Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 10,914 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Cork2021 wrote: »
    Heaven forbid you’ve ever been at a music festival! You’d be outraged to the point of hospitalisation for your nerves!

A music festival you mean that is geared to this type of socialising in a private property and not in the middle of city streets. Yes I have been and enjoyed myself in most I was at. A little bit different then out door dining and outdoor areas in pubs would you say

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ClosedAccountFuzzy

Music festivals have facilities, stewarding of crowds, plenty of space, bins, banks of toilet facilities, clean up teams and proper organisation.

They don’t just stuff a few thousand people into a narrow street, with loads of alcohol and hope they behave like they’ve going for a night at the opera.

ypres5 wrote: »
    Lockdown enthusiasts and ageism against younger people, name a better duo.

Ya that's it :o. Never mentioned lockdown and hope we never see 1 again in my life

Great to see long may it continue

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Cork2021 wrote: »
    I think it’s you that needs to get a grip! They shouldn’t have left the place in that state but the younger population have sacrificed enough and let them socialise for fûck sake! It’s the likes of you and others on here that rte and others call for their polls on Claire byrnes covid shows!

No one, not even the CMO is saying that they can't socialise. They've been asked to do it though in a safe manner and that means not jointing a few small streets. Do you think that everyone there knew everyone else(socialising with a few thousand of my friends?!), or was it a case of hundreds of small groups choosing to go to the one place? Those smaller groups could've chosen to go somewhere else, to spread out throughout the city. They also could've put their rubbish in the bins too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭Cork2021

God forbid any of ye lot get into power ye will have us wearing masks on our arses to stop the gas from our farts escaping in case covid is present!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭ZX7R

I am refreshed to see that many here actually had a limit and Tony is crossing it for nearly everyone now.

Even the most robust supporters are realising he is stepping beyond his remit of public health advice to government

The insistence to ignore the science around outdoor gatherings is baffling

He is getting quite a bit of back lash from government ministers from both sides.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

No one, not even the CMO is saying that they can't socialise. They've been asked to do it though in a safe manner and that means not jointing a few small streets. Do you think that everyone there knew everyone else(socialising with a few thousand of my friends?!), or was it a case of hundreds of small groups choosing to go to the one place? Those smaller groups could've chosen to go somewhere else, to spread out throughout the city. They also could've put their rubbish in the bins too.

The point is there isn't other places in the city to go. Much of our city is completely inhospitable for people, we don't have places to sit and hanging around many streets will leave you in danger of being hit by a car. I'm not sure if you're aware, but there's been a significant crackdown by Gardai on any drinking around the canals and in parks of late. I've seen couples having a cup of wine or a can of beer being told to leave, despite there being nobody else around.

With all the above, it's zero surprise whatsoever that people gravitate to the few streets in the city that aren't overrun by cars. Young people in house shares don't have big gardens (unlike politicians and NPHET members one would imagine), they don't have places to socialise outdoors.

All of that said, the rubbish and mess made of the street is a disgrace, and those who contributed to that should be ashamed of themselves. But this is a separate (albeit related) issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Went for a few takeaway pints myself yesterday afternoon, another area of south Dublin which had a pub adjacent to a large park. The pub was serving takeaway pints and also allowing people to use their toilet, great set up to be fair and they were extremely compliant with Covid measures and made sure to keep the queue socially distant etc.

The Gardaí turned up around 5ish and went around the park telling everyone to leave, another squad car pulls in and two more Gardaí joined in telling everyone to leave and that drinking in public is prohibited. They left about an hour later and realised they were fighting a losing battle but still I'd say about a third of thr crowd did leave.

What do they want us to do? There were no messy drunk people, all groups were well distanced, plenty of bins and people were not littering. It was as perfect of a set up as you could hope for yet they were still telling people to leave and threatening fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

It's honestly mind boggling that there's still hysteria about large outdoor gatherings when it's been proven many times that they're not a significant driver of spread.

