Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many cars have you owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Casati wrote: »
    First car was 2.1 Diesel Record? I remember a relative having a lime green one of those from late 70’s as a taxi for donkey years. Diesel would have been a rare beast

It would be the Bedford van engine from memory, 2 batteries to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Purgative wrote: »
    Allegro, Princess, Avenger. I'd forgotten how bad those Leyland cars were. Thank my lucky stars I never owned one.

Avenger was Hillman/Chrysler , not the worst,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Casati wrote: »
    First car was 2.1 Diesel Record? I remember a relative having a lime green one of those from late 70’s as a taxi for donkey years. Diesel would have been a rare beast

Yeah . Fellow that used to buy cattle from us had 1 and I was always impressed when I saw it.

Wasn't a patch on the 2300 though.

The 2100 went on fire one night when I was coming home from the pub.

Drink driving laws were different in those days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

krissovo wrote: »
    You sir I would respectably consider a car masochist given your history. Its like you alternate between a reliable workhorse and an Italian gamble.

:D:D:D

To me a "masochist" would be the one driving around in your average diesel Toyota/KIA/Skoda/VW yoke (Did I mention these are ALL petrol, I never owned a diesel car and never will?)

But looking back now that you make me think about it, the only real issue I ever had on any of these was the Renault 5 that, for whatever reason, kept snapping the water pump belt (and no, it wasn't the timing belt on that type of engine).

The Alfa 155, IIRC, had something like 250k Km on the odometer when it ended up as spare parts (unfortunately I moved on from it whereabouts 2009, when it was still "too new" to be vintage but too old to be actually sold on). And consider this - I used to drive that car HARD; Different times when there were no average speed cameras etc. - at some point I burnt through a set of Michelin Pilot Exalto 2 in, like, 10k Km... :D

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

First car 2009/10 : 1992 Toyota Starlet 'Soleil' EP82 - 1.3 efi 99 bhp, 4EFE. Such a great thing to hoon about in. 100bhp in a very light car was a lot of fun. Broken into twice including once near Fairview when I interrupted the chap and was chased down the road with a huge kitchen blade haha. Good times!

Second car 2011 ish : 1999 1.4 Civic saloon. Absolutely woeful. Any sniff of an incline would require a down change.

Third car 2011/12: B5 Passat tdi. Good car but I bought a bad smokey one.

Fourth car 2012: Favourite by far. 1997 Corolla GS in that nice blue colour. UK import picked up for peanuts after arriving down in Thurles on the train one evening. Air con, all elec, factory boot spoiler with incorporated brake light, lumbar support setting for drivers seat. Sold it when moving house about 6 years ago and according to the NCT website, it's still likely floating about. I want it back!

2012 - 2020: Hiatus. No need for car

Fifth car 2020: 2006 UK import Celica VVTi. Enjoyable thus far. Good spec, nice drive. Not very comfortable on Dublin roads but 6 speed gearbox is nice for semi-regular spins up to Craigavon.

So, yeah, very uneventful history compared to some but hey ho!

553747.JPG

553748.JPG

553749.JPG

553750.JPG

553751.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭passatman86

Unfortunately that nice blue corolla went out of nct in may 2012
    But a change of owner in feb 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭pcardin

1979 Opel Senator 3.0
    1983 BMW 520i (e28)
    1989 Fiat Tipo 1.6
    1985 BMW 323i (e30)
    1989 Honda Accord Aerodeck 2.0
    1994 BMW 525i (e34)
    1996 Lancia Kappa 2.0 20V
    2003 Alfa Romeo 166 2.0TS
    1999 Peugeot 406 Break 2.0 HDI
    1992 BMW 320i (e36)
    1997 BMW 316i (e36)
    1996 Mercedes-Benz C200 (w202)
    1999 Mercedes-Benz E320 (w210)
    1997 Jaguar XJ
    1996 Mercedes-Benz S320 (w140)
    2003 Fiat Stilo 1.6
    2001 Volvo V70 2.4
    1999 Peugeot 406 Coupe
    2000 Mercedes-Benz E200 (w210)
    1999 Volvo V70 2.0
    1996 BMW 318i Convertible
    1999 Mercedes-Benz CLK200 (w208)
    1998 Honda Odyssey 2.3
    1998 BMW 728i (e38)
    2003 Smart Roadster Coupe
    2003 Mercedes-Benz C200 (w203)
    2002 Jaguar XJR
    2002 Jaguar X-Type 2.5
    2004 BMW 520i (e60)
    2005 Peugeot 607 2.2 HDI
    2004 Renault Grand Espace 1.9
    2010 Saab 9-3 Sportswagon 1.9 TDI
    2010 BMW 520d (f10)
    2010 Mercedes-Benz CLS350 CDI Grand Edition
    2011 Mercedes-Benz CLS250 BlueEfficiency

