Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Back then I said I didn't think he could turn it around and he did , I'm happy he did,

It's OK to be critical of him when he's clearly making some awful decisions, Its been absolutely pants since August, even more worrying is his whole backroom staff bailing on him

The last part of your post is nonsense,

We support Liverpool not one manager or player they come and they go ,.

Is he not at Liverpool for a year longer than he was at Dortmund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭giveitholly

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭Summitatem

If it wasn't for that Leicester defender that hit two OGs for us we'd be in a right spot 🤣

We should sign him in the summer 💭👀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,301 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Gabby agbonlahor? Jesus this thread has reached a new low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭passatman86

Maybe he heard this stat around Xmas before the new year 😆😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,497 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Klopp gets asked a lot of annoying questions by reporters. If I could ask him a question it would be, how have things looked in training in the last 8 days, was there any indication of what transpired here today. I'd love to hear the answer............do people really believe he has been tolerating this lack of closing in training all week, and then picked 10 non closers for match day?? The lacking of closing for the first two was shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

This tbh.

We need to cut out the shite and get a result.

4-3-3 doesn't work with the team we've had available the last two months.

Get compact, get more defenders to bail out Joe, flood the midfield and sacrifice the attackers who contribute nothing.

We cannot turn things around when we concede right now so need to be hard to beat.

Trent,Joe, nat,Matip, Robertson.

Thiago, Fab, Bajetic, Keita.

Salah or Nunez up top.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Our midfield options are so poor right now, it's like a black hole, we don't really have one competent midfielder, the senior midfielders are all dire; Bajcetic is the only positive there.

Thomas Tuchel is the obvious choice, if some fcking idiot sacks Klopp

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭freewheeler

Klopp has more than enough credit in the bank to be given time to sort this, but have no doubt, he is certainly at least partially to blame for this mess.

1) Change is obviously needed yet he has obstinately refused to change formation or tactics, despite us no longer having the players needed to play this way. As previous posters have stated, surely its time to ditch 4-3-3 (which opposing teams are walking through) for a more conservative 3-5-2 or 4-4-2 which might at least give us a foothold in games, and would at least freshen things up a bit?

2) Recruitment has been nothing short of a disaster for years now. We are loaded with forward players yet paper thin in midfield- how was this allowed to happen? Players such as Keita and Ox should have been shipped out years ago (don't even get me started on Melo - whose idea was that?) None of us know how much say Klopp has re recruitment, but he surely has some, and is therefore at least partially to blame for the mess the first team squad has become.

3) Medical / Conditioning / strength and fitness coaching staff - what the hell is the story there? What other top team has had the amount of injuries that we have had for the last few years? again surely this needs to be looked at and changes made...

4) Players - As bad as our defence has been lately, they get a pass for the moment from me as they are getting zero protection from midfield. The loss of Mane and especially Wijnaldum has been massive in this regard. I believe Nunez will come good (maybe even Gakpo!) but hard to judge in such a dysfunctional team!

5) Yes we have been spoiled these last few years and will of course continue to support the team, but the drop-off even since last season has been spectacular to say the least. The loss of key individuals behind the scenes does not bode well either. Hopefully this is a blip and maybe a much needed wake-up call, we live in hope.

6) Rant Over...YNWA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Talisman

Can anyone provide some insight into what James Pearce has written that caused Klopp to refuse to answer his question directly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Edwards , Ward ,Ian Graham,Tim Jenkins ,Jake Ade , Jim Moxon to name a few , You also had Mark Leyland last January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Edwards and Graham are at the club since 2011 and 2012 respectively,how can you consider them part of Klopps backroom staff when they were there 4 years before klopp arrived.

Also staff involved in the academy would not be hired at the behest of klopp so I wouldn't call them klopp's backroom staff.

Some people will always move on to other clubs to try further their careers.

You seem to be implying they all left because of klopp,such nonsense in that post

They where part of the success we have had there no questioning that ,

I didn't mean they have left because of Klopp himself but they have left his staff ,

Please no desperately boring brand of football.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

I'm convinced the lad you are replying to is a United wum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭Damien360

I wouldn't mind Klopp changing formation and playing some boring football for some stability at least. The style he wants suits pacey players and we have none right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Doesn't help that in interviews now that Klopp sounds dejected. That must spread to the team.

Bottom of form table since start of January.

I think a bit of confidence and a player or two back we'll be fine. As teams start to expect to get a result they will open up and some day soon we will click get our groove back.

Next six games includes Everton, Newcastle, Real and Utd which could shatter confidence even more.

Big summer coming up especially if no CL next year - which I think there won't be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I really hope not, I had considered that thought a while back but tbh there couldn't possibly someone out there so sad in their own life to put all that effort in.

Watching MOTD revealed so much, and it wasn't Klopp at fault, the time and space the Wolves player got for the first was comical, it was so so hilarious, yet not funny. The Wolves player gets the ball, pulls up a chair, has a cup of tea and a cracker, deciding where to play the ball, '' let me see'' straight into a player in our box who scores. How does anyone not go mad looking at that, it was the same for the second goal.

I also saw on MOTD the 5 clear cut chances to score, while Alisson didn't have much to do, we can't finish, and make individual errors, so little is wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Fyi...when it's a pattern and not a blip it's ALWAYS the manager at fault. That's football.

Ah but a top club with a top manager simply removes those not doing what is asked, problem solved, Stam, Van Nistelrooy, Beckham, Gabriel Heinze, Pique, Forlan, Silvestre , Veron, Ince, Alex was like '' not pulling your weight, want to challenge me, fck off ''

Klopp doesn't have that option, and that's down to owners, who are too sensible for PL football.

Pep is same, he shipped out a whole team of amazing players, João Cancelo the latest, amazing player, not doing it Pep's way, ''fck off''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

There is plenty wrong. We can't score, our midfield and defence are missing and we are losing games.

Jurgen Klopp has left Liverpool by a cliff edge, 10th, middle of the table, so it's down, or up from here. We have a game in hand, and Newcastle have faltered, all 3 of Chelsea, Liverpool and Spurs can still get 4th, but it's who ever gets it right in second half of season. Chelsea with all their spending must be favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Bit a rant here, (Monday moan but it's a bank holiday so a day early!)

There's obviously a massive malaise at Liverpool now, with a myriad of problems. Klopp seems to be at the forefront of this, and is the public face of the club so will get the brunt of external blame for it. While he is not entirely blameless, his hands are being severely tied.

Liverpool have had the same bodies, the same minds together working as the main group for about 5/6 years now. It's largely the same voices, the same plan, the same common goal, the same players doing the work every game. Going to the well 2/3 times a week and leaving everything on the pitch. Playing through injury, having to win every week, winning every week, winning every trophy. But ultimately coming up short last season. Being told they would get their rewards if they won every game. They won 28 games out of 35 from January to June last season. Put absolutely everything into it, ran into the ground and ultimately were told they were not good enough at the end of it by everyone external to the club. That's a massive burden to shoulder. They done that for 5 years up against a sportswashing club, kept the pace, set the pace. Got burned by the pace.

Ultimately as it is the same bodies, and the same minds. The hunger, willingness and ability just might not be there. 5 years of having to win every game. If you draw any game, it feels like a defeat. Liverpool started the season tired and got sucker punched by Fulham. Fair play Fulham, the deserved the point but it set back Liverpool straight away. 'I dunno if my body is able for having to win every single game again this season'. 'But hey, at least I have this new energetic lad beside me who does have that hunger'. Except he is not there. There is basically new bodies.

Liverpool have been criminally under recruiting for a number of years, and it's not even a money conversation. It's a conversation, and fact, that in the past 8 transfer windows, Liverpool have permanently bought 10 players over the age of 18. That's basically 1 new face every window - 2 a year, and one of those could be a kid. Not exactly a constant refreshment and having a new guy in beside you which makes you take notice. What Diaz done last January - it breathed new life into Liverpool and rejuvenated the attack, and Mane, and the club overall just through his energy. That should be happening in attack + midfield or midfield+defence etc every year. it's what the other clubs are doing. The new players that are signed end up missing large periods through injury (Thiago/Konate/Diaz/Jota) which means that those tired minds and bodies have to dig deep again, go to the well again, instead of being eased into rotation options.

• Arsenal have slowly built a new team and in those same 8 transfer windows have bought 9 of their current starting 11. The likes of Auba & Lacazette gone to make way for Jesus. Ozil out for Odegaard. Tired minds out, hungry bodies in.
    • 5 or 6 of Man City's best 11 were signed in this period. Cancelo is after being sent out of the club, to keep things refreshed. His standards have dropped, so out he goes. Gundogan will probably follow suit in the summer and maybe even Bernando, no doubt with top class replacements coming in so that there is a constant refreshment. 6 of their 11 in today's game were bought in the last 4 seasons.
    • 2 of Liverpool's starting 11 yesterday were signed in the last 8 transfer windows. 1 of Liverpool's 5 subs were signed then (plus Elliott so 2 really, but he was/is a kid).
    • If you want to include money spent in the conversation, it's even worse. This is total number of 18+ year old players bought for a fee, and the gross spend over the last 8 windows.

Liverpool are still relying on Hendo, Fabinho, Matip etc and it's cost the team games. How many times have we seen an opposition midfielder run through to finish off a counter attack? Countlesss. Or how many times have we seen those players, and others, make tired decisions of just hitting the ball aimlessly over the top, down the channel for someone else to chase onto. Because they don't have the energy to move into a better position and zip the ball through the lines to the attack. They don't have the energy to turn around and chase opposition midfielders. You don't even need to be good to score against Liverpool now, you just need to be energetic and/or quick.

Last season, after January, Klopp decided that Fabinho/Thiago/Hendo/Keita were all going to rotate and play the rest of the games. The rest didn't really get a look in, those were his 4 starters. And guess what, it worked. They won every week. it helped manage their fitness as all 4 are susceptible to muscle injuries - they shared the load. Fabinho suffered a thigh injury after 30 mins in the 3rd last league game of the season against Villa. His 4th significant muscle injury in 2 season. He was rushed back for the CL Final in June (and to be fair, every club does that for a CL final). Maybe Keita should have started instead, in hindsight, but Fabinho has never recovered. There's a Liverpool fan (@BassTunedToRed) who has worked out that a 29 year old Fabinho has played the same number of minutes as the average 33 year old. He's past it. Maybe the recruitment team could see this coming and so it's why they wanted Tchouameni so much in the summer, and then when he was unavailable moved onto Enzo Fernandez. Who vetoed the transfer of Fernandez? Was it FSG not paying the £10m? Was it Klopp being loyal and trusting Fabinho over an unknown coming from Argentina? Whoever did it, it has cost club dearly this season.

The midfield problem was predicted in the summer, but the club (be it FSG or Klopp or whoever, maybe all of them) chose to not recruit and instead go for 'one last dance'. It went horribly wrong. Alright, ok let's address it in January. And then January comes around the FSG say that they are only giving X amount available. The club needs midfielders badly, except now they also need forwards. Their was fit, underperforming, midfielders at the time, so the recruitment team (Klopp?) had to chose between signing a midfielder or a forward and took a gamble on a forward purely because they didn't have any forwards to play. 3 or 4 forwards missing for months - mainly those new faces that were supposed to inject the new energy into the team. As a result the same tired minds and bodies are the ones to carry the water, yet again. The midfield was going to have to continue to suffer and so Gakpo was signed. The number of fit forwards at the club per game from January onwards, without Gakpo, is as follows; 2, 1, 2, 2, 1, 2, 2. And that is including Nunez's games on the bench as he was not fit enough to start. So clearly a forward was needed to be signed. But so was a midfielder, again, for the 4 or 5th window in a row. Again, it went unaddressed. There has been 1 senior midfielder signed since 2018 and he was 29 at the time. The team is growing old together.

Now we are in a situation where 3+ midfielders need to be signed this summer and all are too late. A CB is also needed as Matip is over the hill now, but that won't happen as midfield is the priority so that's all we will see. The tired Matip will continue for another season - will this cost us as VVD is more injury prone now given the massive injury + age. Konate likes a small injury. Also, the tired Bobby will continue. The refreshment rate is not high enough.

I heard a good saying today about it - "cutting off the the top of the blanket to sow onto the bottom of the blanket".

Good post, but a lot of this is self inflicted, and could with a little foresight have been avoided. While a drop off was to be expected, the drop this season is massive. Recruitment over the last few years has been really poor, the signing of Melo on loan really is the nadir, it's possibly the worst signing the club have ever made, given the context of the situation we were in at the time; struggling for fit midfielders, so we go out and sign an unfit player with a brutal injury record, we then compound that in January by not signing a midfielder. We should have prioritised a midfielder over signing Gapko, we could have pushed Elliott, Carvalho, Jones or even Ox up front for a few games, at the time Jota was expected back around now, so it was worth the risk for a few weeks.

Could they have looked at terminating Melo's loan, surely there should have been some clause inserted to allow this? They could then look at signing another midfielder on loan or even recalled Morton from his loan, wouldn't solve all our problems, but, might improve our situation a little. It all points to very poor forward thinking, compounded by making crazy decisions like the Melo signing. The speed with which the club has gone from a very good position to the mess we are currently in is astonishing; Klopp, his backroom team, the players, the recruitment team, and FSG all have some portion of the blame, to what extent each are to blame is difficult to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

A beautifully profound overview of yesterday's performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Talisman

Funny thing - I went through James Pearce's recent articles to see what he had said that so offended Klopp yesterday. You've basically said the same.

Whatever Klopp is doing isn't having the desired impact.

There are some glaring issues that Klopp appears no closer to sorting out. Not least how to make the best use of his attacking resources until the cavalry return.

Mohamed Salah’s barren run continues. The Egyptian squandered a glorious chance in the first half after being put through on goal and his influence on the game waned the longer it went on.

Cody Gakpo delivered arguably his best display since his move from PSV Eindhoven but there’s still been no end product five games into his Liverpool career.

Klopp loves the manner in which the Dutchman drops off into space, like Firmino tends to do, and disrupts the opposition’s build-up play. There were some surging runs from Gakpo, but playing so deep meant he didn’t spend long enough in areas where he could really hurt Brighton.

Having been used to playing on the left in the Eredivisie, Gakpo is still adjusting to what Klopp wants from him through the middle — underlined by the array of orders frequently barked from the technical area.

Darwin Nunez is another work in progress. The Uruguayan had to settle for a cameo role out wide at Brighton when Liverpool could have really done with him operating more centrally with his ability to run in behind. Klopp still hasn’t unlocked Nunez’s true potential.

Harvey Elliott, who scored for the second time in three matches, has stepped up and provided one of the few positives of late, but elsewhere the goals have dried up.

The negative impact of Klopp's substitutions.

It’s a damning statistic that the only goal Klopp’s men have scored after the hour mark in any of their nine games in all competitions since the World Cup was Bajcetic’s composed finish late on at Villa Park on Boxing Day.

That points to another problem: the impact of Klopp’s substitutions. Certainly, the changes he made in the second half on Sunday made Liverpool gradually worse rather than better.

The entire article was critical of the club's approach to recent transfer windows, but the Melo and Gakpo transfers were highlighted.

No one could have foreseen how far Henderson and Fabinho’s levels would drop this season, but it was clear last summer that Liverpool needed an injection of quality in that department because the backup options were either injury prone, not good enough or both.

Instead, they opted not to pursue a plan B after missing out on Real Madrid-bound France international Aurelien Tchouameni, with Klopp adamant he had sufficient depth for the challenges ahead.

