Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Repair, scrap, or buy new?

• 11-06-2021 8:31am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭

Just looking for general advice here.
    My Skoda( 131) has stopped due to a failed injector ( 1.6 diesel) . It has 150000kn on it and is in good condition, full service history etc,

The cost for one injector, is €750
    I have recently replaced the door window regulator. An NCT is due and I might need to replace disks on the back.( about €350).

My worry is that I am starting down on the road on continous repair. Would replacing one injector lead to the others failing? Is it worth spending that sort of money on a 8 yr old car?

So I feel my options are to sell to a dismantler and walk away , pick up something maybe 5 yrs old with lower mileage, or spend the money and hope it doesn't cost too much , or sign up for a new finance deal?
    I am retired , only use the car occasionally but i do live 25km from nearest city/town.

I appreciate only i can decide but i would appreciate any advice
    or suggestions or experience with VW engines at this milage.

thanks

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Cars are money pits.

Yours doesn't sound too bad tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

rock22 wrote: »
    My Skoda( 131) has stopped due to a failed injector ( 1.6 diesel) . It has 150000kn on it and is in good condition, full service history etc,

I have recently replaced the door window regulator. An NCT is due and I might need to replace disks on the back.( about €350).

My worry is that I am starting down on the road on continous repair. Would replacing one injector lead to the others failing? Is it worth spending that sort of money on a 8 yr old car?

So I feel my options are to sell to a dismantler and walk away , pick up something maybe 5 yrs old with lower mileage, or spend the money and hope it doesn't cost too much , or sign up for a new finance deal?
    I am retired , only use the car occasionally but i do live 25km from nearest city/town.

thanks

Don't get new injectors, I just got 4 refurbished injectors for my 131 i40 for €800 parts and labour, you'd get one refurbished for about €150 and maybe get charged hours labour for removing and putting back in say €220 thereabouts depending on garage

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭kaahooters

repair it and save teh few grand changing would cost ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

Madness throwing it away over a €1k odd repair.....

I wouldnt bother with a new injector either, good used one from a crashed car and save yourself €600.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,420 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

An 8 year old car isn't old, it should have another 5 years of useful service life in it if it's maintained. And a diesel at 150,000kms is barely broken in

I'm driving a 14 year old Saab at the moment, apart from tyres and servicing, it hasn't cost me a penny in parts or repairs in 2 years and absolutely everything works in it

If the car is working fine other than the injectors, stick with it, it's done most of it's depreciating now, and the costs of the repairs are less than the just the background depreciation cost of a new car

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

Put it through nct and go from there, get a refurb or used Injector... changing car will cost thousands etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭rock22

Thanks for all the advice. Much appreciated.
    The car broke down ( went to limp mode) close to the dealers i had originally bought it from. They examined it and determined it needed an injector and the cost they gave me was €717 for a refurbished/re-conditioned injector, fitted.
    I appreciated i could take it to another garage but I have no idea where and that alone would cost a few hundred Euro for a tow truck because it is still not drivable.
    I am not too sure that the main dealer would fit an injector from a crashed car but i can ask.
    BlakeS94, can you post a link to the supplier of the refurbished injectors?

Thanks for all the advice, I will see if i can bring the repair cost down a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Back Home

thanks
    You’re retired, Time to move the car on and get a petrol for your type of driving and forget about using secondhand parts for a diesel, it doesn’t work out in the long term based on my experience of 40 years being a mechanic.
    At 150,000 km you are heading into DPF blockages and other issues in a car that is currently worth about €7000 in today’s market.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

Thanks for all the advice. Much appreciated.
    The car broke down ( went to limp mode) close to the dealers i had originally bought it from. They examined it and determined it needed an injector and the cost they gave me was €717 for a refurbished/re-conditioned injector, fitted.
    I appreciated i could take it to another garage but I have no idea where and that alone would cost a few hundred Euro for a tow truck because it is still not drivable.
    I am not too sure that the main dealer would fit an injector from a crashed car but i can ask.
    BlakeS94, can you post a link to the supplier of the refurbished injectors?

Thanks for all the advice, I will see if i can bring the repair cost down a bit.

http://dieselinjectorrepairlimerick.ie/services/

The garage is called SRG motors in Limerick, they have a partnership with the company in that link above, you could contact either.

These are the lads my garage used, I was told it was €700 for the 4 injectors refurbished and an hours labour or so to remove and refit, that being said the injectors on my car are right at the top of the engine in the centre so if yours are hard to get at then that may add to labour costs. They do removal and refitting service anywhere in Ireland also, worth giving a shout if you're near Limerick.

If you're being charged €717 for one repaired injector you're being ripped off. Unless they're changing all 4 at that price and they have a "if one's gone the others aren't far behind" mentality.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,564 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

OP if you deal it will cost you 15k to go up to 2017/2018 maybe more. Cars are an expense. I presume that is not a new injector. Some cars are prone to injectors giving trouble.

