Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2020 - AH Official Thread *READ OP BEFORE POSTING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

wowza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Jaysus :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

What a goal! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭Pat_bottom

Stunning

And there's your goal of the tournament right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Pick that one out....

but what was the Scottish guy thinking taking a pot shot from so far out???? and he was the centre back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I zoned out for a second and then looked up when I heard Jon Kenny suddenly go AAAAAAAAAAAH!

What a strike. That's probably going to be the goal of the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Scotland playing well this half, unlucky not to have a goal or 2

Arghus wrote: »
    What a strike. That's probably going to be the goal of the tournament.

He saw the keeper further off his line than he should have been, at that particular moment in time and it arced around him nicely. Leaving him to have a row with the net

ya bam!

Always think of Pavel Nedved when watching the Czech Republic, and remembering how good a player he was....

And I remember being absolutely gutted for him when he went off in the Euro 2004 Semi against Greece with a knee injury, despite him trying to play on for a bit with the injury.... but he knew his game was over, and he was crying as he admitted such to himself..

What a player... "Czech Fury" I don't think anyone disliked him...

285999-24371781-2560-1440.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Stephen Reid there giving directions to Scottish subs. Apparently he's very good at what he does.

Always think of Pavel Nedved when watching the Czech Republic, and remembering how good a player he was....

And I remember being absolutely gutted for him when he went off in the Euro 2004 Semi against Greece with a knee injury, despite him trying to play on for a bit with the injury.... but he knew his game was over, and he was crying as he admitted such to himself..

Ah, Nedved.

I remember the Czech's comeback against the Dutch in 2004.Nedved

Ah, Nedved.

I remember the Czech's comeback against the Dutch in 2004. Nedved was a human dynamo running the show. He cracked the bar with a shot from about 40 yards which, if it had gone in, would have been one of the greatest goals of all time. Such a great player, so direct.

Ah, Nedved.

I remember the Czech's comeback against the Dutch in 2004.Nedved

Of that era, Zidane was the best in the world, but Nedved wasn't far behind.. and when Zidane left Juve, they got in a more than adequate replacement in Nedved.

Stephen Reid there giving directions to Scottish pubs. Apparently he's very good at what he does.

Fyp. That’s where therll be goin after this one

Scotland are fairly poor.

The Czechs had an even better side at Euro '96. Poborsky scored an absolutely audacious goal then as well.

Scotland are fairly poor.

They're basically us circa 2012. Lot's of huff and puff but not much else. And could end up group whipping boys.

The Czechs had an even better side at Euro '96. Poborsky scored an absolutely audacious goal then as well.

And utterly robbed in the final with the ridiculous Golden Goal rule.......

'Next Goal the winner' to decide a major international tournament.... ridiculous stuff.

Lockdown imposed on Scotland :( no joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They're basically us circa 2012. Lot's of huff and puff but not much else. And could end up group whipping boys.

Ah here, they are nowhere near as bad as our 2012 team. They were very unlucky in this game and could have scored a few. I still see them troubling England.

I think they've slightly more about them then we did in 2012, but it's hard to say we were dealt a bad hand. That group was ridiculously stacked - two teams that went onto the final and a Croatia side that probably would have won any other group.

But we weren't great no doubt about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

This great he narrates Wenger getting sent off.

Lol that is brilliant. Up there when Spurs beat them after been behind.

Ah here, they are nowhere near as bad as our 2012 team. They were very unlucky in this game and could have scored a few. I still see them troubling England.

Trouble England with what? They're bone dry up front.

Sloppy all around from Poland to concede that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The tv director accidentally showed a couple of pretty Polish women in the crowd and then lept for the cut button when he realized his mistake :(

Poland have to attack now. No point in shutting up sklep

Great finish.

Is the Slovakia Jersey the best at the tournament?

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The tv director accidentally showed a couple of pretty Polish women in the crowd and then lept for the cut button when he realized his mistake :(

Just as the deadly one on the left was about to stand up :'(

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Sadler Peak

Think this game was meant to be played in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

It could have been Ireland v Poland, in Dublin. Which would have been a great occasion.

Pity. Would have been a good turnout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Thats quite the scalp by Slovakia, didnt see it coming. They are small like ourselves and only have a population of just over 5 million. Population of Poland is almost 40 million.

They'll be partying in the streets of ....uh.... what's the capital city of Slovakia again??

The RTE lads raging against the second yellow as if it wasnt a full weight stamp on the other fellas foot, poor analysis

Is the Slovakia Jersey the best at the tournament?

It’s an abomination, arghus.a crime against fashion. Something the sweatshops seem ever keener to intermingle with the sporting world -

it may well be. We think of could have beens, what may have been and we could have had the best shirt of the tournament. Albeit on the worst team, but I suppose we’ll have to settle for best shirt of all time -

just a pity nobody’s going to ever get to see it.

Umbro is muck!

Nonsense. Good dedicated footballing brand

Viva Espana

Might be the telly but that pitch doesn't look the best.

European powerhouse? Home advantage? Spain might be worth a punt ya know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Waterford Whispers with the kinda Euros recap in tune with AH

https://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2021/06/14/its-the-dwwneru-daily-wwn-euros-round-up-3/

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

"Some England fans took a break from booing Sterling taking the knee to cheer him scoring"

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Sadler Peak

Spain are fun to watch.

Morata is some boy when it comes to missing sitters.

Spain absolutely blessed there!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Let off for Spain.

I think Sweden need a new striker. That lad can be offloaded on one of those new international transfers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,328 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Don’t like this stadium. The Betis stadium is the same city looks much better.

Spain are asking for trouble.