Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Killing of Lindani Myeni (US)

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

hawley wrote: »
    South African born rugby player Lindani Myeni’s lawyer on Wednesday said Honolulu police treated him "like an animal" when they shot and killed the 29-year-old without following police protocol.

Myeni was killed last month after a woman called the police screaming hysterically over the phone, ostensibly believing that Myeni wanted to harm her.

Officers responded and fired multiple shots at Myeni who was defenceless and was not even wearing his shoes.

His legal team believes the father of two mistook the woman's house for a temple that was actually located next door.

Myeni family lawyer Bridget Morgan-Bickerton explained what evidence was collected through bodycam footage: “There were no lights, no sirens and yelled no less than five times ‘get on the ground’ without one time announcing that they were the police. That’s illegal, unlawful and it is absolutely unjustified.”
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/ewn.co.za/2021/05/12/lindani-myeni-s-lawyer-hawaii-police-didn-t-follow-protocol-when-they-shot-him/amp

The woman's behavior was just bizarre, considering he wasn't posing any threat. So it seems now that he was got confused. He didn't deserve to be killed. This is an absolute s ***show for the police force. How they acted was completely against protocols. I hope his family get justice for him.

Broken record, repeat repeat repeat

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

South African born rugby player Lindani Myeni’s lawyer on Wednesday said Honolulu police treated him "like an animal" when they shot and killed the 29-year-old without following police protocol.

Myeni was killed last month after a woman called the police screaming hysterically over the phone, ostensibly believing that Myeni wanted to harm her.

Officers responded and fired multiple shots at Myeni who was defenceless and was not even wearing his shoes.

His legal team believes the father of two mistook the woman's house for a temple that was actually located next door.

Myeni family lawyer Bridget Morgan-Bickerton explained what evidence was collected through bodycam footage: “There were no lights, no sirens and yelled no less than five times ‘get on the ground’ without one time announcing that they were the police. That’s illegal, unlawful and it is absolutely unjustified.”
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/ewn.co.za/2021/05/12/lindani-myeni-s-lawyer-hawaii-police-didn-t-follow-protocol-when-they-shot-him/amp

The woman's behavior was just bizarre, considering he wasn't posing any threat. So it seems now that he was got confused. He didn't deserve to be killed. This is an absolute s ***show for the police force. How they acted was completely against protocols. I hope his family get justice for him.

No threat? A man you don't know in your house is no threat.

The behaviour of the woman is nothing to do with anything. You are perfectly entitled to ring the police if you are in danger.

The comments on this woman is fairly disturbing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭hawley

No threat? A man you don't know in your house is no threat.

The behaviour of the woman is nothing to do with anything. You are perfectly entitled to ring the police if you are in danger.

The comments on this woman is fairly disturbing.
    It even says in the article that she was hysterical. He was behaving in a calmly before the police arrived. I can understand someone being worried but he wasn't posing any danger to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

If you are going to copy paste reports from other sources please make sure you represent them appropriately (i.e. in quote tags, with a sourcing link), in addition to providing your own thoughts and opinions on what you are posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,849 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

It even says in the article that she was hysterical. He was behaving in a calmly before the police arrived. I can understand someone being worried but he wasn't posing any danger to them.

If she had a gun, she'd have been fully entitled to shoot him given that he wouldn't get out of her house.

A massive stranger (as your post says, a 29 year old ex rugby player ... given that they mention the rugby detail one would have to assume that he played to some significant level so lets assume he isn't a 50kg 5 foot weakling) comes into your house. Effectively starts to strip (does the first thing you'd need to do to take your trousers off in removing his shoes) and won't leave. No wonder she was hysterical.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,443 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

biko wrote: »
    Is it uncovered whether the police themselves were black, white, native Hawaiians, other?
    Or is it just assumed they were white?

I would assume they're blue.

If she had a gun, she'd have been fully entitled to shoot him given that he wouldn't get out of her house.

A massive stranger (as your post says, a 29 year old ex rugby player ... given that they mention the rugby detail one would have to assume that he played to some significant level so lets assume he isn't a 50kg 5 foot weakling) comes into your house. Effectively starts to strip (does the first thing you'd need to do to take your trousers off in removing his shoes) and won't leave. No wonder she was hysterical.

Yes but during the phone call, he is heard talking calmly to her husband. All of the statements from his family and friends detail how he was a very decent person who just wanted a new life. Nobody knows what he was doing in the property, but the police response seems very heavy handed.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,849 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Yes but during the phone call, he is heard talking calmly to her husband. All of the statements from his family and friends detail how he was a very decent person who just wanted a new life. Nobody knows what he was doing in the property, but the police response seems very heavy handed.

That is possibly the case. He might have been the soundest person on the planet. But the wife and husband didn't know him.

She called the cops and I'd say it's safe to presume he knew they were on the way. Someone posted the lady was hysterical, the context wasn't stated. She might have been hysterical after your man was shot.

In the US, any random eejit can have a gun. Surely most people would agree that in that scenario, the cops have to be armed and react differently to how they Guards might react here? And that has to have consequences too.

ah well in that case feel free to physically enter other peoples homes without permission, refuse to obey police instructions and then assault them.

