Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sophie: A Murder in West Cork - Netflix.

I think he does so many doc and interviews so he can claim he could not get an impartial jury. even if jailed he would still say stitch up, what else would he say now? I cannot see why the italian girl would lie about seeing blood stained clothing. She is referenced in todays Indo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

I have to disagree with you on the final point. This woman is known to have a number of psychological issues, decided to come out with this so called key information many years after the murder. If she had seen blood stained clothes in a bucket, that means Jules & her three daughters would have seen it too most likely. Funny that none of them came out with this information even though the daughters disliked Bailey & Jules is finished with Bailey now.

She's an attention whore, nothing more & must be reveling in the attention that she got from the Netflix documentary & now as a result of her clearly false statements. Unfortunately we live in a society with plenty of these type of people around nowadays. Her behavior doesn't add up one bit.

what psychological issues does she have?

todays indo also mentions "The “Italian girl” is Arianna Boarina, who was a teenage friend of Ms Thomas’s daughter, Virginia, who in turn has also previously provided a separate statement setting out an allegation about Mr Bailey to gardaí." and

"Ms Boarina’s alleged new statement about bloodied clothes echoes a statement made to gardaí last year by Bill Hogan, a former West Cork cheesemaker who knew Ms Toscan du Plantier well.

Mr Hogan said a woman had allegedly confessed to him in 2001 – at a time when Mr Bailey was on remand in Cork prison over assault charges on which he was later convicted – about having to deal with bloody clothes on a man’s behalf.

Mr Hogan has alleged to gardaí that the beneficiary of such efforts was Ian Bailey, whose clothes they are claimed to have been."

Ms Borina's statement is nothing new and lacks any real credibility. Why didnt she come out at the time when the murder was international news so? she was staying with a suspect of the murder and supposedly saw blood stain clothes. Why are we only hearing about this information in recent times & why hasnt anyone else living in the house backed it up? Also why did Jim Sheridan (who's documentary was far superior to the Netflx's nonsense) not even feel the need to interview her. (And he knows more about this case than you or I will ever know). Its BS & shes trying to get attention. I'd give Marie Farrell probably more credibility than her in terms of a witness. Also, be careful where you source your info, I wouldnt trust half of the indo's reporters as far as I could throw them & I doubt their investigative journalism practices are much better either. They're not much better than a tabloid these days.

All this new nonsense of a specialist garda branch who review cold case crimes ( I doubt any of those Gards are experts at much else outside of GAA & Supermacs & I would love to know how many cold case crimes this 'specialist' branch have solved previously) investigating the murder is nothing more than a witch hunt to get Bailey to trial to appease Sophie Tuscan De Plantiers family who've applied continuous pressure to the French Govt through their connections. The French govt up as far as Macron has in turn made it known to our lame duck of a Taoiseach that something needs to be done & he has duly obliged no doubt.

Whats happening is political & wrong on so many levels its not funny. And before anyone starts saying Bailey is a scumbag and deserves it, this has wider implications for Irish citizens as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭Deeec

I agree - the Italian girl lacks credibility. She said she saw the coat soaking in a bucket and then in other reports said she saw it soaking in the bath. She can't seem to get her story straight - there is a big difference between a bucket and a bath.

It wouldn't be possible to get a big overcoat in a bucket. Only a complete idiot would soak a bloodstained overcoat in the bath of a house full of people and think nobody would notice. Who wouldn't think clothes soaking in a bath was unusual. If it did happen which I highly doubt why didn't she say something at the time.

Post edited by Deeec on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭dublin49

So Marie Farrell who committed perjury is more credible than Ms Borina .Thats a stretch to suit your position.I presume you mean the latter day Marie Farrell and not the one that contacted the guards numerous times to report intimidation from Mr Bailey.I preferred the Netflik programme but like your opinion thats just a matter of individual choice.

Marie Farrell does lack any real credibility but its interesting in that many years after the case, she says she's more afraid of the gards now than she ever was of Bailey. In fact, she's said she almost gets a panic attack if she comes across a checkpoint or even a Gard. Now thats interesting dont you think. She could have had immediate protection from Bailey if she wanted to but then instead came along to support him in his libel trial AGAINST the gards.

Anyways, she's not a witness worth talking about but either is Ms.Boriana. But as the gards have shown before, they dont care about that, if they can get an obvious liar with an agenda to go against Bailey, they'll go all out to support them & manipulate the evidence to help themselves. Now more than ever with foreign political pressure from the No.2 economy in Europe.

If this Ms.Boriana comes out as a key witness, its Marie Farrell mark two imo.