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭RWD

1986 Xr3i
    ‘00 Saxo
    ‘99 e46 318i
    ‘00 e46 316i
    ‘01 Octavia 1.9 tdi
    ‘00 Puma 1.7
    ‘99 E220
    ‘97 MB2 Civic
    ‘02 Clio
    ‘03 e46 320d
    ‘96 ek3 Civic
    ‘89 e30 320i
    ‘03 fiesta
    ‘04 Mondeo
    ‘02 Fiesta x2
    ‘04 mk4 Golf
    ‘06 Fiesta
    ‘99 e36 touring
    ‘00 focus
    ‘04 Yaris
    ‘07 fiesta zetec s 30th anniversary
    ‘95 e36 coupe
    ‘86 uk ae86
    Mk5 Golf GTI
    Mk7 Golf GTI
    ‘95 e36 328 cabrio
    ‘96 Mk2 Pajero 2.5 Swb
    ‘00 e39 Bmw 520i

bump up.. my list hasnt changed .. still driving the avensis 223klms on it now

copy/paste your previous list if you find it and make changes

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

two; i lived in phibsboro till 2012 and was able to borrow a car when i needed it at the time. living that close to the city made not owning a car not a big deal. first car was my dad's car as a wedding present, a then five or six year old octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Too many to list. 21 in total. I buy new and keep them 2 to 3 years. My wife has had 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭kanuseeme

1992 1.3 Toyota starlet, loved it

1996 1.4 Opel Astra new, got the scrappage scheme when it was a real thing, the starlet cost me a 1000 pounds, so 3 years free driving, loved it,

1999 another new astra, last new car . not the same feeling as when I bought the first one.

2001 isuzu trooper, liked it.

2005 company range rover, hated it,

2007 company Mercedes vito. I liked it,

2011 ssangyong actyon sports, I wanted a pickup, cheap for a 3 year old 7000 euro, I would buy ssangyong again,

2014 honda insight, hybrid, could not believe the economy compared to the ssangyong, half the cost to fill and goes twice as far. but its a econobox.

2015 Lexus CT, so nice, Hybrid again. I imported it from the UK

2018 Mitsubishi Outlander phev, first phev, never going back, I imported it from the UK, loved it.

2021 VW golf convertible, summer car while waiting on the Prius.

2021 Toyota prius phev from japan, a bit better than the insight

2022 Bmw 330e from Japan, loved it

2023 BMW 225xe from Japan, nice, the 330e is nicer to drive.

@kanuseeme great list. thanks for writing it.

@Jim_Hodge sure throw up a list - its half the fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

Austin Maxi 1800

Ford Granada MkII 2000

Ford Capri MkIII 1200

Ford Granada MkII Estate 2000 (Auto)

Ford Granada MKIII (Scorpio) Estate 2.8i (Auto)

Something Japanese, can't remember what, Toyota Corolla or Nissan Sunny or somesuch (was bulletproof, whatever it was. Never maintained it, just threw oil/coolant in it at irregular intervals when I remembered, and it just kept on truckin')

Mazda MX-5 2nd Gen. 1.8l

Currently have use of a 2006 Japanese import Toyota Yaris (Auto) - I hate it, it's completely gutless, but as I'm only paying for the petrol I put in I'll bite my lip.

There may have been others mixed in with the earlier cars, but they would have been bangers bought for a few quid and run into the ground.

@Addmagnet some of those fords be worth money now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

My rate of changing cars has slowed way down so only have 1 to add to the updated list which is my current car. Still doing big mileage so can’t go back to petrols for the minute unfortunately.

2018 A4 2.0TDI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭kdevitt

1988 Honda Civic Si

1990 Honda Civic Si

1995 Honda Civic 1.3

1991 Honda Civic 1.5

1994 BMW E36 320i Coupe - still have it

1992 Honda CRX Del Sol

2000 BMW E46 328ci

2002 BMW E46 M3

1983 BMW E30 323i

2002 BMW E46 330i

2006 MkV Golf GTi

2000 VW MkIV Golf GTi

2003 Saab 93

2006 Porsche Cayman S

2005 VW MkV Golf GTi

2003 BMW E46 325ci

2006 BMW E90 318i

2016 BMW 116i

1989 BMW E30 325i Touring - still have it

2013 BMW F31 318d Touring - still have it

2013 BMW F13 640d Gran Coupe

2015 BMW i8 - still have it

1989 Honda CRX - still have it

2000 VW MkIV Golf GTI - still have it

Probably missing one or two!

@kdevitt that's a great list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭User1998

2004 Audi TT

2004 Audi A3

2007 Mazda 3

2007 Lexus RX

2007 Passat

2008 Passat CC

2013 Passat CC

2014 Passat CC

2013 Golf

2015 Golf

2015 Golf GTE

2016 Golf GTE

2017 Golf GTE

2018 Golf GTE

2014 Range Rover

2015 Mercedes C Class

2016 Mercedes A Class

Fairly boring and repetitive list, mostly UK imports that I used to keep for a few months and sell on for a profit.

Loads of other cars that I’ve bought and sold but never really drove so wouldn’t really add them to the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Cheers - it would probably be more extensive if I had some proper storage! Would still like an early Gallardo at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

7 in total over 40 years, only 1 from new and 3 from near new.

Suppose I wouldn't be keeping SIMI in business.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭ifeelabreeze

Been driving for nearly 4 years and I've owned 5 cars.

1.4 base model Mk5 Golf - loved the handling!

Mk1 Mx-5 - paid €800 for it, pulled it out of someones back garden, got it running and stupidly sold it - currently up for sale on DD, it's the green 1 in Limerick and it's rotten with rust.

Owned another Mx-5, NB, base model and I sold that very quickly (work changed, commute changed).

Bought my current boring daily - Mk7 2L Diesel Golf, yawn.

bought and currently own my third Mx-5! It's a pre-facelift NB, 1.8, 6 speed, torsen and it's lovely!

Did I mention all Mx-5s were the same Mica Green and both Golfs were boring silver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭fabsoul

First car in

1990 VW Golf

1992 Toyota Corolla

1994 BMW 316

1996 BMW 318

1998 BMW 520d

2000 BMW 320d

2002 BMW 320d

2004 Lexus IS200

2006 BMW 320cd

2010 Honda CR-V

2012 Mazda Cx-5

2015 Nissan X-trail

2017 Nissan X-trail

2019 Nissan X-trail

2020 Peugeot 208 GT line

2022 Peugeot 508 GT

The best one would be the 2020 Peugeot 208 GT line

@User1998 are you secertly a German 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭User1998

Not quite because of the Mazda and Lexus😂

I actually kind of rather Japanese cars nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Nothing boring with 2.0 tdi Golf in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

2 second hand Toyotas / 2 people = 1 car in the 30+ years I can legally drive. 😁

• Registered Users Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭dmigsy

2004 Ford Focus 1.4l

2003 BMW Z4 2.5l

2015 VW Golf 1.2l

2018 VW Golf R 2l

2017 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 220d

Alternated between sensible and stupidly fun cars. I'll keep the e-class a good while. It's a lovely cruiser and I get no penalty points driving it. I'll get something mad after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

6 cars in 11 years

2000 ford fiesta 1.25 zetec

2003 ford focus 1.6 petrol

2010 Suzuki SX4 1.6 diesel

2009 Audi A4 2.0 TDi

2013 Hyundai i40 1.7 Tdci

2010 Ford Mondeo 2.0 Tdci

If I could drive one for fun it'd be the 1.25 fiesta zetec, nippy little thing, unfortunately met it's end with a VW transporter ploughed into it's front wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

In 42 years (1981- now) 15 cars inc two vans. This is along with my wife as I owned two van's as a second drive around for over ten years. I wound generally drive the car as a second family vehicle after it was finished as a family car. Presently semi retired and I mainly drive the RAV (2010)and we use the IX 35(2015) as our main car.

