Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shoes on the coffee table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,871 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

There's nothing "contrary" about wanting a clean home, and accusations of same are just someone with a narrow frame of reference presuming anyone who disagrees with them is trying to rebel against an imagined consensus. Some people are well capable of independent thought without a subtext of lashing out against Daddy.

The fact of the matter is that shoes coming in from outside will always make your floors dirtier, if you can perceive the "dirt" or not. Dog ****, piss, mud, dust, vomitus, pollen, etc. All of these can be carried inside your home by people traipsing in with their disgusting filthy shoes.

If a person came in with mismatched socks or holes in their socks then I will fall to my knees and thank the lord that I made them take their shoes off, because anyone with such sloppy personal hygiene must have shoes that are absolutely caked in midden. Then, when they leave, I will have the place cleaned and I will never invite those animals into my home again. Vile.
    My home is spotless and visitors can do what they want

The quarest thing I ever did hear of.

It's true though. They were particular about the type of indoor shoe too. Most kids used slippers

My home is spotless and visitors can do what they want

Party in Ash's house people.

AdrianBalboa, you get the hooker's and I'll get the coke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭1874

This thread was about someone placing shoes/feet on a coffee table, which is kinda gross even if they own the coffee table, as its a shared house.

Dont really know how it mutated into wearing shoes indoors vs not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Party in Ash's house people.

AdrianBalboa, you get the hooker's and I'll get the coke

On the way..

b29963023f22ee62218a48381bbf2efb61d53c1c.jpg

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It's bonkers!! :D

At least we've learned that we're dicing with death wearing shoes inside the house. Who knew every outdoor surface was covered with invisible phlegm, vomit, urine and faeces?

It would nearly turn you off licking the floors of an evening.

I remember as a kid a mate moved from a council estate to a new posher estate and we had to take our shoes off , that was the last time we called there :)

xhomelezz wrote: »
    On the way..

b29963023f22ee62218a48381bbf2efb61d53c1c.jpg

Got some lines chopped out already lads

Actually slight change of plan I bought a selection of onesies for visitors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

bubblypop wrote: »
    Wearing shoes into the house that you have worn outside on the street is disgusting

I thought that was only a rule for children! Non Asian people anyway.

Asians seem to be mad for that no shoes indoors rule.

Unless you happen to be a farmer in wellies or something. There really should be no issue.

Just wipe your feet on mat before you enter the house. That is what it is for.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Purple is a Fruit

What I'd be more concerned about is arse sweat on my couch.

And they get all insulted if you insist on rubber sheets before they sit down. :rolleyes:

Seriously though, it is a gross thought that occurred to me and I'm gonna get a suite with leather seats when changing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Is anyone else on this thread Irish & go to school from a young age here? In Infants, Primary and Secondary we always had a uniform which included INDOOR and OUTDOOR UNIFOrM SHOES - you had a peg in the cloakroom allocated to you by class and when you came in you had to hang your uniform coat on the peg and put your outdoor shoes in the shoe cage underneath it. Before you went home you had to change your indoor shoes to outdoor ones & marched out a door that had rubber backed mats that were put down mid afternoon to protect the floors from the homegoing.

Every day, for 14 years or whatever. And runners for gym class - white soled.

Its a miracle we’re normal.

I remember when I tripped around Thailand every other place had a bookshelves type cabinet or place for flipflops and outdoor shoes to be left when you went in. Oddly they’d alwYs be there for you the next morning on your exit or when you left. It was the height of cultural bad manners & basic ignorance to ignore this & everyone just complied - they were ‘only’ flipflops anyway!

Here its totally abnornal to be asked to take your shoes off unless its a showhome on display for sale or maybe a house viewing on extremely rare occasions.

The quarest thing I ever did hear of.

You didn't go to a Dublin school H2DPB? Primary school 1980's they had the no shoes rule indoors rule. Had to put on the special indoor shoes/slippers. I don't remember it been enforced for the senior classes now that i think of it. So I am a bit perplexed as to the logic of it all.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I wouldn't like to be so concerned about wearing shoes indoors as some are on this thread.

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't wear my mucky wellies into the house and I've gardening runners I wear that I take off in the garage aswell but I'm surprised how many are into no shoes allowed in the house altogether.

I'd bet there's people who are appalled by shoe wearing indoors yet are dog owners and like what do you do with them? Take off their paws at the door? :D

I think we can obsess or fall into beliefs on any number of things. How far do you go with it really when it comes to germs or dirt?

At least we've learned that we're dicing with death wearing shoes inside the house. Who knew every outdoor surface was covered with invisible phlegm, vomit, urine and faeces?

