Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three men arrested after shocking incident involving bar staff on South William Stree

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

There’s a feela there coulda played for Holland in their heyday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭ooter

couple of nice shots there from the topless lad, he'd have more than enough for any of them 1 on 1 but that's not how they roll.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Their target market are tourists. I thought that would have been quite obvious.

https://twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1406697937242034178?s=19

Another angle. The commentator sums it up well. Middle of O'Connell St and no guards. They are not arsed with putting a proper police presence there as should be there full time.

Just something that has come into my mind with daily videos, knife attacks and vicious assaults that anti social behaviour seems to have ramped up a notch again post Covid. I think that's indisputable at this point.

If you're looking a Garda on O'Connell st they'll be on their phones by the GPO. Texting.

As far as criticism of the Gardai goes, I think 80-90% of it isn't for individual Gardai. For most of them it'd be a handy shift if on the beat in many places to provide a presence. But the way "metrics" go that would be considered a "waste". Much better to have them chasing their tails around instead.
    And there's just flat-out not enough of them but we've all known that for a long time now.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,010 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It’s poor man-management that the Garda authorities can’t have a visible presence on the Main Street of our capital at all times.

I know Garda numbers are low but that kind of incident cannot be tolerated.

Gardai with dogs should be available for that kind of beat too.

It’s poor man-management that the Garda authorities can’t have a visible presence on the Main Street of our capital at all times.

I know Garda numbers are low but that kind of incident cannot be tolerated.

Gardai with dogs should be available for that kind of beat too.

What a bizarre post. How is it bad man management if you correctly acknowledge that they lack manpower?

Do you expect the Gardai to self replicate?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

Hire more guards. It's the "build more social housing through county councils" of crime in Ireland. No, it won't solve all the problems but it'll alleviate many.

What a bizarre post. How is it bad man management if you correctly acknowledge that they lack manpower?

You don’t have to hire more at all.
    Just take 4 from out-lying areas or employ them on overtime and detail them for O’Connell Street.
    What’s bizarre about having a presence on the main street of our capital?
    If there was a big match anywhere there would be a Garda presence surely.

Just take 4 from out-lying areas or employ them on overtime and detail them for O’Connell Street.

Never cared for that programme so I didn’t watch the clip.

Don't worry, it wasn't for you. It was for everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

We had plenty of Gardai manning checkpoints during lockdown . Where are they all now ?

Don't worry, it wasn't for you. It was for everyone else.

Odd that as my post was quoted.
    But don’t worry.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

As a country we are so used to paper thin services that the idea of officers maintaining a presence seems wasteful.

First they came for the socialists...

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    We had plenty of Gardai manning checkpoints during lockdown . Where are they all now ?

Ask taytolover, he's the expert on Garda resources.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Craig_David

so true. People saying the inability to have a permanent Gardai presence on the busiest streets in the country is due to a lack of resourcing is an absolute laugh.
    Others mention this type of behaviour happens in every capital city in Europe. I don't doubt that but not in the centre of the main shopping districts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭downtheroad

2 of them driving around St Anne's Park yesterday morning, obviously expecting trouble on Father's Day when loads of families were out enjoying the park on a fine day. Picking and choosing their battles.

Back to their regular duties.
    Also training, court, annual leave, paperwork etc None of which happened during covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭pioneerpro

20 mins to get to an all-out brawl on O'Connell Street in the middle of the day.

7 Garda Stations within a 5km radius.

image.png

and nothing but bad-attitude and ass-covering when they eventually stroll up.

It's a wonder the cameraman didn't get arrested tbh.

Garda is one of smallest per capita police forces in EU

Eurostat report shows the State employed 278 gardaí per 100,000 citizens in 2016

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-is-one-of-smallest-per-capita-police-forces-in-eu-1.3749005

Has there been a massive recruitment since this study?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Where are all the Gardai that were manning checkpoints during lockdown ? You could not move in Dublin without meeting three or four of them all over the place .
    Why can’t we have those lads now in town doing the job they are paid for and keeping the peace .
    Witcher wrote: »
    Because crime incidents, rtc's, missing persons, people pissed in the streets etc. were all way down during the pandemic so there were numbers available to cover checkpoints. Now they're no longer down and Gardai are busier again.

This was already explained to you two days ago on the thread and you conveniently ignored it.

Eurostat report shows the State employed 278 gardaí per 100,000 citizens in 2016

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda-is-one-of-smallest-per-capita-police-forces-in-eu-1.3749005

There was no recruitment for approx 5 years if I remember right, during the recession.
    Trying to play catch up since then I guess.

pioneerpro wrote: »
    20 mins to get to an all-out brawl on O'Connell Street in the middle of the day.

image.png

Why would you think gardai from Kevin street would be at a street fight in O Connell street?
    Unless back up is required by at scene gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,031 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

There are more Gardai than there have ever been, the problem is there are fewer on the 'regular' responding to calls etc. than there have ever been as more and more are pulled into national and divisional units covering domestic violence, fraud, sexual offences etc. Every section of the Gardai are crying out for more people but there aren't enough people to go around to cover everything and as bubblypop said there were a good few years where there was zero recruitment and the effects of that are still felt.

In some cases there are half the number of Gardai starting on a 'regular' shift than there were even ten years ago.

Witcher wrote: »
    There are more Gardai than there have ever been, the problem is there are fewer on the 'regular' responding to calls etc. than there have ever been as more and more are pulled into national and divisional units covering domestic violence, fraud etc.

In some cases there are half the number of Gardai starting on a 'regular' shift than there were ten years ago.

So our number of Gardai per capita being among the lowest in the EU is not relevant?

I thought I saw quite a few posts in this thread saying how safe other EU countries are. These countries appear to have more police pet capita. Makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

image.png

Not saying its right, but O Connell St is in one district and that's Store St, you won't get other Garda stations responding.

No point having a pop on boards.ie get onto your local TD and get them to sort it out in the Dail and get the Minister for Justice to have a word with the Commissioner of AGS.

The problem is the government have been told 2 times now that I recall via reports into policing, that the policing model is not suitable and needs to change, yet won't do it or implement parts at snails pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

image.png

I saw that video, two Gardai arrive and the very first interaction they have is some gob****e recording them wanting to know why it 20 minutes to arrive .

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

They've been recruiting since 2013 after the moratorium and they've took on a lot of civil servants to do the desk bound duties so they should have more numbers available to patrol the streets when needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I think its reasonable to think you'd have a regular Garda presence on O Connell street given its our main street and that everyone knows theres a high number of junkies in the area. Theres a station on the street and there used to be several guards across the street outside the GPO.

EB_2013 wrote: »
    They've been recruiting since 2013 after the moratorium and they've took on a lot of civil servants to do the desk bound duties so they should have more numbers available to patrol the streets when needed.

Do you have statistical evidence to back this up?