Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three men arrested after shocking incident involving bar staff on South William Stree

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Noncey No*an is something else though. He is the only judge I've ever heard of who has a petition going to boot him out.
    Judges need to put themselves in the victims shoes on the day/night of incidents they are making judgements on...they need to feel the fear, their legs need to turn to jelly..they need to get into the innocent victims head,they need to see the spit and rage coming from the attackers mouth and body,the sheer brutality that some attackers have/do towards their victims....
    They cannot and should not see the person who turns up in front of him dressed half decent on a beautiful sunny day and people smiling all around!?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Being fed up with something doesn't have to mean you are in fear of it. It is hardly that difficult a concept to understand

He said he couldn't go out to get food etc without feeling safe.
    You're a country farmer I thought you'd have nothing but good things to say about Dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,849 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

He said he couldn't go out to get food etc without feeling safe.
    You're a country farmer I thought you'd have nothing but good things to say about Dublin!

I'd say you have that arseways anyway.

Well I assume you hate the place and have absolutely nothing good to say about it and love seeing stories like the one that started this thread, like the rest of your kin.

I'll admit to not having a soft spot for junkies or skangers throwing bottles and sly digs on a busy street

Perhaps "your kin" do.

I'll admit to not having a soft spot for junkies or skangers throwing bottles and sly digs on a busy street

Perhaps "your kin" do.

Yes because that is all that happens in Dublin, begorrah

• Registered Users Posts: 21,053 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Never had trouble in Dublin but the city centre is a disgrace, and if you stand still long enough around Oconnell st you will see racism all around you , horrible little scum shouting horrible things to the likes Chinese people going about their hard working day

Yes because that is all that happens in Dublin, begorrah

Thanks for confirming.

I've walked or cycled through Summerhill loads of times on the way home from a night out.
    Do you know anyone who's been glassed for ignoring a junkie? Why do we get millions of tourists to Dublin every year if everyone is being attacked all the time?
    Do i live in some parallel universe where Dublin is actually quite safe or something?

I've done the same walk countless times. You must be well built and rough looking like myself so. :-) From my observations, the scrotes target a certain type they perceive to be weaker or below them. Women and immigrants unfortunately fall into that bucket along with other groups.

Summerhill needs a good power wash!

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Apparently lots of these lads are coming down from Darndale.

Darndale voted over 80% for SF in the last election.

Let that sink in for a moment if you're thinking of lending SF your vote. It would be a vote for these thugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Been saying it for years but there really isnt enough Garda visibility in the city centre. You can walk all the way from Parnell Square to Stephens Green and only see one Garda at the GPO and that will be it. I remember reading an article about 4-5 years back that said on a Friday night Pearse St Garda Station has 16 Gardai on the night shift but the area in which they are policing sees an increase of around 50,000 people coming into the Dublin 2 area to socialise every Friday night, thats just the southside area, you have more again socialising on the northsde. Its crazy to expect 16 Gardai to police a crowd of that size who are all drinking and many sniffing coke too. You can see games at Croke Park with a 50,000 attendance and there will be at least 200 Gardai there policing it yet on a Friday night in D2 they are operating what is basically a skeleton service which is completely under resourced for the crowds they have to deal with.

A lot of the problem in the centre could be solved by better visibility. Whats needed is a team of 20 Gardai in 10 groups of 2 on bikes constantly cycling up and down the spine of the city from OConnell St up to SSG and taking varied routes than include Temple Bar, Sth William St, etc. That should be the minimum starting point with more Gardai available with paddywagons to back them up when trouble breaks out. If you had a group of 20 Gardai constantly cycling the city centre then you would see two of them pass you by around every 5 or 6 minutes.

Once that kind of visibility is in place people who normally commit crimes reconsider their plans, a mugger will not try to mug someone if he is constantly seeing Gardai cycling up and down the streets. But when there is very low police visibility it gives them them green light to go ahead and mug someone. Its well known in criminal psychology that a criminals main consideration before commuting a crime is 'will I get away with this?' and a lack of police visibility feeds directly into their risk assessment and their decision to go ahead an commit the crime. When visibility is increased crime goes down because criminals dont like the risk not being in their favour. Without good police invisibility as a starting point its like trying to battle a tide, it just cant be done. The London Met found out all of this in the 80s and adjusted their policing style to be proactive rather than reactive. Their position is they want to deter criminals from committing crimes in the first place and a large part of that is being out there on the beat and being visible in numbers. We dont have that in Dublin and until we do then these problems of scumbags taking over the streets will just carry on and on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

But that's not true for Dublin either. Are people who go into the centre regularly like myself getting attacked all the time or something?

You've a bizarre method of argumentation. A hundred of us could go to the roughest area of the world tomorrow, and only a few of us would be harmed. That doesn't mean that it isn't the roughest area in the world.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

Apparently lots of these lads are coming down from Darndale.

Darndale voted over 80% for SF in the last election.