Why didn't Hogan ( who was Sophie's friend) report this to the Gardai in 2001 if he believed this to be true?

good question. you could equally ask that of all the new people who have now come forward

but I should accept what you say over the indo reporters when i am being careful where i get my info?.

and you did not answer what psy issues does the italian girl have and how you know. where did you get your info? I just watched her again on the netflix. she does not seem coerced as bailey claims she was and the director denied. i do not believe she was coerced

i do not have much faith in sheridan and disagree his film was very much superior. he was boasting how he would trace someone if he was given a budget.

And before anyone starts saying Bailey is a scumbag and deserves it,

he certainly is a scumbag and woman beating thug

Im not asking you to take my information over indo reporters. I said be careful where you get your sources because theres alot of clickbait wannabe journalists out there nowadays & many are working in the likes of the Sun & the Indo. I dont care what you believe tbh.

Well, Ive heard numerous reports about her but I think the simple fact that she stayed with the so called murderer of the most high profile crime this country has ever seen & then decided to keep a key piece of evidence to herself for what, 20 years doesnt say alot about her mental health. No doubt Buttimer and his colleagues would have a field day with her in court and waste more taxpayers money because shes looking for her 5 mins of fame. This investigation has had enough ridiculous witnesses already, lets not add more to the pile because the garda still clearly have an agenda after being exposed as being incompetent & corrupt in the last investigation.

Well, Id take a 5 time oscar nominee from Ireland who took the time to properly study the case over a nobody whos had one half decent documentary in his entire career. John Dower. Jesus wept.

Well, Ive heard numerous reports about her

From where and what did they say., you said "This woman is known to have a number of psychological issues"

A number?. How many. What are they, and what is your source?

she says she was not interviewed for years after it happened

there are a lot of clickbait journalists and a lot of Bs on websites too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

What we've learned recently. Please add if I missed anything new.

• She was killed with a knife (where was this confirmed?)
    • The Italian student has given a 2nd revised statement 20+ years after the event further inditing Bailey
    • M-Vac technology from the Dutch will used extract/test deep-lying DNA from the concrete block and brick used in the murder

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭flanna01

Regardless of this girls mental condition, one question still blatantly presents itself...

Why is she only bringing this information to the table now?

Back in the day, this was the most high profile murder in the country.. The whole country was shocked and outraged by it.

The very fact, that this poor woman had been bludgeoned to death by a concrete block was horrific. The gruesome reporting of her face being smashed to a pulp was sobering as much as it was shocking. Everybody, and I mean the entire nation, was shell shocked that such a barbaric act had taken place in rural Ireland.

Yet.... We are to believe that a student living within the vicinity of the murder, witnessed either a bath or a bucket being used to soak blood splattered clothing...???

Furthermore, we are being asked to believe that even after Ian Bailey had become the prime Suspect in the murder, the student didn't feel the need to disclose the blood splattered clothes soaking in the bath / bucket to the Gards???

In fact, she didn't feel the need to disclose for another 25yrs afterwards...??

I find this utterly impossible to believe... It's beyond any logical thinking.

It's as unbelievable as the murderer returning to the family home, taking his blood soaked clothes off, and....... well soaking them in the bath for all the family (and guests) to see....

So, on the day Sophie's battered and bloodied body was discovered, the radio and television news stations were running with the story non stop. There was Gards everywhere, it was the only show in town..

Yet..... Nobody from the Jules Thomas residence thought if was strange that there was a bath full of bloodied clothes soaking upstairs that had mysteriously appeared after a local murder had been committed......?

C'mon..... Let's be realisic for a minute. A witness couldn't join the dots 25yrs ago, but then gets a eureka moment and thinks some blood splattered clothes soaking in the bath may be relevant afterall...

Cry me a river............!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

@flanna01 it is as believable as those convenient French witnesses who remembered after years and years that Sophie had mentioned meeting someone like Ian \ Eoin \ poet. Because you knew Sophie, she was murdered, and you didn't remember it when someone an Ian \ Eoin \ poet was charged with her murder. Nope. You remembered it with the French authorities needed you to remember it.

If you believe this guff you probably answer a lot of emails from Nigerian princes.

This is why I think Bailey is innocent. Two countries have tried to pin it on him with utterly dishonest policing and judicial practices, and the evidence is still threadbare.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

She said it was years before the gardai first interviewed her.i just watched her on Netflix doc again she says she was interviewed "years after the fact" I don't know how many years and now they have approached her again. She is in the USA now but i Ddon't know where she was when the gardai first interviewed her. Italy mabe?

This blog post sums up the ridiculousness of the whole coat \ bleach \ blood angle \ burning evidence.

