Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many cars have you owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Taylor365 wrote: »
    People with a lot of cars over a short span of time (9 in 9 years? Jesus!):

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?
    Have multiple personality schizophrenia and must change the car every few months?

Possible, or maybe buy runners and get rid when they die, or do them up and sell on.

Used to live next door to a guy who always had some vehicle in bits to fix - he enjoyed it:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

It's those that have owned over 90 or even 100 cars, lots the same make and model. That baffles me. That's possibly a car every 3 to 4 months on average.

Presumably anybody who has had 100 ordinary enough cars is trading them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

well I can provide photos of all but about 5 of my 90+

there's a good few of them in this album....if youi're on fb https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10155801685457161&type=3

Isambard wrote: »
    well I can provide photos of all but about 5 of my 90+ (not going to)

So Isambard, did you just get bored and trade them in, or run into the ground, or do them up and sell them on as side line / business?

Purgative wrote: »
    So Isambard, did you just get bored and trade them in, or run into the ground, or do them up and sell them on as side line / business?

well, it was a hobby, finding them and buying them in the UK. The crappier they were the shorter the time til I sold them (at least one never turned a wheel again for me after staggering home), made a loss on most of them but had time in the home place effectively free. Had a great time and loads of roadtrips. When I started few people were importing classics but everyone and his dog got on the bandwagon so I stopped. Agood few were the family car of the day too and my first purchase was in about 1974

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?
    Have multiple personality schizophrenia and must change the car every few months?

Bangernomics, buy something with a bit of test, if it'll pass again keep it, if not ,repeat step one,

well, it was a hobby, finding them and buying them in the UK. The crappier they were the shorter the time til I sold them, made a loss on most of them but had time in the home place effectively free. Had a great time and loads of roadtrips. When I started few people were importing classics but everyone and his dog got on the bandwagon so I stopped.

Makes sense. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Have only bought 2 cars myself and still own them.

2006 BMW 320d M-Sport Auto (bought in 2012)
    2020 Tesla Model 3 SR+ (bought new)

Breaks my heart to pay €710 to tax the BMW for a year and it barely did 500km in the last year…… but we’ll keep it on the road for a few more years at least…. Despite moving on to a Tesla, the e90 is still an utterly brilliant car to drive. 307,000km on it but it’s still bulletproof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭passatman86

there's a good few of them in this album....if youi're on fb https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10155801685457161&type=3

Had a look at all the pictures - great collection

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭toushea

13 Cars in 13 years more or less , managed to hold on to 4 of them so far.

2004 VW Polo 1.2i
    2006 VW Passat 2.0TDI
    2003 BMW Z4 2.5i
    1967 VW Karmann Ghia (Still Own) 1500cc
    2010 Audi A4 2.0 TDIE
    2005 Hyundai Coupe 1.6i
    2006 Saab 93 Convertible 1.9TDI
    2012 BMW Z4 2.0i
    2016 BMW 520d 2.0 TDI
    1997 BMW Z3 (Still Own) 1.9 16v
    2020 VW eGolf
    2001 BMW 320ci Cabriolet (Still Own) 2.2i
    2017 BMW 330e (Still Own) 2.0i PHEV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭appledrop

The amount of cars some people have had!

I've only had 4 cars in 15 years.

Currently in Seat Ateca which I adore.

My first car was a Opel Corsa and it was an absolute pile of junk.

Even thinking about it brings me out in sweats. It gave me nothing but trouble and had to dump it when head gasset went! Very bad value for money and didn't even have it for long.

Thankfully my auld Ford Focus was great value. Did a huge amount of mileage in it and never let me down.

Now I did look after it very well, had to spend good few hundred every year replacing brakes pads, tyres etc but that was all down to mileage.

Owed me nothing for last few years and enabled me to save and buy brand new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭appledrop

Meant to say Corsa wasn't an auld banger when I bought it, only 4 years old when I got if from SIMI garage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

appledrop wrote: »
    Meant to say Corsa wasn't an auld banger when I bought it, only 4 years old when I got if from SIMI garage!

