Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub3k) of the week/day Part 7

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭RINO87

Beautiful cars, they have aged so well, hard to believe that one is 12 years old now.

As was said above - having the oil pump and seal on the pickup changed on these is a must, may as well do the belt while you're at it (and delete the DPF in my opinion, but lets not go there!!) If there's no evidence of it being done, get it done ASAP if you are keeping it for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Isn’t that car missing the rear light bar?

There was one for sale a couple of months ago in a metallic brown colour. Looked lovely.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭passatman86

did you pick up that avensis i linked or do you have your own avensis already.. I changed my gear knob number insert on my avensis a few years ago was only 10 euro back then in a toyota main dealer parts department

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I'd budget a grand for it, get it done at a saab specialist. Saab spares up in Donegal routinely do this work and are the best in the business, but if that's too far there's a guy in Bray and another in Kells. Seems steep, but it will give you peace of mind knowing its done. Have a good look at the service history for that car tho, at that mileage there's a good chance that its been done already.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Are the petrols SAABs better ? As in less maintenance?

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Some models need the sump to be dropped and the pickup gauze cleaned out, I'm not sure which engine it applies to but I'm sure there are people here who can tell you. The petrols are a much nicer drive imo, scaldy with today's fuel prices unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭flexcon

Just bear in mind the rear lights are prone to fail on them and you are looking at around €800 for a set - at best. up to €1500 if you need new.

Oil pump and seal as mentioned.

Just noticed - the light bar is missing or most likely Taped over because it failed. Google some rear pics of the 95 to see what it should look like. Light bar won't fail NCT, but the outer lights will and it sucks

The older 9-3 in 00-02 years have a sludge problem.

In general there isn't a consensus if the diesel or petrol is less maintenance.

Most people tend to get the EGR blanked and the DPF "sorted"

It's a fiat diesel engine, same issues pop up.

I'd check for

EGR blanked

DPF "sorted"

Oil pump and seal

Be close to a grand I agree with OP.

But bear in mind, that should be it. It's a solid Fiat diesel engine.

PS - as like the OP, Saab Spares in Donegal if you want the work done. I just find them to be so efficient, they get the job done in a day. None of this dropping the car off and coming back a week later nonsense.

I was just gonna tag @flexcon as he gave a great runthru of the Saab engines a couple of weeks back, but I see he's already on the case 🙂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭wandererz

I have a 2007 9-3 1.8t petrol, which I believe is a 2L Opel engine.

Still small mileage on it at 89K km /55K miles.

Stuff I've had to do to it in 7 years:

- recently, Vacuum Pump - €130 on Amazon - fitted myself in 15mins.

- broken rear spring

- Front light bulbs - have a tendency to fail frequently and are a pain to change on passenger side - but there is a trick to it.

- Rear window rubber channel is banjaxed so window squashes it at the top. Temporarily have had to disable the window until I can find a replacement and someone to fit.

- Rear light bulbs - 2 issues here.

1) if one bulb fails, it's best to change all as even though for example the right Brake light works and passed the NCT, It flags up a failure on the display.

2) the bulb holder can become corroded. A bit of sandpaper or similar can fix this.

The car does a check at startup of the lighting and if the signal from even one bulb does not record correctly, it flags up a problem.

Other than that, no problems at all.

Servicing, including oil, filters, brake fluid, brake pads etc have been done by me. All easy enough.

Timing chain - no belt.

It's got heated seats, tiptronic transmission with steering wheel paddles, cruise control, half leather seats.

No cat to worry about. Petrol, so no dpf too.

Cleans up very nicely.

Petrol vs Diesel:

- on a recent trip to Connemara from Dublin my the Saab used up half a tank of petrol compared to a quarter tank on my 320 diesel.

Similar sized tanks.

The 9-3 petrol is super smooth to drive.

