Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorcycle Camping

Options
  • 09-06-2021 4:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

Just setting up a new thread so anyone interested in motorcycle camping can just look on here for tips and all that ****.

I'm new to motorcycle camping myself, but have done hiking and camping quite a few times over the year.

Biggest thing for me is deciding on going hard or soft panniers.
    I went with Soft panniers on the DR to save weight when on trails incase I drop the bike or do something stupid.
    If I was taking main roads I'd probally have taken the bigger bike with hard panniers for security.

Get drybags as well for everything, nothing worse than finding everything is wet after a day of riding.
    My tent is just a cheap decathalon 3 person tent I had from a few years ago, but I'd recommend a lightweight 2 person tent minimum, mainly so you have space to keep your gear in the tent too beside you and not leave it out in the open.

Theres other **** too to bring, but I'll put up a post on that later on. I'm prepping the bike soon for the French TET so can get pictures of that as well for anyone interested. heading from Cherbourg to Monaco and then might go up through Italy to get to Switzerland.

m6GDl7Z.jpg

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Great idea for a thread. I've mentioned it to the missus that I'd like to go camping with the bikes. My GSA is a workhorse and has plenty of carrying capacity.

What's the story with wild camping in Ireland, is there any no-go places ? Not a fan of campsites.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭goblin59