Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

XVII wrote: »
    so much this.

it's especially so wild when you are coming from abroad and see this. It's actually unbelievable how bad it is over here.

Apparently it's the same everywhere in Europe, according to people in this thread, but I've never seen kids like we have anywhere else, maybe in the UK as I lived in a pretty dodge area. My brother used to go out with a Brazilian girl who lived in inner city Dublin and she couldn't get over how horrible the local kids were, they're a different breed.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭AllForIt

1. Witholding identity of juvenile criminals and their parents/guardians reduced to 10yo.
    2. Hefty fines or social welfare cuts* to parents in the case of anti-social/intimidation incidents.
    3. Youth prisions from 12yo upwards. Structred in exactly the same way as adult prisions.

4. Get rid of politians who blame youth crime on disadvanged areas - deprevation - inequaity

*most people who are already in social houseing could live on have the dole they get. Penalties could range from the amount cut, to the duration, to permanant.

5. A drastic reduction in child allowance from 2 children upwards. Just wear hand-me-downs like I had to and stop throwing your used child buggy into the canal just cuz want a new one every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

A truly hard and horrible beating would soon teach some manners...

I am at the point where I feel pain is the only true teacher that will work for some of these, pain and if they don't learn even more pain.

You think that, but in reality it would just turn them into worse ***k ups

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I'm not sure cutting the dole would work, usually these little scumbags have no respect for their mothers anyway, and even at the ages of 11-12 they're too old to start respecting their mother who probably all her life also made bad choices.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I'm not sure cutting the dole would work, usually these little scumbags have no respect for their mothers anyway, and even at the ages of 11-12 they're too old to start respecting their mother who probably all her life also made bad choices.

Theres no evidence at all that these guys were all from deprived areas, particularly the Malahide incident which could have been locals.

They were chasing a guy after all, but did they do that across Dublin?
    biko wrote: »

Should he be charged with murder and have that over his head the rest of his life?

He needs to pay, and pay dearly, but how?

Yes, if he killed her. Life sentence. 16 is old enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭RulesOfNature

AllForIt wrote: »
    1. Witholding identity of juvenile criminals and their parents/guardians reduced to 10yo.
    2. Hefty fines or social welfare cuts* to parents in the case of anti-social/intimidation incidents.
    3. Youth prisions from 12yo upwards. Structred in exactly the same way as adult prisions.

4. Get rid of politians who blame youth crime on disadvanged areas - deprevation - inequaity

*most people who are already in social houseing could live on have the dole they get. Penalties could range from the amount cut, to the duration, to permanant.

5. A drastic reduction in child allowance from 2 children upwards. Just wear hand-me-downs like I had to and stop throwing your used child buggy into the canal just cuz want a new one every year.

In countries like Italy, Spain and Germany the police (and private citizens) have the implicit authority to pull youths aside and beat them for misbehaving. No paper work, no charges, just a few cracks to set them straight. A sudden and painful repercussion is more effective than these abstract legislations.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It takes a village to raise a child.

If you see something, say something.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

And risk getting your head bashed in? I got assaulted on the Luas (by a woman, albeit a feral one), for politely asking her to stop digging her elbow into my rib as everyone tried to cram on. Once bitten etc. I'd never say anything to anyone out and about again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

It all boil down to this....

If you want stiff punishment for crimes, you have to build more prisons and get more prison staff.
    New prisons, staff, and pensions are very very expensive. You'll have the likes of BAM tendering for them remember.
    If we want all that we will have to pay for it which means more tax and less money for other things.
    There are no votes to be had for more taxes and prisons, because it doesn't fill potholes and doesn't deliver any local benefits to the vast majority of constituencies. Also, no-body wants to have a prison built near them.
    No political party will advocate for prisons because of the above reasons.
    Therefore there will be no prisons, and no way to significantly tackle juvenile crime.

And sure, we are not the only ones so it is not an irish problem. The fins have it too and they are scandanavian.
    I think it is just part of living in a big urban area. It goes with the territory.

The only thing that kept young fellas in check years ago was the fear.
    The fear of ending up in an industrial or reformatory school run by sadistic christian brothers.
    the fear of getting a your jaw broken by a clout from a big tough Guard like Lugs Brannigan when he'd catch you
    the fear of being beaten asunder by your alcoholic father when he got home from the pub penniless to find out you did something.

All those things are gone now. So there is no control on young fellas who are disposed towards trouble.

I'm curious what the city councils now being allowed to refuse social housing on the basis of anti social behaviour will be, as far as I'm aware it extends to anti social behaviour by the applicants children too. It seems as if the councils hands have been tied in this respect for the last few years but are now actually able to enforce it (whether or not they will is anyones guess) and apparently also evict people because of anti social behaviour

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/anti-social-behaviour-crackdown-planned-for-dublin-city-social-housing-1.4519296

Wexford has already started with this traveller family being refused a place on the housing list because of the Father having two public order convictions https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/traveller-family-challenges-their-suspension-from-housing-list-1098980.html

I think if the councils actually take a firm hand in this it could have a major impact on crime

• Registered Users Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Mimon

Nice in theory but say something to a gang of these yokes and you will get laughed at or attacked.