This was known a year ago.

The problem with this is will now create a knee jerk reaction that will most likely impact all the thousands of people who went out, behaved sensibly, had a bit of fun and went home again.

On the plus side of it, we should see some degree of sanity restored to urban Ireland as the venues well begin to absorb those crowds into outdoor seating and, hopefully as July and august arrive, assuming the vaccines are still successfully controlling the disease, we’ll be back to mostly normality

But seriously, it’s not the time to just totally throw all caution to the wind. We need to be going step by step - cautiously but optimistically towards normality.
    The last thing we need is to jump the gun and set ourselves back.

Eyes on the prize! It’s just about a few weeks off sensible pragmatism, not draconian lockdowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,571 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's rather convenient that we are not getting the daily death figures due to the IT meltdown, would be interesting to see how low they are, we are in full vaccine season now.

Went for a few takeaway pints myself yesterday afternoon, another area of south Dublin which had a pub adjacent to a large park. The pub was serving takeaway pints and also allowing people to use their toilet, great set up to be fair and they were extremely compliant with Covid measures and made sure to keep the queue socially distant etc.

The Gardaí turned up around 5ish and went around the park telling everyone to leave, another squad car pulls in and two more Gardaí joined in telling everyone to leave and that drinking in public is prohibited. They left about an hour later and realised they were fighting a losing battle but still I'd say about a third of thr crowd did leave.

What do they want us to do? There were no messy drunk people, all groups were well distanced, plenty of bins and people were not littering. It was as perfect of a set up as you could hope for yet they were still telling people to leave and threatening fines.

Similar to was happening in London and in Paris you had decisions to do things like close parks, which led to tens of thousands of people congregated on the banks of the Seine.

Police and local authorities clearly aren’t used to this kind of planning and you’ll get arbitrary and illogical enforcement.

It wouldn’t be the worst idea to get some event management people involved in the reopening planning. They’re far more used to comprehending likely behaviours and coming up with ideas for keeping things flowing and functioning in a positive way.

This kind of thing isn’t just common sense - very few people have experience and skills in it and it’s very easy to make a well intentioned utter mess.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

[QUOTE=Amirani;117306304]The point is there isn't other places in the city to go. Much of our city is completely inhospitable for people, we don't have places to sit and hanging around many streets will leave you in danger of being hit by a car. I'm not sure if you're aware, but there's been a significant crackdown by Gardai on any drinking around the canals and in parks of late. I've seen couples having a cup of wine or a can of beer being told to leave, despite there being nobody else around.

With all the above, it's zero surprise whatsoever that people gravitate to the few streets in the city that aren't overrun by cars. Young people in house shares don't have big gardens (unlike politicians and NPHET members one would imagine), they don't have places to socialise outdoors.

All of that said, the rubbish and mess made of the street is a disgrace, and those who contributed to that should be ashamed of themselves. But this is a separate (albeit related) issue.[/QUOTE]

That's an absolute cop out excuse if there was ever one. There are far more than those 3/4 pedestrian streets in the capital and far more spaces to socialise safely with 4/5 friends outdoors.

The only reason those groups chose South William St. was a lack of imagination.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Maybe we should commend these young people for being outdoors and not having house parties.

Maybe we should complain about the lack of outdoor public space

Maybe we should berate the lack of bins and toilets in the city center.

Maybe we should just let people get on with their lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I dont really know what tony expected. Pubs have been open for weeks now, many with outdoor seating being used and toilets indoors also.

The publicans that have acted like this are grossly irresponsible. They dont give a **** about anybody's health, it's all about the money for them. They're as bad as the Berlin bar last year and should be facing the same penalties. The guards indifference to enforcing the law that leads to situations like this is just as egregious, they are failing us, failing to protect the people and society.

i think the Gardai need to be patrolling these areas every half hour and move people on if the numbers are getting too big like on the clip i seen.
    They were checking the movement of cars and the movement of people at and around the airports.
    it is not the publicans job to police the streets, they sell drink, make money and pay tax.
    We need to get this sorted and we have had a few incidents, i rember one in Cork some time ago and there was also a funeral/wedding...

