Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many cars have you owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭mondeoman2

1984 Opel Ascona 1.6s
    1987 Nissan Micra K10 1.0
    1978 VW Transporter 1.6(Same As The One In The Snapper:o)
    1994 Mk1 Mondeo 1.8 TD
    1998 Mk2 Mondeo 2.0 Ghia X
    2000 Mondeo ST200
    2007 Fiesta 1.25
    2006 Focus 1.6 Ghia petrol
    2008 Mondeo 2.0 16v Tit X
    171 Mondeo Tit X 2.0 Diesel '180'(current Car):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Hyundai pony - never even heard of them

Before the Accent, basic but reliable, they did a little pick up based on it too

https://images.app.goo.gl/skW2Hnhp925vapCd9

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

3 cars owned over 10 years.

1999 - VW polo classicé
    2002 - Toyota Celica VVTL-i
    2004 - Subaru Legacy BL5 (brought it in from japan)

Sold the scoob in 2015 and haven't owned anything since. Had a realisation that i had spent 50k altogether on cars + any expense related to them. 15k purchase, 10k insurance, 8k maintenance, 5k tax and the rest on petrol. Legacy was single digits to the gallon :D

Picked up an Fz6 in 2019 and haven't looked back :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭yamaha4life

Ive had at least 100!
    Micra x5
    Corsa x7
    106 x1
    306 x2
    Punto x3
    Cinquecento x4 (one sporting)
    Seicento sporting x1
    ZS x1
    3 series x3
    190e x1
    C180 x1
    Avensis x2
    A6 x1
    A4 x1
    Startlet x6 (standard, boxy, gt turbo, glanza)
    Civic x2 (vti + sir)
    Almera x3
    Xantia x1
    Saxo x1
    Bora x1
    Golf x1
    Astra x1
    Orion x1
    Escort x3
    Skyline x2
    Lancer x2
    Lancer evo x1
    Accent x1
    Fiesta x3
    Silvia x1
    Levin x1
    Corolla x1
    Corolla Gt Fx x1
    206 x2
    Scenic x1
    Primera x2
    Charade TD x1
    323 x1
    Is200 x1
    Mondeo x1
    Felicia x1
    Octavia x1
    Swift x2
    Ibiza x1
    Cordoba x1
    156 x1
    V50 x1
    Focus x1
    Lanos x1

Thats all i can think of, off the top of my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

100? Good God.

I've only owned 8 in 25 years!

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Corolla 30
    Starlet
    4x Kadett
    6x Astra
    3x Vectra
    5x Insignia
    Grandland

5 Insignia? That's some feat of masochism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

That many Opels generally is masochism.

Ive had at least 100!
    Micra x5
    Corsa x7
    106 x1
    306 x2
    Punto x3
    Cinquecento x4 (one sporting)
    Seicento sporting x1
    ZS x1
    3 series x3
    190e x1
    C180 x1
    Avensis x2
    A6 x1
    A4 x1
    Startlet x6 (standard, boxy, gt turbo, glanza)
    Civic x2 (vti + sir)
    Almera x3
    Xantia x1
    Saxo x1
    Bora x1
    Golf x1
    Astra x1
    Orion x1
    Escort x3
    Skyline x2
    Lancer x2
    Lancer evo x1
    Accent x1
    Fiesta x3
    Silvia x1
    Levin x1
    Corolla x1
    Corolla Gt Fx x1
    206 x2
    Scenic x1
    Primera x2
    Charade TD x1
    323 x1
    Is200 x1
    Mondeo x1
    Felicia x1
    Octavia x1
    Swift x2
    Ibiza x1
    Cordoba x1
    156 x1
    V50 x1
    Focus x1
    Lanos x1

Thats all i can think of, off the top of my head.
    The Emelda Marcos of cars!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,024 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

In order of ownership

Daihatsu Charade
    Seat Ibiza x 2
    Volvo 480 E (Amazing car)
    Fiat Tipo
    Fiat XI9 (1980)
    Suzuki Jimny x 2
    Suzuki Grand Vitara x 2
    Suzuki Ignis Sport (Bright yellow and fantastic)
    Hyudai people carrier
    Hyudai Coupe

All above from new apart from X19/Volvo 480/Tipo

Renault Clio

I've had a few Fiat X19"s and sadly sold my 1979 2 years ago.

