Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

He was having a go at people in a large outdoor gathering. What’s your point?

His constant condescending attitude is not going to help people get on board at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Why the need for him to have a holier than thou attitude so?

?? Because he wasn't participating in said behaviour.

Is making any comment about something you disagree with now being considered "holier than thou"?

His constant condescending attitude is not going to help people get on board at all.

Now you're just making things up.

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭ClosedAccountFuzzy

Something needs to be done from their side, handing out the good willy nilly with no responsibility, even add the cost onto the price of the food and drinks let the customer absorb the fee.

Something needs to be done, but ensuring that something is actually going to achieve anything is rather important.

We seem to be throwing open the doors of the theatre when the stage isn’t set and the actors are still getting dressed and nobody’s even written the script.

Yet somehow it’s supposed to all work ?!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Imo the gov or local authorities should have high profile outdoor gatherings showing the public the type of gatherings we can have and encourage it. If it backfires and there's a significant amount of transmission we can always reverse course. The current approach is only going to have people socialise through ways of higher risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

This is just young people putting themselves first, perhaps then they shouldn't be surprised when the rest of society puts them last.

That's shocking disdain for youth. So they deserve it? You've had a few goes at younger people.

You'll be crying out for them when you are 80+ to take care of you. Sounds like you don't deserve it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

People who think young people drinking is an Irish problem really need to broaden their horizons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

His reason for being in town is irrelevant though. Seems like an odd detail to focus on.

If he said, someone told me about this and I went in for a gander myself, would that change the thrust of his point? No it wouldn't.

I'm not sure it is irrelevant. In one scenario he happens across it in the other he's taking it on himself to inspect it.

John.Icy wrote: »
    That's shocking disdain for youth. So they deserve it? You've had a few goes at younger people.

You'll be crying out for them when you are 80+ to take care of you. Sounds like you don't deserve it though.

On the one hand you have young people claiming that they very environmentally aware. School strike for climate, do you remember that? Yet at the same time behaving in the way we saw, bunch of fukin hypocrites.

Something like 80% of discarded street rubbish ends up in the sea or waterways.

If young people are going to act independently for their own cares at the expense of everyone else, then perhaps they shouldn't be surprised when other groups do the same to their detriment. That street is a shared space for everyone and look at the state they left it in.

PCeeeee wrote: »
    I'm not sure it is irrelevant. In one scenario he happens across it in the other he's taking it on himself to inspect it.

In either case it doesn't change the thrust of his point. As a citizen he is free to inspect and comment on whatever he likes, just like you or I.

It's almost like focussing on this detail is an attempt to discredit what he's saying.

On the one hand you have young people claiming that they very environmentally aware. School strike for climate, do you remember that? Yet at the same time behaving in the way we saw, bunch of fukin hypocrites.

If young people are going to act independently for their own cares at the expense of everyone else, then perhaps they shouldn't be surprised when other groups do the same to their detriment. That street is a shared space for everyone and look at the state they left it in.

Oh this environment bollix again.

If you genuinely think every single young person in the country protested for the climate you are utterly insane.

I'd imagine it was less than 5% of people under the age of 30 who attended any marches. If not even less. Vast majority of young people didn't attend a single march or protest for anything in this country. A school strike that people saw a chance for a day off while the numbers at various marches that day (or climate marches in this country in general) were minuscule compared to those who maybe didnt attend school.

You hate young people and frankly it's equally pathetic but also sad that you are so full of hate.

EDIT: to add to this, the scenes constantly left around the country from younger people show the majority are not in any way tree huggers or environmentally aware to any degree. It would be amazing if there was widespread care like the ones who protest because against what you think, these people are trying their utmost to reduce their waste and be more environmentally friendly. Sadly they are few and far between and the silent majority do not care, just like older folk too.

[HTML][/HTML]
    Oh this environment bollix again.

If you genuinely think every single young person in the country protested for the climate you are utterly insane.

I'd imagine it was less than 5% of people under the age of 30 who attended any marches. If not even less. Vast majority of young people didn't attend a single march or protest for anything in this country. A school strike that people saw a chance for a day off while the numbers at various marches that day (or climate marches in this country in general) were minuscule compared to those who maybe didnt attend school.

