Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Yep, give the lads driving the cars 25 years and see if their mates do it next

Spoiler - they wont.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

25 years, for joyriding?

You realise you get less for murder or rape right?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,735 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Driving a 1.5 tonne car into car with people in it isnt joyriding. Should be attempted murder or something.

But yeah we give murderers and rapists silly sentences. No consequences vs the crime in this country. When you see 20 odd years olds with 80 previous convictions out on the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Something uncivil

Post edited by Tonesjones on

• Registered Users Posts: 25,328 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Sentences just have to be a deterrent…teenagers and adults alike…

a three strikes rule is something I’m for. Third conviction mandatory jail time. Regardless of the crime… you cannot get off with a suspended sentence.

if you don’t learn your lesson, that shouldn’t be societies problem. Currently it is.

biggest jokeshop element is the criminal justice system and this country as a whole are the number of repeat offenders, recidivism rates over the last few years ranges between 48%-54%. So on average around half of criminals reoffend…. That’s a terrible statistic. A stat that confirms that the law and in particular sentences are not a deterrent…

If there were deterrents in dealing with teenagers there would be a deterrent to them growing up into scrote adults.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,328 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Ohh and instead of a detention centre as Oberstown was marketed as its a three star hotel..in all reality.

I’ve stayed in three star hotels which had poorer amenities.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Couldnt have said it better. Whats more worrying about these videos is the sheer numbers of so called "adults 18 plus" watching this **** going on. How are teenagers supposed to learn a bit of respect when the "adults" havent even got respect.

Also why have we no water cannons to soak the **** out of the little scumbags? I think it was 2004 when a bunch of hippies got water cannoned over some protest in the phoenix park. That was the last time I saw it in use. A couple of water cannons would have shut down those scummers very quickly last night - ruining their fake designer grey tracksuits and canada goose jackets would make them think twice!!

As for the ones that rammed the garda car - never mind attempted murder - assaulting garda whether with a car or fist or whatever should carry a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years - no discussion. The garda have lost any respect they had in the community through lenient sentencing, lack of support from the court service etc. You only have to look at recent cases where force was used and the scum marching on garda stations in protest.

The garda need support to do their jobs and until that happens what happened last night is just going to continue. Its a job I would absolutely hate to have to do.

We need the riot squad (public order unit) on stand by for stuff like this and no fear about giving little **** like these a a belt of a batton, a tasering or a can of pepper spray to the face - then clear the rest out with the water cannons.

We need to stop the mammying of these scum and blaming it on lack of resources , bad upbringing etc, bad areas.

Weak men create hard times.

Society is gone too soft. Scrotes run wild and intimidate the worker drones

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

If you don't abide by the laws of the State, you should not benefit from assistance from the State.

The Justice system is not working, people racking up triple digit offences is fcuking crazy. Suspended and concurrent sentences for serial offenders should be abolished.

If recidivism is up near 50% then something is wrong. The argument of "it costs x amount to house a prisoner" is also bullshit.

Time to roll out some large scale private prisons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Back to old school policing, good few slaps and the lift outside the town, fook them out another few slaps and let them walk back. Rinse & repeat till they get tired of walking. And start well before they get 18 years old, 15 would be a good start imo.

I know for sure, I wouldn't like to be a cop in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

For a start we need a proper functioning government and a proper justice minister to really address these problems.

This is the result of years and years of paying people more benefits and greater cash reward for churning out kids. Doesn’t matter how or who rears them. The more kids you can produce the bigger houses and more money you got.

This is the result.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Concurrent sentencing should be removed from the options of judges and if that means a referendum then so be it. Id imagine it would pass with huge support.

A big supermax type prison is whats needed without playstations, pool tables etc. And a 3 strikes rule. 3 strikes and you get a mandatory sentence. 10 strikes and its longer and over 20 crimes you get a mandatory life sentence..wouldnt be long sorting the country out.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,602 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Look at this is Spar in Dame Street imagine if that was your daughter or sister being slashed

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

How about we try it? And stop comparing us to other countries

how about the long sentences approach, or sentences that will deter scum from at least thinking about committing crime?

right now they are committing crime knowing well the deterrents are a joke.

better still: just take scum out of society for long stretches..

this disgrace of recidivist offenders with dozens and dozens convictions. We could start here. Permanent removal from society sorts this one.

Post edited by walshb on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Disgraceful stuff, justice system is a joke here, feel sorry for the guards in this situation.

Grown men just standing around watching one person trying to kill another. Shameful cowards.

Think its called "bystander apathy" - would you attempt to break that up?

I know I wouldnt especially not with their male "friends" standing around egging them on. You`d probably be next to be slashed if you got involved.

Would you stand there recording it though?

And giving a running commentary too

No a normal person wouldnt do such a thing. Only the scum have a fascination with recording stuff like this. A normal human in their right mind would probably call the garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭prunudo

Nearly every establishment has a fire extinguisher, it be first thing I'd be grabbing if I came across something like. Spray the two of them with foam and cool them off.

We can't even finish one large scale children's hospital. The chances of seeing some large scale prisons are small im afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Housing crisis you say. I say give them all free accommodation. 2 bunks to a small room and a steel door for every scummer out there causing misery to law abiding citizens. Will find many thousands of vacant social houses in no time. No need for medical cards paid by the tax payer. No dole payments. No disabiliteeee payments if they're behind bars. Garda resources wont be so strtched. Invest in a huge prison on cheap land in the arse end of nowhere. Offer training programmes to those wanting to give back to society. Stop the perpetual suspended sentence and ignore sob stories.

Stay Free

• Registered Users Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Dumping joyriders miles outside of town with no way home might not be the deterrent you think

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

It's probably not a large enough population who are bad enough for it to really be an issue. Awful if you live around them though

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Like I thought, that horrible shower, PBP and their blaming this on others. “When communities are let down, bad things are going to happen.”

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've said it loads of times before, we don't have the stomach as a society to solve the problem so people in those areas have to endure.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Yeah, they should jump in to stop it and take a blade to the chest. Because MEN.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Some of us have jobs and a sick child to take care of. Sorry I wasn't around to reply to you in the time you wished but, as I've pointed out, I've had sh*t to do.

Your posts tell me you're not interested in discussing this in good faith anyway, but if you're telling me you haven't heard of Cherry Orchard until now then I simply just don't believe you.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

If you'll accept an story, it was my first year of being a Garda and the Garda I was with was approached by a man, in his early 40's. He said "Hello Garda [colleagues surname]". Hello my colleague said. "You don't remember be Garda, about 20 years ago I did [crimes x, y, z] and was always at it. You caught me coming out of a house around 4 one morning. You battered the shyte out of me and dropped me 5 miles outside the city. I haven't committed even a road traffic offence since. Thank you Garda, you saved my life."

I was there, I witnessed this interaction, and I've no reason to lie. It happened a few more times during my 10 years. It doesn't work for everyone, but I'm convinced there is a certain amount of criminals who only understand the rod, and dealing with them in any other way has zero results. But, it's 2022, can't even call a scumbag a scumbag now and people fall over themselves to shout at you.

Suggestion: build the super prison, but employ all the bleeding hearts to staff it and deal with said criminals. Wonder how long it would take for them to change their tune.

Also, I can't find anything more recent, but this article from august 2020:

"5th August 2020

New figures published by the Central Statistics Office today (Wednesday, 5th August 2020) find that 55.2% of people released from prison in 2014 reoffended within 3 years. Nearly 80% of those aged under 21 when they were committed to prison reoffended within three years of being released, and 75% of people imprisoned for public order offences reoffended within three years."

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08