Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Village87

Jordan Malloy was absolutely sensational. What a prospect on the Kilkenny team next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭blackcard

Dicksboro should be kicking themselves for their braindead approach playing against 13 men, working the ball to midfield and then lumping it forward. Jordan Molloy was magnificent late on, Huw Lawlor was excellent, Mackessy was good. Mikey Butler red card was correct, he hasn't had a great year. Didn't see Bergin red card incident but I imagine it will be appealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 oneeyefromthebog

Over last 2 weekends at least 3 big management reputations have taken a huge hit.1 deserved the reputation but other 2 now look like spoofers and all three would have huge questions to answer about tactics and set ups pre and during games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭jonniegoogle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Incredible from OLG. Boro 2 years in a row now had quarter finals at their mercy and couldn't see them out. Hard to figure for them. Hard to see past OLG for the title now after escaping today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Rebelside

was the Bergin who was sent off the KK minor manager this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Comerman

Few big momentum swings are in the last 10. Kevin Moore shot that dropped short, he had plenty options left and right and took the wrong option. Bill Sheehan played a ball under the big stand with no advantage to Boro players and he had options everywhere. Harry Shine shot on his left 30 yards out under little pressure and wide.

Playing 50/50 balls between Kelleher and Lawlor was brain dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Loughlins v The Bridge

Mullinavat v Thomastown

Next Sunday

Windgap v Emeralds

The village v freshford

In junior semi finals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Topcat32

You would definitely know one when you see one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭me89

Are we all back in primary school lads, give it a rest.

Its been back in primary school for the entire year, the disgraceful commentary on the Kilkenny minors and a young player from Castlecomer a few weeks ago, the glee over Brian Cody being judged to fail yesterday, a negative attitude and vibe around Kilkenny hurling this year, I'm honestly very happy to give it a rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 lob it in

Congrats to Mullinavat in the first game they fully deserved their win,an entertaining game that Mullinavat never looked like losing Comer gave it their all as they always do but are limited up front.

In the second game I thought the first half was poor and very flat but the second half was incident packed,Mikey Butlers red card was fully deserved a shocker of a "tackle" I had a good view of the Bergin one it was never a red card ,Bergin went to make a run for the puckout the boro player grabbed his jersey Bergin swung back it was a yellow at best the Boro player made an absolute meal out of it and in my opinion got Bergin sent off.I thought Jordan Molloy was outstanding and was man of the match.

It's gone to Na Na Nany Na Na my dcik is bigger than your dcik shite for the last year, hurling supporters me hole.

Absolutely, but the worst for me is when someone has a go at a young player from their own club who didn't play well in a county final on a forum like this

The way I look at the whole thing is EVERY panel member from county senior down to U9c or whatever play the game to the best of their abilities and the same for management etc. and I'm not in any position to criticise any of them, and neither is any anonymous knob online 👌

Brian Hogan injured himself in the celebrations at the end. Had to be helped off the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭conor05

Brian Hogan done very bad damage to his knee or ankle supposedly.

I’d say Bergin will get his red card overturned on an appeal, Butler will definitely miss the Bennettsbridge match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Jordon Molloy was a pleasure to watch this afternoon in that last 15 mins but as well as Loughlins did that was some bottle job by the Dicksboro. 2 spare men, Hogan repeatedly left 1 on 1 inside with Moylan with nobody else within 50 yards and how they ended up in a situation for the goal where Buckley is on his own with 2 OLG players just after he scored himself. Just shocking game management. I'd imagine it was like watching a slow car crash for anybody from the Boro.

Or agree with any criticism of a 17 year old who plays with your own club either, as I'm sure you will agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 oneeyefromthebog

Yes 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

If the Village win Junior can they have two teams at Intermediate next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Marrooned

hold on now Top cat, first of all don’t be sticking your oar in. Village was very quick to remark after a defeat, he did the same with comer. It’s amazing you feel the need to back him up.

A quick summary after the match is all, Comer are a poor poor side, i wrote a post on this last week stating that the match Sunday will tell us who on the Boro side is good enough for Kilkenny seniors. As for the match Saturday, Village were very poor also and will struggle to get out of Intermediate going off there performances all year, Diarmuid Cody was a shambles full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭neverbet

O'Loughlins again have defence to thank for yesterdays win. Huw Lawlor majestic as always and half back line contributed 5 from play in the second half. Apart from Luke Hogan and Mackessy 8 to 15 will have to show more next weekend. Boro will be hugely disappointed. Defence did well enough and midfield won that battle. Up front apart from a few glimpses tfrom Harry Shine the remainder failed to fire. Jordan Molloy was class in the second half and its a pity injury hampered him during the inter county season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Longlad69

The county board pondering to Cody again, rescheduling the remainder of the Junior championship to accommodate the village minors!!

