Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry footballers smash someone's head in. €400 fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

A case against them for compensation is the only way. The victim here did not get justice. What would have had to happen to actually see them go to jail ? What would have had to happen death would that have been enough. The judges in this court are not fit to judge out of touch with reality for the victims. 400 euro for a serious assault.. thats just an kick for the victim

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

400 euros wouldnt buy you the suits they appeared in court in.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Good they got a conviction, no trips to US or Australia to cause additional havoc.

No doubt the Healy Rae's will put a call in to someone to sort that out ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

No doubt the Healy Rae's will put a call in to someone to sort that out ...
    Yeah, Some rambling Kerry Man will have major pull with US or Australian immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Ah feck, was hoping it was the head of a Dub in the all Ireland.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 12,596 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Good they got a conviction, no trips to US or Australia to cause additional havoc.

Or, another way of looking at it is that now we're stuck with them because even the mad as badgers Yanks and Kangaroos won't accept them in their country.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Its Kerry. Every single one of their footballers are treated as if they were a combination of Zeus and Indiana Jones.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Will the GAA take any action? Doubtful.
    They should be kicked of the team and banned for a few years, send the message that that sort of behavior is not accepted.
    At least they got a conviction but even a month in a cell would have been good to hear.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,342 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Will there be a queue to shake hands (or bump elbows) with them after Sunday Mass?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

buried wrote: »
    Its Kerry. Every single one of their footballers are treated as if they were a combination of Zeus and Indiana Jones.

Not just Kerry. Practically every county idolises a select few lads who happen to be good at hitting a sliotar up to God like adoration. The GAA machine mixed with ego is a toxic mix. Its only later in life when you see these superstars that you realise how fleeting their 'fame' is, and outside of this country, indeed outside their own county, nobody knows or cares who they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

I have to say that I think this is sick. You could sue a business for €50,000 if you received those injuries as a result of an accident. These sorry excuses of men get away with doing deliberate damage to a someone without provocation and only have to stump up some cash.

I hope this story follows these scumbags like a bad stain for a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Not just Kerry. Practically every county idolises a select few lads who happen to be good at hitting a sliotar up to God like adoration. The GAA machine mixed with ego is a toxic mix. Its only later in life when you see these superstars that you realise how fleeting their 'fame' is, and outside of this country, indeed outside their own county, nobody knows or cares who they are.

Oh I know its not just Kerry, but I work in Kerry a good bit during the year, and not to put the people down, the Kerry people are very good people, but they are so clannish and so parochial it is beyond belief. They don't see Kerry as a county, they see it as a literal Province, and it is theirs. It is their realm and anybody that does well in it in any shape of form especially in the likes of sport or business is lauded like a golden God. Way, way more than any other county in Ireland, and I work in them all. It goes way way beyond Gaelic Games.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

buried wrote: »
    Oh I know its not just Kerry, but I work in Kerry a good bit during the year, and not to put the people down, the Kerry people are very good people, but they are so clannish and so parochial it is beyond belief. They don't see Kerry as a county, they see it as a literal Province, and it is theirs. It is their realm and anybody that does well in it in any shape of form especially in the likes of sport or business is lauded like a golden God. Way, way more than any other county in Ireland, and I work in them all. It goes way way beyond Gaelic Games.

Good point, maybe they are so cut off from the rest of the country that they start to believe there isnt a world beyond Tralee! Who was that fool a few years ago who strutted around the pitch like he was Gods gift,all fake tan and big ego, Galvin?? Incredible to think how deluded some of these GAA players are, and how fragile the whole delusion is- when they leave Ireland, it hits them how insignificant they are ha ha

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Too lenient, I want to see Boy A with full shock of white hair by the time he’s 25.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

SeaFields wrote: »
    To be fair the defence tried to play the footballers card "they are role models" which the judge rejected outright. He also rejected the probation act and ensured the left the court with a criminal conviction. I agree a tougher sentence would have been better but I don't think being "gaa stars" or whatever that article was trying to say got them leniency

You can bet your last fiver that if they were from a rough part of Killarney or Tralee with no talent at sport and were working in Tesco or some pub, that they'd be waking up in prison this morning. Maybe for only 2 or 3 months, but they would go down for that. The victim is well known locally and it was utterly unprovoked.

If the judge did imprison those lads he'd have hell to play for with Kerry neighbours and friends over the next few months as the business end of the GAA season is starting now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I'm delighted that nobody here has done anything stupid when they were young.

