Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Several dead in German knife attack

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

So just deliberately misusing it, as opposed to not understanding it. That's worse.

Nope, not what I said or was even eluding to.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,584 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Have you been paying attention to the news over the last decade?

The odds of this being an Islamic Attack is the same as the odds of there being rain in Ireland this month and you know that full well but are being purpously deceptive in your answer because you are blinded by ideology.

So because I don't automatically jump to conclusions that means I am "blinded by ideology"?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The video of the townsfolk chasing him up the street is heartening.

https://mobile.twitter.com/RosannaMrtnz/status/1408476997538435079

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

If only there was a European country with tough border controls we could “litmus test” against. Oh, hello Poland. Gee it’s right beside Germany, let’s run the numbers for the hell of it...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Not if you actually know what traitorous means. Just use normal words that you understand, stop trying to bend big ones to suit your awful agenda.

From Collins dictionary :
    A traitorous action will betray or bring danger to a country or to the group of people that someone belongs to.

Seems pretty accurate

Awful agenda? Not wanting the death of Civilians on European soil?

I reported you for being needlessly aggressive, please try to lessen that in future like a good lad.

Not an easy thing to do, most people would run away. They have saved lives with their actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

While I am against religious profiling with such an event, the vast majority turns out to be Muslims.

However, it's important to note that it is the individuals on the extremist end of the stick...not "Muslims" in general.

Terrorism events in Europe have been decreasing over the last number of years, however, while the number of events are down, the success rate of attacks are up. This is mainly due to the shift from complex coordinated methods to low capability and bladed weapon attacks.

The motives are generally:
    Mental Illness.
    Extremist Ideology (not directed by an organised group).
    Response to German government/military activities in a specific country.

It is likely that he is a refugee, migrant, asylum seeker. Could be known to authorities or has just been refused status or released from detention. Might have "pledged allegience" at some stage.

There have been a good few of these types of attacks. If there's enough publicity, it will be claimed by an extremist group.

Could also be connected to the IED attack on German troops in Mali today.....bit of a stretch but maybe.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

While I am against religious profiling with such an event, the vast majority turns out to be Muslims.

Prove it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

That’s what should be happening anyway.

- don’t know why it takes so long to react but authorities should be on it looong before folk feel the necessity to take matters into their own hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭francois

Religion of peace. I'll bet the house on it.

Bingo!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Religion of peace. I'll bet the house on it.

Seems to be the case in Europe anyway, with these type of attacks, but highlighting such seems to upset some posters on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭bewareofthedog

Terrorism events in Europe have been decreasing over the last number of years

I'd like to know if this is the case because of the increasing amounts of money spent on national security/monitoring preventing such attacks from happening, or if the numbers are just down in general.

I googled it and this site popped up, I don't know how legit it is. There must be statistics some where that show numbers including foiled attacks etc. The article is based on 2019.

https://www.thenationalnews.com/world/more-than-1-000-terrorists-arrested-across-europe-as-119-plots-uncovered-1.1038195

"Almost 120 terrorist plots were uncovered across Europe last year, resulting in more than 1,000 arrests.

ISIS was responsible for all but one of the 10 people killed.

The latest figures covering terrorist incidents in 2019 have been revealed in Europol's EU Terrorism Situation and Trend Report.

In total, 119 terrorist attacks were foiled, failed or completed last year in 13 EU countries, also resulting in 27 people being wounded, 26 of them by ISIS.

The 27th was hurt in a far-right terrorist attack.

The attacks led to 1,004 people being arrested on suspicion of terrorism-related offences in 19 EU member states, with Belgium, France, Italy, Spain and the UK reporting the highest numbers."

This place...

Half the lads excited/horrified about another attack.
    The other half arguing about incorrect word usage.

Chap missed a trick by not claiming they suffered from anomic aphasia or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Its all Orban fault and the Hungarians, they should take some of those instead of being so homophobic look how great Germany is.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

I'm just going to leave this here:
    Der Verdächtige, der in Würzburg drei Menschen erstochen haben soll, war nach Angaben des bayerischen Innenministers in psychiatrischer Behandlung.