You hate young people and frankly it's equally pathetic but also sad that you are so full of hate.

So it was acceptable then to leave the street in that state, or is that environmental bollix?

Is that you, Tony?

eskimohunt wrote: »
    Is that you, Tony?

When you have nothing, play the man not the ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Turtwig wrote: »
    Imo the gov or local authorities should have high profile outdoor gatherings showing the public the type of gatherings we can have and encourage it. If it backfires and there's a significant amount of transmission we can always reverse course. The current approach is only going to have people socialise through ways of higher risk.

Guess thats part of rationale for the live gigs and matches but think need to free up more space in city, have more bins, toilets etc. Fairly basic stuff if meeting up outdoors. Guess issue is public spaces are limited and so people tend to concentrate in small spaces so fairly densely packed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,699 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Is that you, Tony?

You really need to work on some new material.

[HTML][/HTML]

So it was acceptable then to leave the street in that state, or is that environmental bollix?

No, the environmental bollix is to your notion that every young person claims to be super environmentally aware. That is utterly false hence why younger people often leave messes behind which annoy me as much as anyone. You made a completely irrelevant point that so many people try throw at younger folk that they are hypocrites when in fact, most of them don't care and never claimed to do so.

What about the benefits of vitamin D?

Have we all forgotten about that now?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

What about the benefits of vitamin D?

Have we all forgotten about that now?

Drinking too much alcohol can interfere with your body’s ability to absorb and activate the vitamin!

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    And if he wasn't there it would be somebody else. People just have to have somebody to blame.

And blamed justifiably, too.

Tony's tweet last night was arrogant, condescending, and hysterical.

No, the environmental bollix is to your notion that every young person claims to be super environmentally aware. That is utterly false hence why younger people often leave messes behind which annoy me as much as anyone. You made a completely irrelevant point that so many people try throw at younger folk that they are hypocrites when in fact, most of them don't care and never claimed to do so.

Polling shows that the environment is a key concern of the 18-24 group. You don't have to be super environmentally aware to know that throwing rubbish on the street is both selfish and wrong.

Unless of course these young adults don't know the difference between right from wrong.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Drinking too much alcohol can interfere with your body’s ability to absorb and activate the vitamin!

Vitamin H and Vitamin G are necessary also.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,914 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Amirani wrote: »
    Berating people doesn't work, we have extensive research that shows that. A different approach is needed.

https://twitter.com/PantiBliss/status/1398959790869647364

Oh I agree but I was replying specifically with words the person used I was replying to

gansi wrote: »
    Blame and shame and guilt tripping won’t work. Solutions are needed. Another example talked about here last night is the disgraceful shortage of toilet access in Ireland during covid. A website called pee.ie has even been set up to help people find facilities in an area they are visiting. Now that’s an example of helping to solve a problem or find a solution. If more spaces and places were open people would have other choices and the street could be kept clear for outdoor diners, pedestrians etc. Ireland is so backward in so many ways and workable solutions are all too quickly shot down in favour of blame.

Sorry what we can't blame people now. JEBUS H C. We are asking people to have cop on and be responsible

And people are being responsible.
    They are meeting outdoors and doing what they are told - have an outdoors summer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

In either case it doesn't change the thrust of his point. As a citizen he is free to inspect and comment on whatever he likes, just like you or I.

He's not acting "as a citizen" when he's tweeting from a Twitter account called CMO_IRELAND.

Is that you, Tony?

Oh thr originality. Makes me burst out laughing everytime I hear it

And people are being responsible.
    They are meeting outdoors and doing what they are told - have an outdoors summer.

Wete they social distanced and wearing masks in a crowded area as the guidelines say

Amirani wrote: »
    He's not acting "as a citizen" when he's tweeting from a Twitter account called CMO_IRELAND.

The account the post came from or his reasons for being in town do not change the thrust of his point. He was entitled to make the comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

Can’t really see that working. People bring slabs of cans, spirits, etc from all over the place.

Why would you punish already struggling business local to the occurrence? They already pay huge rates, income tax, VAT etc

Because some people have a hard on for taxing, fining and penalizing people for every perceived wrongdoing, these types can often be found nodding along to Joe Duffy to the point of dislocating their necks