Unfortunately I got into a few scrapes with pints on board when I was younger. Some my fault, some not.

I'd like to think that I probably wouldn't pass smart remarks to a few young fellas when I was going home p1ssed on a Sunday evening at my age now either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭manonboard

BPKS wrote: »

Unfortunately I got into a few scrapes with pints on board when I was younger. Some my fault, some not.

I'd like to think that I probably wouldn't pass smart remarks to a few young fellas when I was going home p1ssed on a Sunday evening at my age now either.

Did you attack completely innocent more senior friends walking each other home when you are in the height of physical skill with years of training behind you?
    probably not, because you are not a scum bag. They seriously assaulted him after their own friend started making remarks to initiate the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

cruizer101 wrote: »
    Will the GAA take any action? Doubtful.
    They should be kicked of the team and banned for a few years, send the message that that sort of behavior is not accepted.
    At least they got a conviction but even a month in a cell would have been good to hear.

What a daft comment. This was not related to the GAA in any way according to any reports I've seen on it.

should they be banned from the golf course and swimming pools as well?
    Stopped partaking in amateur drama if that's their thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Darc19 wrote: »
    The victim was 100% innocent and literally walking by these two Kerry scumbags and his head was smashed to a state that he was not recognisable.

The leniency is a fukken joke. And the excuse that it was the drink that did it, so we should not be blamed was laughable.

No wonder groups of scum like this maraud around towns unafraid of any consequences when a few quid of a fine is all they will get.

You'd get a higher fine for going to court doing 140km on a clear motorway!

I'm not condoning what they did, man. They attacked an innocent guy and beat him. I wish they got jail time but I'm glad they got an assault conviction on their records. That should follow them around for the rest of their lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,342 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah boys will be boys etc...only a bitta craic giving a lad a hiding, shur he probably saw the funny side of it..

Also..
    "Judge Waters said it was clear the two older men were entirely innocent and had done nothing to provoke what happened that night."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ronin247 wrote: »
    This is a scummy, victim blaming post. It is sh1te attitudes like this that enable scumbags like these two.

How is it victim blaming?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

They didnt get arrested because they did something 'stupid'. They were arrested, charged and convicted of assaulting somebody....a serious assault.... but as usual with these tosser judges... its a priority to look after the wellbeing of these degenerates over their poor victim and society at large..

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭bocaman

Sickening to hear. Small men big egos

Certainly did stupid things in my youth but never beat up anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I did stupid things when I was 21, 22 for sure - everyone has - but I never beat anyone up.

I don't think the lads lives should be ruined forever on account of what happened, but the eventual punishment they got seems fairly lenient. I don't have an axe to grind about the GAA.

Feisar wrote: »
    How is it victim blaming?

The ‘smart remarks’ part at the end, I’d presume.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Shocking how being a “rising GAA star” gets you off the charge with a piddling fine. At least there’s this bit:

“However, Judge Waters asked to view the incident when he was informed it was caught on CCTV security cameras and witnessed by security staff at a nearby hotel.

Having watched it, Judge Waters said it was too serious an incident not to record a conviction.”

I honestly think prison makes you more not less violent so not appropriate here. Few 100 hours community service and probation monitoring. Much larger fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

What a daft comment. This was not related to the GAA in any way according to any reports I've seen on it.

should they be banned from the golf course and swimming pools as well?
    Stopped partaking in amateur drama if that's their thing?

Their solicitor claimed that they should be let off because of their exploits within Kerry GAA. You can't get a more obvious case of bringing an organisation into disrepute than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,492 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

spacetweek wrote: »
    Shocking how being a “rising GAA star” gets you off the charge with a piddling fine. At least there’s this bit:

“However, Judge Waters asked to view the incident when he was informed it was caught on CCTV security cameras and witnessed by security staff at a nearby hotel.

Having watched it, Judge Waters said it was too serious an incident not to record a conviction.”

I honestly think prison makes you more not less violent so not appropriate here. Few 100 hours community service and probation monitoring. Much larger fines.

Then by that logic don’t imprison anybody... if the outcome is they become more violent... do you have any stats to back up this theory that prison for violent crime increases recidivism of this type of crime ?

The public need to be protected and suitable tariffs applied, to protect people and punish assailants.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭TimHorton

wes wrote: »
    If the punishment for a crime is a fine, then the rich are effectively above the law.

A conviction for assault will likely rule them out of visiting certain countries such as the USA and Australia.