I would think not. Happened my own club who are junior, they were in special junior final but told they wouldn’t be going junior if they won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

In my opinion No One from the boro deserves a place on the county senior team except maybe Harry Shine. The Boro lost a game to a 13 man team yesterday unbelievable. Congratulations O Loughlins ye are a fine team

When are the junior semi finals ? The Junior final is pencilled in for 19/20 October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

Down for Saturday 19th October on Kilkenny GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭KK36

Surely they could have been played Sunday as the minor final is Saturday. Sure it would have meant playing them outside Nowlan Park but so what.

Does this mean now that the Senior, Junior and Intermediate finals will all be stand alone fixtures or will they play the Junior final with the senior final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Longlad69

Semi-finals gone to the 19th Oct and Final for the 2nd/3rd November.

If they've been moved then when were they supposed to be? Surely the weekend just gone was to be a down week with the semi finals next weekend? But the senior semis are on Sunday?

this was the original schedule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Special Junior

The semi finals were supposed to be the weekend gone by and the final on Saturday the 19th. Below is the schedule they published last month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Senior Camogie final 'could' be played in Nowlan Park on 27 Oct.

Was originally fixed for the 20th in a club ground.

If its on the 27th , the winners will then be out the following sunday for the first round of Leinster championship.

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Thanks lads. No down week from last round of the league to the semi finals was asking a lot really.

I was told by an OLG supporter at the match that 7/8 of their squad had lived in the Weir/Weir View at some stage which shows the effect that a housing development can have on a club. Dicksboro will benefit from the new housing estates out the Tullaroan Road, also Crokers Hill? Not sure if Breagagh Valley is within their area too. There are other large developments planned also. Is it James Stephens that will gain from the housing estates out the Callan Road such as Margaretsfield, College Park and Nyne Park where there are over 500 houses? I don't think there are many housing estates planned for the likes of Lisdowney or Tullaroan but the likes of Castlecomer, Thomastown and Callan will probably do okay. No doubt it will be harder for rural clubs to compete at Roinn A underage levels but also it will be harder for kids in the city to get games. Not sure if anything can be done such as reducing the extent to which the city parishes extend?

I wouldn’t argue too much with that but I still think Moylan and Hackett have potential.

I’d love to know where your from?

Realistically it all depends where they end up in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭conor05

Huge drops out rates in City clubs after minor aswel so nothing is guaranteed.

OLG seem to have a great club, Mick Galway the Kerryman always speaks fondly of how welcome they were to him as an outsider and I think he was involved in getting Fionan Mackessy into the club who seems to have settled in very quickly.

I would imagine in general the majority of Kilkenny clubs are very well run, the standard of club hurling has been excellent this year.

I would love to see Thomastown win it out, they have played a beautiful brand of hurling this last 18 months.

Third level has a big bearing on drop out rates. But from a Boro perspective all adult grades are catered for from senior down to a few junior grades.

Moving the u17 back to u18 has been an excellent move. Loads of game time for that age group in an unsettling time for kids that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 dodgysub

Any news on OLG suspensions for next weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 pjvalentine

Both suspensions upheld on appeal. Meeting took place last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

The dig that Bergin gave to Walsh was very dirty and could have caused permanent damage. I've seen him strike back like that with the butt of the hurl before it's not nice or smart. I understand the frustration but given where that hurl will likely end up on a lads body, with the force he used, he was rightly sent off and the suspension upheld. Instead of roaring at Walsh he should have taken his punishment with a bit of grace like Butler.

I am a bit surprised that the Mark Bergin decision is upheld given I can't ever remember him getting a yellow card previously. I suppose the difficulty was getting evidence to overturn it as none of the other officials may have seen it or they may have been no video evidence. Anyway, you would expect the rest of the team to win it for them. Interesting to see will Mackessy to be on frees or will they start Conor Kelly

I didn't see a replay of it but looking at it live, admittedly from 80-100 yards away, Bergins flick back to stop Walsh from holding looked fairly tame

I can't believe they tried to appeal Butlers though. It was reckless and a bit filthy.