Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,538 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Matip you hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Get in Matip.

Now reset and start the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Offside goal so much for LiVARpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Matip you hero

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Ridiculous that their goal was allowed, Watkins was clearly offside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Woop Woop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

1-1 but screwed over by the officials for the 1st goal. Awful by the linesman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,538 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Goal and Assist from the 2 CB's don't often see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

What is the rule in relation to Watkins as the replay shows he was offside? Is it a new phase of play or something even though it should have been free out?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Thought Watkins was clearly offside in the build up to their goal .

Hazard of this system of playing on to see what happens because of that the pressure started but they say it is a different phase of play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭passatman86

Im not watching it live on the tv lads, but thankfully its almost as interesting reading the comments come in here quickly, fair play - keep it up

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

He was but too much play between that pass and the goal for it to be ruled out due to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Strange one though as it wasn't even a close call so the linesman was just poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,037 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I don't quite get it... like, the officials don't raise their flags for close ones anymore because VAR is there, but then VAR doesn't seem to go back far enough? So you can have the lino know someone is off, but let it go, have play recycled and have a goal scored 30 seconds later that counts... seems an especially dumb little loophole.

Yeah it was a new phase of play so technically it is allowed. But like it was obvious that he was offside, that's the issue. When he didn't score from the initial shot, it should have been flagged for offside.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

There has to be a cut off at some point, it's not a loop hole.

Some scream from the Villa number 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,488 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Before the game we would have wanted Gerrard to come play football, in an open way. And maybe deep down Gerrard was doing us a favour, in that it suits us. But they're all over us and bombing forward😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

The biggest issue I have with the linesmen not flagging is there is no consistency. In one game the lino's will flag really tight ones that there's no way they'd know for sure are off but then in other games they let go calls where the attacker is yards off.

It's making them worse at their jobs.

The loophole is the first bit - that linos are discouraged from raising their flag in the first instant when its close because of the VAR safety net, even if they think it's offside. Obviously we've no idea in this particular instance if the lino saw the offside, but that's the way things are done now. But of course if a VAR check never comes, then a lino might see an offside but never stop the game, where previously they'd have just thrown the flag up on the first one, offside, free out.

It's created a little blind spot moment, where responsibility slips into the gap between lino and VAR.

Well the thing is the linesman maybe didn't know it was off, so why would he ever have flagged, but once a goal was scored it should be looked at,

Settled a bit now.

Karius type of pass there from Alisson, is the pressure getting to the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,874 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Villa defense look like they could leak 5 or 6, but so does Alison.

Someone spiked Ali’s energy drink

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I don't think threre really was that much time though, same attack really.

I seem to remember them going back a fair bit to rule our a goal for us because of a Bobby handball in our own half. last year maybe.

Mane & Ings miss similar chances.

Alisson is having a MARE so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭Mr Crispy

Jesus Fab. Wakey wakey.

Wake up Fabinho

Villa out to play act and waste time already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

So many basic errors. I think all the high intensity games are catching up with a few lads.

What is going on, we're all over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Fab looking decidely unfab again.

This does not look good for Fab.

That's Fabinho gone for the cup final so. Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

F**k, nearly anyone but Fab.

That could genuinely mean no more trophies this season if he’s out for the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Bah Fabinho's hamstring, that could be a disaster

Looks like a tight hamstring (hopefully)

feck, get him off anyway and hopefully can recover enough for Chelsea... awful timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

FCUK of all players to get injured.

I reckon he will be fine and he will be raring to go having only played 25 minutes tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,693 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

What defines a phase of play?

They should go back to when it last crossed the halfway line or it was last under control by the opposing team. Its rarely in play for that long that a quick check for offsides couldn't be done.

In fact, in world of Machine Learning and Artificial intelligence, I'm surprised there isn't (close to) real time tracking of all offsides on the pitch.

Seemed like they were debating leaving him on, so thats positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Looked more like a twinge than a tear. I’d say he was taken off as a precaution with the games coming up. No way could you risk it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SM01

I wouldn't be even thinking of playing him vs Chelsea. Huge loss, but i reckon they could have him ready for Real if they don't risk him before then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Yep, Spurs away I think?!?

Also, when are refs going to start booking lads for kicking away the ball again?

A Villa player picked up the ball and ran away with it there to stop a quick free.

It’s infuriating!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Huge thanks to the Premier League for that Fabinho injury too btw, why schedule a game for Wednesday after a late Saturday kickoff when you can put players at an increased risk of injury and put it on the Tuesday instead?

I mean, we've literally absolutely no idea whatsoever the severity of it yet, he's only just walked off the pitch. If he plays before Real, it'll be because he's cleared...