Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dmakc

I presume you will direct the same Ire at the GAA the next time there's a big match on, and at all those damn pesky international tourists when they get back here, ****, using a public space.

Attending GAA games isn't a juvenile hobby that people grow out of once they gain responsibilities. Boy racer revving brings about the same attractiveness to an area as knacker drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Zzippy wrote: »
    The GAA matches cause traffic congestion. But the GAA aren't organising an inter-county championship match for every Sunday for the summer. They also work with security companies, and pay the Gardai for policing. They have incident management plans, safety statements. They don't threaten to block up traffic every Sunday unless they're given a venue. They fund raised and bought venues all over the country to accommodate their games. They lease venues from local authorities.

You see, rights are not absolute, they also come with responsibilities. If exercising your rights infringes on the rights of others, and you can't see that, or don't give a ****, well don't expect any sympathy when your rights are taken away.

It will be extremely difficult for anyone to stop fully legal - taxed, insured & NCT'd (where applicable) motor vehicles from driving that promenade, bylaws or no bylaws - no matter what anyone says.

Like I said before, you either stop all cars accessing it, or accept the fact that it's a public road.

Are you trying to say it’s not happening?

No, I agreed that I've heard it all now, whats the difference between your list of things and my list of things?

dmakc wrote: »
    Attending GAA games isn't a juvenile hobby that people grow out of once they gain responsibilities. Boy racer revving brings about the same attractiveness to an area as knacker drinking.

Depends on ones opinion of course - some might say that anyone who likes GAA is a slackjawed yokel, others might say that of people who like cars. either way, one hobby does not take precedence over another.

What's the story with the slur?

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

No, I agreed that I've heard it all now, whats the difference between your list of things and my list of things?

I see we’ll be going around in circles since you think the behavior at Salthill by these “car enthusiasts” is acceptable

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

It will be extremely difficult for anyone to stop fully legal - taxed, insured & NCT'd (where applicable) motor vehicles from driving that promenade, bylaws or no bylaws - no matter what anyone says.

Like I said before, you either stop all cars accessing it, or accept the fact that it's a public road.

I would have no problem with that, if they didn't rev their engines, had exhausts that actually muffled the sound rather than amplify it, kept their sexist comments to themselves and didn't harass women walking past, didn't litter and urinate in public and behaved like people with responsibilities, not just those rights you think trump everything else.

Once the exhausts are deemed legal by the NCT and Gardaí I can't say much on it tbh.

Sexist comments are disgraceful and have no place anywhere, I have no idea how many of those in attendance made them - but I certainly don't expect it was all - or anywhere near all of them who did so.

Littering and public urination are a disgrace, again, I have no idea how many of those in attendance littered or urinated in unacceptable places - but I certainly don't expect it was all - or anywhere near all of them who did so.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭klr87

So... you do believe some are more entitled to the use of public spaces than others, that's fair enough and your right.

I presume you will direct the same Ire at the GAA the next time there's a big match on, and at all those damn pesky international tourists when they get back here, ****, using a public space.
    Are you sure?

so what is your beef with last sunday then? if you have no beef with it?
    Of course I have a major beef with it, as it was neither well-run nor well-regulated, and caused widespread problems for residents and businesses, and not just in Salthill.
    As for the GAA: If the disruption around a GAA match displeases you so much, then how then can you possibly defend what took place last Sunday? It involved maybe 10% to 15% of the people who would attend a big match at Pearse Stadium, yet managed to cause several times the level of disruption, and for much longer.

More likely you never cared that much about the impact of GAA matches before, but are now just fishing for excuses or justification.

I'm not even sure what the point was about the tourists, if there was a valid point, which I very much doubt.

klr87 wrote: »
    Of course I have a major beef with it, as it was neither well-run nor well-regulated, and caused widespread problems for residents and businesses, and not just in Salthill.
    As for the GAA: If the disruption around a GAA match displeases you so much, then how then can you possibly defend what took place last Sunday? It involved maybe 10% to 15% of the people who would attend a big match at Pearse Stadium, yet managed to cause several times the level of disruption, and for much longer.

More likely you never cared that much about the impact of GAA matches before, but are now just fishing for excuses or justification.

I'm not even sure what the point was about the tourists, if there was a valid point, which I very much doubt.

