Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House hunting in Tallaght

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

It was just suggestion of a place close by. Might offer options to look further into.

Ah I know..sorry no offence meant. Cheers

1. Registered Users Posts: 33,931 ✭✭✭✭listermint

There's definitely been an upsurge in anti social behaviour in the Tymon area over the last couple of years unfortunately.

I'd have Kilnamanagh and Kingswood well ahead of Tymon tbh

I think the current prices reflects the popularity with those considerations

2. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Ken Tucky wrote:
      Ah I know..sorry no offence meant. Cheers

Not a bother at all...although I was going to go full out pedantic on kilnamanagh and Kingswood!

I think over all anywhere close to the village you'll be fairly safe. Have a walk around during the day and night and you'll get a feel for the area.

3. Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

listermint wrote: »
      I know.

Absolute warzones.

Lived in tymonville still know many there. Often described as the Balkans . There was tanks rolling through their last week I believe from the UN.

No offence meant but opinions are like ar$eholes as they say. We both have our own.

4. Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭bigmac3

Is Tallaght really still a kip? From the outside a lot looks ok to me. Kilnamanagh, Belgard, Kingswood, Old Bawn, all very decent?

5. Advertisement
    6. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

bigmac3 wrote:
      Is Tallaght really still a kip? From the outside a lot looks ok to me. Kilnamanagh, Belgard, Kingswood, Old Bawn, all very decent?

Tallaght is huge! Some dodgy areas, but some really lovely areas. Have a look at some of the house prices. I'd love to live in some of those areas.

7. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

Tallaght was never a kip.

It has always had good areas and bad areas, which is par for the course with any area which has a population of its size.

Some people in Kingswood and Kilnamanagh get very offended if you refer to their estates as part of Tallaght!

8. Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭PerryB78

bigmac3 wrote: »

It was never a kip, those areas along with balrothery and glenview are all great places to live

9. Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

I'd say it's about half and half haha.

Living in Old Bawn myself at the moment. Love it but the area around dominics shopping centre is were all the gangs hang out in the evenings.

Never had any trouble from them but can be abit intimidating if you don't know the area. There really only messers and stoners.
      Rest of old Bawn is quite nice and settled.
      Kingswood and kilnamanagh are nice. Belgard also nice. Aylesbury is lovely imo.

Couldn't go wrong with any of the areas mentioned above.

Springfield is fine but again the shops is were all gangs hang out both at centra and the shopping centre. But its quite safe.

Anything past Springfield I wouldn't even consider to be honest. All estates and all **** holes

10. Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
      I'd say it's about half and half haha.

Living in Old Bawn myself at the moment. Love it but the area around dominics shopping centre is were all the gangs hang out in the evenings.

Never had any trouble from them but can be abit intimidating if you don't know the area. There really only messers and stoners.
      Rest of old Bawn is quite nice and settled.
      Kingswood and kilnamanagh are nice. Belgard also nice. Aylesbury is lovely imo.

Couldn't go wrong with any of the areas mentioned above.

Springfield is fine but again the shops is were all gangs hang out both at centra and the shopping centre. But its quite safe.

Anything past Springfield I wouldn't even consider to be honest. All estates and all **** holes

Technically speaking Dominics shops are in Millbrook
      Old Bawn is the other side of Old Bawn road , from the traffic lights in

11. Advertisement
    12. Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

iamwhoiam wrote: »
      Technically speaking Dominics shops are in Millbrook
      Old Bawn is the other side of Old Bawn road , from the traffic lights in

Yes technically. Its still used by alot of people in old Bawn and if you walk 10yards from the entrance your in old Bawn. Either way I was advising not to look around there for houses

13. Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
      Yes technically. Its still used by alot of people in old Bawn and if you walk 10yards from the entrance your in old Bawn. Either way I was advising not to look around there for houses

Your yard stick looks a lot different to mine :pac:

14. Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Your yard stick looks a lot different to mine :pac:

And mine . Millbrook ( where Dominics shops is ) is a completely different estate . Millbrook one side of Old Bawn road
      Old Bawn on the other side .

15. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Regardless of the area, shops are mecca for teenagers. It is what it is. Never had trouble and I've lived in dodgy areas. A nod or "howya lads" is cool.

16. Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭bigmac3

Tallaght was never a kip.

Probably not to those living there, but from the outside looking in, it sure was.

17. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

bigmac3 wrote:
      Probably not to those living there, but from the outside looking in, it sure was.

I don't completely agree with that, but I can understand.
      Look up the meaning of donnybrook, which is considered a "good area" now.(again pedantic me going back centuries).

18. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

I'd place a lot more weight behind the opinions of those who lived there, over someone "from the outside looking in".

Same could be said for any area, really.

19. Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Big spread on local paper a few weeks back with photos and outraged tales from the postmaster & residents of dealers escorting welfare dependents in Tallaght to the post office hatch to pick up their dole/ single mothers and hand it straight over to pay their debt. Also talk of an epidemic of craic & no daylight go zones atm.

20. Registered Users Posts: 13 irishevo8

Lads any part of Tallaght from the m50 up as far as the square are fine, the older estate's in Tallaght , grew up in Balrothery and would move back in a heartbeat.

21. Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Big spread on local paper a few weeks back with photos and outraged tales from the postmaster & residents of dealers escorting welfare dependents in Tallaght to the post office hatch to pick up their dole/ single mothers and hand it straight over to pay their debt. Also talk of an epidemic of craic & no daylight go zones atm.

Lots of ongoing articles in the Indo including one in the past few weeks - also lots of other papers who give give some areas and addresses.

Local drug taskforce currently recruiting for project involving crack cocaine in Tallaght - again some addresses cited.

You’ll have to google crack cocaIne and tallaght - my phone won’t let me paste today.

22. Advertisement
    23. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

@JustAThought. That's just scaremongering. Tallaght is a big place. You can get that crap in any area. Just takes one family.

24. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

@sugarman, completely agree with you. I misinterpreted the post as in going to the shops are passing by. My bad. Still, I don't think it's a huge deal day to day (apart from rubbish left).

25. Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭bigmac3

I'd place a lot more weight behind the opinions of those who lived there, over someone "from the outside looking in".

Same could be said for any area, really.

You could also say they are suffering from a form of Stockholm syndrome with Tallaght

26. Registered Users Posts: 4,324 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Lots of ongoing articles in the Indo including one in the past few weeks - also lots of other papers who give give some areas and addresses.

Local drug taskforce currently recruiting for project involving crack cocaine in Tallaght - again some addresses cited.

You’ll have to google crack cocaIne and tallaght - my phone won’t let me paste today.

I'm from Terenure originally but my wife is from old Bawn so whilst id have had my preconceived notions of Tallaght, her knowledge of the area made it an easier decision to buy here.

Its definitely a working class area, if you're a bit of purse clutcher I wouldn't recommend it but for the rest of us it's grand. Theres plenty of areas in the D24 catchment that I wouldn't buy in but it encompasses a huge area so in many ways its like somebody from Teremure saying they wouldn't buy in kimmage/Walkinstown.

27. Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Leave Walkinstown alone!

28. Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Well this got interesting. Like others said. Tallaght was never a kip. Best place in the universe.

Really all depends on how much the OP has to play around with. Based on where they suggested first. My recommendation would be Glenview, Balrothery or Castle Park.

First choice Glenview/Balrothery
      2nd Choice Castle Park

29. Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

You could also say they are suffering from a form of Stockholm syndrome with Tallaght

Or quite simply we know our own areas and know well that they are fine . We are not stupid people hoping an outsider can guide us to to what right .
      The community spirit in my area was incredible during lockdown . People shopping for the elderly , boxes of books and jigsaws left outside gardens for people to help themselves . A swing build on a tree on the green for the kids , a teddy bear hunt organised and we all put a teddy in the windows for kids to count etc
      I wouldn’t move from here if I was paid too as the community spirit kept us sane

30. Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Bikerman2019

I live in tallaght. I know a lot of the estates in detail. Killinarden is not bad, lot of good folks in there, but it's the few **** heads that give it the bad name. As for tymon, I already said about the library. There is a garage there. Was getting juice one day and a stolen bike with no ignition or plate got petrol. Came in paid the cashier, knew each other, then drove in round the back of the garage. Then TWO stolen bikes drove out. I pointed this out to the staff and was told "don't know anything about that"
      Gombeens

31. Registered Users Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭User1998

Robbie1986 wrote: »
      My partner and I are looking to buy a house and Tallaght is looking like a potential spot - particularly Tymon North, Kilnamanagh and Kingswood.

How are these three spots? So far I've heard that they're settled areas with very little issues.

Tymon North is a kip in some places. The houses kind of resemble those in Jobstown. Kingswood and Kilnamanagh are both grand. Nothing bad to say at all

32. Advertisement
    33. Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Leilak

Ive lived in Firhouse my whole life and its definately not in Tallaght for a start, I was married to a guy from Castle Park many years ago and it was an absolute hellhole!