I bought it for my wife, but she did not like Saabs at the time. Within 15mins of a drive she changed her mind and has been driving it since. Prefers it to my 320D in terms of comfort, especially the seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

They are quite tight at the back right? I read somewhere as well that the sound system is absolute dog **** in them as well so probably worth upgrading them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭wandererz

We had 5 adults and two small dogs, so had to take two cars for the long drives there and back.

While in Connemara for a week we used the Saab as it was generally more comfortable for day trips compared to the 320D.

It was/is a bit cramped in the back for 3 adults, but nobody complained. The BMW would have been only slightly better.

The sound on the 9-3 is fine for our purposes.

Unless you are an audiophile, there is no reason to change.

However, if you want to, there are Eonon or similar headunits that fit perfectly and give you touchscreen, Carplay, Android Auto etc plus improved audio. Then there is the option of swapping out speakers as well.

The 93's are tight enough with 3 in the back. Loads of room in the 95.

Pre 07 (i think) 93's had a shite sound system ya, and it was all linked with fibre optics so upgrading wasn't really an option. Anything after 07 was decent enough and easily upgraded. The 95's always had a decent sound system

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭RonanG86

That was a twin-turbo iirc. Ngl, I wanted it, but €750 annual motor tax was scaldy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Ill be listing a 2006 one of these on Donedeal in a day or two. Pros: just 72k miles, fresh NCT today albeit only til February, serviced in the last 1k. Cons: No tax. Bodywork is showing its age, theres a rattle coming from the back (I think the unit behing the rear window wiper), and the log book has it listed as a diesel when its in fact a petrol, which I will try to sort out tomorrow.

Is hoping for the guts of a grand realistic?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Odelay

If headlight bulbs are going often, try the Philips brand. I was eating through bulbs in a hilux, probably due to vibration Once changed to Philips I never needed to use the spare I bought that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Firblog

Seeing how there is a Saab vibe this last while https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-saab-9-3/3511434

• Registered Users Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭User1998

Pretty much anything with a fresh NCT is worth €1k+

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭CoBo55

No test, dreadful Ad even in these car famine times there's better cars out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭GavPJ

Sold a 2004 1.1i 5 door one a few weeks ago with a full years test for €875. 2 lady owners from new.

The phone never stopped with people wanting it. Sold it to the first guy that contacted me. He buys and

sells cars a fair bit. I seen it advertised for €1695 this week!!!

Had a 2005 one. The biggest heap of **** I ever owned. Broke my heart it did. Injectors, pump, turbo actuator.

Everything that could go wrong did go wrong and it always seemed to happen when the other half was driving it.

I used to dread her phoning me anytime she had it, it was always to say the car had broke down. Put me off owning

any british car ever again. They are not even that nice to drive. Don't be fooled into thinking you are buying the luxury

of a Jaguar. Dreadful car altogether. Prices for parts were not high, that was the only good thing about them. I shiver when

I think of them.

🤣 ha ha good man! Nah I didn't think I'd be getting luxury at all at all, I just like wagons that are a bit different. If I did get it, it was only going to be a beater of a yoke as a backup. Anyway, moot point as Kerry was too far for me this weekend, and I see it's gone now!

Mad that it gave that much trouble - wasn't the 2.0 diesel just lifted straight out of the Mondeo, or was that later Jags?

Yeah most of the parts were from a Mondeo. It was a good strong torquey engine but everything around

it was sh1 t and built on a low budget. The 2.2 wasn't a bad engine. People fall into the trap of getting one

because they are a nice looking car. There is an 2009 one up for auction in Merlin today if you are tempted.

But I would rather take the bus. :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭jharr100

Audi A4 for sale in Co. Dublin for €2,000 on DoneDeal

about 2 years ago i posted this exact car. its the tax thats crazy being an 09 that puts people off .. 1250 a year

• Registered Users Posts: 41 TouchingVirus85

I wonder why he posted it in the vintage section. Less views there too.

That looks nice. Tiny mileage too if it is in fact in kilometers