It would nearly turn you off licking the floors of an evening.

You realise your car probable has traces of all those items inside it?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,939 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

You realise your car probable has traces of all those items inside it?

Oh dear, safest thing to do at this stage is to burn my feet, my car and my house.

Drive barefoot then? Fook that. A good clean of the car every so often is sufficient. And no licking the car floors - damn! :(

Oh dear, safest thing to do at this stage is to burn my feet, my car and my house.

Or have driving shoes

Feck off with your driving shoes! :D

And what about the wheels on the suitcase I'll need to cart all these shoes around?

Spare wheels and a screwdriver every time I leave the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,230 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Ye are both out of order wearing your shoes beyond the hall and front door. Dragging in filthy Street dirt all over the house . Take your shoes off at the front door and problem solved.

I'm kinda shocked at the 60 "thanks" for this post. Is it now common to take off shoes at the front door in Ireland?

Granted I have indoor shoes, but I also walk around the patio outside and do gardening in them, and then just rub them on a mat and they're as good as new (fairly flat shoes so no dirt gets caught in the soles)

But if I've been out walking around streets, I might walk around the house before switching into the more comfortable indoor shoes.

Again just give them a good rub on the mat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

JayZeus wrote: »
    I wouldn’t let the average tradesman work in my home. On the other hand, there's little need for trades when I’m more capable than most of them to do the work you seem to think would require their assistance.

The standards of workmanship in Ireland leave a lot to be desired and the attitude of those who think being given work by a homeowner should entitle them to do what they please is a nonsense.

Shoes at the door or stick your scruffy arse, your scruffy shoes and your scruffy snickers back in you van and go work in some scruffy home.

I don’t think a lot of folks realise how easy it is to find a tidy, respectful and capable tradesman who will do the work and not bat an eyelid at having to take the boots off at the door. Only an ill-prepared ape won’t have an ‘indoor pair’ of safety trainers to swap into at the door.

So you will only let the "above-average" tradesman work in your home?

I can still see a skilled cabinet-maker or stone mason with award-winning skills telling you to FOAD if you pop your "shoes off" malarkey.

Maybe you can change a light bulb or slap a lick of paint on a skirting board. A boiler specialist or electrician? Yeah, I can see your missus standing there as the place is plunged in darkness with sludge cascading up out of the jacks and you saying "I can fix this Honey. I don't want "average" tradesmen coming into our house and not taking their shoes off."

iamstop wrote: »
    Been in Canada 8 years now. Find it odd now when I got back to Dublin and walk in to someone's gaff with shoes on. Feels weird to me now.

Lived in NY for 7 years. Fair share of snow there between November and March.

Never saw such a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Danonino. wrote: »
    No shoes indoors makes sense if you have carpets or maybe small children (crawling stage) outside that... it’s floors, for walking on. If you aren’t cleaning your floors regularly or eating off them you got bigger problems. I’ve been asked to remove footwear in a few homes and rarely* had a problem with it though, their house their rules. I had a friend with feet that smelt like rotting flesh and the next time we called to the same house we were told not to worry about taking the shoes off :pac: He was very, very embarrassed as it was horribly obvious. At least we didn’t have to try not gag as we sipped beers in the kitchen.

Are you the one vacuuming and cleaning your floors? I am in my house and I prefer not to do it more cleaning than I currently am on my floors (sweeping daily and twice weekly vacuuming), nor do I want more wear and tear on my floors or all kinds of unknown dirt and debris brought in from outside on shoes.

It's not just carpets, wooden floors and tiles can get scuffed and marked too.

A friend with foot odour problems who didn't bother to wash their feet before coming into my home wouldn't be a friend for long...that's so disrespectful and disgusting.
    Now being offered someone else’s slippers?? Get fooked. ‘They’ve been washed’ don’t care get fooked. Ha ha I honestly would find it crazy bizarre to be offered alternate footwear when entering someone’s home. For all I know my above mentioned friend has worn them, and I don’t care if they’ve been through the machine twice at 90degrees and bleach, you’d be growing mushrooms between your toes within minutes.

As a side note: one of the houses I used to frequent was a ‘remove your footwear at the door’ house. Reasons were it was unhygienic. Funny that their cat could literally drag it’s own sh*t around the floors after dancing in its litter box and the great craic it was to step in someone else’s pets pee in your socks because your shoes could be a health hazard on the floor.