Painful Opel ownership will come as no surprise to anyone here.

In fact, the older, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

I love the white 73 Ford coupe. Was that a Cortina?
    Ford are so bland compared to back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

micah537 wrote: »

I say it's a Ford Capri. The fact it's two door suggests that. It may be the Mk3 Cortina as I taught the Capri's all had double headlight set in the front grill

Actually I am going with the MK3 Cortina

Slava Ukrainii

I say it's a Ford Capri. The fact it's two door suggests that. It may be the Mk3 Cortina as I taught the Capri's all had double headlight set in the front grill

The 73 C reg? That’s a Granada Coupe isn’t it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,833 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

3 cars in 11 years of driving...

1 Toyota Corolla - reliable, great build quality, nice to drive but in terms of comfort, average, I was no fan of the seat..

2 Nissan Qashqais - as reliable as the Corolla but light years away in ahead of it every other way, comfort, great on the motorway, overall handling, very responsive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Vittu

1989 opel kadet 1.3 p
    1990 subaru legacy 1.8 p
    1991 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 p
    1997 Toyota Corolla 1.3 p
    1994 Toyota celica 2.0 p
    2000 Daweoo lanos 1.4 p
    2009 BMW 3 series 3.0 d
    2012 MB c220 2.1 d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Casati wrote: »

I do not think so there is a raised center on the bonnet the Granada Coupe had a flat bonnet in the middle

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

First car in 1993

'81 Golf 1.1 Crashed it
    '82 Escort 1.3 Held together with Isopon
    '84 Capri 1.6 Loved it. Wish I had it now.
    '90 BMW 318i Deadly unreliable. Cured my fascination with BMWs permanently.
    '94 626 1.8 Bought as a stopgap. Wound up driving it 11 years!
    '01 206 1.4 Austerity era runabout. Did a good job for us.
    '08 V50 2.0D Ultimate Old-Fartmoblie. A Volvo estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭ofcork

First car in 98 punto sx new
    02 punto sporting new
    bought a 01 laguna in 05
    traded that for a 04 avensis in 07
    changed that in 2014 for a 12 avensis still have it.

Casati wrote: »

Mk3 Cortina, Granada coupe were scarce,

Capri mk3 1978 up has double round lights, Some bigger engined Mk1 had them but most are rectangular,Mk2 all rectangular

ofcork wrote: »
    First car in 98 punto sx new
    02 punto sporting new
    bought a 01 laguna in 05
    traded that for a 04 avensis in 07
    changed that in 2014 for a 12 avensis still have it.

What do you think of the avensis

micah537 wrote: »

you're close. it's a Taunus TC1 Coupe, same underpinnings as Mk3 Cortina, different panels lights etc. the TC2 and 3 were identical to Cortina mk4 and 5. French car, I had it for ages and couldn't sell it, no one interested, and it ended up going to Romania

2005-0420taunus0001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭ofcork

What do you think of the avensis

Kept the first one over 7 years still have the 2012 only had to replace 1 suspension arm in nearly 7 years,great relability even if people find them dull never let me down unlike the 2 fiats and the renault.

ofcork wrote: »
    Kept the first one over 7 years still have the 2012 only had to replace 1 suspension arm in nearly 7 years,great relability even if people find them dull never let me down unlike the 2 fiats and the renault.

Thats lucky of you. Nice one
    Ive replaced the battery, alternator, 4 injectors
    Next is to fix drivers window as wont come down
    Ive had mine nearly 6 years and consider it fairly reliable. When i change in the future i think ill also keep the avensis

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

Iv had errr a few.......

Used to buy cheap BMW for a few hundred, Should have kept a few!

I'll list the interesting ones.

BMW E32 735iL Literal barn find for €400! Wish I kept it going by current prices.

BMW E36 x 11 Everything from a 316i to 323i, Still have a 318is hidden away

BMW Z3 2.8 Very nice car, Half wish I kept it.

