Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2020 - AH Official Thread *READ OP BEFORE POSTING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Pat Fenlon

Maybe Austria can level and make him look like a bigger fool than his time with the hibs

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

That was a great header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Hoof it up there ta fvck!

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Sadler Peak

Well done Austria, great heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,543 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

mzungu wrote: »
    That was a great header.

I love a good glancing header but I don't think I've ever seen glanced in from a foot or so from the ground. Mental.

Austria showed great heart.
    Ruined my bet but if Ireland played like that I would be very content.

Austria showed great heart.
    Ruined my bet but if Ireland played like that I would be very content.

Watching this tournament has made me realise how far behind the rest of pretty much every team in Europe we are right now. It's hard to believe we were in the same Nation's League as Denmark recently, they're on a different level altogether.

True. Even without Eriksen they would hammer us.
    I don't think there is a team in the Euro's we would beat. Maybe a draw against Ukraine at best.

Ukraine are a good side, I expected them to do better. North Macedonia even played some good ball. We can't really get any worse, that's my only silver lining right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭trashcan

ha I missed that did that really happen? you know you're getting on when you get that reference

Yep, sure did. Adrian Eames. After that good save from Bachman. And yeah, a sure sign of advancing years alright. What’s worse is, I was waiting for someone to make that pun :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Did you know Gianluca Vialli, Italian football legend and part of the Italian management team, grew up in a 40 bedroomed palace and is probably the poshest footballer ever?

Whats the background to that? If hes from the Tuscany area grand old houses from the Medici era are ten a penny. They are works of art but the Italians just see them as big gaffs from the past. I was at a wedding in one and spent more time looking at the artwork on the ceilings than the actual ceremony
    The strange thing is, in spite of this below par performance, they've now got the lead they needed and with Italy, who knows where it will lead them

Yeah even though they didnt play great tonight there is always something very wily about Italy when it comes to tournament football. Its like they have a knowledge box passed on from manager to manager on how to go deep into tournaments.

Did you know Gianluca Vialli, Italian football legend and part of the Italian management team, grew up in a 40 bedroomed palace and is probably the poshest footballer ever?

I'd never have guessed. Funny thing to non-Italians, he seems no different than any Italian. Seems a nice bloke either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Italy deserved to go through but var is still a c**t.

Should be used sparingly and wisely, this marginal sh*t drives me up the wall.

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Italy deserved to go through but var is still a c**t.

Should be used sparingly and wisely, this marginal sh*t drives me up the wall.

Arnautovic looked to be clearly offside to me by about a foot. Nothing too marginal about it.

556952.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Might beat Russia, they are useless, Turkey were rubbish as well, and if Slovakia played like they did against Spain, maybe, that only leaves 21 teams, plus another 10 who didn’t qualify who are probably better than Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,568 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Arnautovic looked to be clearly offside to me by about a foot. Nothing too marginal about it.

556952.JPG

He was offside by exactly a foot.

How useful are the Czechs is this gonna be a rout?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Youd swear Budapest was Tehran the way Sadler and Duff were going on

The lads should educate themselves and stop reading crap online

Good numbers for a neutral venue. Wembley felt a bit empty.

Last ditch block on that one. These do look alright

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Good numbers for a neutral venue. Wembley felt a bit empty.

According to Duffer and Sadlier we were about to get a Galatasary type atmosphere

Think these lads gotta take a look at the map and understand most rights in Hungary are still well more progressive than here, when did we allow abortions again ?

It's hilarious to listen to these twits bad mouthing a nation and people they've no idea of

Like calling the Irish terrorists if Sinn Fein ever got into government

Stick to the football lads

I wouldn’t call it hostile, just happening. Wembley has all the atmosphere of a vacant aircraft hangar so far it’s a pity the tourney is based there

That's a red.

The Dutch need to even the numbers so let the diving commence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Can't call this one now.

That’s the price you Depay

Bobblehats wrote: »
    That’s the price you Depay

Red card. No var required.

Well I had to look again. You didn’t, he wasn’t getting away with it anyway arm motion to ball

Daley Blind used to have some of the best hair in football.

Time is cruel mistress.

Well I had to look again. You didn’t, he wasn’t getting away with it anyway arm motion to ball

The red card was in reference to your pun. Early bath for you! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,804 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Arghus wrote: »
    Daley Blind used to have some of the best hair in football.

Time is cruel mistress.

The jersey jury award this win to Netherlands.... could the Czech gear be any blander?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Holland are fooked, har har har

Short corners. :rolleyes:

Learned the lesson tbf. woohoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiice.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

That was coming. The Dutch had been gradually losing their composure as the game has been going on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Holland have to go chasing this now.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    The jersey jury award this win to Netherlands.... could the Czech gear be any blander?

That white Czech Jersey must be amongst the worst in world football.

mzungu wrote: »
    Holland have to go chasing this now.

Can see them getting caught. They seem very wasteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭sully123

Stars aligning for england?

sully123 wrote: »

They’re playin these?! Feck off

Come on depay get ur waltzing shoes on

sully123 wrote: »

I'm already on record in this thread in stating that Southgate has the luck of the devil.

Over.

woooohoooo!!

stick that in yer trumpet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

Ah beauty!
    Up teh Czechs!

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

I wouldn't be surprised if they grabbed a third at this stage.

That man Schick!
    England in the final already.

Czechs conjuring up the spirit of Euro 96.

That man Schick!
    England in the final already.

Brother kept textin me. “Never doubt a kraut” “Never doubt a kraut” “Never doubt a kraut” yea shurrup already..

Yes hopefully Gerry can show up for this game, but England should really be winning it.

a748f6fd6298fba4c4bf44e9f69208c8.jpg