Like some generally had new cars, finance etc, worked abroad for a few years but now I've got sense and buy second hand.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭job seeker

1999 Yaris ~scraped (2013-2017
    2007 Honda Civic Owned (2017- present)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

2006-2008 -00 Toyota Corolla
    2008-now- 07 Toyota Auris

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

1999 - 2021
    Seat inca
    Lancer
    Hiace
    Pajero
    Pajero
    :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

Opel ascona 1.3
    205 1.4 roland garros
    318is e30
    320i e30
    325i sport e30
    vectra 1.6
    passat 1.6
    rover 214
    kangoo van
    Husky 250 4 stroke
    Corvette 65
    Range rover 2005 diesel
    Lotus 340r
    Rav 4 petrol
    Ioniq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Peugeot 205 Van petrol
    Peugeot 205 1.6 Gti (the only one I still miss...)
    Honda Accord 2.0
    VW Golf Gti (only car I bought new)
    BMW 320D (written off and almost me as well by someone else)
    Audi A4 Avant X 2
    Audi A6 Avant current

The first one was a white one. I know it was a Lada. It broke down on me for its final time in the middle of a big busy town on a Good Friday afternoon and blocked the street for a good while. 3 kids in the back. People going ballistic.

Then there were a couple of blue ones, a grey yoke that must have been dragged out of a lake before it was sold to me, a big green one that always smelled weird, and a small navy one which was grand for a few years but eventually could not be got through the NCT no matter what I did.

And now its a recently purchased silver one. That's a Hyundai. 12 years old. Going okay so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭passatman86

The first one was a white one. I know it was a Lada. It broke down on me for its final time in the middle of a big busy town on a Good Friday afternoon and blocked the street for a good while. 3 kids in the back. People going ballistic.

Then there were a couple of blue ones, a grey yoke that must have been dragged out of a lake before it was sold to me, a big green one that always smelled weird, and a small navy one which was grand for a few years but eventually could not be got through the NCT no matter what I did.

And now its a recently purchased silver one. That's a Hyundai. 12 years old. Going okay so far.

Did you not have a red one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Do you know a sales rep in opel lol

No, but he sure knows me. 11 of those were from new. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

5 Insignia? That's some feat of masochism
    Larbre34 wrote: »
    That many Opels generally is masochism.

Never had a single issue with any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

1985 Fiat Ritmo Diesel (Sept93-July94) Blew up.
    1986 Mk4 Escort (Sept95-Dec98)
    1992 Peugeot 405 Diesel (Dec98-Oct99)
    1995 VW Vento D (Oct99-Apr02)
    2002 VW Bora tdi (Apr02-Dec20)
    2012 Skoda Octavia tdi (Dec20-present)

Still have the Bora, brilliant car, just wanted a change and cheaper tax.

Did have an Austin 1100 1968 in my youth, put only drove off road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

On my 7th since 1997.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,989 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Two in 11 years. 2000 Toyota Coralla, and a 2006 Toyota Corolla since 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

snowcat wrote: »
    Opel ascona 1.3
    205 1.4 roland garros
    318is e30
    320i e30
    325i sport e30
    vectra 1.6
    passat 1.6
    rover 214
    kangoo van
    Husky 250 4 stroke
    Corvette 65
    Range rover 2005 diesel
    Lotus 340r
    Rav 4 petrol
    Ioniq

Lotus 340r to a Rav 4 and now Ioniq.

What ever happened?

Missed that lotus 340r
    Well thats one of the most interesting ones anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

Carina II 1.6 1990 -
    Carina E 1.6 1996 -
    Dodge Ram 5.9 2000
    Pontiac Grand Prix 2000
    Avensis 1.8 Auto 1998 - 2001
    BMW 318i MTEC Coupe 1999 - 2001
    Citroen Xantia 2.0 HDI 1999- 2002
    Alfa Romeo 2.0 Twinspark 2000 - 2003
    Renault Megane Sport Tourer 2004
    Seat Cordoba TDI 130 2004
    Renault Megane DCI 2007
    Opel Vectra CDTI 2007
    Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 140 2011
    Skoda Superb Combi 2.0 170 2015
    Skoda Superb Sportline 2.0 150 2018
    Volvo V90 D4 2019

Really want something memorable next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Thinking back on all the best cars I've owned, I've always missed them after changing. Then it always took the ownership or one or two cars and a few years to get back to something I really liked again. Worst cars I've owned was 04 golf , just super boring and 06 land rover discovery which lacked reliability. Sometimes the best cars, are the ones that give you something more then you expected. Cars that go the extra mile for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

Casati wrote: »
    Lotus 340r to a Rav 4 and now Ioniq.

What ever happened?

The 340r was quite special and i am scouring websites to buy my one back. The Ioniq was a test to see if a electric would work. It does.

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Never had a single issue with any of them.

