Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub3k) of the week/day Part 7

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭AutoMan79

Stay away from the 2.2 Mazda, they're a pup of an engine

Thanks.. Appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/avensis-hatchback-for-sale-fresh-nct-to-may-2022-/28549243

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg1MTc0ODI2In0=?signature=b61a15a27535dc85dc156254eb139cf7710075f494d8bbd2ea0d97492c19b20e

Decent looking Avensis hatch with NCT til May 2022 for €700

Alloys and a sunroof, so I guess in Avensis terms its well spec'd. This guys ads are always funny: "Only €700 to buy (exact amount needed, no more)"

Jaysus that looks in great nick. Be surprised if it lasts long.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭AutoMan79

• Registered Users Posts: 51,243 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/avensis-hatchback-for-sale-fresh-nct-to-may-2022-/28549243

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg1MTc0ODI2In0=?signature=b61a15a27535dc85dc156254eb139cf7710075f494d8bbd2ea0d97492c19b20e

Alloys and a sunroof, so I guess in Avensis terms its well spec'd. This guys ads are always funny: "Only €700 to buy (exact amount needed, no more)"

What's a little odd about that is that it's 1.6 litre. I was always lead to believe that only that model in saloon was available here in 1.6 litre petrol. The liftback and estate in petrol were both 1.8 litre minimum. Motortax website states that's 1.6 litre too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Yep, I thought that myself too but thought I was imagining things!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

bazz26 wrote: »
    What's a little odd about that is that it's 1.6 litre. I was always lead to believe that only that model in saloon was available here in 1.6 litre petrol. The liftback and estate in petrol were both 1.8 litre minimum. Motortax website states that's 1.6 litre too.

Could be from the time that a lot if new cars were imported from the North and vice versa, Zzplates

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

AutoMan79 wrote: »

In terms of performance it's probably one of the most frustrating cars I've ever driven. It's very very slow...like dangerously slow.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

AutoMan79 wrote: »

Cheap tax they claim. 1.6 on CC rates I would not class as cheap. I would agree if it was post 08 with a small diesel engine they really did have cheap tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,514 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Could be from the time that a lot if new cars were imported from the North and vice versa, Zzplates

Maybe, but were the ones in the North not all 1.8L?

They never sold the Mk2 Avensis with a 1.6 litre engine in the North or the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That’s a base model with alloys and fogs added. They didn’t offer as many trims on the liftback so you’d have to retrofit those. Back in 04 you’d take what you could get on Avensis. Quite common to see slightly specced up base models.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That’s a base model with alloys and fogs added. They didn’t offer as many trims on the liftback so you’d have to retrofit those. Back in 04 you’d take what you could get on Avensis. Quite common to see slightly specced up base models.

No picture of the dash, but if it has a sunroof, it's unlikely to have air con. It was one or the other I'd say, but not both.
    We had a 05 Avensis 1.6 that we bought in 06 or 07,it was decently specced, air con, alloys, spoiler, front fogs, window deflectors, all fitted when new and all genuine Toyota. Dealer said the lady that bought it new couldn't get the higher spec, so rather than wait she specced it herself when new with aftermarket parts (all apart from A/C obviously) It was close in effect to a Luna or Strata, but was in face an Aura model.

It does have a/c as it was standard on them back then. I owned the previous generation Avensis too that had both sunroof and a/c.

bazz26 wrote: »
    It does have a/c as it was standard on them back then. I owned the previous generation Avensis too that had both sunroof and a/c.

Ok, you live and learn - any of them I've had or seen was either one or the other. I stand corrected sir.

Yeah the first generation had one or the other (the one I owned had both which was rare). With the newer generation a/c was standard on them and the higher spec models had climate control. I'd say that sunroof is aftermarket probably as there was a company in Dublin at the time that fitted them (full tilt and slide) for dealers if wanted afaik.

Is there some mystery behind the 1.6 or were they available with it?

There were only 2 trims available in 1.6, Aura which was base model, and Strata which was the same thing but with rear electric Windows, front fogs and alloys.

The liftback was only available in Aura spec.

They later added a Luna liftback, but in 1.8 only has not as diesel.