MK1Escort

Vauxhall Viva

Nissan Sunny Sentra

Nissan Sunny

Fiat Uno ( van)

Nissan Primera X3

Opel Corsa

Hyundai Assent

Toyota Avensis X3

Citroen Berlingo ( van)

Hyundai IX35

Toyota Rav

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Since 1997, 28 as far as I remember, and a few race cars, saloon and single seater not included here.

1986 Suzuki Swift

1989 Fiat Tipo

1992 Mazda Interplay

1989 Toyota Celica GTR

1992 Mitsubishi GTO

1990 and 1991 Nissan 300zx TT x 2

1992 and 1993 Honda Prelude 2.2 Vtec x 2 - (Still have the 1993 0ne)

1979 Porsche 911SC

1976 Ferrari 308 GTB Fibreglass - (Still have this)

1997 Jaguar XK8 - (Still have this)

1998 Jaguar XK8 - (Still have this)

2005 Jaguar X-Type Estate

2005 Jaguar S-Type 2.7D

2004 Volvo XC90

2000 Volvo V70 T5

1999 Volvo C70 2.4

2009 Volvo V50

2002 Mitsubishi L200

2007 Nissan Pathfinder

2000 Bmw 323Ci - (Still have this)

2000 Alfa 156

1999 Alfa 145 Cloverleaf - (Still have this)

1996 Renault Clio Dimma Wide Arch - (Still have this)

2015 Peugeot 2008 - the only new car i ever bought.

2010 Jaguar XF-S 3.0D- (Still have this) - Current daily

2009 Mercedes E220D Estate - (Still have this) - Other current daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

8 over the last 17 years...

2x 1.3L Mitsubishi Mirages (99 hatchback and 98 coupe) - first one was written off after 6 months when a woman in a Volvo pulled across the road in front of it

2x VW Passats (02 1.9TDI and 06 2.0 TDI)

2.5x Audi A6s (2x 05 3.0 TDI and 1x 2010 3.0 TDI) - 2.5 because the first 05 went back after a week with injector faults that they couldn't fix.

1x Audi A7 (2012 3.0 TDI) - current car. Better in most ways than its predecessor, but I have decided I prefer the saloons. Next will be another A6 or more likely an A8.

like the sunny , primera and avensis have expierence with them

@Kersh great selection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

Just the one for the last 9 years.

Still have the RX8.

The Laguna before that wasn't in my name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭ec_pc

1995 Nissan Micra Van

1993 Mitsubishi Lancer GLX Hatch (great car)

1998 Mistubishi Lancer

2001 Nissan Primera

2004 Nissan Primera

2006 Alfa Romeo GT

2008 Alfa Romeo GT

2009 Alfa Romeo 159 SW

1998 Hyundai Tuscon

2013 Ford Focus

2013 Kia Sportage

2016 Kia Sportage

2018 Kia Sorrento

Currently have:

2022 Kia Ev6

the 2013 Focus

2 x 2006 Alfa Romeo GT's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Class list, but where do you have the room for all the ‘I still have this’ 😮😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Cheers :) , I have a workshop storage unit, from when i used to race and run race cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭quad_red

2002 Opel Astra 1.4 petrol

2005 Skoda Superb 1.9tdi

2009 Opel Zafira 1.9tdi

2018 Toyota Rav Hybrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

2000 Smart City Coupe

2006 Smart ForTwo

2004 Smart Roadster

2008 Suzuki Swift Sport

2008 Open Corsa OPC

2003 Mini Cooper S

2000 Audi TT

1999 Fiat Barchetta

1999 Peugeot 106 GTi

2002 Volkswagen Lupo GTI

2005 Volkswagen Golf GTI

2009 Audi TTS

2015 Volkswagen Golf R

2019 Seat Leon Cupra

& currently have:

2018 Volkswagen Golf R

2009 Mini Cooper S JCW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Chrysler Sunbeam

Renault 14

Renault 5

6 x Toyota Corollas (company cars)

Mazda 323

Nissan Micra

Audi A4

2 x Ford Focus

Hyundai i30

Dacia Sandero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

5 cars in 23 years of car ownership.