All the observations about buying bleach at the creamery on Christmas Eve are also therefore irrelevant. Bleach damages clothing if it is used undiluted. It also has a distinctive smell. Witnesses who saw clothes soaking at the Prairie never mention the trademark stink of bleach in the air. And of course, if bleach is diluted, it is less effective. In a mad panic, desperate to dispose of evidence, you would not wait 24 hours and you would not experiment with different concentrations of bleach, would you? You would use as much of it as you could lay your hands on, as quickly as possible. A litre or two will not fill a bath or even a small bucket. Bleach stains dark clothing.

Other testimony supporting the fact that the coat was never soiled or burned? Garda Kevin Kelleher saw Ian Bailey carrying a bottle of wine in the small hours of New Year's Eve, 31st December 1996. At that time, Bailey was wearing the coat again.

Bailey could have had two coats, one which was the one in the bucket and subsequently burned and one taken by gardai. the forensic policeman says they found coat buttons in the garden fire remains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭tibruit

She almost certainly wasn`t killed with a knife and nobody has confirmed this.

I would question whether this supposed new evidence is coming from the Italian girl. Bailey appears to have said this but he is probably speculating.

Really? That doesn't sound very forensic to me. How can you tell they are specifically "coat" buttons?

Bit of a stretch... How many people have 2 such similar coats? I have a range of coats for the year. I don't have two similar winter coats for obvious reasons.

What would a person do in this situation - it wouldn't make sense to soak a coat in your home when 5 other people are in the house. I also wouldn't burn it and risk being caught . The most logical thing to do would be to dump the coat/clothing somewhere that it wouldn't be found.

Im sure forensics can tell what buttons they are. "Coat buttons, jeans and boots" he says in Netflix doc

Don't see anything unusual about having two similar coats

its much more likely to be found than if it was burnt desroyed. More logical to destroy . I agree why would they leave it in the shower area. Maybe not thinking straight

seemingly sheridan said about knife on radio. knifed and choked actually. it's on the AH Sophie thread. i wouldn't pay much attention to sheridan but it may have been held back as something only the killer would know as the gardai sometimes do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

Has the time of death ever been established

Seemed to be a lot of disagreement here

My earlier post on percentages may have been slightly off the wall .My point being that we don't know much so it's all surmise

The facts of the death can lead us to draw some conclusions such as hitman is unlikely and it was probably a local that had an interest and a temper

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭flanna01

I don't want to give you, or anybody else a hard time here...

Please read back what you are posting before pressing the send button..

Are you telling me, that the student that witnessed a bath full of blood soaked clothes, didn't report it?????

She was waiting years for the Gardai to call around to interview her??

It never crossed her mind, that it was a tad peculiar that bloodied clothes had shown up practically next door to a major bloody murder scene??

What was she studying? The art of stupidity?

If her IQ is at the level that you are suggesting... Then she would be shredded, and I mean absolutely shredded in the witness box.

Due to the way the original Gardai investigation played out, I can assure you, the cold case review team will be very aware of the quality of witness that they present to the court (should they go to trial). After the circus with Maria Farrell, there's not a hope in hell they'd pin their hopes of a conviction on a student that had a brain fart 25 years after the event...

I don't know who murdered Sophie... Whoever it was, and if they are still alive, should be thrown to the wolves. Just make sure it's the right person.

Make sure the guilty person pays for the barbaric crime they committed, and not some sacrificial offering to appease a foreign nation.

I find it remarkable if it was committed in such a temper by an amatuer, and so we assume without pre-meditation or preparation, that they left no forensics at such a brutal crime scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

It was winter and the gardai and pathologist messed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I think at this point, it's very hard as this case is so old. We all only have impressions, faded memories at best, of what we've read in the media or possibly seen. Each and everyone of us has an opinion and a theory and a reason behind it, - but again that's based on what we've read or heard or seen on TV way over 20 years ago, nearing 30 years.....

All we need to do, is wait for the DNA report. Does anybody know when this is to be expected?

And suppose, if the DNA report clears Bailey, would the discussion still go on, that it was Bailey?

Please read back what you are posting before pressing the send button..

you should do that too.....

Are you telling me, that the student that witnessed a bath full of blood soaked clothes, didn't report it?????

.....because i did not tell you anything

I don't know how long before she was interviewed . maybe she assumed they would know. And it wasn't a bathful it was a coat in a "large bucket in the shower" she says. maybe watc the doc again

maybe she was in italy and not keeping up with reports

Maybe read back on what you are posting before hitting the post comment button

Due to the way the original Gardai investigation played out, I can assure you, the cold case review team will be very aware of the quality of witness that they present to the court

you cannot assure me of anything you are just engaging in pro bailey speculating