All comes down to zero consequences as mentioned plenty of times in this thread.

Judges should live half the year in the roughest parts of the country so they know what the normal man and woman on the street have to put up with from the feral youth.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

fvp4 wrote: »
    Theres no evidence at all that these guys were all from deprived areas, particularly the Malahide incident which could have been locals.

There has been trouble for years now from groups of teenagers hopping on and off Darts, usually getting on in Clongriffin or Kilbarrack and ending up anywhere from Malahide to Raheny. It's not a new problem.
    If I was a betting man, Ild wager that's where they came from.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

fvp4 wrote: »

They were chasing a guy after all, but did they do that across Dublin?

Yes, if he killed her. Life sentence. 16 is old enough.

There's certain parts of Dublin which are rife with marauding hoards of teenage thugs. For example, here are the parts of Dublin that Deliveroo couriers rank as high danger, knowing that to go into these parts is to risk life and limb, and livelihood.

https://ibb.co/cYnpBQ4

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Mimon wrote: »
    Nice in theory but say something to a gang of these yokes and you will get laughed at or attacked....

Or mooned :D
    This happened a neighbour last year when she was out for her daily walk and asked 3 young lads to be careful cycling on the footpath. She said they were about 12 and laughed and called her a stupid aul granny - she's in her 40's.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭RulesOfNature

There's certain parts of Dublin which are rife with marauding hoards of teenage thugs. For example, here are the parts of Dublin that Deliveroo couriers rank as high danger, knowing that to go into these parts is to risk life and limb, and livelihood.

https://ibb.co/cYnpBQ4

What does the black borders mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Well, if no one puts their foot down then the bullies have won.

Use the majority. If you live in an estate, start a neighbourhood watch group.
    Care for your neighbours.
    Be the good in the world.

If you see someone in trouble; help out. If you can't do that - ring the police, video the assault and hand video over to Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

What does the black borders mean?

High risk area.

There was an article on Wired about it: https://www.wired.co.uk/article/deliveroo-couriers-dublin-assault

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭kapisko1PL

Well, if no one puts their foot down then the bullies have won.

Use the majority. If you live in an estate, start a neighbourhood watch group.
    Care for your neighbours.
    Be the good in the world.

If you see someone in trouble; help out. If you can't do that - ring the police, video the assault and hand video over to Garda.

I think the majority of the problem is around the public areas such as Dart stations, city centres, shops etc.

As good as your theory sounds in practice, Gardai will arrest and charge youths (if they think it's worth their time), courts will basically give them a slap on the wrist and the cycle will repeat.

Also, I would not risk getting involved in a fight and getting injured. You step in to break the fight, they will start fighting you instead, you will kick fight them back and you will be in trouble. God forbid you bring a hurley or any other object into this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

AllForIt wrote: »

Everytime they are caught they should be made do community service. They should be made were bright orange overalls so they stand out and made clean grafftti or clean the streets. This scrotes don't fear anything and most of them are looking for a confrontation but what they don't like is being humiliated so maybe a bit of visible community service where they are visible of everyone to see and a bit of back breaking work might make them think twice.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭KeepItLight

It all boil down to this....

If you want stiff punishment for crimes, you have to build more prisons and get more prison staff.
    New prisons, staff, and pensions are very very expensive. You'll have the likes of BAM tendering for them remember.
    If we want all that we will have to pay for it which means more tax and less money for other things.
    There are no votes to be had for more taxes and prisons, because it doesn't fill potholes and doesn't deliver any local benefits to the vast majority of constituencies. Also, no-body wants to have a prison built near them.
    No political party will advocate for prisons because of the above reasons.
    Therefore there will be no prisons, and no way to significantly tackle juvenile crime.

mainstream parties won't, but you can vote for minor parties and independents if its an important issue for you.

additional funding for prisons can come from cuts elsewhere. even if there was an additional cost to the taxpayer, I'm most wouldn't mind paying for it if they felt it was actually going towards something like this

• Registered Users Posts: 15,012 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Floppybits wrote: »
    Everytime they are caught they should be made do community service. They should be made were bright orange overalls so they stand out and made clean grafftti or clean the streets. This scrotes don't fear anything and most of them are looking for a confrontation but what they don't like is being humiliated so maybe a bit of visible community service where they are visible of everyone to see and a bit of back breaking work might make them think twice.

and when they point blank refuse to do it...what then? Imprison them? There are no prison spaces that's why alternatives are being suggested in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭thomil

In countries like Italy, Spain and Germany the police (and private citizens) have the implicit authority to pull youths aside and beat them for misbehaving. No paper work, no charges, just a few cracks to set them straight. A sudden and painful repercussion is more effective than these abstract legislations.