Nerd facts

You can tell a Luna spec from a Strata from the outside because it has colour coded sills.

You can tell a diesel (pre 06 facelift) from the outside because it has a little air intake beside the passenger side front fog.

Cars with factory front fogs have the switch on the stalk, the retrofit ones have a push switch beside the mirror controls.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

In terms of performance it's probably one of the most frustrating cars I've ever driven. It's very very slow...like dangerously slow.

Any info on the 2.0D version? Seen one in Auto not sure on it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭selectamatic

What are the best and worst automatics in bangernomics range? Looking for something with better mpg than my 1.6 focus.

Prius.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-initiale-estate-2-0-dci/28556501

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg1MjUyMTgxIn0=?signature=2d484f72619d658b82da92dcbedf682e9693966c4723cd50c8b36131eb71657c

Nicely spec'd 2.0 DCI Laguna estate with NCT and tax til February 2022 for €2000.

You don't see many with this sort of spec

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/beautiful-saab-93-1-8t-automatic-2008/28357758

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTgzMDU1MDE3In0=?signature=18c277f4ffbdf40ff6f390fa1601558657edfc58b7f90e896e9858613222a4e3

Have we had this? 1.8t auto 9-3 with NCT til February 2022, €1950

6 owners though

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-mazda-2-1-3-nct-02-22-tax-07-21-category-d/28550388

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg1MTkxOTI5In0=?signature=74fa40b549ba3818c0cbb2856b15884ce26345f81e459143c3c9797113d47899

This looks nice. 3 door 09 Mazda 2 with NCT til February 2022, €1999

Category D, bit hardly a big deal on a two grand car is it? This would make a nice first car for some young fellow

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Mini850

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/renault-laguna-initiale-estate-2-0-dci/28556501

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTg1MjUyMTgxIn0=?signature=2d484f72619d658b82da92dcbedf682e9693966c4723cd50c8b36131eb71657c

Nicely spec'd 2.0 DCI Laguna estate with NCT and tax til February 2022 for €2000.

You don't see many with this sort of spec

Needs a Clutch bearing....... still worth it though IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/beautiful-saab-93-1-8t-automatic-2008/28357758

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjYwMCwiaGVpZ2h0Ijo2MDB9fSwia2V5IjoicGhvdG9fMTgzMDU1MDE3In0=?signature=18c277f4ffbdf40ff6f390fa1601558657edfc58b7f90e896e9858613222a4e3

Have we had this? 1.8t auto 9-3 with NCT til February 2022, €1950

6 owners though

That's lovely!

Perhaps that might be a good buy for ISSEDEADPIXELS?

job seeker wrote: »
    That's lovely!

Perhaps that might be a good buy for ISSEDEADPIXELS?

Its gorgeous but Im in Dublin, not a fan of travelling far to view a car :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

1.) Cool car.

2.) It's within budget.

3.) That's only 2 and a half hours away. (224km) I'd drive much further if the right car came up!

If you’re serious about buying, I’ll take a look at it for you no problem, I think I even know where the car lives.

Thanks for the offer, very kind of you, but I have a friend in the motor industry looking for me at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Thanks for the offer, very kind of you, but I have a friend in the motor industry looking for me at the moment.

Honestly wouldn't let that stop you going for something else, I've good friend in the trade but I'll be honest they're robbing backstards.,.
    No mate rates.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭KevRossi

2003 VW Beetle Convertible. NCT to 10/21, 2 months tax. €1,850.

It's a 1.6 manual that won't win any drag races, but it's a nice way to get around over the summer if you're not going abroad. Throw it through the test in October and see what happens.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/2003-vw-beetle-convertible/28551058

eyJidWNrZXQiOiJkb25lZGVhbC5pZS1waG90b3MiLCJlZGl0cyI6eyJ0b0Zvcm1hdCI6ImpwZWciLCJyZXNpemUiOnsiZml0IjoiaW5zaWRlIiwid2lkdGgiOjEyMDAsImhlaWdodCI6MTIwMH19LCJrZXkiOiJwaG90b18xODUxOTkyNjMifQ==?signature=a498a7e04369858886ad927c2c2dbb5d0dc321dc67f32ef18f108911c380ef0b