The suspect ... was receiving psychiatric treatment, according to the Bavarian minister of the interior*

https://www.rnd.de/panorama/drei-menschen-in-wuerzburg-erstochen-verdaechtiger-war-in-psychiatrischer-behandlung-RJWDB27Z2VHZ7PUW6DT2XTUY54.html

Ye can all wind your collective xenophobic / islamophobic necks back in again ...the guy's gaga first and foremost.

*The Innenminister would be the minister responsible for the police force, among other things

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

peasant wrote: »
    I'm just going to leave this here:

The suspect ... was receiving psychiatric treatment, according to the Bavarian minister of the interior

https://www.rnd.de/panorama/drei-menschen-in-wuerzburg-erstochen-verdaechtiger-war-in-psychiatrischer-behandlung-RJWDB27Z2VHZ7PUW6DT2XTUY54.html

Ye can all wind your collective xenophobic / islamophobic necks back in again ...the guy's gaga first and foremost.

They are not going to listen to that. It will just be 50 pages of the usual religion of peace crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Is that a bloody mask on his face?

Something beyond absurd about that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Faugheen wrote: »
    Prove it.

In order to reply to you, I will assume you are not being a d1ck and are actually interested.

Terrorism can be broken into categories, state sponsored, religiously inspired, separatist or ethno-nationalist, left wing and anarchist, right wing or single issue terrorism, etc.

This particular type of attack is typical and consistent with religiously inspired attacks. In which the overwhelming majority of contemporary religiously inspired attacks are Jihadist or Jihadist ideological/supporter/imitator. Jihad is an Islamic term, hence this type of attack is usually a Muslim or any other denomination acting in support of Muslims....but mainly Muslim.

Now, while I have academic and professional experience in the field, I won't be linking every single thing I have read or written on the subject, for your benefit.

03 Jan 2020: A french man who converted to Islam stabbed and killed 1, injured 3 in France.

04 Apr 2020: A Sudanese refugee stabbed 7 people, killing 5 in France. Motive was France is a country of "Unbelief", a reference to Islam.

27 Apr 2020: A French man who pledged allegiance to Islamic State rammed French police officers. He had a knife but was arrested before he could use it.

18 Aug 2020: An Iraqi asylum seeker vehicle rammed a number of cars in Germany, religiously motivated.

25 Sept 2020: A Pakistani man with a meat cleaver went to the old Charlie Hebdo premises in France and stabbed 2 people.

04 Oct 2020: A Syrian national stabbed a gay couple, killing 1 in France. Religious motive against western liberal culture.

16 Oct 2020: A male of Chechin decent decapitated a French school teacher for discussing the Prophet Mohammed.

Also the Notre Dame and Austria attack.

Hope that helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Fair play to the public response.

Those who confronted the attacker are heroes one and all.

Much respect to them for their actions.

Shame he wasn't ended by the cops.

While German police are all armed at least with a sidearm, they're still not supposed to shoot to kill if it can be avoided.
    In fact, there are pretty strict rules around using your weapon as a police officer.

This ain't Murica, no trial by cop.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,155 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Throwing chairs at him gently , and at his feet. You have to go FULL RETARD
    on a Full Psycho.
    Me I'd be throwing that chair full force with all my strength at his ****ig face.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Well, when you invite the world to your country as Germany has done then you receive the world's problems. I honestly am jaded on these attacks. They have happened before and they will continue to happen. Advocates for open borders and multiculturalism are incredibly reckless - the harsh reality is that they have condemned Europeans to centuries of mayhem and bloodshed. All for nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

From various German news sites (SZ, Main Post, Bild)

Went into a Woolworth's, asked for where the knives are, picked on up and started to stab people.
    3 dead, some in shop.
    Injured one child, whose father is possibly among the dead.
    6 seriously injured, not yet sure if they will all survive.
    24 year old Somalian asylum seeker. Know to police, has previously been in psychiatric treatment.
    Believed to be acting alone, police not looking for another attacker.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

While German police are all armed at least with a sidearm, they're still not supposed to shoot to kill if it can be avoided.
    In fact, there are pretty strict rules around using your weapon as a police officer.