Source for that German "authority", please? More precisely, where in the StGB (German Crimincal Code) or StPO (German Criminal Proceedings Code) is that laid out? I'm German myself, have worked in the security industry over there, and am certified as per Paragraph 34a GewO (German Commercial business Code) and am even certified to bear firearms as per Paragraph 7 WaffG (German Firearms Code), and I've never heard of any of this.
    While German police forces are decentralised, they are all subject to stringent oversight, and any such event that comes out will have significant consequences for the police officers involved. Law enforcement does most definitely NOT have carte blanche in Germany.

As for the topic at hand, basically there are three issues that need to be sorted as far as I can see:

Strict but fair mandatory sentencing guidelines for violent offences. None of this "statement of character" BS or whatever it is called that I see so often, that is far too easily abused. Suspended sentences should be reserved for minor first offenders, and should be tied to draconian conditions

A much more thorough approach to resocialisation of offenders. This seems to be almost non-existent in Ireland at the moment, at least from my perspective. This is where the draconian conditions for suspended sentences should come into play, as one aspect should definitely be to remove them from their existing environment and any negative influence there. How that is carried out in practice, whether that's by transferring the offender, say from Cork to Donegal, monitoring their movement with electronic tags, restricting or monitoring all their message and communications, or maybe a combination of all of these, during the time of the suspended sentence, is above my pay grade, but it is certainly an approach that should be considered.

Finally, there's the thorny issue of repeat offenders. There will need to be long-term accommodation solutions for those, ideally separate from the prison system. In Germany, there's the concept of "Sicherungsverwahrung" or preventive detention, as outlined in Paragraph 66 of the German Criminal Code. This allows offenders who upon their release would still be a significant risk to society to be incarcerated as long as he remains a threat. This only applies to violent or sexual offenders, as well as some severe cases of drug offences and can in theory be indefinite. In Germany, this preventive detention is reserved to facilities that are separate from prisons and more suited for long-term accommodation and is also subject to regular reviews and psychological assessments, but in general, this is an approach that Ireland should consider.

One thing that will not work is either enabling police violence or somehow reducing the access to legal representation or legal aid. Equal access to the law for everyone is one of the most profound human rights overall, as this empowers citizens to stand up and fight for their rights regardless of financial resources, rather than simply being a victim and a doormat for others to trample on. I know from my own country's history what happens when this option is taking away, and as far as I'm concerned, those that agitate for the removal or restriction of free legal aid are no better than the anti-social elements that are the subject of this entire thread! They're just as determined to beat down anyone they see as inferior as a group of teenagers ganging up on a victim, they just use different tools. The aim is the same!

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Witcher wrote: »
    and when they point blank refuse to do it...what then? Imprison them? There are no prison spaces that's why alternatives are being suggested in the first place.

unfortunately i don't think there is any workable alternative other than prison space being created. this will just get worse otherwise, which is the likely future.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,012 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

unfortunately i don't think there is any workable alternative other than prison space being created. this will just get worse otherwise, which is the likely future.

No need for that, we'll just use our magical powers to compel them to plant flowers or some other pie in the sky nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,461 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

stoneill wrote: »
    Parents of underage thugs should pay the fines and do the time for the runts they brought into the world.

Pah! For the most part they learn it from their parents. In my job I deal with scum every day. I dread when travellers come in because you know it'll be the husband, the wife and the kids throwing abuse at me. The parents don't give two shìts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

mainstream parties won't, but you can vote for minor parties and independents if its an important issue for you.

additional funding for prisons can come from cuts elsewhere. even if there was an additional cost to the taxpayer, I'm most wouldn't mind paying for it if they felt it was actually going towards something like this

Fringe parties who will never hold any away in a government.
    People shouldn't be eating their vote on fringe parties.

No need for that, we'll just use our magical powers to compel them to plant flowers or some other pie in the sky nonsense.

creating social spaces and facilities might work to alleviate some of the bordeom that leads to this, but only after you reduce the amount of scrotes on the street who would just wreck it.

otherwise its just like throwing ice cubes into a volcano in an attempt to cool it down.

Fringe parties who will never hold any away in a government.
    People shouldn't be eating their vote on fringe parties.

not with that attitude. I'm personally little bit more hopeful.

if my choice is between 2-3 parties who i feel are destroying a country, and working against my self-interest, i don't see an voting for an alterative party as as throwing away a vote

• Registered Users Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Mimon wrote: »
    Nice in theory but say something to a gang of these yokes and you will get laughed at or attacked.

All comes down to zero consequences as mentioned plenty of times in this thread.

Judges should live half the year in the roughest parts of the country so they know what the normal man and woman on the street have to put up with from the feral youth.

They don't care, it's all return business for themselves and their legal cronies. All law and little justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

They would be in prison while doing. Bus them to where they need to be, have the guards watch them and then bus them back to prison.