Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Sounds like the Chelsea game will probably go ahead, was hoping it might be postponed to give more time to sort things out and get players back from injury.

Regarding Keita, whatever way you look at it, he has been a disappointment since signing, I think he's the 4th highest transfer we paid for a player, and came with a big reputation, but, hasn't lived up to it. His injury record certainly doesn't help. He's obviously got great ability and potential and if he was available the last few weeks, results and performances might have been better, but, that's the main problem with him, he's rarely available for any extended period of time. At the moment we are carrying way too many injury prone players in the squad, especially in midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

We should just sue YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I had wondered where he was and why he hadn’t made the squads with all the injuries.

Seems Kaide Gordon is going through his own physical growth issues with a pelvic issue and he is on a specialised training program to help with that and he isn’t being rushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,042 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

You'd hope this sort of early intervention will stop these lads from having some of the sorts of problems the likes of God and Owen had far too early in their careers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

One thing that isn't talked about with Keita too is that the Liverpool style of play when he was signed and the Liverpool style of play when he actually joined are very different.

He was signed in 2017 when the style of play was very helter skelter up and down the pitch counter attacking.

The 2018 side, when he actually joined, was more of a possession heavy side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I don't think he's played enough games, or even enough bad games tbh, for tactics to be considered a potential issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

There no chance in hell Celtic will respect a minutes silence, it just won't happen

In Liverpool case its not just Liverpool football club who dislike the Monarchs & the government its the City of Liverpool so Everton fans will have a similar problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Damien360

Maybe it’s because I’m more familiar with Liverpool than any other club, but I get the impression we seem to hire an awful lot of players with long term injury concerns than any other club. Do we take a chance to save a few quid and hope it all works out or does the medical team take more chances as they obviously have some input into the final purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

All these distance covered stats people roll out after a defeat are such a cliche . I can imagine in all the games we won last season we ran less than the opposition in most of them, surely controlling a game, you run less, and make the other team run more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭rogerywalters

Id say hes moaning about the fact theres no football on for an absolute farcical reason.

Iv been saying for a while I'm not overly impressed with, Elliott like some. & I read today's he's the most dribbled past Liverpool player in the league 9 times (Milner is the most per 90 minutes) & He's only won 18% of his attempted tackles

Trents dealing with more than usual coming down the right & it shows,

We really need to tighten up that side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Elliott's performances does not excuse Trent for strolling around at the back and not being able to defend the back post

To get the best out of TAA, we have to accept that Pool need a player with the intelligence and discipline of Henderson to slot in to cover at right back when TAA is upfield. But I do agree with the many posters who are unhappy with his lackadaisical attitude to getting back and covering his area/man when possession is turned over.

I would not be at all surprised if TAA spends the month of December in Liverpool. At this stage he must be a long way behind Walker and James in Southgates plans, and in knockout competition, England can’t afford defensive lapses like we have seen over the last 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Daemonic

With the squad size increased to 26, I expect TAA to be at the World Cup if only to prevent the inevitable questions of why he wasn't included. Very possible however he only makes a sub appearance or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭atilladehun

TAAs career till now has been nothing short of phenomenal. He's been at top speed producing elite performances for five years now. Honestly can't think of many footballers who've had such a consistent first five years. Gerard wasn't, nor was Ronaldo, Messi was. Salah, vvd and kdb weren't that good at that age.

If nothing else was wrong with the team and he was this poor I'd still say the same. He probably just needs a mental break. Kids his age go traveling for a year after all their studies.

Add in Henderson's demise, his adjacent cog and the disappointment of last year then it's not hard to see why his brain is running like a Pentium 2 processor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭steve_r

Agree with this - the cover in front of Trent is very important but his own effort counts too.

James has been amazing for Chelsea and can cover centre half too as well. Trippier as well has been excellent for Newcastle.

Honestly missing the World Cup might be the kick up the hole he needs

He certainly has gone through phases when his form dipped, but do you not think the quality of those around him may have masked his defensive shortcomings?

I do appreciate that he does offer offensive benefits that mean he isn’t an orthodox defender and shouldn’t be treated as one. What seems to have changed this year is not necessarily a dip in form, but a clear dip in attitude. He just doesn’t appear to be trying to defend, there have been numerous clips of him switching off and just walking around rather than trying to recover possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Trent has been dealing with sweet FAll this season and he's shown absolutely no interest in doing the very basics defensively. He needs to be dropped and given a swift kick up the h**e

Intelligence to fill Trents hole, I mean eyes would be enough. If Elliott is not doing it then he's not doing his job, I'm sure he's told to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Go to bed Toby.

It sounds mental because of we have never heard it before but Trents defending should at times be treated like Bobby's goal scoring yes it's important but not what he is in the team specifically for ,

Trent is basically as false 3 ,

Don't get me wrong at times i pull my hair out looking at him & there is no excuse for walking or not trying but you get what I'm saying ,

I get what you're saying but the problem is every man and his dog knows this now and simply just load our right hand side with extra bodies to exploit it. Teams are taking more risks against us these days and are commiting more bodies going forward, when our system with our high line was at its peak the worst they had to deal with was some hopeful clearances over the top for the oppositions lone front man to run onto. Now teams are keeping it on the deck, getting extra bodies running from deep down our right handside and if they beat our front press with the ball on the deck (it's easier now without a peak Bobby and no Mane) we are completely overwhelmed on that side as Salah was never the best defensively, Elliot/Hendo can only stick with one runner and Trent reacts so late to everything or sometimes doesn't even bother try track his man and just seems to aimlessly stroll back 4/5 yards behind the play. It's infuriating to look at.... Trent is going to continue to be a liability as long as opposition teams keep targeting that side and everyone is getting such success by doing so I can't see them changing tactic!

I really think once Matip is back in the starting 11 we will see that side imporve,

Gomez has far better physical tools but he just doesn't have the mentality to be a top trop CB , maybe because he doesn't play week in week out but we can't wait on him, Matip's intelligences makes us far more solid, & Konate at the end of last season was looking like he has both the physical & mental tools required ,

We will definitely see improvements on the defensive side of things but I don't think the issues will be resolved in the long run. To me this is going to be Klopps biggest challenge going forward. We no longer have peak Bobby, Mane and Salah leading the forward press and teams know this, it's so easy to overwhelm us now in the middle because teams can keep the ball on the deck and get more bodies going forward agaisnt us. Unfortunately they tend to get those runners going down our right handside due to Trent's limitations...how we fully fix it, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,799 ✭✭✭Enzokk

I believe we have been respectful during periods of silence for players and managers from teams we hate, so I am sure the crowd would have been savvy enough not to give the tabloids ammunition. At the end of the day, while you may not agree with the monarchy it doesn't mean you cannot be respectful of the minutes silence for the person who has passed away.

We have had other teams disrupt minutes of silence for Hillsborough and knows how much that hurts, so I am sure there would not have been anything that would have embarrassed the club if the game had gone ahead on Saturday.

Ye i totally agree,

Even if your not mourning its only right to be respectful to other people mourning

Robbo will miss the game tomorrow with a knee injury.

Andy Robbo missing the Ajax game with injury.

Luckily, LB is probably the only position where there is an actual person able to come in and play, that is fit.

Edit: out until after the international break.

Post edited by Fitz* on

Ox & Naby won't be back till sometime in October that is why they weren't named in the Champions Leagues squad.

Naby will not be allowed to go to the International games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Arsenal's Europa League game on Thursday is off,surely means that our game on Sunday will be off as well

I see the match on Thursday, Arsenal v PSV, in London is not going ahead due to constraints on the police.

I don't know how our match will go ahead on Sunday when there are 3 matches scheduled for London that day. Brentford is also playing and you have one WSL match with West Ham woman playing as well. So we may look at another rescheduled match, which considering our form will not be a bad thing.

Reports are it will be dependent on where the matches are going ahead. I'd imagine any matches on in London this weekend are definitely off, so that would be us out of action....this could actually turn out to be a massive blessing in disguise!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭steve_r

Heard a few options considered on a podcast

1. cancel the game (seems the most likely)
    2. reverse the fixture (unlikely as causes problems with the Everton fixture)
    3. play the game without away fans- this would reduce the police presence required but puts Liverpool at a disadvantage

Honestly id prefer it to be cancelled - we’ve too many players out or just back and we are playing awful

The Athletic thinks our match will most likely be postponed this weekend,

The police will be needed to look after all the visitors coming in for the funeral on Monday. Looking at how they are arresting people for holding posters that is not offensive, they will be busy if some groups kick off. I mean free speech is a problem when it comes to the Royal family it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Being honest Chelsea V Liverpool on that day is just asking for trouble with the Liverpool fans history of booing the national anthem, I can see how they are allowing the game on Wednesday to go ahead bur from Thursday to Sunday the coffin is open to the public so you can see why the Arsenal game is off on Thursday and I would imagine any games in London that weekend would be postponed.

The Chelsea game was never going to go ahead especially with Chelsea Pensioners connection who will be at attendance for the funeral and will probably act as guards of honor along the route and that planning will be going on for days before.

Elliot was 25th best player ratings wise in the game ,

He was the 5th worst player out of our starting 11 , are you saying that is actually his level because i might agree,

1, Milner, 2. Gomez. 3 Salah , 4. Fab . 5 Elliot

Looks like Leeds v United will be postponed as well. I guess they require extra policing for that fixture. I think there is no chance we are playing on the weekend. Will make next year interesting when they have to find spots to fit our postponed matches, then again the way we are playing there may be more open slots than we would like towards March and April.

Some more reporters hearing our match is going to be postponed,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

As Klopp pointed out the fans were respectful to Ronaldo last season after his tragedy, so I'm not all that worried about it.

I'd be disappointed if things weren't respected, but I imagine most of us here aren't from Liverpool. We've no real right to be disapproving of people from the City whatever might happen. Just hope they use their noggin and not give the media an excuse to pile on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,272 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Hardly surprising. the crowds in Edinburgh are unreal and getting around London at the weekend will be utterly crazy. Last weekends games really shuold have gone ahead. They've made a bad situation a lot worse.

Reporter asks:

Had you any concerns that a six-day break could cause his side to lose rhythm

Klopp:

What rhythm? We had no rhythm…did you watch our game

Losing this rhythm would be really cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

This extended break from league action could save our season, by the time we play in the league again, we should have a few more players back from injury and a good rest for those who've been playing all along. It also takes a bit of the pressure off the players after the bad start to the season. Would be happy enough avoiding defeat against Ajax to stop the rot and then hopefully we'll hit the ground running after the international break.

It could be massive. Hopefully see some improvement tomorrow evening and then an 18 days break until we have Graham Potter less Brighton in Anfield....it should give plenty of time for Matip, Thiago, Hendo, Ramsey and Carvalho to get the fitness levels up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭tinpib

And Jota as well. Ya, hopefully win tomorrow, or at least not lose, then pray everything starts firing again on Oct 1st.

Fabinho getting a break is probably the biggest winner IMO. He was walking a tightrope with being so close to injury. Liverpool have played 8 games this season, Fabinho has played all 8, amassing the minutes of 7 full games. He needed the rest, but was unable to get one.

Andy Robertson is another who could have done with the rest. He seemed to be playing with an injury as it is anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,296 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

There will be no Champions League theme tune before tonight's game or any CL game for British teams this week.