Meh

I don't think you or others who baulk at offering slippers to visitors understand how it works.
    You keep a few spare pairs of house shoes in the hallway for certain friends who come to your home if they haven't already brought their own to change into. Those shoes are ONLY used by the same people and washed the same way you regularly launder all clothing and I also deodorise them.
    Strangers or people you don't know that well who don't bring their own footwear either just wear socks or are offered a CLEAN pair of spare house shoes no-one else wears.
    I have 5 or 6 pairs of house shoes for this purpose in my hallway shoe storage cabinet.
    This is commonplace elsewhere across Europe where everyone knows you either bring your own pair, or you better have clean feet and socks on....because common curtesy, hygiene and self respect dictates this.

And again I'm sorry you know such slovenly and unclean people. It's definitely not ok to let a cat pee anywhere it likes. :rolleyes:

Greentopia wrote: »
    Are you the one vacuuming and cleaning your floors? I am in my house and I prefer not to do it more cleaning than I currently am on my floors (sweeping daily and twice weekly vacuuming), nor do I want more wear and tear on my floors or all kinds of unknown dirt and debris brought in from outside on shoes.

It's not just carpets, wooden floors and tiles can get scuffed and marked too.

A friend with foot odour problems who didn't bother to wash their feet before coming into my home wouldn't be a friend for long...that's so disrespectful and disgusting.

I don't think you or others who baulk at offering slippers to visitors understand how it works.
    You keep a few spare pairs of house shoes in the hallway for certain friends who come to your home if they haven't already brought their own to change into. Those shoes are ONLY used by the same people and washed the same way you regularly launder all clothing and I also deodorise them.
    Strangers or people you don't know that well who don't bring their own footwear either just wear socks or are offered a CLEAN pair of spare house shoes no-one else wears.
    I have 5 or 6 pairs of house shoes for this purpose in my hallway shoe storage cabinet.
    This is commonplace elsewhere across Europe where everyone knows you either bring your own pair, or you better have clean feet and socks on....because common curtesy, hygiene and self respect dictates this.

And again I'm sorry you know such slovenly and unclean people. It's definitely not ok to let a cat pee anywhere it likes. :rolleyes:

It’s similar to entering a controlled area in a pharmaceutical plant ?

No shoes indoors makes sense if you have carpets or maybe small children (crawling stage) outside that... it’s floors, for walking on. If you aren’t cleaning your floors regularly or eating off them you got bigger problems. I’ve been asked to remove footwear in a few homes and rarely* had a problem with it though, their house their rules. I had a friend with feet that smelt like rotting flesh and the next time we called to the same house we were told not to worry about taking the shoes off :pac: He was very, very embarrassed as it was horribly obvious.
    Some people have a condition where they work so hard to keep their feet clean and fresh but they still reek. I feel bad for those folks if expected to abide by the rule when it's unnecessary.

Ah here, a hallway shoe storage compartment and slippers with your friends names on them!

It'd be quicker and easier to vacuum and mop the floor ffs.

To be particularly vigilant regarding germs we should be wearing hazmat suits. Or at least not wearing shoes anywhere indoors.

FTA69 wrote: »
    “House shoes”. Jesus you’re obsessed with “house shoes”, imagine bringing another pair of shoes to visit someone. That’s absolutely mad like.

“Oh hi here’s a bottle of wine and some chocolates we picked up. Oh these? These are just my house shoes. Oh I couldn’t possibly visit without bringing my house shoes. Don’t worry they’ve only been worn in my house!”

Mental carry on.

It's just the English translation of what I'm accustomed to calling them when I'm with my fiancee and when I lived elsewhere in Europe-Hausschuhe. They're not the same as slippers so I use that word.

Mad? so basically you're calling all the populations of Nordic countries, Central European nations like Germany, Austria and Switzerland, and pretty much all Eastern European...mad. Righto :D

Just because it's a cultural norm to keep outdoor shoes on in this country doesn't mean it's what we all should mindlessly follow. Especially when you see how much cleaner it is to keep shoes for outdoors only.

No-one has ridiculous conversations like that where it's the norm to have a light pair of slippers of shoes with them when you visit friends.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭YellowLead

It could be an urban/ rural thing? As in country people don’t take their shoes off when coming indoors?

JayRoc wrote: »
    I rarely accuse people on boards of being deliberately untruthful but some of the stuff here is taking the mick.

Pretending that it's normal to be asked to take your shoes off when you enter a gaff: it's not. It absolutely is not.

I can assure you there is no untruthfulness from me anyway. It's normal for me. Normal for others here on this thread who say they don't wear hard shoes indoors. Normal for all my friends when I go and visit them in their homes and when they visit me.

It's simply a good habit I picked up when I lived elsewhere in Europe decades ago where what is "normal" there is to take ones shoes off when you enter a home and I continued it when I came back home. Millions of people do it across Europe and Asia, and many people do it here in this country also who have never lived elsewhere.

Maybe open your mind a little to see there are others who view what you deem to be normal as not so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

You really can't beat removing the shoes after walking in the door on a cold day and feeling the warmth of the under floor heating as you move around the house.

The Cool wrote: »
    T if I'm wearing sandals or slip on pumps, taking them off means walking around in bare feet which is gack to me. So I would consciously wear socks and shoes. Just a wee bit annoying having to be conscious of it but hey, her house.

Personally I'd rather do the little bit extra when it comes to cleaning, than expect guests to go around my house in socks or bare feet. That's grand in your own house, I think it's uncomfortable having to have bare feet in somebody else's house, having a cuppa as a visitor.

Why on earth do some people here think no outdoor shoes indoors means you have to walk around barefoot? socks. Indoor shoes or moccasins. Slippers. I never wear indoor shoes in someone else's home and never have had to go bare foot. I either bring my own indoor shoes with me, just have socks on or have a pair of nylon sock liners I wear with the indoor shoes my friend gives me to wear if it's a friend I visit.

It's really not that complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,979 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

cantdecide wrote: »
    An etiquette vs hygiene question for the room.

My friend and housemate will come in to our main living room wearing anything from his formal office shoes to runners or work books and will pop his feet up on our shared coffee table and will leave them there for extended periods of time. It’s a cheap piece of furniture that he bought so this is strictly a hygiene issue in a shared space to me.

I’m appalled he does this at all, but especially since I’ve asked him not to and have fought with him about it on other occasion. The couch reclines and as far as I’m concerned, this is why we have foot stools.

Am I out of order pushing this issue?

It sounds like he knows it annoys you and is taking the piss / winding you up

Why on earth do some people here think no outdoor shoes indoors means you have to walk around barefoot? socks. Indoor shoes or moccasins. Slippers. I never wear indoor shoes in someone else's home and never have had to go bare foot. I either bring my own indoor shoes with me, just have socks on or have a pair of nylon sock liners I wear with the indoor shoes my friend gives me to wear if it's a friend I visit.

It's really not that complicated.

I will admit nobody has ever handed me indoor shoes when I have visited their house. I’d probably be a tiny bit insulted (like what is wrong with my socks I wear clean socks!) or think they were a tad quirky. I’d prob be a bit grossed out putting my feet into somebody else’s shoes too! But I would have no issue with somebody bringing indoor shoes to my house instead of just socks. Again I’d think they were a bit off beat but it wouldn’t bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Everybody who visits my house takes their shoes off at the door. I wouldn’t say anything to a person who didn’t but it’s not normal behaviour here. I live in a muddy part of the world - like Ireland.

If it was the norm in a country I probably wouldn't think this but if I arrived at someone's house and they had these rules like, here take off your shoes and put on these slippers, I'd feel I was entering the house of a control freak.

I wouldn’t ask somebody to. Most people I know just do take them off, and tbh if you are a guest in somebody’s house and you see them shoeless indoors you should follow suit no? But I wouldn’t ask somebody to, nor would it bother me too much.

Insisting other people put on special shoes in your house is quite odd though in this country.

I'm just surprised that so many Irish people have their shoes taken off at the front door. Thought that was more of one of those weird social-climbing Brit habits, whose 'class impersonations' John Betjemen used to take the piss out of.
    Phone for the fish knives, Norman
    As cook is a little unnerved;
    You kiddies have crumpled the serviettes
    And I must have things daintily served.

Are the requisites all in the toilet?
    The frills round the cutlets can wait
    Till the girl has replenished the cruets
    And switched on the logs in the grate.

It's ever so close in the lounge dear,
    But the vestibule's comfy for tea
    And Howard is riding on horseback
    So do come and take some with me

Now here is a fork for your pastries
    And do use the couch for your feet;
    I know that I wanted to ask you-
    Is trifle sufficient for sweet?

Milk and then just as it comes dear?
    I'm afraid the preserve's full of stones;
    Beg pardon, I'm soiling the doileys
    With afternoon tea-cakes and scones.

It's a joke about people trying to put on airs. Just relax, or you'll look foolish. Leave your shoes on. The carpet can be cleaned.

fvp4 wrote: »
    Any animal that comes in would need indoor shoes. Also best to wrap them up fully in plastic, because they shed. Leave a breathing hole.