4 audi and an alfa romeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

On to my second driving licence and I've had 14 cars, was going to post them but it's such a mixbag of stuff I'd probably be giving my identity away!

But lately haven't been switching that regularly, the car market seems to have gotten more expensive and worse still, boring.

🙈🙉🙊

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'm still on 2 cars.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

1976 Mini Clubman - Still Own

1980 Mini 1275GT - Still Own

1998 BMW Z3 - Still Own

2000 Nissan Micra - Crashed

2005 Nissan Almera - Traded In

2006 Nissan Almera - Sold

2015 Dacia Duster - Still Own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭tikka16751

When the Wef has its way l will rent multiple cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Added 4 more over the last 2 years. Currently sitting at 10 cars so garage has finally run out. Gave the IS300h to the missus to keep her sweet and I daily a 1994 Corolla.

1991 Starlet

1985 Starlet ( currently own)

1986 Starlet

1989 Starlet ( currently own)

1992 Starlet GT Turbo (rolling shell - currently own)

1988 Starlet ( currently own)

1994 Corolla ( currently own)

1994 Corolla LX Limited ( currently own)

1997 Corolla Estate ( currently own)

1996 Corolla

1996 Glanza

1997 Glanza

1999 Glanza ( currently own)

1998 Levin

1997 Civic EK4

1984 Twin cam (currently own)

2012 Swift Sport

2012 3 series F30

2014 A6

2019 Is300h F Sport (currently own)

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭harmless

In this order

1998 Corolla 1.3 first car purchased in 2006

1995 Corolla 1.3

2002 Corolla 2.0 D4D

1997 Starlet 1.3, I still drive it daily and it has never let me down. Purchased it for €400 in 2014 and spend about €70 average in repairs most years getting it past the NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,700 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Punto

Kia ceed

Hyundai i40 - current. 2015. Smashing car. Never given an ounce of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭RonanG86

1998 Mazda 323 1.5l - Good car, I probably should've kept it longer. It had 125,000 miles on it when I bought it, sold it to my sister a couple of years with 145,000 on it. Was still going well when she sold it with about 160,000 on it. And she didn't service it, and it was left up for long periods, so that tells you how bulletproof that car was.

2000 Mazda Millenia / Xedos 9 2.0l - Fat JDM barge that was expensive to tax and fuel, yet tbf I had it for six years and it didn't really let me down until stuff started going wrong in the last year of ownership and I had to beat an NCT onto it compared to the last 3 which it sailed through. And the stuff that did go wrong - water pump, track rod arm... something else - wasn't really insurmountable. Replaced it with the MG because it was doing about 26mpg.

2004 MG ZT-T 2.0l diesel - I loved this to drive. Could always play "let's pull my head off in a corner" with it, but it kept it eating its front brake discs. After changing the discs (and yes, I let them bed in) 3 times and still getting horrible vibrations when I hit the pedal and my mechanic unable to suggest a remedy, I decided we'd best part ways.

2011 Saab 9-5 2.0l diesel - Still have this after close to 5 years, I'm rather fond of it. It's done about 200,000km took a new water pump a couple of years ago, and a new engine in May cos the oil pump conked and I didn't cop onto it fast enough. Needs new brake discs (they didn't take to lying up when the car had no engine too well), the BCM reset so the odometer will display again, and I suspect I might have an exhaust leak. So stuff to do with it in the New Year, but I'll get it done. Car pulls like a train. I drove a 2010 Audi A4 2.0 diesel to look at as as replacement a couple of days after the Saab's engine died and it was so slow compared to the Saab.

2007 Mercedes E200 - Bought this cheap as a stopgap when the Saab was off the road earlier in the year. Big miles. Drove fine... or so I thought until I got back into the Saab and realised that the Merc was a wallowy, slow heap of shite by comparison. Sold it after.