Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kicking a dog to death

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

at least he got some time inside. 6 months for a dog's life is not much, but on the other hand, two guys attacked me and broke my jaw. totally unprovoked. 3 years of having to pass these guys sneering and making threats in the street and what did they get? suspended sentence. not a single min inside. usual bs in court, broken home, addiction etc. they walked out of court laughing at me. fk this guy, fk the courts system and with all due respect to posters here fk anyone who defends this type of scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Being polite is all well and good, but nobody on here had mentioned euthanasia before you, bizarrely, brought it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Fine, then please be so kind to elaborate how you wish to see this actioned:

“Some people should be removed from society/the gene pool for the good of the rest of us. Fcuk their rights.”

• Registered Users Posts: 16,579 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I hate animal cruelty, kicking a little dog like that makes me sick.

Only positive thing is most of these scumbags die young for one reason or another.

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭atticu

I have a few questions:

You say: 'we have learned an astonishing amount about the root causes of criminality over time'

What is that we have learnt, can you give examples, and can you show how they relate to this case, please.

Then you say: 'we just seem to be unwilling to truly do anything about it'

Can you show, with regards to this case, how 'we' were unwilling to do anything?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,640 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

@Fandymo leave out the fantasy violence against the convicted person, that's far more detailed than necessary thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭dublincelt

So he can't really remember what happened but is sure he never told the owner he was going to kill the dog. Only one animal here and it wasn't the dog..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,231 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

36 prev. convictions ... enough said.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

This is it but we haven't got the stomach for it. it's not about appropriate punishment for a crime committed, at some stage it needs to be about removing the cancer. Either lock him up forever or eradicate the problem.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

His testimony in his defence indicates an ongoing risk to the public.

He lost his temper and saw no option except to hoof a dog 6 feet in the air? Next time it'll be some randomer on the street getting his head stamped on, or a girlfriend getting thrown around the flat because, "I lost my temper and I don't really know what happened".

Counsel said his client’s father was shot in Malaga in front of Henney when he was aged 14. He said that his client told a psychologist that the offence was a “horrible thing to do” and that he wants to get help so he does not do anything like that again.

McGreal said his client’s mother smoked heroin and his client caught her doing so as a child. He said the presence of the injured party was a “triggering factor” and that there was “a heroin taking relationship going on”.

I have sympathy for him. This guy got a very **** raw deal in life, two sh1tty parents and a childhood of serious trauma that very few have to endure. Ongoing anger and violence issues are absolutely, 100% explainable. Which is why restricting him from the general public indefinitely until a psychologist says he's ready to come back, seems like the most appropriate course of action here.

It doesn't even necessarily have to be locked up in a cell. After his sentence, stick him in a council flat under house arrest with an ankle bracelet, whatever. Just don't let him out in public until he's learned to deal with his problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Lock him up forever or "eradicate" the problem.

Some want medieval style justice or something you would get with the Taliban in charge.

Obviously there are problems with our justice system and there are far too many lenient sentences, but some of the fantasy nonsense here is just ridiculous.

See yer going wrong there with the notion of justice, my argument isn't about that. What's done with a rabid dog? Lock it up for a month and let it out again? No, it's put down. Where's the justice in that? People are always complaining about the likes of this lad and there will be reams of how terrible it is etc when he kills someone.

And here I am with a pretty simple solution. The sheep just don't like violence though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

• Registered Users Posts: 26 hustlenbustle

This guy certainly got a raw deal from day one _ bad parents and probably not an ounce of discipline while young. They shouldn't have had him! But how many more like hom are there? In homes where there is no parenting whatsoever? They cause a wealth of trouble for others in society. It's awful to think of someone having no hope to change their ways but until this guy changes _ if ever _ he should be locked up. He and others like him would be better off of there was some sort of suitable punishment for youngsters and their parents who are out of control at an early age.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,639 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Either lock him away for life or 'eradicate him', deal with him like we would 'a rabid dog' I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,555 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ive been informed primarily by mental health professionals, some who have worked within the criminal justice system, here and abroad, that some research has been done on this, and is publicly available. most inmates have been found to have a combination of complex psychological disorders, ranging from developmental disorders, learning disabilities, personality disorders, behavioral problems, various complex psychological and mental health disorders, addiction issues, and beyond.....