Let that sink in for a moment if you're thinking of lending SF your vote. It would be a vote for these thugs.

Would you ever piss off trying to twist every thread to suit your rabid anti dole anti SF right wing agenda? The other day you actually started a thread about how Facebook allowing WFH to continue would mean the tech companies employees would all leave dublin and the resulting tax losses would mean the end of social welfare. You're off your rocker

And you would be pro the thugs and criminals of society by definition then if you disagree with my comment. These lads and their ilk are voting SF, this is a fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

And you would be pro the thugs and criminals of society by definition then if you disagree with my comment. These lads and their ilk are voting SF, this is a fact.

Yeah all the little knack bags queuing with their polling cards......ok.......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Were you a primary or secondary school teacher? I have a feeling that if primary school teachers were honest they can tell 95%+ of the time how a kid will turn out from the first couple of days of school and meeting the parents.
    The pandering to the lowest ability and standard continues to degenerate across the board. I've kept an eye on any syllabus "updates" since I left school and it's just constant removing of content.
    As you say the kids who try and who are capable get basically nothing. Obviously big picture you can get benefits later but a kid from the age of 5 being told "in about 18 years this will all pay off now excuse me while I spend the day with the arseholes" is pretty unfair and the kids who might actually do something end up losing out again.

I'm currently teaching in the city centre and lets just say these lads are a familiar sort. The real issue is who they drag with them. We can't suspend easily, and expulsion is massively difficult......and then they will be placed in another school to cause havoc and they'll loose a few more lads on the borderline who they might have kept out of trouble otherwise. The uncomfortable truth is you can't help everyone in a standard educational setting and the type that are prone to violence will always bring others along if they are given the opportunity. Now I will say there are kids that have started with us that have worked on themselves and really turned it around, the ones that are beyond are a very small minority but there needs to be an alternative setting for them, away from Dublin, where they may have a shot and won't completely ruin other students lives.
    You're talking about tax and dentists now, why?
    I can also get food at 2am, like everyone else does, and not have any bother. I don't know if you're afraid of your own shadow or had some really bad luck or both.
    I don't know anyone who feels unsafe in Dublin.

Nearly everyone who I know living within 2km of the city feels unsafe now. For the first time in 17 years I had someone walk me home the other night. 17 years, living in fairly bad areas at times, I've never worried before. The air of menace is palpable and the streets are just glass and NO containers.

TheW1zard wrote: »
    Yeah all the little knack bags queuing with their polling cards......ok.......

Darndale voted over 80% SF so yeah someone in their family is voting for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭BrianG23

Anyone know m how the arrests were made? Were the scrotes arrested and bar staff are fine?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

These lads and their ilk are voting SF, this is a fact.

Even in "rough" areas of Dublin families + their children who cause this sort of trouble are a small minority. They + families likely do not vote IMO. Turnout is and always was very poor in these areas anyway.

Ironically, while I'd agree with criticisms of bleeding heart approaches to justice + a lack of actual punishments being part of the problem, afair it was somewhat dodgy types connected to SF that used in the past to put manners on thugs & junkies in such areas when they started to cause too much trouble.

After all that is where they traditionally made life hell for ordinary people just trying to go about their business in the past (thinking my childhood in the 80s/90s). That bullshít wasn't happening (wasn't permitted to happen) in the wealthy/nice parts of Dublin.

What seems a bit new this time of the pandemic is they've somewhat taken over the city centre because it has been left to them. They've expanded range of their targets for abuse and harassment and are uppling the levels of violence because there has been no push back really (as yet).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Was on South William Street last - seen hundreds and hundreds of hoods up, tracksuit bottom wearing scrotes walking entering the area. Absolute no intention of going for a quiet drink and only looking for trouble.
    Also, big gangs of Nigerian teenagers too.

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Was on South William Street last - seen hundreds and hundreds of hoods up, tracksuit bottom wearing scrotes walking entering the area. Absolute no intention of going for a quiet drink and only looking for trouble.

100s and 100s? All at once? Like 300? 400?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

How did you know they were Nigerian?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,053 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

crazy 88 wrote: »

They were in full kit , shorts socks jerseys the lot ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Darndale voted over 80% SF so yeah someone in their family is voting for them.

Pick most constituencies during the last election and SF did well in most of them.

Another 'but SF post

100s and 100s? All at once? Like 300? 400?

There were a lot....maybe not 100s but a lot. Coming in in groups of about 8-10.

crazy 88 wrote: »

Well they didn't look Japanese.....Ireland has a large Nigerian community.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

Well they didn't look Japanese.....Ireland has a large Nigerian community.

And there's no way they might have been from another country? Or even born in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 56,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I blame it on the lack of toilets, or is it bins?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

walshb wrote: »

Or a smack around the ear hole

walshb wrote: »

I blame the feckin' teachers

I'm currently teaching in the city centre and lets just say these lads are a familiar sort.

joke