Honestly - I love the GAA, I'm just using peoples own ridiculous arguments against them.

the point about tourists is they make the prom busy and block it up with traffic too, by logic of many on this thread - they should be banned also.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Redkite200

Feels like the fact they went to Salthill and acted the tit there has generated most debate, as there's video clips and so on and others saying well Sathill is a traffic mess anyway at the weekend etc.
    The thing is, it's not just a Salthill issue, it's a Galway issue, they're being a nuisance coming to and from the city driving together in groups as other posters have set out in more detail, speeding up and down roads and participating in anti-social behaviour for the 'craic' as they see it.

I'm sure there are genuine guys & girls involved who love their cars, put their savings into doing them up and want to show them off and fair play to them if they can do that in a civil and respectful way, they pay their road tax and insurance but that isn't what is being seen on a regular basis when they congregate.
    On a side note, nearly every major road out of Galway , the N18, N67, R446, R381 etc. that I've driven on lately has burn out donut rings on them in places. There's no regard for people when they're doing burnouts in the middle of the night in the middle of roads. All fun and games until someone gets seriously hurt of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,967 ✭✭✭what_traffic

Is that the solution they came up with in Port Stewart?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Once the exhausts are deemed legal by the NCT and Gardaí I can't say much on it tbh.

Do you think the constant revving of engines by drivers sitting in traffic, and the noise disruption to residents and other people enjoying the amenity, is acceptable?

Never mind the legalities of the equipment. I mean, my horn is legal but if I sat outside your house for four hours beeping it I doubt you'd be on here defending my right to do it.

Is that the solution they came up with in Port Stewart?

AFAIK they posted VOSA officers about the place and siezed and tested cars for non compliance with traffic laws, and found quite a bit of non-compliance.

I'm sure there's nothing stopping the RSA doing same - would be a great idea to be honest, would get any dangerously modified cars off the road.

Do you think the constant revving of engines by drivers sitting in traffic, and the noise disruption to residents and other people enjoying the amenity, is acceptable?

Never mind the legalities of the equipment. I mean, my horn is legal but if I sat outside your house for four hours beeping it I doubt you'd be on here defending my right to do it.

Again, I'm not sure all those in attendance were revving, I personally think its unnecessary and annoying, but again those things depend on ones persuasions.

Not sure there would be a whole lot I could do about it if it's legal tbh - I have to listen to the feckin icecream man and his jingle for a few hours every god damn day, them's the breaks I guess

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Oh yes, its the people complainings fault, not the fellas with vulgar things written across the car window shouting at random women out enjoying their Sunday about their "fannies" and "gee".

Some bunch of "fanny smashers" and "gee pounders" (per the self description across the car windows) they are I'd say.

I thought "Fake Taxi" decals were the go to, to advertise ones fondness for the female form?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Maybe their public pronouncements will allow for negotiations to take place for a space for them to meet safely. The airport should be on the table as a venue.
    Their language is a bit aggressive and won't get them anywhere, so maybe tone it down.
    I think they should contact some vintage car clubs on how to organize a meet up. They've been doing it for years and would know the ropes on how apply for permission, liaise with the Gardai, emergency services, etc. There might be other experienced modified car clubs that they could work with.
    If I were them, I'd hold off this weekends event as a gesture of goodwill ask for meetings with the relevant authorities and see what happens.

Lastly... those posting that it's a public road and they've every right to be there...
    By their own admission it's an organized event. Every other organisation or group that wants to hold an event in a public place must have permits, cooperation with local authorities, and residents associations.
    They didn't and they have no right to be there in the manner they were.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Redkite200

Maybe their public pronouncements will allow for negotiations to take place for a space for them to meet safely. The airport should be on the table as a venue.
      Their language is a bit aggressive and won't get them anywhere, so maybe tone it down.

Lastly... those posting that it's a public road and they've every right to be there...
      By their own admission it's an organized event. Every other organisation or group that wants to hold an event in a public place must have permits, cooperation with local authorities, and residents associations.
      They didn't and they have no right to be there in the manner they were.

Aye, they could do with some proof-reading as well while they're at it. :)

Well said though, it's also a matter of public safety when there's many accounts (a few on this thread alone) of them driving their cars in a dangerous and reckless manner and the video in Salthill of lads running into the road to take mobile videos / photos of their buddies wheelspinning / revving engines in moving traffic. (albeit barely given how mental Sathill was)

1. Registered Users Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭ratracer

Why is the airport being touted as a venue?

It’s currently being used as a covid test centre, and Galway Flying club use the runway a lot at the weekends? Should they just land their planes on the prom instead?

