Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F1 2021 Round 6: Azerbaijan GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

Could Max still win this if they don't restart? Sky are saying yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭McFly85

Faugheen wrote: »
    I don’t understand why Pirelli have questions to answer?

Why can’t teams monitor for themselves and see that a 2-stop might be necessary?

This idea that every race has to be a one-stop needs to be done away with.

Tyre failure is completely different to tyre wear. Pirelli’s own statement said these tyres are capable of 40 laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No sense restarting this. Not with the question mark over every rear tyre. Flag it.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Larbre34 wrote: »
    No sense restarting this. Not with the question mark over every rear tyre. Flag it.

They’ll all be allowed to change tyres

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

I don’t understand why Pirelli have questions to answer?

Why can’t teams monitor for themselves and see that a 2-stop might be necessary?

This idea that every race has to be a one-stop needs to be done away with.

Pirelli say they are good for 40 laps.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

I don't fancy searching through the rule book, what happens now? Will they restart the race, if yes is a standing start?

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭LMHC

namloc1980 wrote: »
    What?? His tyre failed ffs

Yes I know his left rear to be precise. I don't mean he ****ed up I mean his race ****ed up. Also it is about management Lewis said to control at 46 I can't push anymore I won't get closer. Maybe Max wasn't as cautious

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Looking like a one lap shoot out after they all put on softs during the red flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Disaster for the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

If they end the race now Max will win as he was leading the race at the end of the lap previous to the accident lap.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Pirelli say they are good for 40 laps.

That’s actually fair enough.

Still. I hate that every race is aimed to have a one-stop.

Three categories of tyres for everyone. Some races will be 1-stop, others will be 2-3.

They’ll all be allowed to change tyres

Not sure thats sufficient in the circumstances. Light fuel, high speed, high downforce, too risky in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Irishjg

One stop races should be banned. For many reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Looking at it again, very lucky Max went right and not left as he may have hit a solid wall.

Serious questions of Pirelli now.

They will only restart it because they can all change theirs while they wait.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Not sure thats sufficient in the circumstances. Light fuel, high speed, high downforce, too risky in my view.

But they can put on fresh tyres and get those ones that are at the end of their lives off.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Any chance of it being abandoned and count back for Max to win! Isn't that how Fisi got the final Jordan win

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

It's an absolute joke that Masi's considering a restart. Hamilton gets f*cking #BLESSED with another win and Sky cream themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

skipper_G wrote: »
    I mean I feel bad for Verstappen, but I'm a massive Perez fan and he's leading the race now. Also Vettel P3 for Aston so great day for me

Yeah I'm torn, delighted for Checo and Seb, but heart broken for Max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭recyclebin

If they end the race now Max will win as he was leading the race at the end of the lap previous to the accident lap.

You cant win a race if you are directly involved in causing the red flag. You'd think commentator would know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The way the car starts to snake when the tire goes, the driver is basically a passenger

But they can put on fresh tyres and get those ones that are at the end of their lives off.

Just thinking of that they won't have time to get them to race temp? We've seen many today struggle with that.

Won't be any point restarting it as a race for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Pirelli in serious trouble

That’s actually fair enough.

Still. I hate that every race is aimed to have a one-stop.

Three categories of tyres for everyone. Some races will be 1-stop, others will be 2-3.

But you cannot stop a team having a strategy. If a strategy is 1 stop for Max and 2 for Perez that is their prerogative. It is entirely up to a team who does what and how.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Very sporting from Red Bull to call for the red flag and put safety above their own ambitions.

Makes you wonder if certain other people would do and agree with the same thing, if they were leading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So red bull are saying they got zero indication that the tyre was going to fail.

Tyre failure is different to tyre wear.

It's an absolute joke that Masi's considering a restart. Hamilton gets f*cking #BLESSED with another win and Sky cream themselves.

Well Red Bull disagree with you.

Always the FIA wanting to give Hamilton a win though. Keep up the fantastic bullsh*t there pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Catastrophic tyre failure at 300kmh is unacceptable. Pirelli need to sort out their shiit.

Red Bull seem to agree with me (or I with them rather)

Now I know Red Bull would say that wouldn't they, but fresh or worn out are not necessarily the variable here.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

devnull wrote: »
    Very sporting from Red Bull to call for the red flag and put safety above their own ambitions.

Makes you wonder if certain other people would do and agree with the same thing, if they were leading.

There would be no risk of Tyree failure under safety car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Need to send the hardest tyres to Silverstone this year

LMHC wrote: »
    But you cannot stop a team having a strategy. If a strategy is 1 stop for Max and 2 for Perez that is their prerogative. It is entirely up to a team who does what and how.

But they decide their strategy based on what Pirelli tells them and nearly every race the 3 out of 5 tyre compounds are decided based on a one-stop strategy.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So red bull are saying they got zero indication that the tyre was going to fail.

Tyre failure is different to tyre wear.

Do they mean in terms of they'd have known if it was debris?

Same tyre and same part of the track, it all points to failure you would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Aw man, poor Latifi

That’s rotten for Latifi. What was his race engineer thinking?

But they decide their strategy based on what Pirelli tells them and nearly every race the 3 out of 5 tyre compounds are decided based on a one-stop strategy.

Pirelli give advice on the tire used pre race. Take into consideration track temp, rain fall, breaking (mid race)power exerted from the car (mid race) too many variables just be cut and drawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Ah for feck sake. What a joke for Latifi.

Do they mean in terms of they'd have known if it was debris?

Same tyre and same part of the track, it all points to failure you would think.

No specifically, it could be repeated on same part of track if same lines were taken. An issue with the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

HAM will win this, so undeserved.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Restart and Perez to take Hamilton out so Max stays leading. Everyone wins!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Like this FIA team radio

Masi is great. He can say shut up and p1ss off in any language!

Hahahaha Mclaren grassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Like this FIA team radio

Masi taking no sh1t there 😂

Hahaha that Michael Masi radio was great.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭R00ster

Will they allow Mazepin to unlap himself first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I imagine if they weren't restarting the race we'd know by now wouldn't we?

That’s rotten for Latifi. What was his race engineer thinking?

555148.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭flazio

R00ster wrote: »
    Will they allow Mazepin to unlap himself first?

He wasn't recaught after the safety car

Merc just preparing the spaceship for takeoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Hahaha that Michael Masi radio was great.

It was. Saw right through what they were up to. The saying there’s a pair of ye in it lads.