BMW E46 X 7 Mostly just 318ci that I stripped for parts, Had a few 320D aswel.

VW Golf Mk4 x2 Passed my driving test in the second one.

Sierra Cosworth, Always wanted one, bought a few weeks before I turned 21 and shoved into storage as I knew prices would go bonkers! Should be on the road next year!

Fiesta Xr2i, Great car but now sold.

Fiesta Zetec-S, This was my sensible car that's now turned into a restoration.

Mercedes S320, Always wanted one.. Bought it with tax and test. Ran it for a few months and broke even when selling.

Mitsubishi Pajero 2800, Again always wanted one and now my daily.

Loads more random boring stuff aswel, Mainly Ford and a random Corsa B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Bigdig69

1971 fiat 128 owned from 78 to 80
    1980 corolla 80 to 82 sold it to see the world at 24
    1980 Renault 4 1985 to 87 - crashed by sister
    Lived without cars for a while
    82 corolla owned 89 to 98 kiddy number 3 arrived
    97 Fiat bravo only kept for 1 year. A short period of being a two car family.
    98 Renault scenic owned from 98 to 2004
    03 nissan tino owned 2004 to 2013
    2010 Renault grand scenic owned 2013 to 2018
    2015 Renault grand scenic owned 2018 to 2019:- back ended by bus written off
    2016 Renault scenic 2019 current car

So just 10 cars in almost 43 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Blue850

Since 1993 daily drivers
    1978 Fiat 127 903cc
    1985 Fiat Uno 1.1
    1980 Opel Kadett 1.3
    1987 Opel Kadett 1.2
    1987 Fiat Uno 1.3
    1981 Fiat 127 Sport, insurance broker couldn't fathom why I was changing from a 9 year old Uno back to a 15 year old 127😄
    1980 Fiat 127 Sport
    1987 Fiat Uno Turbo
    1989 Fiat Uno Turbo , the fastest car I've ever driven
    1990 Opel Vectra 1.7D, the slowest...
    1992 Lancia Dedra 1.8
    1994 Opel Vectra 1.7TD
    (1971 Fiat 850,1969 Triumph 2000,1973 Mercedes 230 on classic insurance)
    2004 Skoda Octavia 1.9Tdi
    2011 Toyota Avensis D4D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

Blue850 wrote: »
    Since 1993 daily drivers
    1978 Fiat 127 903cc
    1985 Fiat Uno 1.1
    1980 Opel Kadett 1.3
    1987 Opel Kadett 1.2
    1987 Fiat Uno 1.3
    1981 Fiat 127 Sport, insurance broker couldn't fathom why I was changing from a 9 year old Uno back to a 15 year old 127��
    1980 Fiat 127 Sport
    1987 Fiat Uno Turbo
    1989 Fiat Uno Turbo , the fastest car I've ever driven
    1990 Opel Vectra 1.7D, the slowest...
    1992 Lancia Dedra 1.8
    1994 Opel Vectra 1.7TD
    (1971 Fiat 850,1969 Triumph 2000,1973 Mercedes 230 on classic insurance)
    2004 Skoda Octavia 1.9Tdi
    2011 Toyota Avensis D4D

We had a 1991 Vectra 1.7D when I was a lad. Father said overtaking in it was lethal. You needed a strong tailwind and a downhill stretch to safely overtake!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Was thinking the other day ive had 20 cars.
    Handy for me to make a list cause id like to know to be honest

Primera sri
    Levin bzr
    Civic sir ek
    Passat
    Hyundai elantra "worst car ever"
    Bora tdi
    Golf gti
    Aygo
    Almera 1.5
    White civic ek
    White civic ej
    Avensis verso
    Celica vvtli
    Green civic ej
    Purple civic ek
    Silver civic ej saloon
    Silver civic ej standard
    Silver civic ej white
    Almera gti sr20
    Avensis d4d t27 "current car"

What I'd like to know is how many owners each of your cars had :P

Wow. The number of cars of some people here. I’ve 5 in 29 years:

