Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 13,450 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Well, their new muppet didn't last the day yesterday, so the original putinbots have to earn their rubles until the new one shows up. Usually on Thursdays.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭wassie

What ever you think of Musk, if it wasnt for his support with Starlink, Ukraine wouldnt have a hope in hell against the orcs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭jmreire

He gives the impression of a very confused individual....he gives massive support to Ukraine with Starlink, as you said and next thing he is spewing out pro Putin propaganda....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I didn't know they had internet under the destroyed Kerch bridge, there is some broken trains and trucks to snack on down there.

Feel free to delete.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,394 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Strange. Earlier you posted about ww2 yet seem ignorant of the alliance between Fascist Germany and the USSR. Those opposed to democracy on either side of the spectrum have allied before and will do so again. This is another example of it.

NATO arent directly fighting Russia. If they were this war would already be over, either in a conventional defeat for Russia or nuclear defeat for everyone. Nevermind NATO as a whole, Russia would be defeated in short order engaged by two of the US and Poland or Turkey.

There are no NATO forces engaged in the fighting.

You know this yet pretend not to.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

”the Collective West”+”all of Europe”

Is your poor comprehension representative of typical pro-Russians? Might explain why you are so easily led by gangsters.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,922 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Countries known as "Axis" powers at the time, no one refers to them as "the West" or "Western" or "collective West" (which is a term denoting a broad basket of democratic countries)

It's cynical wordplay and semantics for propaganda purposes. The same presenter could use the same disingenuous technique to claim that France was invaded by "the collective West" in 1939, which of course is just as ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,571 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

• Registered Users Posts: 12,406 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Lads is obviously one of the usuals. Just ignore and let the mods do their work.

All Eyes On Rafah

Many on the fringe far left support Russia indirectly. They find themselves aligned with Putin because of their ultra-cynical views of the West. As a result they mirror Putin's counterfactual talking points, history revisionism, propaganda, disinformation and reframed current affairs. All done under the guise of being "free thinkers", "just asking questions", "providing other viewpoints" and heavy doses of both-sides-ism.

This reply is not for you, just for others who may be wondering why these types keep attempting to create new accounts in this thread.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Factually the TV report is a biased nonsense aimed at their all too credulous masses hothoused from birth into an "alternative" history. "All of Europe was on the side of fascist Germany" is so ridiculous a statement it's hard to know where to dive in and take it apart for the nonsense it is.

Operation Barbarossa indeed involved the AXIS forces that you listed(the Finns and Romanians about the only non German forces on the ground), but the same report missed the fact that the hitler had invaded most of the other non AXIS nations in western Europe and was at war with Britain and France. Oh and very conveniently missed the part that nazi Germany had already been at war with Britain and France for two years, a period where the Soviet Union was openly supplying nazi Germany with oil, steel, grain and other resources to prosecute that same war in Western Europe. Never mind agreements between hitler and stalin to carve up Eastern Europe between them. Their mutual invasion of Poland being the obvious one. Never mind that the Soviet Union at one point were in extensive talks with nazi Germany to join the bloody AXIS. No mention of that in this "factual report"

Oh and long before the Austrian corporal came to power the Soviet Union hosted Germany's forces in their territory, so Germany could avoid the military restrictions of the Versaille Treaty and grow their forces off grid, while the Soviets got a mutual benefit from it. Google Kazan Tank school in and the Lipetsk pilot's school and the Treaty of Rapallo. It is highly unlikely that nazi Germany's forces could have gotten to the scale and expertise they got to without the Soviet Union's help. No mention of that in this "factual report"

Oh but the Russian "alternative" history holds that these were all "treaties" like the other Western powers to delay hitler. Did Britain, France, the Low Countries supply Germany's war effort when they were on the march? No. Did they try to join the AXIS forces? No, again. No mention of that in this "factual report"

Also not mentioned in this "factual report" is that without the lend-lease of many millions of tonnes of war materiel and food from the West(the Brits sent them two million army boots but one detail), the Soviet Union would have been in serious trouble, a fact even stalin himself noted and thanked said "West".

So if anyone thinks what the guy on Russian state TV said is factual, they need to read far more books, even hunt down older Russian books that reflect far more of the historical truth. If any are left.