Your biased (and presumable based on zero experience) is that the police in hawaii, a pacific island with few caucasion police by the way, were heavy handed and didnt follow protocol when they, in the process of being physically assaulted;
    • Issued verbal instructions
    • attempted unarmed physical restraint
    • Attempted less lethal force
    • Finally resorted to lethal force

That is absolute text book escalation of force. Use of force 101 in any police force the world over. In South Africa they would have skipped the taser

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Myeni had entered a home, sat down and taken off his shoes, prompting the scared occupants to call 911, Honolulu Police Department Chief Susan Ballard said Thursday.

Honolulu police have released body camera footage showing when officers deployed a stun gun on a Black man and fatally shot him while responding to a call about an alleged burglary.

She said he is from the Zulu Kingdom, a nation in South Africa, and believes his actions may have been misinterpreted.

"In Zulu culture you can go to anyone's house. You can knock on anyone's door. It doesn't matter if its 9 o'clock -- it's not a big deal. Neighbors are neighbors," she said.
    She added:

This is a sad indictment on Americans that their country continues to be associated with senseless murder of black people by their police. The murder of our son has reminded us of the trans-Atlantic slave trade and public lynching of black people in America, and South Africa's recent past when black people suffered untold brutality at the hands of an apartheid regime and its security forces. The time has come to be vocal and condemning the [violence] of the police who kill people of black descent."
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.news24.com/amp/news24/southafrica/news/lindani-myeni-death-us-government-should-hang-its-head-in-shame-says-mec-khoza-20210501

It would be good to see major states put pressure on the U.S. over the behavior of their police force. This is a civil rights issue, the only way it can be solved is if trading partners of the U.S. take a stand against police brutality.

Maybe the fooker should have stayed in Africa rather than go to that awful place where all the ex slave owners are.

The OP really is hitching his wagon to some right dodgy carry on by someone not all they are stacked up to be all in effort to push an agenda.

And isn't it a bit rich of South Africans to be lecturing another country on law and order, home invasions, police killings.

BTW I guess all those people in South Africa live in compounds with barbed wire and high walls, often with armed guards, because they just have so many people calling over to visit them on a whim. :rolleyes:

Just found someone else to put on ignore.

I find it very telling to see who thanks a post.

I am not allowed discuss …

South Africa’s ambassador to the United States requested the return of her deceased citizen’s wedding ring, clothes and mobile phone and called on Honolulu, U.S. officials and departments across the country to be more transparent about police shootings and how race relations affect law enforcement practices./QUOTE]
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.staradvertiser.com/2021/05/13/hawaii-news/ambassador-wants-public-disclosure-in-shooting-of-lindani-myeni/amp/

It's important to find out how many more PoC and minorities are targeted this way. Do the police deal differently with minorities?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

What???,the WOMENS behaviour was bizarre???

Why did he attack the police?

tipptom wrote: »
    What???,the WOMENS behaviour was bizarre???

Why did he attack the police?

Because hes a sound rational person obviously.

Isnt that how all decent and rational people behave? I cant remember the amount of times I have gone on holiday and randomly taken my shoes off in strangers houses before fighting with the police. Its like getting sunburn!

The city's Deputy Corporation Counsel Thursday filed a motion for a protective order against the disclosure of details surrounding the death of 29-year-old Lindani Myeni.
    Attorney Bridget Morgan-Bickerton said the 911 call confirms the incident was simply a misunderstanding gone horribly wrong.

"The caller does not mention burglary. I can hear a very calm, peaceful conversation going on in the background between the caller and her husband or her partner, and it sounds like Mr. Myeni," explained Morgan-Bickerton.

"There's no shouting, and there are no weapons, there's no attack. This was a misunderstanding. This was a complete overreaction. There is no way Mr. Myeni could have known it was the police; there's very little time between the call and when they arrived. He did not know these were the police."

The family's attorney, The Bickerton Law Group, also filed a notice of an oral videotaped deposition to question the 911 caller, S
    https://www.kitv.com/story/43886825/city-requests-gag-order-in-lindani-myeni-case

What we have been hearing from the media and police didn't stack up. It seems like he was just chatting with her husband all the time during the call. He wasn't any way aggressive until provoked.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

The city's Deputy Corporation Counsel Thursday filed a motion for a protective order against the disclosure of details surrounding the death of 29-year-old Lindani Myeni.
    Attorney Bridget Morgan-Bickerton said the 911 call confirms the incident was simply a misunderstanding gone horribly wrong.

"The caller does not mention burglary. I can hear a very calm, peaceful conversation going on in the background between the caller and her husband or her partner, and it sounds like Mr. Myeni," explained Morgan-Bickerton.

"There's no shouting, and there are no weapons, there's no attack. This was a misunderstanding. This was a complete overreaction. There is no way Mr. Myeni could have known it was the police; there's very little time between the call and when they arrived. He did not know these were the police."

The family's attorney, The Bickerton Law Group, also filed a notice of an oral videotaped deposition to question the 911 caller, S
    https://www.kitv.com/story/43886825/city-requests-gag-order-in-lindani-myeni-case

What we have been hearing from the media and police didn't stack up. It seems like he was just chatting with her husband all the time during the call. He wasn't any way aggressive until provoked.

You do know that if any loon is going to come into your house that you try and keep calm with them and try and persuade them to leave and if you are lucky enough to then get them outside you slam every door shut and get the police there pronto or alternativly go full Tony Montana on him and say,"say hello to my liddle friend".

Either way he brought this on himself no matter how you try to spin this into a racist incident.

If he had pummeled these poor people to death in their own home we would not be having this conversation.