drinking in the warmer months — even if that entails putting overhead cover on alleyways and small streets (places like Dame Lane for example) and pedestrianising streets where possible.

But there’s very little you can do for those like Brenda who just hope that the pandemic burns away the things that others enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,217 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

corkie wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/roinnslainte/status/1395414433955041282

As of midnight, Wednesday 19th May, the @hpscireland
    has been notified of 469* confirmed cases of #COVID19.

103 in hospital. 38 in ICU.

*Daily case numbers may change due to future data validation.

No county breakdowns?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭corkie

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    No county breakdowns?

Due to the current disruption of the HSE IT system, no county breakdowns or death reports, since before the 15th May.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Hooter23

They are trying to convince people in South America to take out of date vaccines...at least here in ireland we are smarter we just extended the length at which vaccines can be stored from 5 days to a month...same thing I suppose problem solved

• Registered Users Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Hooter23 wrote: »
    They are trying to convince people in South America to take out of date vaccines...at least here in ireland we are smarter we just extended the length at which vaccines can be stored from 5 days to a month...same thing I suppose problem solved

It wasn't an Irish decision. That was the EMA based upon new data from Pfizer. It also follows findings from moderna with extra shelf life once defrosted but not diluted etc... Out of date vaccines (based on batch expiry date) is complete different than how long it will last once thawed out. Same way an open vial must be discarded after a certain few hours. You'd be better off posting that in the conspiracy thread if that's what you actually believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,656 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Hooter23 wrote: »

And the dates here reflect the amended storage advice. There's a huge difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

What’s so good about the Scandanivan model anyway? It’s not as if the Scandinavians are renowned for the craic, and you don’t get people going over there especially for the nightlife.

There’s a reason Irish bars are so popular worldwide, and they’re not just even frequented Irish immigrants in those countries either. Craic and hospitality is one thing we are widely known for, why are we trying to change that?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,632 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

wadacrack wrote: »
    Its only rain , you can still go outside. Society has become very strange about the weather. Rain and cold does not equal an awful day. Understandable to a point obviously for certain events but its gone abit too far now at this stage.

This is why we need the pubs open. Some of my best days looking out at the rain from the pub

• Registered Users Posts: 5,814 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

What’s so good about the Scandanivan model anyway? It’s not as if the Scandinavians are renowned for the craic, and you don’t get people going over there especially for the nightlife.

There’s a reason Irish bars are so popular worldwide, and they’re not just even frequented Irish immigrants in those countries either. Craic and hospitality is one thing we are widely known for, why are we trying to change that?

Because Brenda knows that even if you think you enjoyed doing it, you really didn't!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭prunudo

I look forward to the day that restrictions are lifted and life goes back to how we lived in 2019. These experts and columnists who've been given a free reign on the airwaves the last 15 months will get a rude awakening when they see the 'new normal' is nothing more than a media buzzword.
    A large percentage of people in this country like busy pubs, packed gigs and generally socialising with other people, and long may that last.

Because Brenda knows that even if you think you enjoyed doing it, you really didn't!

No surprise that Brenda is married and nearly 60. I’m sure she would’ve said different if she was in her 20s or 30s. Her demographic is not exactly the one keeping the Irish nightlife going.

I'm not defending her but it's more than 'nightlife'. Those in their 50s and 60s have a lot of disposable income that finds it's way to bars and restaurants.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭sporina

are there any stats on what % of the population here to date have refused a vaccine or who are saying that they won't get one?

sporina wrote: »
    are there any stats on what % of the population here to date have refused a vaccine or who are saying that they won't get one?

I'd say that's a No.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,065 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Very true :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭sporina

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    I'd say that's a No.

why?

Haha , massive generalisation there , some of us will be boogying on down for more years than some of you have lived !
    Although I would not put even 60 year olds in Brenda's " demographic"!
    She is her own country apparently :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭boardise

The insistence on having every town/city centre packed with cars is a much bigger barrier to outdoor dining/drinking than the weather. You'd swear our summer was like winter in the arctic circle the way some people go on.

I always marvel at the stoicism / stupidity of people I see eating out -a few yards from a busy road where streams of traffic belch out fumes into the air surrounding the determined diners. How can such an experience beset by noise and smoke combined add up to anything worthwhile ?
    Also applies to joggers who go jogging on main routes during rush hour. Seems crazy and self defeating.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Polar101

First time I've heard of a Scandinavian (pub/nightlife) model and I lived in that neck of the woods for decades. I think she just made it up.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Haha , massive generalisation there , some of us will be boogying on down for more years than some of you have lived !
    Although I would not put even 60 year olds in Brenda's " demographic"!
    She is her own country apparently :)

Haha, true! I’m late 30s myself, so not exactly a young wan either! Sorry if I offended you by putting you in the same group as Brenda. I can tell you like a good packed pub and throwing some shapes as much as anyone :)

No problem.
    Used to think she was 60 about 20 years ago :pac:
    There are some people who are born ancient !

Btw, in your 30s is a young wan , take it from an oul wan !

• Registered Users Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

sporina wrote: »

It’s a good question

Most of us are taking to the vaccine to return to normal, but in countries where lockdown wasn’t as strict the vaccine confidence is lower

But I would imagine as Ireland vaccinates people at negligible risk from covid that the uptake will start to diminish slightly

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/people-in-ireland-most-willing-in-eu-to-take-covid-19-vaccine-survey-1.4564007%3fmode=amp
    People in Ireland are the most willing among European Union member states to take the Covid-19 vaccine, according to a survey released on Thursday.

So despite Ireland being a nation of paralytic drunk leprechaun’s we are still the most likely to take the vaccine in the EU it seems