How? Every Insignia owner has a horror story, it's sort of the only reason for the existence of the Insignia, how the beloved Cavalier evolved into that heap of dung is beyond sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

My history is like Noah's Ark of Cars

2 Mitsubishi Mirage's (99 1.3 petrol hatchback & 98 1.3 petrol coupe)
    2 Passats (02 1.9 TDI B5.5 & 06 2.0 TDI Comfortline B6)
    2 A6's (05 3.0 TDI Quattro S-Line & 2010 3.0 TDI Quattro LeMans) - there was also briefly another 05 first before those but it went back after declaring Pope 2 weeks into ownership
    and now 1 A7 (2012 3.0 TDI Quattro S-Line), but I can already tell the next one (hopefully not for a few years) will likely be another :)

All automatics too incidentally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Seat Ibiza 1.0L
    Seat Ibiza 1.7d
    Opel Kadett 1.2
    Fiat Tipo 1.4 DCT
    Carina E 2.0d
    Audi 80 1.9 tdi
    Mazda Xedos 6 2.0 V6
    Mercedes C180
    BMW 320i
    BMW 318is
    Lexus IS200
    Audi TT 180bhp
    Mercedes E240
    Mercedes CLK200
    BMW 318i
    Lexus IS 200 Executive
    BMW 520d SE E39
    Audi A4 1.8T S Line Multitronic
    BMW 320d M Sport
    BMW 520d M Sport F10
    Audi A6 Avant 2.0d SE Multi
    Ford Mondeo 1.6d
    VW Passat 1.6d
    Audi A4 2.0 SE
    BMW 520d M Sport Touring
    Audi A7 S Line 7AT Ultra
    Tesla Model S 75D
    Audi Etron 50

28 in total, favourites included Model S, Xedos 6, E36 320i SE

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Hontou

Mazda 121 1991
    Volkswagen Golf 1994
    Renault Scenic 1998
    Renault Scenic 2004
    Hyundai Sante Fe 2005
    Hyundai Sante Fe 2008
    Nissan Micra 2009
    Volkswagen Golf 2008

Most comfortable was the Renault Scenic 1998
    Most reliable was the Micra 2009
    Most unreliable was the Scenic 2004
    Most loved was the old style Sante Fe 2005
    Most economical the Volkswagen Golf 2008

I just see vehicles as transport and as a depreciating and expensive asset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

9 vehicles in 9 years

2008 Astra 1.3CDTI
    2007 Focus 1.6TDCI
    2007 Golf 1.9TDI
    2011 Megane 1.5DCI
    2009 A4 2.0TDI
    2016 Leon 1.4TSI
    2016 A4 1.4TFSI
    2018 Golf GTI
    2017 Octavia TDI

I miss not having a petrol engine but my mileage is too high for one at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

8 MK1 Escort. 3 years 800 pounds. Sold for 200
    4 Vaxhall viva. 3 years. 1800 pounds traded in
    3 Nissan Sunny Sentra. 6 years 3300 pounds traded in
    3 Nissan Sunny. 6000 pounds 2 years
    3 Nissan Primer. 3500 pounds 8 years
    4 Nissan Primera. 4500 euro 7 years 250 euro
    3 Toyota Avensis. 11500 euro 2 years ( written a off after crash not our fault 8k)
    4 Toyota Avensis. 11k 4 years 4k
    3 Toyota Avensis. 13k 5 years 5k
    9. Toyota RAV. 7.5k present car have for two years

Driving 40 years bought my first car in May 1981 while the years above add to over 40 years it because I have rounded the. I had a company vehicle for 20 years so some are family cars. Number before the car is the appropriate age of car when bought.

Costs of cats since I started driving is about 58k. Other half has a newer SUV at present

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭pah

I'll count myself and herself as we drive each other's cars as often as our own. Starting in 2005

99 Fiat Bravo 1.2 petrol
    99 Opel Astra 1.6 petrol
    03 Seat Leon 1.4 petrol
    02 A4 2.0 petrol
    04 Laguna initiale 1.9dci
    05 Saab 93 TDI
    02 Megane saloon 1.4 petrol
    06 Smax 2.0 tdci
    99 golf GTI 150b
    2013 Citroen DS5 Hybrid

2013 Zafira tourer 2.0 cdti
    2006 Lexus is250

Last 2 are the current motors. itching to change both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

1995 Almera saloon 1.4
    2001 Alfa Romeo 147 1.6
    2004 Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 JTD
    2001 Alfa Romeo 166 3.0
    2006 Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 JTDm
    2007 Subaru Outback 2.5
    2012 Ford S Max 2.0 Ecoboost

Also owned a few Alfa Romeo 155s but never really got them in good enough nick to drive

I'd love to have my 166 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

5 cars in 12 years of driving.