Post edited by Wibbs on

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"Mighty NATO" isn't being "whipped by orcs". Mother Russia has been embarrassed by a much smaller proxy army of the West, who have only got a tiny percentage of NATO's budget and equipment and that's coming in dribs and drabs. And this isn't asymmetric warfare like Afghanistan and the like, this is two militaries going one on one old style.

If just a single US fleet carrier sailed into the Black Sea it would sink every Russian ship in the area, gain air superiority in weeks if not days and pound the annexed parts of Ukraine into rubble. And the Yanks have ten more of them. Russia kinda has one, but it's in drydock. Again. The only reason Russia has a dog in this fight are their nuclear weapons and nobody, except for a few Russian religious loons wants a nuclear war. That's it. Anything else is illusion.

And yep I can also see Bakhmut falling, likely soon too. Russia needs it for any further offensives and Ukraine have been trying to hold it at all costs because of that. But Russia will likely take it. After how many months? After how many losses? The second mightiest military on earth? And they needed irregulars to do it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,492 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

When you go so far left, you end up on the extreme right

• Registered Users Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Bakhmut falling was always likely to happen. The US told Ukraine to let it go back in September, but it's a rock and a hard place for Ukraine's forces. If they did indeed pull back from Bakhmut, Russian zombies would just try somewhere else so Ukraine had to take a stand despite it all, just to hold off Russia. If those long-range weapons had arrived last Summer I doubt Russia would have made any advance at all, in fact, they would have gone backwards. I think Ukraine's newly trained forces and the new hardware might still need a few more months before they can realistically try a big push against those Russian zombies. I just hope aircraft are next on the list of hardware that Ukraine forces receive, even the French seem to agree without air support, serious air support! things could be much harder when it comes to that counteroffensive.

Dan.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,047 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I wonder if the Turks expect the Swedes to send aid and assist in the aftermarth of the tragic earthquake?

Personally I hope Sweden does nothing, but the will, of course, and Erdogan won't thank them or budge one iota.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,510 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union had way more in common with each other than with the other countries in Europe - two authoritarian dictatorships, very few freedoms, concentration camps etc....ideologies of the extreme right and the extreme left. Hitler and Goebbels literally said in their many speeches that they hated democracies and viewed them as corrupt and decadent.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,047 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Further details to that abhorent evil I posted about earlier. 250,000 rubles is €3,280.46

😱 Russians sell children stolen in Ukraine to the porn business, — Lubinets, human rights commissioner.

This is why the Katsapas stole children from the occupied territories. "Estimates" amount to hundreds of thousands of rubles. For example, they offer 250,000 rubles (130,000 UAH) for a boy who will soon go to school. The correspondence states that the children from Ukraine have no relatives

I cant imagine the gut wrenching pain for Ukrainian authorities tracking and documenting this and all other terrible aspects of these kidnapping of children, and the sense of helplessness they must feel that nothing can be done about it until the conflict is over.

All sanctions breakers should be forced to read their files. >Bleep< India for knowingly enabling them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭threeball

Its a bit mad how the US allowed a person who regularly endorses Russian propaganda and other crackpot theories on a regular basis, become the Owner and CEO of one of the most influential mediums of discourse in existence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

Not allowing a person to become the owner or CEO of a company because of their opinions or views isn't exactly great either. I'm sure if you delved into the personal views of other CEO's, you might also disagree with them too. It would be differen't if there wasn't capability on Twitter to engage and provide corrections to incorrect information, but there is and you or anyone has the ability to counter views.

Beverly Hills, California

• Registered Users Posts: 23,653 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The US isn't Russia or China thankfully.

On this whole notion that taking a dispassionate view of the war and giving an opinion makes someone "pro-Russian" - that's absurd.

It's patently obvious there is a huge mismatch in resources between Ukraine and Russia but Ukraine is getting it's key infrastructure battered daily and the amount of bodies Russia can throw at the assault is endless compared to Ukraine.

The military assets the west promise are welcome and needed but my suspicion is it's an easy public relations commitment to make because I don't think the west really believes Ukraine can hold out anyway and so they'll never arrive.

