Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder at the Cottage | Sky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Henry...

Bailey will be acting irrationaly a lot of the time due to his alcohol and drug use

His actions after the murder wouldn't be expected to be those of a normal person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

Henry... wrote: »
    Bailey will be acting irrationaly a lot of the time due to his alcohol and drug use

His actions after the murder wouldn't be expected to be those of a normal person

Irrationally? No.

Eccentrically..maybe. But nothing that was unusual.

He was excited to have a story. Makes sense given his professional history.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,083 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The case should be reopened here with fresh eyes by hopefully competent Gardai, the Gardai on the original case need to be reprimanded and all the liars prosecuted

I do think MF and Sophie were perhaps having relationships in secret with Gardai and hence the shambles investigation, missing evidence etc.,

IB is an enigma but I do not think guilty of murder

• Registered Users Posts: 8,075 ✭✭✭threeball

He must be some man if he can be up all the previous day, out drinking in the evening, get home late, go for a 4km walk, kill someone, walk back, not show any sign of agitation, finish an article for a paper and stay up the entire following day travelling back and forth to the cottage.

threeball wrote: »
    He must be some man if he can be up all the previous day, out drinking in the evening, get home late, go for a 4km walk, kill someone, walk back, not show any sign of agitation, finish an article for a paper and stay up the entire following day travelling back and forth to the cottage.

Has it been proven he wasn't driving

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Just finished this...

I have no idea how the French show trial can be taken seriously...Marie Farrell first statement taken as fact despite the fact she said he was conhurst by AGS to make a false statement

The black coat that Dwyer* said wasn't found, yet it was found and forensically analysised by AGS, to which there is documented proof...

*AGS superintendent in the documentary

• Registered Users Posts: 29,274 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It's James Bond stuff.

And don't forget, also do this while leaving no car tracks, footprints, fingerprints, hair samples, blood, DNA...
    While in a beserk drunken frenzy.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

MoonUnit75 wrote: »
    I’m aware of the criteria. I am amused that you would go so low as to call someone who repeatedly put their partner in hospital, busted their face, beat them with a crutch, kicked them with a plaster cast on their foot, blamed their victim for the extreme violence, drove while drunk on several occasions, drove while on drugs, never held down a job more than a couple of years, isolated their partner from their children and grandchildren who refuse to be in his company, regularly demands silence and attention in a packed bar so he can recite his simple minded poems, ‘joked’ regularly about carrying out a disturbing murder, a ‘flawed personality’ :pac:

You're just looking for something to be offended by here. How exactly must we refer to his personalty in the future to satisfy you, MoonUnit75? A flawed personality is not good enough, tell us what we need to say?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭tibruit

odyssey06 wrote: »
    It's James Bond stuff.

And don't forget, also do this while leaving no car tracks, footprints, fingerprints, hair samples, blood, DNA...
    While in a beserk drunken frenzy.

Someone was in a beserk frenzy that night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭MoonUnit75

You're just looking for something to be offended by here. How exactly must we refer to his personalty in the future to satisfy you, MoonUnit75? A flawed personality is not good enough, tell us what we need to say?

I’m not asking you to say anything. I just think we need to reflect on what IB would actually have to do to merit a worse description than a ‘flawed personality’.

Has it been proven he wasn't driving

I dont care if he had a helicopter. He'd have had to stayed up for 36hrs straight and commit a murder in the middle of it, whilst managing to keep his journalist masters happy and dispose of evidence like his jacket.

I’m not asking you to say anything. I just think we need to reflect on what IB would actually have to do to merit a worse description than a ‘flawed personality’.

So what should I have referred to him as? Remember you accused me of 'going so low' as to say he had a flawed personality.

How do you know he didn’t show signs of agitation when he got back? He has shown no signs of agitation after being arrested for a murder he says he was being framed for, discussing beating his partner close to death or the excruciatingly deranged ramblings in his diaries being read in open court.

We don’t know when he wrote his 500 word article, it was not actually due the next day as he admitted himself and could have been written any time in the preceding week.

We only have his partner’s statement that he was up and about again at 9am, JT daughter just said they both went out at some time during the morning for 2 hours, he could have been back in bed by 5am and woke up at 10.30am for all we know. Larry Murphy beat and kidnapped a woman, drove her to various locations, raped her repeatedly over the course of the night, tried to kill her, got chased off by two hunters who saw his face, drove home and had sex with his unsuspecting and heavily pregnant wife and was cool and collected when the gardai arrived at his house next morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Mackwiss

tibruit wrote: »
    Utter nonsense.

thanks for the quality of your arguments, showing you don't even know how to read a map or the position of the moon. Thanks for the laugh. I'll just ignore you from now on. :)

exactly, not only this, travelling back and forth, in phone calls with other journalists and sources. And starting to write articles on the murder...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    The case should be reopened here with fresh eyes by hopefully competent Gardai, the Gardai on the original case need to be reprimanded and all the liars prosecuted

The lost the gate with blood on it, that takes some doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Xander10

How much of that is fact?

Yes he was out drinking with Jules.

Jules recalls him getting out of bed around 3 am. He went to do some writing. A bit strange to believe, given he was drinking heavily in the evening up to midnight. Not very plausible.

The only thing Jules can verify is him bringing her tea at 9 am. "Look I'm home."

If you accept the above, which is what you allude to. No one can verify what IB actually did between leaving the house at 3 am and showing up at 9 am.

How do you know he didn’t show signs of agitation when he got back? He has shown no signs of agitation after being arrested for a murder he says he was being framed for, discussing beating his partner close to death or the excruciatingly deranged ramblings in his diaries being read in open court.

