Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Outdoor dining summer 2021

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Urban design handled with the delicacy of a ring road project.

https://twitter.com/mistereatgalway/status/1405422415153405952?s=19
    Someone in GCC is heavily invested in concrete slabs and flexible bollards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I love having my food with a dose of diesel fumes and a bit of slagging from the lads bushing coming back from the canal

• Registered Users Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭zell12

xckjoo wrote: »
    Someone in GCC is heavily invested in concrete slabs and flexible bollards :D
    In fairness, I've regularly see cars and vans driving over those flexibollards and parking atop them

And a far bigger one outside Da Robertas, which looks to be permanent.
    Robertas appear to have blocked the footpath, pedestrians have to walk out to the extension to get past

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭RickyBobby1

Any tips for somewhere to watch matches in town, salthill or close by later? Not fussy where as long as can see matches and get food.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,919 ✭✭✭Storm 10

This cant be true if the Garda were instructed by Headquarters in Dublin to do this it would be a National ban not just a Galway City one , either way its crazy if true.

https://connachttribune.ie/pubs-face-court-for-serving-booze-on-their-doorsteps/

• Registered Users Posts: 25,943 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Storm 10 wrote: »
    This cant be true if the Garda were instructed by Headquarters in Dublin to do this it would be a National ban not just a Galway City one , either way its crazy if true.

https://connachttribune.ie/pubs-face-court-for-serving-booze-on-their-doorsteps/

Garda sergeants in other towns may have been smart enough to ignore the instruction. Or maybe Galway is seen as a good test case for the country.

I can confirm that senior-looking guards visited licenses premises on Thursday. Not party to the discussions.

Garda sergeants in other towns may have been smart enough to ignore the instruction. Or maybe Galway is seen as a good test case for the country.

I can confirm that senior-looking guards visited licenses premises on Thursday. Not party to the discussions.

Wonder does it mean you cant sit outside in the marked off areas and have a pint, if so its a pointless exercise closing off all the streets because they are being set up so you can have a beer, if its true the publicans will have spent a lot of money on outdoor furniture.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭testtech05

If thats the case has it been illegal all along to have a pint in an outdoor smoking area like you have out the back of Murtys or the Pucan? Or is it just referring outside the footprint of the premises/on the footpath /road.

Seems very silly either way

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

Does this not go back to the licensing laws, as highlighted when takeaway pints were all the rage. Something about drinks having to be consumed X metres away from the premises?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,049 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Storm 10 wrote: »
    Wonder does it mean you cant sit outside in the marked off areas and have a pint, if so its a pointless exercise closing off all the streets because they are being set up so you can have a beer, if its true the publicans will have spent a lot of money on outdoor furniture.

I dont think consumption is the issue here, but sale.

If you are getting table service to a table on a public street that doesn't "belong" to the premises, they are selling alcohol on public grounds that isnt covered as part of their license.

Seems like a very petty interpretation of the law, even if it is correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Laviski

testtech05 wrote: »
    If thats the case has it been illegal all along to have a pint in an outdoor smoking area like you have out the back of Murtys or the Pucan? Or is it just referring outside the footprint of the premises/on the footpath /road.

Seems very silly either way

Where drinking is on public land. The above you mentioned are using areas on privately owned land which would be part of the premises.

A better example would be the skeff and all the pubs that had outdoor seating pre pandemic all down shop street and quay street as prime examples. We're they always illegal?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,049 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Laviski wrote: »
    Where drinking is on public land. The above you mentioned are using areas on privately owned land which would be part of the premises.

A better example would be the skeff and all the pubs that had outdoor seating pre pandemic all down shop street and quay street as prime examples. We're they always illegal?

Presumably they had a formal agreement with council to use those areas.
    I imagine this only applies to ad-hoc outdoor areas from this summer - surely the council could put something in place to allow fee-free leasing of areas in front of pubs for this summer?

The govt say table service only

The Garda say you can't have people paying for the drinks at the table as its outside the premises

Its not possible to adhere to both requirements

The Gardai could be covering their bases by pushing this and forcing the Min for Justice to put pen to paper to give instruction to put a hold on inspecting for adherence for the duration of the measures which covers them in the event of any issues arising

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

I'm guessing it's to do with the local by law we have in galway that makes it illegal to drink in public places so we people are drinking in seats on public land it may fall under this rule. Completely mad to enforce this rule.

The govt say table service only

The Garda say you can't have people paying for the drinks at the table as its outside the premises

Its not possible to adhere to both requirements

The Gardai could be covering their bases by pushing this and forcing the Min for Justice to put pen to paper to give instruction to put a hold on inspecting for adherence for the duration of the measures which covers them in the event of any issues arising

I would guess this is spot on.

At the moment, you can go inside to pee, but not to pay.