I want Ukraine to win but I fear once the Russians break through in the Spring they'll go on a rampage similar to the start of the war. It could be really quick.

If there is a breakthrough I don't believe for a moment the tanks will be sent.

If this happens the west will have serious choices to make in it's approach to Russia. The sanctions are just not doing enough damage.

We all want Ukraine to win, and they've a chance if they can hold the lines, but there is a really serious challenge coming in the spring. I don't think anyone is under any illusions, least of all Ukraine.

Tense times ahead and the loss of life will be huge regardless of who takes the initiative.

Sorry to break it to you, but the tanks are already en-route.

Your ability to keep up the ‘Russia are an amazing military force’ (I’m paraphrasing) would be hilarious if it wasn’t so serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭jmreire

I think that Sweden and Finland etc, should do what ever they can to help Turkey in this disaster, and not use it as political football to gain any advantages. Forget about the NATO issue for the time being and concentrate on the humanitarian aspect. It would be the human and civilized thing to do.

They don't have to be "amazing", they just have to endure over time and in losses more than the other guy. It's been the case with nearly every single one of their historical wars. It's damn near Russian military doctrine.

Now Ukrainian and Ukrainians are also willing to endure. More than most "Western" countries too. Even America. If any of the US's wars were showing such losses of people this quickly public and then government opinion would almost certainly shift. No matter whose numbers we believe it's a near certainty that Ukraine's armed forces losses are higher in this one year than the US' losses in twenty years of the Vietnam war and we know how that went down in the end. Ukrainians are of course fighting for their land and people, not on some overseas geopolitical jaunt and I'm quite sure Americans would fight like tigers to the last man if Russia swarmed up from Mexico.

Russia's losses are similar if not likely much higher than Ukraine's and this is an overseas geopolitical jaunt too, yet their populace are still lapping up the rhetoric and bullshíte. THis is not some asymmetric "precision" war like most we've been used since the Korean war went "cold", it's an old style horrific slugfest and the winner will be the one able to keep taking hit after bloody hit while not going down on the canvas. I fear Russia because of their jingoistic martial bullshíte built up by putin over the last twenty years and their seeming total lack of concern for their own young men dying in droves could do it. What could swing that? They respect overwhelming force, but the Ukrainians can't supply that yet and even with tanks etc will they be ever able to? NATO is that overwhelming force, but nukes and other considerations mean Satan will be skating to work in the mornings before they actually go in, even if pro Russian eejits pull the skeleton outa themselves believing their fighting NATO on the ground. Russia is dug in like a tick across much of Donbas, the landbridge and IMHO Crimea is a deadloss and notions of taking it are a fantasy

Now if Russia do "win", what they "win" is another story. Them taking the country is another total fantasy. Taking the country to the Dnieper highly unlikely too unless Ukrainian forces collapse. Donbas, Crimea and the existing landbridge most likely, with only the latter up for grabs, but again this would require that overwhelming force to take. Unless, again though in the other direction Russian forces collapse. Beyond the battlefield they've almost entirely lost Western revenue, investment, distribution, insurance, leasing and financial confidence for the foreseeable future. When money is all that counts outfits like Blackrock and others back Ukraine that tells us where The Money is going and always follow The Money. Military investment is up and will go higher across the same "West" and NATO is expanding. Russia is facing a horrendous demographics crisis, as was the EU to a lesser extent, yet if putin's plan was to "flood" the EU with refugees, even that's backfired. He's just gifted millions of young Europeans to the EU. While losing tens of thousands of his own young men to the reddened mud fields of Ukraine. Never mind the tens of thousaands of young men and women who've fled Russia. Doh!

Basically, even if Russia swarmed across Ukraine in the morning and took it up to the Polish border, they've still lost. And even then they'd be facing a generational asymmetric guerilla war that would make our Irish Troubles look like a garden party at an old folks home.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,962 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Elon Musk is sarcastic a lot with his tweets, that tweet was making fun of the numbers stated as he knows it's false info.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

It's hard to tell between his conspiracy beliefs and alt right stuff

He's also been caught parroting pro Russian propaganda previously without any hint of sarcasm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭indioblack