Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I’ll take notice of the chief medical officer on covid and not some randomer on boards thanks
    To be honest randomers on boards have more credibility at this stage.
    People seem to think the virus has gone away. Certainly acting like that.
    Or maybe people can see that the vulnerable are vaccinated and they wanted to enjoy the sunshine in a safe outdoor environment?
    New concerning variants are on the rise.
    The US has all of these "concerning" variants on their shores and they've opened up. Guess what? Their cases have plummeted.
    The virus does not care one jot for your opinions or frustrations.
    Cringe

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ClosedAccountFuzzy

There’s no point in kidding ourselves either, we’ve a massive binge drinking problem and effectively what you’re seeing there is the whole thing concentrated into a couple of streets due to a lack of venues.

The littering issue is an a combination of abysmal, but standard, behaviour and a refusal to provide adequate bins.

(There’s a whole other issue with privatised domestic waste collection and councils then not wanting domestic waste being put into large urban bins …)

The council should have provided the same volume of bins you’d need at a big gig, but then they didn’t want that level of congregation, yet nobody dispersed the crowd earlier in the day. So what exactly does anyone expect to happen?!

It’s a mess and other than those working in healthcare, nobody under 45 is vaccinated, so you can fully expect a spike in cases. Hopefully those cases don’t work result in hospitalisation, in general younger people aren’t as impacted but a % are, so you’ll get some.

We’re not in the vaccination position the UK is or the US is. We are several weeks behind and we need to be realistic about that.

We can reopen, but it needs to be a lot calmer than that and I think the lack of outdoor venues last night as we are in the run up to the 7th is what’s driving some of this crazy.

People are seeing a return to normality on TV and online in the UK and the US, but we’re where they were in April in terms of vaccines and they weren’t that relaxed then.

There are risks of causing at least case spikes here.

It’s not all or nothing in terms of opening, but packing narrow city streets like that just isn’t a great idea from any perspective.

It’s a mixture of confusing policies, comparisons with places that are way ahead on vaccines and our ‘having the craic’ culture of binge drinking.

To be it also shows the non grown up issue we have with drink and regulation of drink. The reaction to this will be handwringing and discussion of minimum pricing or tighter licensing laws instead of creating a more sane culture around alcohol consumption.

We also do no policing. I mean seriously? Why was that crowd even let swell to that size?

I’m not talking draconian stuff but when the crowd was seen to be getting too big, they could have asked people to move on. There are plenty of other streets and spaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Respectfully, The experts would disagree with you there
    Yet they feel comfortable agreeing to all the reopening over the next two months.

FYI the word has a wide scope and it's not a terribly useful choice in this context.

precarious

not securely held or in position dangerously or likely to fall or collapse.

dependent on chance; uncertain.

After Tony’s tweet, the government and NPHET should meet immediately to discuss and clarify what they mean by outdoor summer.

Maybe we need time limits and people limits in place at parks/beaches etc?

We need to know what Tony will allow to not be absolutely shocked. How many can be at a beach etc?

The reality is, Tony collecting someone in a car is more dangerous than outdoor activities. I hope he had a mask on.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Exactly what Tony is doing too. Blaming and shaming people. He won’t be criticised for it though. Just like cervical check, just like the nursing homes, just like inviting the Italian fans over. Maybe we’ll give him the freedom of Ireland this time..

The only thing we should be giving him at this stage is a P45

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭VG31

Respectfully, The experts would disagree with you there

The only way our situation could be considered precarious would be if the virus was absolutely rampant among the unvaccinated. That's simply not going to happen. Perhaps if all restrictions were abandoned tomorrow but otherwise no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5 Midland fisherman

After Tony’s tweet, the government and NPHET should meet immediately to discuss and clarify what they mean by outdoor summer.

We need to know what Tony will allow to not be absolutely shocked. How many can be at a beach etc?

The reality is, Tony collecting someone in a car is more dangerous than outdoor activities. I hope he had a mask on.

Drives a convertible perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Outdoor meetings in bubbles with basic social distancing and no stupid dumping.

Personally think the CMO should not have commented plenty others would do that. He could has just taken Ronan Glynns approach of tweeting if you're going to meet up outdoors please remember...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,914 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

There’s no point in kidding ourselves either, we’ve a massive binge drinking problem and effectively what you’re seeing there is the whole thing concentrated into a couple of streets due to a lack of venues.

The littering issue is an a combination of abysmal, but standard, behaviour and a refusal to provide adequate bins.

