Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fly me to the Moon - your 3rd travel Megathread - read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 17 ionnn

• Registered Users Posts: 15,266 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

ionnn wrote: »

They can delay by 6 weeks at most from 1st July we know that.

However while the article states the possibility of only letting fully vaccinated travel, that can't happen. They can advise all they want, this was discussed in length last week, but in real life once the DCC is launched here anyone can travel. Someone can take their advice or disregard it. Its fairly straightforward though

Another article though from the Independent where they jump to a conclusion after they don't get the answer they wanted to a question.

Marine layer, Thank you. There were alot of people getting paid alot of money that couldn't give me that information.

Who? Please remember you are asking about something that does not yet exist in Ireland and is only on trial in a few countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

ionnn wrote: »

The independent is an absolute rag. I dont know how its journalists live with themselves. I'm struggling to think of a bigger pile of garbage I've ever read than that article spinning every line into doom and fear. For example:

"Speaking at Government Buildings last night, he also cast doubt over current plans to allow foreign travel to resume on July 19, indicating these could be altered so people who are not vaccinated are advised against travelling.

“I don’t see an issue with fully vaccinated people travelling,” he said."

From where have they concluded non vaccinated people wont be "allowed" travel based on Leo's comment? The "journalist" presumably know full well the govt cant only allow freedom of movement for vaccinated people, the EU was very clear on that. That paragraph is just lies, full stop.

Unbelievable ****e. Put the indo in the bin where it belongs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,275 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/rising-cases-of-the-covid-delta-variant-could-delay-reopening-taoiseach-micheal-martin-admits-40570533.html

If spineless Míchéal does this when the Government announced July 19th previously and many people have bookings…
    Then also proceeds to discriminate on unvaccinated people in the process which is effectively age discrimination re our rights as EU citizens. The EU DCC is not designed to be a vaccine or age apartheid cert - it’s a fair approach.
    But here unelected ego centric boss Tony has spoken & Mícheal who is elected is failing his people, his citizens and our economy. Absolutely fuming - willing to protest over this blatant failure to Govern. Never one vote will any of these 3 parties get again after this last 12 months.

The gaslighting approach is the last 24 hours is emotional abuse at its finest - free PCR, no free PCR, ISAG media, vaccinated travel, Dr Tony - all ramping up the fear factor and hype.

Only in Ireland is this happening to this degree - German’s & other European’s are visiting family they’ve been separated from for months, others sitting on beaches right now as the DCC is already in use in at least 12 member states.

Do the Government realise how families who are EU citizens living in Ireland, whom I’ve spoken to this week will feel - so excited at the prospect of seeing loved ones they’ve been separated from for months on end. Imagine listening & reading this nonsense each day.

Any don’t even get me started on airlines, airports and what this will do.

• Registered Users Posts: 726 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

I don't understand how they think they can get away with no travel for unvaccinated people when a massive cohort of people still haven't even been offered a vaccine.

How can you bar people in their twenties and thirties from doing things unvaccinated when you haven't even offered them a bloody vaccine yet?

Completely unfair to those who are patiently waiting for their vaccine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

Is there a suggestion of no travel post July 19th for vaccinated people?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

Please can somome tell me the correct information.
    I am going to Spain on the 20th July. Non essential travel( well its essential to me).
    2 scenarios.

1. I am unvaccinated, i am getting a pcr test (didnt know about antigen until now) within 48 hrs of entering spain have it booked and paid for, all going well its negative. So can you tell me do i need this phantom thing called Digital Covert cert or will a letter from the test company randox do the job or will i need both and if so how the fudge do you get the digital covid cert.

Save yourself some money. Cancel the PCR (Randox allow this no problem) and book the antigen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,639 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Was on the lash yesterday so didn’t see the news till this morning. What a sh1t-show in Ireland.