Until now, the sale transaction occurred inside, ie on-premises. Consumption was allowed off-premises, in the public land which the pub has leased from the council.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I'm guessing it's to do with the local by law we have in galway that makes it illegal to drink in public places so we people are drinking in seats on public land it may fall under this rule. Completely mad to enforce this rule.

Well no because then it would have been happening every time someone sat outside having a drink over the years. Freeneys, Coilis, Neachtains to name a few would never have been able have outside seating if this had been the case. Dacor is most likely right.

Law says you must be 100m+ away from the premises in which you bought the closed container alcohol, be it shop/pub
    and
    it is illegal to drink anywhere public in Galway City
    https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/alcohol_and_the_law.html#lde636
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/galway-bans-on-street-drinking-of-all-alcohol-1.205681

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Laviski

Facilitating outdoor dining does not also mean facilitating alcohol consumption.... I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,430 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

A report from somebody I 100% believe.
    Outside a city pub with its own outside area (always has) but is beside a street. All seats at the tables were taken so two lads were standing socially distanced beside one table inside the pub's own area.
    Guards pulled up and told them with some embarrassment that they couldn't be standing up if they had drinks in their hands. They (Guards) suggested/thought/weren't too sure that the lads put their drinks on a table next time they came around and they would be ok even if they were standing up inside the area if they weren't holding a drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Yyhhuuu

I would guess this is spot on.

At the moment, you can go inside to pee, but not to pay.

Until now, the sale transaction occurred inside, ie on-premises. Consumption was allowed off-premises, in the public land which the pub has leased from the council.

The public pavement is on Licence not Lease, there is a difference.

Beautiful to see the roads turned over to people. This should've been done years ago!!.. fostering community spirit
    Dominick St and William St West in particular is hopping, from Monroes to Small Crane, people having good fun being people and supporting businesses

zell12 wrote: »
    fostering community spirit
    Dominick St and William St West in particular is hopping, from Monroes to Small Crane, people having good fun being people and supporting businesses

Which particular community do you think is being fostered?

I'm delighted to see the business community able to trade and provide employment. And happy to see public roads being used temporarily to facilitate this, given the current health situation.

But don't try to pretend that it's fostering community spirit. Most of the diners and drinkers are far from in their own communities. They are there with their friends, and don't give a sh*t about the community which is based where they are partying.

Most of the diners and drinkers are far from in their own communities. They are there with their friends, and don't give a sh*t about the community which is based where they are partying.

Christ, community doesn't equal residential area and very sweeping statement about the people out enjoying our city.

In a statement An Garda Síochána said that outlets selling food or drink are restricted to "takeaway" or selling "for consumption off the premises".

It said that while local authorities may provide permission for additional seating space outside of licensed premises, these spaces are not covered for the consumption of alcohol by the licence issued to a premises issued by the District Court.

Separate to this, local authority bye-laws deal with whether or not drinking in a public place is permitted.

In Galway for example, bye-laws are in place which prohibit it.

The matter will be raised at a meeting of the Galway City Joint Policing Committee on Monday.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0620/1229297-alcohol-streets/

Good move in fairness. The publicity and resultant discussion might make things clearer for everyone involved.

Either the journalist or the interviewee must have sampled a craft beer inside or outside during this discussion.

Regardless of what the law says, someone in Mill Street is making the decision to be a complete ass.

I'd hazard a guess it's the same person who had the Guards go around and close pubs at 12 a few years back, when there was some loophole in the licensing that meant they couldn't open past 12 and the same person who has issued and executed warrants on Little Collins.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/connachttribune.ie/city-gardai-stand-firm-in-face-of-pubs-furore/amp/

They can sprout crap all the want that they're following the laws, but someone is making the decision that they need to enforce these issues and cause problems for business owners and the public.

"Discretion will be used"...it hardly took a talk between the minister and commissioner to decide that discretion could be applied, that was always the case.

Regardless of what the law says, someone in Mill Street is making the decision to be a complete ass.

I'd hazard a guess it's the same person who had the Guards go around and close pubs at 12 a few years back, when there was some loophole in the licensing that meant they couldn't open past 12 and the same person who has issued and executed warrants on Little Collins.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/connachttribune.ie/city-gardai-stand-firm-in-face-of-pubs-furore/amp/

They can sprout crap all the want that they're following the laws, but someone is making the decision that they need to enforce these issues and cause problems for business owners and the public.

"Discretion will be used"...it hardly took a talk between the minister and commissioner to decide that discretion could be applied, that was always the case.

One of the Pub owners said on Galway Bay FM last week when he asked the Guard where did this instruction come from he was told Headquarters in Dublin, now if that was true would they not be expected to do the same Nationwide surely they could not just single out Galway for this, I would say you are correct in what you say

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

I remember being turfed out of Carbon before 12am on a Tuesday night alright when they had that brief fondness for strict enforcement for a few weeks. What ever happened with that?