(There’s a whole other issue with privatised domestic waste collection and councils then not wanting domestic waste being put into large urban bins …)

The council should have provided the same volume of bins you’d need at a big gig, but then they didn’t want that level of congregation, yet nobody dispersed the crowd earlier in the day. So what exactly does anyone expect to happen?!

It’s a mess and other than those working in healthcare, nobody under 45 is vaccinated, so you can fully expect a spike in cases. Hopefully those cases don’t work result in hospitalisation, in general younger people aren’t as impacted but a % are, so you’ll get some.

We’re not in the vaccination position the UK is or the US is. We are several weeks behind and we need to be realistic about that.

We can reopen, but it needs to be a lot calmer than that and I think the lack of outdoor venues last night as we are in the run up to the 7th is what’s driving some of this crazy.

People are seeing a return to normality on TV and online in the UK and the US, but we’re where they were in April in terms of vaccines and they weren’t that relaxed then.

There are risks of causing at least case spikes here.

It’s not all or nothing in terms of opening, but packing narrow city streets like that just isn’t a great idea from any perspective.

It’s a mixture of confusing policies, comparisons with places that are way ahead on vaccines and our ‘having the craic’ culture of binge drinking.

To be it also shows the non grown up issue we have with drink and regulation of drink. The reaction to this will be handwringing and discussion of minimum pricing or tighter licensing laws instead of creating a more sane culture around alcohol consumption.

We also do no policing. I mean seriously? Why was that crowd even let swell to that size?

I’m not talking draconian stuff but when the crowd was seen to be getting too big, they could have asked people to move on. There are plenty of other streets and spaces.

On a mobile so can't highlight but you ask what are people expect would happen? How about to act like adults and act responsible. People on hers ad nauseum saying we do not need to be nannied. Will maybe we do.

You start off with some blame mostly drinking culture but then you pivot to blame everyone else for things happening then the people who were there. People managed to bring stuff there why not take it away. The pub that was doing takeaway pints why not have someone to clean up there litter.

So Tony collecting 1 someone is more dangerous then crowds and crowds of people packed in a street. Really.

Also there is already time limits and amounts. You heard of social distancing yes

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

On a mobile so can't highlight but you ask what are people expect would happen? How about to act like adults and act responsible. People on hers ad nauseum saying we do not need to be nannied. Will maybe we do.

You start off with some blame mostly drinking culture but then you pivot to blame everyone else for things happening then the people who were there. People managed to bring stuff there why not take it away. The pub that was doing takeaway pints why not have someone to clean up there litter.

This scenario happens every time there is anyway decent weather and there are huge numbers of people with nowhere else to go. There've also been activities which have annoyed people but not contributed to cases in any major way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Well just watching the news and various journalists and now the ever positive Luke O Neill say we’re opening too quickly especially due to the scenes last night all over the country(the litter is scandalous no excuse for that) I’ve come to the conclusion that as a whole our so called experts and media are a bunch of bet wetters and never ever want this to end!
    I’ve had it up to here with all the negativity!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

To be honest randomers on boards have more credibility at this stage.

Or maybe people can see that the vulnerable are vaccinated and they wanted to enjoy the sunshine in a safe outdoor environment?

The US has all of these "concerning" variants on their shores and they've opened up. Guess what? Their cases have plummeted.

Cringe
    They don't I'm afraid. G go back through post histories and you'll find the same people arguing for opening up last September, last Christmas and now are all the exact same.

There's no problem with meeting your friends for a few drinks outside. The problem is with crowding small spaces and leaving the place like a kip afterwards. I don't know has anyone can defend either aspect of that behaviour.

If I were in charge of DCC id be leaving that place as is for a few months and let the businesses down there stew in the filth they and their customers have created. Fuk 'em.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

is_that_so wrote: »
    This scenario happens every time there is anyway decent weather and there are huge numbers of people with nowhere else to go. They've also been activities which have annoyed people but not contributed to cases in any major way.

I've stopped taking notice of the usual hand wringing after apocalypse st Patrick's day and easter turned out to be nothing more than a wet fart

• Registered Users Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

"Drove into Dublin City Centre to collect someone from work at 815 PM".

Every so slightly dubious about this bit. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

See above

The virus does not care ONE JOT about your personal opinions or frustrations with the restrictions.

I will take note of the CMO and relevant experts over some randomer claiming to have xyz qualifications on boards for god sake

Apparently the new Vietnamese variant actually DOES care about opinions and also hates drink. It's also delighted that people are essentially describing it as a thinking, emotional being.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

I dont really know what tony expected. Pubs have been open for weeks now, many with outdoor seating being used and toilets indoors also.