1. 00-D mitsubishi charisma 1.6 equippe. Paid my mother 300 noted for it and it had 200k miles on the clock. Had a minor accident in it and it needed a new bonnet wings and headlamps.
    2. 00-KY mitsubishi charisma 1.6, boggo spec. NCT failure I paid €200 for. Took the parts from car 1 and got it through the NCT. Drove it for 2 years and sold it for €550 to a nice Asian gentleman.
    3. 07-C vauxhall vectra 1.9cdti Sri. Imported it from NI. Fabulous engine once I blanked off the swirl flaps and egr valve. So torquey. Worst suspension of any car I have ever driven. A complete boneshaker. Very cheap build quality too. I had a love hate relationship with it.
    4. 09-KE VW passat 2.0tdi highline. Best seats of any car I have ever owned. Very good car bar the useless unreliable electronic handbrake. Bulletproof engine and gearbox. Was the 110bhp model so very boring to drive. Still liked that car. Sold it to my mother for small money. Has 230k miles on the clock now and still going strong.
    5. 132-C Lexus IS300h Luxury. Imported this from Wales. Current car and I love it! Have put 55k miles up on it. Faultlessly reliable so far. Got used to the CVT gearbox quickly. The car is much faster than it feels. Quite economical and very nice to drive. Excellent suspension. Can't fault it so far and have it nearly 3 years.

Have enjoyed reading all the posts lads, some great car history here. Happily surprised by the high amount of replies - well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭josip

Driving since 1989

83 Mk II Fiesta 903cc
    96 Bravo 1.4
    85 Accord 1.5
    83 Corona 2.0
    96 Megane Coupe 1.6
    05 Octavia 1.9
    16 Octavia 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

over 90 for me, mostly Cortinas or the "family car" (privately owned.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭PMBC

Fiat 850
    Toyota Corolla
    Datsun 160 - blew head gasket and head so bad it needed two gaskets
    Alfa Sprint Veloce - beautiful drive, pity about the wall moving out
    GTI - lovely until the electronics went nuts
    GTI - gret but roof leaked
    Golf 1.6 - very relaible but broke down in France and had to be towed; just seviced but engine oil nil
    Saab 2.1 TID - imported; great for two years then .....
    Honda Jazz - very comfortable, high spec and tech but cant get used to cvrt

PMBC wrote: »
    but cant get used to cvrt

:confused:A

And what "wall" moved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭PMBC

It moved out to meet the Alfa - the wall did, I swear.

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭FinnC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

One.

My Dad bought a new Toyota Corolla in 1999. I learned to drive on it a few months later and drove it at weekends whenever I was down home. I took over the ownership in mid 2000s when he changed cars.
    It is still going strong. Only 104,000 miles on the clock as I work in city centre so take the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

One.

My Dad bought a new Toyota Corolla in 1999. I learned to drive on it a few months later and drove it at weekends whenever I was down home. I took over the ownership in mid 2000s when he changed cars.
    It is still going strong. Only 104,000 miles on the clock as I work in city centre so take the train.

I expect it to be at that mileage. With a straight petrol engine it will do 200-250K miles at the rate you use it that car is good for another 50 years if serviced regularly

Slava Ukrainii

One.

Great story
    Any pictures of it
    We like a one owner "family" car

I expect it to be at that mileage. With a straight petrol engine it will do 200-250K miles at the rate you use it that car is good for another 50 years if serviced regularly

It always got plenty of local driving with longer spins down the country every few weeks. I've never had parking at work though. Not too much activity lately with all the lockdowns and working from home, but hopefully will get out more from now. Gets a full service every 12 months and usually gets through the NCT without a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,707 ✭✭✭CR 7

2001 Toyota Avensis 1.6
    2006 Toyota Avensis 1.6
    2001 Toyota Celica 1.8 Vvtli
    2008 Opel Corsa OPC
    2017 Ford Fiesta ST

Looking back on that, I seem to be stuck in a 190ish hp rut the last few years!

Great story
    Any pictures of it
    We like a one owner "family" car

Needs some scratches and scuffed bumper dent looked at first - am hoping to get looked at in next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

People with a lot of cars over a short span of time (9 in 9 years? Jesus!):

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?
    Have multiple personality schizophrenia and must change the car every few months?

Taylor365 wrote: »
    People with a lot of cars over a short span of time (9 in 9 years? Jesus!):

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?
    Have multiple personality schizophrenia and must change the car every few months?

It's those that have owned over 90 or even 100 cars, lots the same make and model. That baffles me. That's possibly a car every 3 to 4 months on average.