Maybe we should commend these young people for being outdoors and not having house parties.

Your last point hits the nail on the head!

Let’s move on get the vaccines and back at the bar stool

That's an absolute cop out excuse if there was ever one. There are far more than those 3/4 pedestrian streets in the capital and far more spaces to socialise safely with 4/5 friends outdoors.

The only reason those groups chose South William St. was a lack of imagination.

It's unfortunate the entire youth population of Dublin isn't as imaginative as you.

That's something we're evidently going to have to deal with. Current approach to dealing with it isn't working, obviously. How about we stop relying on people's ****ing imagination and actually make it easier for them to socialise outdoors safely? Maybe less of the Garda raids on parks when people are having a picnic and a glass of wine would be a good start?

https://twitter.com/PantiBliss/status/1398968725634752513

• Registered Users Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Maybe its Maybelline

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

i think the Gardai need to be patrolling these areas every half hour and move people on if the numbers are getting too big like on the clip i seen.
    They were checking the movement of cars and the movement of people at and around the airports.
    it is not the publicans job to police the streets, they sell drink, make money and pay tax.
    We need to get this sorted and we have had a few incidents, i rember one in Cork some time ago and there was also a funeral/wedding...

Maybe the lads stopping people leaving the country could do that job.

Tony Holohan wants people to stop meeting indoors. People then meet outdoors, and now he's angry that they're not indoors.

Maybe people should socialise more safely?
    Maybe we should berate them for leaving the area in a kip and not taking them with them
    Maybe we should berate them for not acting like responsible adults?

I do agree with you last line but again safely

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

The answer to the tweet is that younger people are expected to shut up, shovel the **** and play the merry servant for a few tuppence all the while being told how lucky they are for having a job

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

ypres5 wrote: »
    The answer to the tweet is that younger people are expected to shut up, shovel the **** and play the merry servant for a few tuppence all the while being told how lucky they are for having a job

Absolutely, all while being at the very back of the line for vaccines and will pay the most financially for this too. Ridiculous.

You seem to have been in the good place and the gardai could have worked with areas like this and meeting like this.

What happened in others was not like this unfortunately

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 alrightjack89

eskimohunt wrote: »
    Tony Holohan wants people to stop meeting indoors. People then meet outdoors, and now he's angry that they're not indoors.

Would love if someone followed him around for a few days, see does he practice what he preaches.

Who was he collecting from work anyway, seems a strange thing to tell us, was he maskless in the car with that person from a different household?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I dont really know what tony expected. Pubs have been open for weeks now, many with outdoor seating being used and toilets indoors also.

The publicans that have acted like this are grossly irresponsible. They dont give a **** about anybody's health, it's all about the money for them. They're as bad as the Berlin bar last year and should be facing the same penalties. The guards indifference to enforcing the law that leads to situations like this is just as egregious, they are failing us, failing to protect the people and society.

I just had a look at the clip and its crazy.
    For me the Gardai should be patrolling these areas every half hour to stop people from gathering.
    There were loads of Gardai available a few e=weeks ago for the Airport and manning checkpoints around the country.
    There was an incident like this in Cork several months ago so these things are well flagged.
    There was also a funeral/wedding.

Its not the publicians job to manage what going on on the street, they sell drink and pay tax so there is money to pay for this.
    i am thinking most of the people at the gig i seen were buying in the off-license.
    It would be safer to open the pubs and enforce the numbers...

Maybe people should socialise more safely?
    Maybe we should berate them for leaving the area in a kip and not taking them with them
    Maybe we should berate them for not acting like responsible adults?

I do agree with you last line but again safely

Berating people doesn't work, we have extensive research that shows that. A different approach is needed.

https://twitter.com/PantiBliss/status/1398959790869647364