This ain't Murica, no trial by cop.

America has pretty strict rules on shooting people, they have to present an immediate danger to life to be shot.

What that video shows is a German cop letting civilians risk their lives because he wont act, I wouldnt be too proud of cowardice buddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,447 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Throwing chairs at him gently , and at his feet. You have to go FULL RETARD
    on a Full Psycho.
    Me I'd be throwing that chair full force with all my strength at his ****ig face.

Realistically you’d probably be running away ****ting yourself.

Sand wrote: »
    Well, when you invite the world to your country as Germany has done then you receive the world's problems....

Germany has recruited "Gastarbeiter" (foreign workers) from (among other states) Turkey, Marokko and Tunisia since the early 1960's

I remember with horror the almost daily muslim terror attacks from my childhood in the 60's, 70' and 80's ...not :pac:

Germany has recruited "Gastarbeiter" (foreign workers) from (among other states) Turkey, Marokko and Tunisia since the early 1960's

I remember with horror the almost daily muslim terror attacks from my childhood in the 60's, 70' and 80's ...not :pac:

Well you can look forward to the 2060s, 2070s and 2080s....

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

In order to reply to you, I will assume you are not being a d1ck and are actually interested.

Terrorism can be broken into categories, state sponsored, religiously inspired, separatist or ethno-nationalist, left wing and anarchist, right wing or single issue terrorism, etc.

This particular type of attack is typical and consistent with religiously inspired attacks. In which the overwhelming majority of contemporary religiously inspired attacks are Jihadist or Jihadist ideological/supporter/imitator. Jihad is an Islamic term, hence this type of attack is usually a Muslim or any other denomination acting in support of Muslims....but mainly Muslim.

Now, while I have academic and professional experience in the field, I won't be linking every single thing I have read or written on the subject, for your benefit.

03 Jan 2020: A french man who converted to Islam stabbed and killed 1, injured 3 in France.

04 Apr 2020: A Sudanese refugee stabbed 7 people, killing 5 in France. Motive was France is a country of "Unbelief", a reference to Islam.

27 Apr 2020: A French man who pledged allegiance to Islamic State rammed French police officers. He had a knife but was arrested before he could use it.

18 Aug 2020: An Iraqi asylum seeker vehicle rammed a number of cars in Germany, religiously motivated.

25 Sept 2020: A Pakistani man with a meat cleaver went to the old Charlie Hebdo premises in France and stabbed 2 people.

04 Oct 2020: A Syrian national stabbed a gay couple, killing 1 in France. Religious motive against western liberal culture.

16 Oct 2020: A male of Chechin decent decapitated a French school teacher for discussing the Prophet Mohammed.

Also the Notre Dame and Austria attack.

Hope that helps.

You gave me a list of attacks to suit your agenda, which is not what I asked for.

You said 'the vast majority' are by Muslims. Prove it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Sand wrote: »
    Advocates for open borders and multiculturalism are incredibly reckless - the harsh reality is that they have condemned Europeans to centuries of mayhem and bloodshed. All for nothing.
    You don't get Muslim immigrants doing this type of thing in America. It's easier to culturally integrate over there than in Europe. We should be taking a leaf out of their book.
    The key to this is to insist that the immigrants become naturalised, but over here it often doesn't happen.

spacetweek wrote: »
    You don't get Muslim immigrants doing this type of thing in America. It's easier to culturally integrate over there than in Europe. We should be taking a leaf out of their book.
    The key to this is to insist that the immigrants become naturalised, but over here it often doesn't happen.

Are African Americans and White Americans culturally integrated in your opinion?