The publicans that have acted like this are grossly irresponsible. They dont give a **** about anybody's health, it's all about the money for them. They're as bad as the Berlin bar last year and should be facing the same penalties. The guards indifference to enforcing the law that leads to situations like this is just as egregious, they are failing us, failing to protect the people and society.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

A load of people having a melt down about young people doing young people things when a disease that doesn’t effect them while all the older and vulnerable people in their lives have been vaccinated already.

Some people want to get a grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,397 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I am refreshed to see that many here actually had a limit and Tony is crossing it for nearly everyone now.

Even the most robust supporters are realising he is stepping beyond his remit of public health advice to government

The insistence to ignore the science around outdoor gatherings is baffling

A load of people having a melt down about young people doing young people things when a disease that doesn’t effect them while all the older and vulnerable people in their lives have been vaccinated already.

Some people is a lot of people! It’s our media and so called experts that have been calling for an outdoor summer but are outraged people are socialising outdoors! Go figure! And any of the curtain twitchers here agree with Tony ye have been brainwashed and I feel sorry for ye

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

A load of people having a melt down about young old people doing young people things owning property and the high cost when a that doesn’t effect them while all the older and vulnerable people in their lives have been vaccinated already while younger people can't afford to buy or rent.

Just because your group isn't directly effected doesn't mean that you're absolved of your responsibilities. Did you see the state they left the place? Is that ok?

Ah your right there young let's them do what they want it's not like there adults. Are you sure all old and vulnerable people are vaccinated. I am out and about gone shopping as soon as I could but still.

I love how people talk about the US with opening up and no increase but not the UK

A load of people having a melt down about young old people doing young people things owning property and the high cost when a that doesn’t effect them while all the older and vulnerable people in their lives have been vaccinated already while younger people can't afford to buy or rent.

Just because your group isn't directly effected doesn't mean that you're absolved of your responsibilities. Did you see the state they left the place? Is that ok?

I think it’s you that needs to get a grip! They shouldn’t have left the place in that state but the younger population have sacrificed enough and let them socialise for fûck sake! It’s the likes of you and others on here that rte and others call for their polls on Claire byrnes covid shows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭Dr. Em

That is just the problem. I've been to a lot of countries as a young person and this sort of behaviour is only seen as natural behaviour for young people in the UK and Ireland, and maybe Denmark and a handful of other countries. Somehow, a awful lot of young people manage to enjoy themselves in smaller groups without completely trashing the place. This only happens here because people shrug and think that young people and drunk people can't enjoy themselves sensibly and they know there will be absolutely no consequences.

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Some people is a lot of people! It’s our media and so called experts that have been calling for an outdoor summer but are outraged people are socialising outdoors! Go figure! And any of the curtain twitchers here agree with Tony ye have been brainwashed and I feel sorry for ye

Ah curtain twitchers I see is back. If you don't see the difference what was happening last night to proper socialising outdoors maybe we need to be told what to do

Heaven forbid you’ve ever been at a music festival! You’d be outraged to the point of hospitalisation for your nerves!

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ClosedAccountFuzzy

The drinking culture is a creature of the broader culture, including the nannying approach to regulation of drinking that’s gone on here (and has parallels in the anglophone world) going back to temperance movements.

We do have a cultural issue with how we drink and we’ve a total lack of respect for communal spaces like streets and beaches. You see the same every time any big gathering like this happens. It’s not helped by bad design and poor policies, but it’s a mixture of culture and facilities.

We’ve a very non-grown-up relationship with drinking and you’re not going to turn the tide on that in the course of a few months.

However, I think we are creating the circumstances for what happened last night - no open venues, no policing to disperse a crowd, no facilities like bins or toilets, even though the crowd was inevitable and we just aren’t willing manage it.

Head-in-sand denial of realities about what is very predictable behaviour isn’t going to mitigate against the risks and in the pandemic those risks aren’t just litter and urine.

We’ve another week of this before the outdoor dining and pub spaces will start to bring sanity back to the cities and towns by organising things properly.

Cork2021 wrote: »
    I think it’s you that needs to get a grip! They shouldn’t have left the place in that state but the younger population have sacrificed enough and let them socialise for fûck sake! It’s the likes of you and others on here that rte and others call for their polls on Claire byrnes covid shows!

I hate this they are young and have sacrificed crap. We all have what's makes young people so much more special. How about the old people or those with underlying conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

I hate this they are young and have sacrificed crap. We all have what's makes young people so much more special. How about the old people or those with underlying conditions.

Lockdown enthusiasts and ageism against younger people, name a better duo.