2. Posts: 17,728 ✭✭✭✭ [Deleted User]

It will be extremely difficult for anyone to stop fully legal - taxed, insured & NCT'd (where applicable) motor vehicles from driving that promenade, bylaws or no bylaws - no matter what anyone says............

Decent chance loads if not most of the mods aren't declared.
      Extremely easy to sort the enthusiasts from the wannabe scobes in this case.

3. Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Giving them use of the airport is pie in the sky stuff.they destroyed the plaza last weekend dumping rubbish and any amount of bins there which they didn’t bother using.
      Who would clean the airport after them?
      What facilities are there for toilets etc?
      Who supplies services.
      They haven’t a notion of getting in there.
      There’s also endless issues with public liability insurance etc on a private property

4. Advertisement
    5. Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Giving them use of the airport is pie in the sky stuff.they destroyed the plaza last weekend dumping rubbish and any amount of bins there which they didn’t bother using.
      Who supplies services.
      There’s also endless issues with public liability insurance etc on a private property

By sounds of it they expect to be just given the use of a suitable property, without any of the hassle of organising all that. Either give us that or we'll clog up Salthill every week until you do.

6. Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Who supplies services.

Wasn't there a concert at the airport in recent years? A classic car show in the racecourse? There's precedence.

They should be given an opportunity to organise an event IMO. The airport, once the Covid operation is finished should be offered.
      Obvious provisos that they organise it properly, have proper insurance cover and clean up afterwards.
      After that, it's up to them to make it work.

If they continue to use the local road network as party central, I'd hammer them hard. Traffic stops on all roads into the city. Inspection of each vehicle. Fines and impounds as necessary. I'd also contact their insurer to let them know about the modifications and let them decide if it voids the policy.

It's up to them whether they want to be seen as responsible car owners with a legitimate pastime or a bunch of loutish thugs creating havoc.

7. Registered Users Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Wasn't there a concert at the airport in recent years? A classic car show in the racecourse? There's precedence.

They should be given an opportunity to organise an event IMO. The airport, once the Covid operation is finished should be offered.
      Obvious provisos that they organise it properly, have proper insurance cover and clean up afterwards.

If they continue to use the local road network as party central, I'd hammer them hard. Traffic stops on all roads into the city. Inspection of each vehicle. Fines and impounds as necessary. I'd also contact their insurer to let them know about the modifications and let them decide if it voids the policy.

It's up to them whether they want to be seen as responsible car owners with a legitimate pastime or a bunch of loutish thugs creating havoc.

A fair assessment of it all.

8. Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭fmul9798

I gather locals should plan to avoid the area next Sunday

9. Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭SmokyMo

xxyyzz wrote: »
      A boy racer wrote off my car in a head-on collision back in December, I came around a blind bend on a narrow road and there he was trying to take a racing line on the wrong side of the road. One second later and I would have been dead. I cannot understand how insurance companies will insure a 20 year old in a type R integra. A car like that in a 20 year old's hands is a weapon and a 20 year old in a car like that is a fu*king eejit. I have zero sympathy for these lads, there are plenty of risky pastimes that don't endanger other road users if you're looking for a thrill.

A nearly blind granny wrote off my car before, broke red light in foggy conditions. lucky walked away just about.

"A car like that in pensioners hands is a weapon and a pensioner in a car like that is a fu*king eejit."

10. Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well I'm bloody glad I didn't get a 401 bus into the town centre that day. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

11. Registered Users Posts: 5 MudBath

fmul9798 wrote: »
      I gather locals should plan to avoid the area next Sunday

It would appear so.. I'm local, love Salthill - but this seems to make things definitely off-limits for a while (unless you go there early in the morning). Maybe buy more coffee/stuff than normal in the morning to support local business while it is not practical to be there during the day.

Love cars, and loved when we had that "Cannonball Run" on the prom a few years ago. But this idea from the last few Sundays does not seem to work logistically. There is just not enough road/space

12. Posts: 0 [Deleted User]

Anyone else have little pity for some of the traders there after they opposed the trial bike lanes?

I mean, you set the place up as a mecca for cars, don't be surprised when it becomes a mecca for car enthusiasts

13. Registered Users Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Whoa, too much grown up stuff and work involved there.

14. Advertisement
    15. Registered Users Posts: 5 MudBath

Anyone else have little pity for some of the traders there after they opposed the trial bike lanes?

I mean, you set the place up as a mecca for cars, don't be surprised when it becomes a mecca for car enthusiasts

Sympathy - not so much. It has always seemed like a non-linear grouping and very insular in thinking. But - what do we do in practical terms for next weekend?