1989 Golf mk 2 (gift from my mother....written off year 1)
    1994 Golf mk 3 1.6l
    1996 BMW 323i (it was a phase)
    2006 Toyota Landcruiser commercial LWB 4l turbo diesel (truly a beast of a car)
    2019 Toyota RAV4 2.5l hybrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,079 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

1984 Fiat Panda
    1990 Fiat Uno
    2001 Peugeot 106
    2003 Ford Focus
    2005 Fiat Multipla (surely the most stylish car ever designed)
    2010 Skoda Octavia
    2014 Skoda Octavia
    2017 Skoda Octavia
    2020 Skoda Octavia

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭wingnut

2000 Ford Escort Estate
    2004 Ford Mondeo
    2011 Ford Focus
    2014 Ford CMAX
    2017 Ford Galaxy

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭Psychedelic Hedgehog

Since 1998:

1993 VW Vento
    1999 Peugeot 406
    2004 Peugeot 407
    2007 Peugeot 407
    2012 Peugeot 508
    2016 Mazda 6

almostover wrote: »
    We had a 1991 Vectra 1.7D when I was a lad. Father said overtaking in it was lethal. You needed a strong tailwind and a downhill stretch to safely overtake!

The 1.7 D was a bored out version of the old Opel 1.6D, the 1.7TD was a Isuzu engine, difference in night and day between them

• Registered Users Posts: 17 meggiemegmeg

I feel so left out....
    I’ve had two in 24 years. I’m not even considering changing my current car. I love it. It has really high mileage but it costs me nothing only a yearly service, bulbs and fuel.
    Toyota starlet
    Toyota Auris

The 1.7 D was a bored out version of the old Opel 1.6D, the 1.7TD was a Isuzu engine, difference in night and day between them

Yeah many Vauxhall 1.7 TD imported, great engine compared to Ford 1.8 TD or Toyota 2.0d

blackbox wrote: »
    A mixed bag...

Fiat 127 Brown
    Fiat X1/9 1.5 Red
    Fiat Uno 70S Red
    Toyota MR2 MK1 Red
    Citroen BX GTi 16V Black
    Mitsubishi Spacewagon Dark Blue
    Toyota Yaris 1.3 Sol Dark Green
    BMW 316 Black (Company)
    VW Passat 1.6 Black (Company)
    Porsche 928 GTS Dark Blue
    Opel Insignia Diesel Ecoflex Brown (Company)
    Toyota MR2 Roadster Blue *
    Kia Optima Diesel Silver (Company)
    Lexus LS430 Black
    Hyundai Tucson Silver (Company)
    Lexus RX400h Grey *

* - still have these.

Mixed bag for sure, great progression from X/19, MR2 and BX GTI, but then into a Yaris 1.3. Sign of somebody who likes cars, not just bigger and better ones

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?

I’m guilty of 16 in 22 years. The oldest was my first one - 1990 Carina bought end 1998 and average age when bought was < 1 year. Three company cars in there but in general I have changed cars too often and it’s been too costly but I’ll probably be in car 17 later this year 😳

• Registered Users Posts: 2 The Tactical Nuclear Penguin

98 Citroen Xsara
    Toyota Levin BZR
    02 VW Golf 1.6
    Opel Astra Coupe
    98 BMW 318is Coupe Msport
    98 Nissan Silvia S14a
    00 Toyota MR2 mk2
    97 VW polo
    07 Ford Fiesta
    04 BMW 320d
    07 BMW 330d Msport
    Volvo C30
    Saab 9-3
    162 Opel Astra SRI
    171 Opel Corsa Van
    161 Audi A6 Avant S-Line (Wife’s current car)
    171 Mazda 3

Mazda is being replaced by a 131 BMW 330D Msport Xdrive this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

97 Nissan Almera (inheritance from my Granny)

05 Hyundai Coupe 1.6 (made a massive profit by buying seriously cheap)

05 golf 1.9 tdi (Great car but I got bored of it)