if you educate yourself in such issues, you can start to see elements of these disorders in others, most common amongst criminal classes and the long term unemployed etc

evidence is ever rising with these issues, yet we have little or no will to truly do much, if anything about them, theres simply not enough investment going on, to try tackle them. i interact myself regularly with disability services, as i have been diagnosed with autism and dyslexia. ive been interacting with mental health services, both public and private, and its disturbing to see how under funded they are, no wonder our mental health issues are rapidly rising, and we dont have the services to deal with them, they simply dont exist.

rising inequality issues have also been linked to rising criminal activities, other chosen policies such as austerity have also been linked, the list goes on and on and on......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭phonypony

Can't argue with any of that and certainly some criminal activity can be linked to (but not excused by) certain disorders and learning disabilities. Some of these criminals may also stand a chance of being 'rehabilitated'.

However, it must also be recognised that some people completely lack empathy towards other living beings, human or otherwise, and some people are just pure evil.

“However, it must also be recognised that some people completely lack empathy towards other living beings, human or otherwise, and some people are just pure evil.”

The definition of “pure evil” is subjective though, and you will never get a consensus what defines this.

As to empathy: there is too much emphasis put on this. It does not matter whether or not someone can emphasise with others. Even someone who lacks empathy knows right from wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭weisses

Lads ... The earth is already overcrowded

People who are capable of doing this should go through the same treatment as they used themselves.

I'm thinking of volunteering ... I have the proper boots anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 3 boe_Jiden

very easy to point fingers and judge, but as many have said already they guy has a had a hard time of it, what will locking him up achieve? nothing, we need a more holistic approach, more services and facilities for teens like him (he is still a teen at the end of the day), to get them back on track and out of jail, jail does nothing sure look at america.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,093 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It's you bleeding hearts that are part of this. Giving criminals more rights that the injured party, making excuses for their behaviour, wanting courses and counselling for these scum... How many years is humanity around? And what ties us all together? Greed and violence. It will never go away. No matter what supports or benefits are available, it's human nature to one up, be better than your fellow man. Lots see crime as the way to do this, and going soft on these, I want to say animals but that's insulting to animals, is not working. Lock them up, hard labour, 3 basic meals a day, no socialising, do your fecking time. If prison wasn't so handy, people wouldn't want to go there. But the criminals are laughing at everyone, it's a holiday home for some of these scum.

Pretty sure I read a study recently that basically said that even if you give everyone exactly what they want, they won't be happy until they have more than everyone else.

Plenty money for more free houses and money for breeding, but we can't build another prison... Those in the legal profession are making sure of that I reckon. Sorry, but 36 convictions at 19 (and god knows how many before 18), this person will never be a part of society imo. Every single offence that person commits from now on should carry 5 years minimum. In solitary. He can't play with other people nicely, then he needs to be removed from being near other people. Simple. Let him rot away for all I care, he is of no benefit to society, and there are plenty others like him who don't turn into the horrible scumbag this person is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 boe_Jiden

And what if it was your son and daughter who took a wrong turn and got into difficulty, or was groomed into crime like so many? would you be as enthusiastic to have them locked away forever or would you want them to the help they need?

But he is playing the game as long as it lasts. And let’s be realistic, he won’t live to old age the way he is going. He is either too damaged or stupid (or both) to realise that he needs to change something, and hanging out suspended sentences won’t make a difference.

Prison could be a good idea to give someone a chance to turn their life around if treatment was to be offered during incarceration, when they are distanced from their destructive home environment. But that’s not what the majority are interested in at all, because they want revenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭phonypony

What part of dancing on someone's head is getting into difficulty? Who are these people grooming poor innocent vulnerable souls into kicking a dog to death?

Its not help such people need, it's punishment.

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭atticu

OK, that does not answer the questions that I asked at all.

You said: 'we have learned an astonishing amount about the root causes of criminality over time', and I asked what it is that we have learnt, and can you give examples, and can you show how they relate to this case.

Your reply was: 'ive been informed, some research has been done on this, most inmates, evidence is ever rising with these issues...'

So, you started off with a very broad unsubstantiated statement, and then tried to back it up with more broad unsubstantiated statements.

You also used your broad unsubstantiated statement to try and imply that other posters are wrong, when they just have a different opinion to you.

You then went on to say that: 'we just seem to be unwilling to truly do anything about it', again, I asked you to show how, and relate it to this case.