Despite the noise ireland cant really justify postponing signing up to the DGC beyond July 19th. That’s what was agreed at EU level. (They haven’t a hope in hell of preventing vaccinated people from travel anyway)

This news might be helpful for some of you. For anyone who has an NIE number for Spain, if you got your first vaccine in Ireland and you’re visiting Spain you can apply to have your 2nd vaccine in spain by registering for your temp SIP in your local health centre. I’ve had a couple of people tell me they managed to do it here.

Meanwhile I’m off to get me first vaccine tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,266 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

faceman wrote: »
    Was on the lash yesterday so didn’t see the news till this morning. What a sh1t-show in Ireland.

Despite the noise ireland cant really justify postponing signing up to the DGC beyond July 19th. That’s what was agreed at EU level. (They haven’t a hope in hell of preventing vaccinated people from travel anyway)

This news might be helpful for some of you. For anyone who has an NIE number for Spain, if you got your first vaccine in Ireland and you’re visiting Spain you can apply to have your 2nd vaccine in spain by registering for your temp SIP in your local health centre. I’ve had a couple of people tell me they managed to do it here.

Meanwhile I’m off to get me first vaccine tonight!

They can delay it's implementation, they've 6 weeks from 1st July to have it in.

What they can't do is say only vaccinated people can travel, this conversation was had here last week when the CMO mentioned about not travelling if your not vaccinated. Once the cert is in anyone can travel, they can advise not to travel but you can ignore the advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

They can delay it's implementation, they've 6 weeks from 1st July to have it in.

What they can't do is say only vaccinated people can travel, this conversation was had here last week when the CMO mentioned about not travelling if your not vaccinated. Once the cert is in anyone can travel, they can advise not to travel but you can ignore the advice.

2 things on this. I think they potentially will extend the date beyond July 19 right up to the 6 week limit thus once again destroying peoples travel plans. I also think that employers and potentially the Civil Service could get very uptight about anyone travelling vaccinated or not and therefore ignoring govt advice.

They won't :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Donnelly hinting on Morning Ireland that the DCC could in theory be limited to fully vaccinated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,639 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Vaccine discrimination is not permitted in the EU. The Irish government may stall the DGC but they can’t restrict people travelling based on vaccine status. It’s even more enshrined in Irish law. That’s why employers can’t have one rule for vaccinated people and another for unvaccinated

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭dalyboy

spockety wrote: »
    Donnelly hinting on Morning Ireland that the DCC could in theory be limited to fully vaccinated.

So if an unvaccinated person has booked a holiday to the tune of thousands of € and are now being barred from the DCC who will cover the travellers financial loss ? “In theory” !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dashoonage

There is a netflix series here somewhere lads where the members of NPHET wake up on a Ryanair flight.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭dalyboy

dashoonage wrote: »
    There is a netflix series here somewhere lads where the members of NPHET wake up on a Ryanair flight.....

That’s like a movie I saw called snakes on a plane

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

josip wrote: »
    Email the Italian embassy in Ireland and ask them what the procedure is.
    Include your passport number in your email signature.
    Print out and bring with you.
    (I got a reply from the French embassy within 24 hours, the Belgians are a bit sluggish)

Thanks, dropped them a mail this morning. It all seems odd as there is nothing in the media about it, and anything that is there is mentioning quarantine free access from the US etc. The reopen EU website also suggests that a test is sufficient. An Italian friend has also mailed their officials for comment. I believe that all countries still have to accept other forms of proof for entry for the 6 week transition period, from reading the press releases about the DCC.

Solobally8 wrote: »
    Save yourself some money. Cancel the PCR (Randox allow this no problem) and book the antigen.

I would disagree. For the extra 20, it's less hassle. You still have people that don't recognize antigen plus within countries, some places accept pcr for longer.

As an example, of traveling via the UK Ryanair will not accept antigen even where it's asked by the country of travel.

Within some countries, you need regular tests to access social facilities and hotels. Antigen is valid for 72 hours but you get a full week for a pcr.

The good news for those vaccinated, so far for me no one has had an issue with just a picture of the vaccine card on my phone. Not even the original (which I didn't want to travel with).