08 Passat 2.0 tdi (Drove it 5 miles and realised I'd made an awful mistake. Sold it after 3 weeks for what I paid for it)

00 E46 323ci (Bought it from a friend the day I sold the Passat as a stopgap for a few weeks)

07 A3 2.0 TDI (Should have kept it for a few more years, again got bored. Traded it in locally and see it regularly on the road still)

08 320d (Bought it when I got a permanent job and sold to gather cash for a house deposit)

04 530d (Fine car but couldn't stomach the tax)

03 1.8 tdci focus (Bought it as a trade sale to flip but ended up running it for two years)

05 Mondeo St TDCI (Really liked it but it was showing issues so I got rid)

06 Volvo S60 D5. (Bought cheaply but it was a car I couldn't bare get rid of even though it was needed a good chunk of maintenance due to age and very heavy on juice. My dad kept it as a going down the bog to collect turf car)

99 E36 323i (My 30th present to myself)

Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.7 Hemi V8 (****e, unreliable and frankly boring. It's a washing machine with a V8, pointless car)

I had tonnes more which I bought from traders and flipped but I don't do that anymore.

Mrs Bond has had some nice cars too.

05 Punto (written off by somebody else)

03 Mini Cooper (she loved it but it was a lemon)

06 A3 2.0 tdi (Never missed a beat and she loved it)

151 116d (Brand new out of the box, her favourite car of all)

161 420d (She/we got an unbelievable deal to move up from the 1er. She regretted it and terribly missed her 1. A swap from continental runflats to Michelin runflats changed the car and she began to appreciate it)

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Admldj

04 almera van brand new sport spec looked the business cheap tax and insurance for a 21 year old

03 primera had to sell the van first baby arrived and needed the extra seats

05 primastar things were going well in work kept the car for personal and got the van for work

04 landcruiser things going really well in work thought I'd treat myself

98 mondeo construction industry went bang, bye bye jeep and primera ‚ hello €500 runaround from the auctions

02 saab 9-5 caught a break with some work upgraded the wheels to this loved that car but started getting expensive so had to go

02 mazda 6 had this 3 years and apart from an engine swap out 2 weeks after I bought it, was a great car

03 Avensis estate, great car if a bit dull, would probably still have it if it wasn't written off in early morning crash

06 primera for personal runs after the Avensis went off to the scrap yard

151 Auris van for work to replace the Avensis

142 Mazda 6 to replace the primera when I couldn't bear to drive it another day! Love the Mazda! Soul red and plenty of poke

181 Mazda CX-5 for work, great machine just a tall 6 really with the same engine and all the bells and whistles

The 6 is due for replacement next year and had my heart set on an XF until I got a drive in a T8 V60 now can't decide which!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

I started driving in 2005, so in 16 years I've had:

1995 Toyota Starlet 1.3 - Jap import, silver, 3 door, non efi. It was my first car, kept for a few months and sold on, commuted to Uni in it.

1991 MK2 golf GTD 1.6 turbo diesel, black. Replaced my Starlet, also commuted to Uni in. Good on juice and I have a thing for old VWs. Apart from blowing a headgasket one day on the M4 it never let me down.

1989 MK2 Golf GTi 16v - 3 door in white, very original. I wanted a MK2 GTi so bought this cheap needing tidying. Reliable apart from blowing a headgasket. Eventually resprayed it and fitted a turbo technics kit to it, Went efi management and then sold it.

1994 Toyota Starlet 1.3 - Jap import EFI, 3 door in white. Bought for daily duty. Fun car with the nippier EFI engine.

1994 Renault Clio 1.2 RN, 5 door in green - Cheap Daily bought from Adverts. Timing belt snapped after a few thousand miles, replacement engine sourced for 50 euro.

1983 Audi ur quattro - Bought needing full restoration. We spent a few years doing it up and sold it on.

1999 Audi A4 TDi

1989 MK2 Jetta Syncro (Still currently own) - Originally a 1.8 Carb, I fitted a G60 engine and later on a 1.8T.

2005 Peugeot 206 1.4 HDi Van (Finally broke into the 00's!)

2003 VW Passat TDi 130

2001 Daewoo Lanos 1.3 - Bought for 100 euro off a friend and drove for a few months. It was reliable but there is nothing else positive to say!