Again you replied with no evidence to back up your unsubstantiated claim, although I will admit that you said 'we just seem'.

In this case, it appears that the Judge disagrees with you, and has made one of the conditions of the sentencing that the convicted person engage with the probation services.

From the article: 'strict conditions including that Henney engages with the Probation Service for 12 months upon his release from prison'.

So, it appears that in this case the Judge has insisted that something is to be done about the committing of a crime, and the rehabilitation of the criminal.

Now, I have no problem with posters posting their opinion, but don't try and post your opinion as fact.

I can easily say feck 'em. I wouldn't want to be associated with someone who is able to kick a small dog to death. But I don't have kids. Apparently there's a connection if you do, yet there are still parents all around the world who disown their kids for doing something similar, so it does happen. I would hope that if I found myself as a parent, I wouldn't have allowed it to get this far to begin with. I'd at least attempt to look after them, whereas it appears this kids parents couldn't have given a toss. There's the problem. And we paid those parents to have a child. Maybe if we stop the payment, people might start closing their legs. At least after the first few anyway.

Create a proper system to take kids out of these situations and put them up for adoption. No ifs, ands or buts, once in the system the biological parents can go feck. They had their chance, multiple if it gets to the stage of the kids being taken. Why should you then be allowed access in the future, even if you changed your life around? Consequences, there are none, that's the problem.

And we really need to stop taking alcohol/drug dependencies as reason for leniency. Everyone who takes drugs or drinks themselves silly know exactly what they're doing. They're voluntarily doing this until they're addicted, and suddenly we've to feel sorry for them. Nah. Millions of people don't do that, but we've to make exception for the few that do. Personal responsibility is gone, and it needs to come back.

And before more bleeding heart crap comes up, I could very easily be that exact scumbag at one point, but I made the decision to not be. You can blame the environment they're brought up in, the people they hang out with, etc, but everyone forgets that there are loads of others in the exact same or similar environments who don't go down this route.

Yes, I get angry over this. I spent nearly 10 years as a Garda, and it ruined me to see scum get away with so much while those who never actually have to deal with the fallout are on the bleeding heart brigade, up there with the politicians who wouldn't live beside those they pretend to care about. I'm all for chances, but there has to be a limit. And if there's no attempt to make themselves better in prison (with minimal assistance from the state imo, has to be a personal decision), then don't let them out. We can never, never, never achieve 100% harmony, because it's human nature to walk on those below you to make yourself better.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,533 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

I'm not condoning anything he has done - both very despicable acts (don't even know what his other convictions were), felt sick reading about the dog and don't believe a word he said about feeling remorse

But how the hell did people in positions to help him not do anything to protect him or try to help him - this guy has had his life f*cked up by his parents from day one and no one intervened before his rap sheet got so long

Court system in Ireland is too blasé to any kind of criminal activity it seems - sell garlic and not pay tax then you're going to jail, beat the crap outta someone and pretend to be sorry and all the other crap and the judge says do you promise to not do it again and I'll let you off shows how the system is corrupt and rotten from the core

They tried to bring in a level playing field for all crimes and equivalent punishments and who rejected it?

Won't even start about Nolan...

"But how the hell did people in positions to help him not do anything to protect him or try to help him - this guy has had his life f*cked up by his parents from day one and no one intervened before his rap sheet got so long"

Out of sight, out of mind. Not my problem if I don't see it happening. Nothing to do with me. Those would be the 3 main reasons. If the parents don't care, then I believe there's a very high probability that the kid will turn out a scumbag. No one else (civilian) got involved because judging by what we know of the parents, they didn't sound like the approachable type. System wouldn't have got to him because of no complaints, and before people jump on the backs of whatever group is over that, no doubt they're so busy that they can barely keep up with middle of the road trouble kids, let alone full on mad baxtards. Always someone else fault though.

So along with locking up this little cnut, both parents should be locked up for allowing him to grow up like that. No responsibility, and if the mother is still of age I've no doubt she'll pop another mini human to ignore. Yes, lots of speculation, but it's usually right. If we don't have enough money to make those child protection groups offical and bigger with more powers, then we need to stop giving people money for having kids. Won't happen straight away, but if mammy or daddy knows that there would be no extra money from popping out something to ignore, then they may, just may, start using contraception.