Also, I know the border is brought up a lot as a loophole so just to point out, few if any countries are stopping and checking cross corder trains.

Bratislava to Prague, I wasn't stopped by any border official at any stage. Same for Spain into France.

dalyboy wrote: »
    So if an unvaccinated person has booked a holiday to the tune of thousands of € and are now being barred from the DCC who will cover the travellers financial loss ? “In theory” !

Government will say they always warned people about booking anything...

faceman wrote: »
    Vaccine discrimination is not permitted in the EU. The Irish government may stall the DGC but they can’t restrict people travelling based on vaccine status. It’s even more enshrined in Irish law. That’s why employers can’t have one rule for vaccinated people and another for unvaccinated

Maybe the DCC is for all, but still a 2k fine for unvaccinated doing unnecessary travel...

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Chuck Norris 2021

Maybe the DCC is for all, but still a 2k fine for unvaccinated doing unnecessary travel...

I don't think even this government would have that much neck, they're already very close to the edge with their flexible approach to EU law...

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

Called that here yesterday. This is all coordinated and blatantly so.

So you dont get the DCC and just travel the normal way with PCR test for return surely?

I actually cant believe the amount of **** and confusion they are deliberately kicking up.

Is the DCC not an all or nothing too? Surely ireland only issuing to vaccinated people makes the whole thing pointless?

ETA: unless rte or journal etc publish something indicating same I think we can assume the DCC is going ahead as planned. This conversation started on here based on 1 poster reading something into what Donnelly said on morning ireland. If the govt dont leak the same info to the papers ie DCC only for vaccinated people I'm not concerned yet.

And either way I'm going.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,307 ✭✭✭facehugger99

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    So you dont get the DCC and just travel the normal way with PCR test for return surely?

I actually cant believe the amount of **** and confusion they are deliberately kicking up.

Is the DCC not an all or nothing too? Surely ireland only issuing to vaccinated people makes the whole thing pointless?

ETA: unless rte or journal etc publish something indicating same I think we can assume the DCC is going ahead as planned. This conversation started on here based on 1 poster reading something into what Donnelly said on morning ireland. If the govt dont leak the same info to the papers ie DCC only for vaccinated people I'm not concerned yet.

Sow confusion. Muddy the waters.

I doubt it will work with most users of this thread but it will work with a lot of people who will be too worried to book a foreign holiday.

Another shameful episode in Ireland's 'handling' of Covid.

M_Murphy57 wrote: »

It started with the taoiseach saying it to the Indo

They can’t do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Will they be able to sell this to the EU? NPHET seems to be concerned about unvaccinated people going from here on holidays to socialise, but how can you justify quarantining a foreign EU national coming to Ireland from one of the many countries with lower Covid rates and lower rates of the Delta variant? The six-week limit is possibly for getting the technical stuff sorted and EU countries are supposed to accept other documentation to allow free movement from 1 July...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Tazz T wrote: »
    Well at least that's cleared things up. Look forward to Leo saying the opposite tonight before some more conflicting info from another source tomorrow.

/following day/

'He (MM) has also suggested the resumption of foreign travel from July 19 may only apply to those who are fully vaccinated, depending on Nphet advice.'

Might as well ignore any news regarding the DCC at this stage. Everything really hinges on the fine going, unless they plan on just fining those who are unvaccinated from travelling - which would be a step too far.

It started with the taoiseach saying it to the Indo

Can you point me to the direct quote from MM you are referring to? Because this is how it read to me:

Leo V: "vaccinated people should be allowed travel"
    Indo: "Tainiste indicates unvaccinated may not be allowed to travel"

Do you see the difference?

The indo is a steaming pile of garbage that just prints lies and clickbait, it's worse than the Daily Mail.

The govt routinely use RTE and the Irish mirror for kite flying. Unless one of those print a direct quote from MM saying they are flying in the face of EU law and introducing vaccine apartheid then I think we can all just ignore that indo article. It's just garbage gutter journalism.