We don’t know when he wrote his 500 word article, it was not actually due the next day as he admitted himself and could have been written any time in the preceding week.

We only have his partner’s statement that he was up and about again at 9am, JT daughter just said they both went out at some time during the morning for 2 hours, he could have been back in bed by 5am and woke up at 10.30am for all we know. Larry Murphy beat and kidnapped a woman, drove her to various locations, raped her repeatedly over the course of the night, tried to kill her, got chased off by two hunters who saw his face, drove home and had sex with his unsuspecting and heavily pregnant wife and was cool and collected when the gardai arrived at his house next morning.

Cmon, Larry Murphy was a serial killer and serial rapist. A completely different character. Many people met IB the following day and none described him a looking tired or out of sorts.

Xander10 wrote: »
    How much of that is fact?

Yes he was out drinking with Jules.

Jules recalls him getting out of bed around 3 am. He went to do some writing. A bit strange to believe, given he was drinking heavily in the evening up to midnight. Not very plausible.

The only thing Jules can verify is him bringing her tea at 9 am. "Look I'm home."

If you accept the above, which is what you allude to. No one can verify what IB actually did between leaving the house at 3 am and showing up at 9 am.

You missed the point. How likely is it that a man can go 2 days straight without sleep, commit a murder and carry out one of his busiest days ever conducting phonecalls with editors and meeting other journos whilst being as normal as IB can be.

these are all excellent arguments, though this is where IB is not behaving like someone that is guilty. I linked here before a few convicted killers and their body language.

Here's another, Jodi Arias. Every single word she says is a lie. Every single move is an attempt at manipulating the trial. Here's the link: https://youtu.be/cRW-o2mdqwQ

Compare it with IB. Same story for 25 years. Same attitude. Gave DNA voluntarily at least twice. Continues to state his innocence in two civil cases, interviews, documentaries and podcasts.

Do i agree with his behaviour with Jules, no. Do I agree with his behaviour in general. No. But none of that proves he is the killer.

Now, compare the behaviours you see in the video above with MF... her interviews and her leaving a court room when pressed.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Speculation on top of speculation. Still no motive and nothing to place him at the scene.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭TalleyRand83

Nope, she had not already clearly met Bailey. If she clearly already met her, please provides the dates times and locations.
    If it was that clear, I assume it was documented even by the keystone cops investigating the case.

Expecting to meet him again? Nope, that's something you just made up.
    It's not at all clear Bailey knew her. Alife thinks he introduced them but not certain.
    This is a combinaion of conjecture and stuff you have made up in an entirely baseless and groundless manner.

Hi Ian

Deeec wrote: »
    Many men think they are gods gift to women - it doesnt make them murderers though.

Has he tried it on with other women though? If he had this reputation there must be women out there who he has creeped out.

And many men don’t batter their partners to a pulp either

Speculation on top of speculation. Still no motive and nothing to place him at the scene.

No motive or evidence to place anyone else at the scene. It had to be someone, whose motives are not obvious to us. That does not exclude IB.

Who leaves home at 3am, travel 4km to kill someone he had very little knowledge of and no issue with and then travel back to make tea for the missus. Thats serial killer stuff. Someone who gets off on killing. There would have been others.

Cmon, Larry Murphy was a serial killer and serial rapist. A completely different character. Many people met IB the following day and none described him a looking tired or out of sorts.

Going by the bread on the table and the lights off it may have happened after 9am

Apparently it was a 'frenzied' attack by Bailey.
    Yet somehow left no blood, DNA, fingerprints or hair at the scene.

Bailey provided hair, blood, fingerprint samples to AGS.

Nothing was matched to him.
    No blood.
    No fingerprints.
    No DNA under the victim's fingernails.
    No matching hair samples on the victim or on these famous 'briars'.

AGS think Bailey is a suspect because he had scratches.

Beggars belief.

This is more than incomptence. This is a deliberate attempt to pervert the course of justice by the investigating members of AGS.

Pages ripped from the evidence book which would have shown this up.

A lack of modern dna testing / sampling has already been well covered but let’s ignore that, if they were so he’ll bent on stitching him then why didn’t they cross-contaminate the voluntary dna samples and mix them into crime scene items……why do everything crooked and then do the dna side of things straight?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Xander10

You missed the point. How likely is it that a man can go 2 days straight without sleep, commit a murder and carry out one of his busiest days ever conducting phonecalls with editors and meeting other journos whilst being as normal as IB can be.

The point is, you accept that when he got out of bed, after a heavy session, he left the house and penned a 500 word article, which he admits wasn't due the next morning. Totally unbelievable.

I've often thought about doing WFH on a weekend, but haven't yet managed to get up at 3 in the morning, after a session, to do any coherent work.

So, do you accept, that he left the house to write an article?????

I known many functioning alcoholics that get by day to day on little sleep.

And if you peddle yourself as a "crime reporter" it might be more suspicious if you were absent for the first murder case in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

No motive or evidence to place anyone else at the scene. It had to be someone, whose motives are not obvious to us. That does not exclude IB.

both Alfie and Shirley were at the scene.

unplayable wrote: »
    I believe the man in the car with MF that night was a local man who she was supposedly having an affair with and he is now dead. He was protected by the gardai for some reason.

As a few posters above suggest, it seems obvious she is a fantasist. There was no man, that’s why no one Conan find him! Who is so important in west cork that would have US president style pull that would have every relevant person in the area as well as risking international relations with a very important neighbour France? Some mid level copper?

Lads, she’s a nut that weaved a tangled web of lies without an exit plan…she didn’t see anyone either at her shop or the bridge, lucky the one witness seeing the “killer” twice yet no one else managed to see him.

I personally completely ignore her chatter, whether it helps or hinders Bailey.