1988 VW Transporter syncro (Still currently own) - Nearly finished restoring.

1991 VW Passat B3 1.6 Turbo diesel - Cheap daily

2003 BMW 525d (Best daily I've ever owned)

2001 VW Golf 1.8T (Broke for parts and put the engine in my Jetta)

1996 Nissan Almera 1.4 petrol (Sold it to someone on Adverts and it was confiscated at a checkpoint 2 days later for no insurance XD)

2003 Seat Arosa 1.0 - Driven daily by myself and girlfriend for 2 years, didn't miss a beat, very slow though.

1991 Peugeot 205 1.4 XS, sold to my dad, he still drives it daily.

1990 ST185 Toyota Celica GT4 (Still currently own) - currently in the garage having some work.

2007 Peugeot 207 1.4 Petrol

2011 Hyundai I30 1.4, shared car with my partner, current modern everyday car.

So 21 cars in total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

5 in 23 years of driving and well over a 1m km
    1988 VW 1.3L Golf II from 98-00 piece of sh1t
    1995 Honda Civic 1.4L from 00-04 Great car, oil, filters and spark plugs, maybe a bulb or two
    2002 B5 VW Passat 1.9D 04-12. Gave to wife with over 500k on it and had it until 14/15. Liked it but seemed to be forever replacing suspension parts
    2009 Skoda Octavia Combi 1.9. 2012 -2017. BXE but in terms of reliability and running cost, really reliable bulletproof car which other than servicing and two minor electronic issues has been brilliant. Wife finished driving it last month so will move on soon although I'll hate not having an estate about
    2012 Mercedes C 220CDI W204. 2017-present. Great car, didn't know what to expect but other than water pump and front drivers seat "leather" it's been great. Currently over 300k km on it and drives like the day I got it

17 years since I owned a petrol, Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?

In my case...

The first Mirage was written off 6 months after I bought it when a woman pulled out in front of it on the old N3 one morning. No-one hurt and her insurance paid up (eventually!) so that's why that was replaced with the coupe version

The second just wasn't practical when I moved jobs and location and needed a diesel.

The 02 Passat was indeed a bit of a lemon bought from a cowboy in Drogheda. Eventually got tired of dealing with the various issues and traded for the 06 version maybe 2 years later.

That one lasted about 4 years. Traded because the mileage was starting to add up from a long commute and I finally was in A6 territory having moved jobs again.

The first 05 A6 went back after only a few weeks with injector failures. The second lasted a few years but again me doing high mileage and the high tax cost on it meant it was time to change after another 3 years.

The 2010 A6 that replaced it lasted until 2 months ago when it was traded in with 410,000km on the clock and some oil pressure/limp mode issues that would have likely cost more than it was worth to fix. That aside it was in great condition otherwise and everything on it worked.

Which brings me to my new (to me) A7. Only 120k km on it and my mileage is a fraction of what it was so I'm hoping it'll last me 3/4 years anyway before I need to change again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

CIP4 wrote: »
    9 vehicles in 9 years

Lemons?
    Bad driving?
    Don't look after them?

The 9 in 9 years was me I will add a few comments beside the cars just to give you a better idea sold many for different reasons.

2008 Astra 1.3CDTI - First one kept that 6 months got bored of it made like 1K on it so was happy enough to move it on.

2007 Focus 1.6TDCI - Kept 13 months nightmare must of replaced every suspension part on it. There was an oil leak wet the timing belt had to do that. Spent a few thousand euro on it then it left me stranded on the motorway one night and I was like fcuk this. Life is short.

2007 Golf 1.9TDI - This one was absolutely pristine spotless Golf bought in 2014 still had the plastic on the interior light. Had it a few months and my dad backed it into a wall and damaged the boot I was gutted to have to get it sprayed. Kept that one 13 months.