Cars are like that you get a lot of trouble together and then get 2-3 years trouble free. However VW's and there other related brands tend to give a bit of trouble that you might not see with some of the Asian brands

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

an eight year old car isnt old and thats not a big repair cost

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

If you get replacement injectors get new return pipes/outlets with it. They're a horrible fiddly thing, mounted arseways to one side of the injector top that usually snaps when you try to remove them. Don't forget a new bolt for the injector clamp too, €18 from VW if I remember, 1 clamp for 2 injectors

• Registered Users Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I've spent about €1,300 on my 13 year old car this week for service, tyres, tax and a small electrical issue. Other than fuel, that's all I'm likely to spend for the next 12 months.

It's a (ever so slightly) unusual car in that it's 3.0 straight 6 petrol but I don't drive a whole pile and I like keeping it right. Much happier spending money on keeping it straight rather than paying a car loan. It's also having €2,000 spent on bodywork repair soon (not my money) due to a small tip it had recently. My neighbors first reaction when he saw the damage was to ask when I was scrapping it.

These threads always give me pause to wonder if I'm mad or not. :o

Thanks again for all the advice.
    I rang around a few injector service centres. Quoted €355 + vat for an injector so perhaps around €700 fitted etc is not too bad from a main dealer.
    I will go ahead with the repair now and then look at perhaps moving to a smaller petrol which might natch my needs better.

Thanks again for all the advice and help, it certainly helped my clarify my options and what I should do.

regards

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Plenty life left in that car. Skoda diesels generally fairly sound bar the odd issue. Repair as cheaply as possible as everyone else advised

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Fast2move

Thanks again for all the advice.
    I rang around a few injector service centres. Quoted €355 + vat for an injector so perhaps around €700 fitted etc is not too bad from a main dealer.
    I will go ahead with the repair now and then look at perhaps moving to a smaller petrol which might natch my needs better.

Thanks again for all the advice and help, it certainly helped my clarify my options and what I should do.

regards

To be honest the prices that you are being quoted are

1 a rip-off from the dealer but that is to be expected because chances are he’ll be pushing you to trade in the car

2 the injector place is ok if it includes fitting but still a little high

If you have a look on Micksgarage you’ll see an injector for your car is €150. But I understand buying an injector yourself and bringing it to an independent mechanic might be beyond what do you want to do

Thinking of scrapping a 2013 Skoda is beyond belief.

If you can afford to get a new car with a 3 to 5 manufacturer warranty then you will have peace of mind

But that peace of mind is going to cost you roughly around €5000 a year to save €1000 that will spend keeping your current car on the road

If you go down the route of a new car my advice will be to fix your current car run it through the NCT and then sell it privately and walk into a dealer with cash in your pocket

Hope it helps

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I've spent about €1,300 on my 13 year old car this week for service, tyres, tax and a small electrical issue. Other than fuel, that's all I'm likely to spend for the next 12 months.

It's a (ever so slightly) unusual car in that it's 3.0 straight 6 petrol but I don't drive a whole pile and I like keeping it right. Much happier spending money on keeping it straight rather than paying a car loan. It's also having €2,000 spent on bodywork repair soon (not my money) due to a small tip it had recently. My neighbors first reaction when he saw the damage was to ask when I was scrapping it.

These threads always give me pause to wonder if I'm mad or not. :o

My 18 year old car is getting new subframe bushings, will be worth it for the improvement I'm expecting when the car takes off and reversing.

I guess the moral of the story is people have to do what suits them, but I think scrapping a car over an injector is a bit mad (to be polite about it).

Back Home wrote: »
    You’re retired, Time to move the car on and get a petrol for your type of driving and forget about using secondhand parts for a diesel, it doesn’t work out in the long term based on my experience of 40 years being a mechanic.
    At 150,000 km you are heading into DPF blockages and other issues in a car that is currently worth about €7000 in today’s market.

What an absolute rotten take - this forum is getting worse with each passing day.

Thanks again for the advice , help and opinions.

My instinct was always to keep the car as long as possible and I am glad that the general opinion seems to match that. I am concerned about the other injectors going but once i have it repaired i will get time to price others for the injector.

Incidentally, a number of places , including michsgarage and some specialist companies, do not have the injectors in stock .

thanks again , i really enjoyed all the opinions and the help

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Back Home

What an absolute rotten take - this forum is getting worse with each passing day.
    And the reason for your rant is?

No one gonna offer him a few grand more than what a scrap dealer would offer him and do the job themselves? Just since there's such huge confidence I'm surprised no one is seeing the apparently easy opportunity for profit or a cheap car.