It was only after Henderson damaged his hamstring against Newcastle United in late August that Liverpool sought a stop-gap on deadline day in the form of Arthur on loan from Juventus. Given the £4million loan fee and his wages, it has proved to be an expensive mistake, with the Brazilian playing just 13 minutes before undergoing surgery on his thigh.

A midfielder was not prioritised in the summer and it wasn’t in January either, with Klopp keen to seal the deal for Gakpo. With Diaz breaking down during the training camp in Dubai and Diogo Jota also sidelined, the manager felt the squad would benefit most from the presence of another elite attacker.

Again with the questionable Melo transfer.

Arthur featured off the bench in the group stage defeat away to Napoli in September but has not played since surgery on his thigh in October.

He is expected to be fit later this month but the fact he is not required for the Champions League speaks volumes about where he stands in Klopp’s plans.

Pearce didn't write anything that hasn't been said elsewhere. Perhaps Klopp felt the articles were unfairly singling him out for criticism.

There's nothing there or in my post, that anyone from the outside looking in couldn't or can't see, unless they don't want to see it. I don't follow Pearce or any other journalist, it's just my own high level observations of the situation. Klopp is probably too close to the situation and can't see the wood from the trees. He's obviously trying his best and is probably frustrated that things just seem to be getting worse. Without a change of tactics we will continue to spiral further, what he has tried all season hasn't worked, as someone said previously there's no point trying the same thing over and over again and expecting different results

Jurgen Kloop has been sacked by no club he has managed, there is too much respect for him for that to happen. We've been here before when he lost 6 home games in a row, give him the tools and he'll build you a empire.

If Klopp has the hump with Pearce just more or less stating the obvious it's quite strange. If anything it gives Klopp the opportunity to mention what he does and doesn't control, which iirc he has spoken about before....he's happy to work within FSG guidelines etc etc. Can't compete with money clubs bla bla bla...it's all cool cool.

Can't fathom why he's peeved by Pearce's recent pieces, I suppose pointing out the crap tactics and ineffective substitutes might be a bit close to the bone but paper and ink etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭ratracer

I’d say all the relegation battle teams wish they could play Liverpool more often!!

Gomez, our CB, while the Wolves player plays the ball into the box for Wolves to score the first, and while no one presses the player playing it. He really does go walkabout Gomez, does it all the time,

Ball coming in for the second goal, Robertson was wit that player, but put the brakes on where he stands, while the Wolves players went to gather the ball to cross it, why stop and let him gather the ball to cross it freely. Then Gomez again heads it as Alisson is about to catch it

I think the players are so concerned about doing something wrong, that they're doing nothing right .There is no freedom of thought, everyone of them is consumed by fear that leads to hesitation, leads to them standing their ground, instead of rushing in.

Ball is coming across field, Robertson is clear favourite, but again he puts the brakes on and allows the Wolves player to gather the ball, and then tries to get goal side, playing with a free mind he wins the ball before Wolves players get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Nothing will probably happen but I would have a wry smile if they took some of their trophies away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,540 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

B-Rod and Gerrard to retrospectively get winners medals for 2013-14!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭jones

You know city will lawyer this onto oblivion just like they did with CAS in 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The FA a day late and a dollar short again.

Nonsence, everyone knows what's being going on at City for many years, I know they have to prove it and all that but still.... Mancini was there in 2019, 14 years ago, with his 'double jobbing' coaching role in the UAE and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,956 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Watch City get a points deduction now when it's not longer us right behind them in second place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Was thinking the same until I read an article on it saying it will take years in court to see through.

Everyone will get bored and nothing will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Drastic formation change needed for the next game.

I really think it's time to try Trent in midfield too, he's clearly a really intelligent player given he was able to adapt to been an attacking full back and become the best in the world at one time. No one there to cover the space for him anymore so we should be getting him on the ball high up the pitch as much as possible and work to his strengths. Maybe even wide right of a 4-4-2 like Gerrard used to play. As poor as he's been he is still the most likely player on the pitch to create something decent.

Something like this, until van dijk is back

Gomez matip Philips Robertson

Trent Thiago bajcetic gakpo

Salah nunez