2011 Megane 1.5DCI - Loved the Golf but wanted something 4 door got a good deal on the Megane kept it for 14 months I really bought it just as I was close to finishing college and just wanted something that wouldn't give an issue. The biggest thing against it was it was only 90bhp.

2009 A4 2.0TDI - Graduated college literally about a month and thought no I am done with 90bhp found this A4 143bhp in the same garage I bought the Megane and just really loved it. It ended up being troublesome enough with sensor and electrical issues. I really liked it though and in some ways I regret not sticking with it in terms of just getting it to a place of being reliable and keeping it. Sold it after 5 months.

2016 Leon 1.4TSI - Bought this the end of 2016 as an ex demo 3k km on it really nice car essentially brand new got a great deal on it at the time. Not sure why I never warmed to the car.

2016 A4 1.4TFSI - Got a good promotion in work at the time and wasn't really liking the Leon so bought this really nice A4 Daytona Grey S Line with a good few options on it in Jan 2018. Really really liked that car and realistically probably should of kept it would struggle to find one with the options it had. Kept it 18 months.

2018 Golf GTI - Serious car 245bhp LSD everything proper quick literally just bought it cause I could and they were quite popular at the time. The perfect all rounder. The thing that put me off it was all the attention it got from everyone along with the Guards just got absolutely sick of it. COVID hit I was hardly using it and just had no interest in it anymore got a pretty ok price for it and just sold it. Kept it 13 months.

2017 Octavia TDI 150bhp - Have this one presently sold the Golf last summer kind of had no interest in cars at that point looked at this in a Skoda dealer it was priced fairly right and was a good original car probably the easiest sale the salesman ever made just bought it transferred the money and collected it. 30K km later its been flawless and has 160k km on it now. It's only the mid spec model though which is the biggest thing that I am not a fan of. But in terms of being a cheap car to run and maintain its up there with the best of them.

Yes so really a mess a few lemons but mainly just me being bored and in some cases a little compulsive. I think I am better now at thinking changing cars through more but like realistically I would be surprised if I have the Octavia this time next year even though as a car its perfectly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Laszlo Cravensworth

2004 - 2001 Opel Corsa
    2006 - 2004 A4 1.9TDi
    2007 - 2004 Mazda RX8
    2009 - 2006 Opel Astra OPC
    2011 - 2008 2L diesel Toyota Auris
    2018 - 2015 2L diesel Toyota Rav 4
    2020 - 2016 2.5L diesel Toyota Hilux
    2021 - 2019 Nissan leaf.

Best car was the A4. A perfect all rounder. Plenty fast, very comfortable and ultra reliable. That 1.9Tdi engine was perfect IMO. Sold her far too soon and on a silly impulse.

2L diesel Auris was a close 2nd. Loved that car. Absolutely bullet proof and plenty poke.

Ironically, the Hilux was my worst buy. I loved the jeep, but it gave me no end of trouble and I had to move her on.

Currently driving a Leaf while my wife has a Tucson for the kids. I'd say we won't be changing either car for a good while!

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭pinktoe

Since 2004

02 punto mk2 (nearly 2 years)

99 Altezza (4 years as daily car, 2 as a second car)

94 yellow Rx7 (2.5years) loved that car so so so much and wish I kept it but unfortunately way to expensive to run back then.

11 BMW 520d company car for 18 months, I hated that car so much.

10 Gs450h little over 2 years, liked it a lot, so many extra, lovely acceleration especially from 60kmph onwards.

14 Gs450h, under 2 years disappointing, slower than the previous version and didn't like the interior as much.

94 Supra TT since 2018, love it but horrible in traffic due to manual and twice the power it should have. Hasn't seen the road in 2021 yet.

16 640d (4 months) white with panoramic roof, liked the look of it. Found it vandalised one morning.

18 Jag XJ still have it since Feb 19, remapped it shortly afterwards lovely place to be inside but boring as hell, probably keep it for another year.

The one and only time I got penalty points was in a 60bhp punto.