When I lived with my partner and he had his ex's dog for visits he had a towel outside the front door of the apartment to wipe the dog's feet after a walk. Pretty standard. No indoor shoes :pac:

Greentopia wrote:
    When I lived with my partner and he had his ex's dog for visits he had a towel outside the front door of the apartment to wipe the dog's feet after a walk. Pretty standard. No indoor shoes

A bit like the way humans have a mat outside the door to wipe their feet on.

I can't avoid the invisible dirt that these items leave behind after being picked up by the owner or the white transparent phlegm. Nor do I believe that if I don't see it happen, it didn't happen.

How much does it cost to have your paths commercially disinfected hourly?

I'm not certain. It comes out of my taxes, but I can quite possibly ask the daily council workers who bleach and steam the streets on a nightly basis if they monitor the amount of spittle and phlegm that appears to be the bane of your life.

You will have people take their shoes off when entering your house...because the shoes might carry germs and could turn your house into a petri dish. But then you'll shake hands and probably kiss my girlfriend after she kicks off her tarty stilettoes. And trust me, she has shagged everyone and she's good at it. That's why I am with her.

I’m a more modern man , when I get home I take off the work shoes and slip into a pair of 6inch heels louboutinis but I have little heal socks so they don’t dent the carpet

I'm not certain. It comes out of my taxes, but I can quite possibly ask the daily council workers who bleach and steam the streets on a nightly basis if they monitor the amount of spittle and phlegm that appears to be the bane of your life.

You will have people take their shoes off when entering your house...because the shoes might carry germs and could turn your house into a petri dish. But then you'll shake hands and probably kiss my girlfriend after she kicks off her tarty stilettoes. And trust me, she has shagged everyone and she's good at it. That's why I am with her.

The only way to choose a girlfriend:)

jester77 wrote: »
    Do they not put on shoe covers before entering the houses :eek:
    Here in Germany they always do, very unrespectful not to.

Irish trades people wear shoe covers? :pac: my German guy brought a box of covers from Germany along with some building supplies for my house expecting the (Irish) plumber to naturally want to wear them to show the same consideration and respect German plumbers do when they go into peoples homes there.

I was scowled at when the plumber arrived and I asked him to wear them, but he grudgingly did.
    Different mentality here.

Irish trades people wear shoe covers? :pac: my German guy brought a box of covers from Germany along with some building supplies for my house expecting the (Irish) plumber to naturally want to wear them to show the same consideration and respect German plumbers do when they go into peoples homes there.

I was scowled at when the plumber arrived and I asked him to wear them, but he grudgingly did.
    Different mentality here.

It goes beyond wearing shoe covers when it comes to tradesmen in Germany. You’ll never have to clean up after them either, in any manner. Skilled pros rather than apes with toolkits.

Ardillaun wrote: »
    Everybody who visits my house takes their shoes off at the door. I wouldn’t say anything to a person who didn’t but it’s not normal behaviour here. I live in a muddy part of the world - like Ireland.

It’s not that muddy of you’re not walking through the fields. I take hiking boots off to be fair but I don’t visit people in boots.

JayZeus wrote: »
    It goes beyond wearing shoe covers when it comes to tradesmen in Germany. You’ll never have to clean up after them either, in any manner. Skilled pros rather than apes with toolkits.

What about all the German tradesmen in Ireland? Huh?

You’ll never get the self-entitled indignation from them if you had to remind them to take their shoes off at the door, that’s for sure.

They’re smart enough to know the difference between someone’s home and a building site.

Ah here, a hallway shoe storage compartment and slippers with your friends names on them!

It'd be quicker and easier to vacuum and mop the floor ffs.

No names on, I just know who wears what and the different shoe sizes make it apparent also.

Shoe racks or storage is commonplace here too though in halls...isn't it? :confused: my friends have them anyway.

How would it be easier to make more work for myself if my floors get more dirty?

It's true though. They were particular about the type of indoor shoe too. Most kids used slippers

"Most kids use slippers"

As a Dub going to the bog during Summer to my uncle's farm. Playing in the hay, peppered with midge bites, catching frogs, eating wild berries and then puking them up because it was only July and they weren't edible until August.
    Playing on a manure heap we'd put down the cheese and egg sandwich on the dunghill and chase the football as it splashed into a sumpy swamp of silage effluent.

"You get it"
    "No you get it"

Pick up sandwich off the dung heap and eat. Throw the last crust over the fence into the hen house. Back inside then for "tea".

At the end of the summer I'd be back up in Dublin before September amongst all the mates who are allergic to everything.