Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Marrooned

they weren’t on the pitch they were on the line. **** watching it on clubber no wonder the GAA is fucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 BORO BILL

Doubt Doherty will leave Thomastown, no reason why he can’t do both. Thomastown looked like the best coached team I’ve seen for a long time. Could do worse than bringing some of their forwards into county set up, Luke connellan, Robbie Donnelly Stephen Donnelly all play heads up hurling all unselfish and team players not like some of the current panel, most who would want a ball of their own. Very disappointed with loughlins on Sunday blown away physically and just don’t have the forwards to win titles, they didn’t respect Thomastown and paid the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭kentu

Players for me who deserve a chance in Kilkenny Jersey next year:

Diarmuid Galway (Thomastown) Martin O'Neil (Mooncoin) Paul Cody (Clara) Martin O'Connell (Clara) Colman O'Sullivan (Tullogher) Padraig Dempsey (Mullinavat) Brian Staunton (Thomastown) Zack Bay Hammond (Thomastown) Luke Connellan (Thomastown) Killian Corcoran (Ballyhale) Andy Hickey (Dunnamaggin) Ted Drea(Gowran) Niall Brennan (Lisdowney) Billy Reid (Glenmore) Eddie Donnelly (Ttown) James Bergin (Conahy).

And players who are already on panel deserve much more of a shot next year: Shane Murphy, Luke Hogan, Padraic Moylan, Jordan Molloy, Conor Heary, Stephen Donnelly, Peter McDonald, Denis Walsh.

I think most would agree on agree here we need a serious freshening up on the squad overall, a few players are not at much over the last few years and are most definitely stopping development on younger players. I would expect atleast 2 retirements over the next while but no guarantees on that obviously, I wouldn't be gone on bringing Mackessy into the panel being honest as it looks a bit desperate on our part but i do expect he'll be in or around it anyway, does appear to lack pace for top IC level has loads of hurling but I don't think he's what we're looking for.

Lastly massive well done to Thomastown the other day, their performance over the last last 2 days really blew me away, Mullinavat will probably feel a lot better about themselves after seeing Sunday's game, they physical hits they put in was something to behold, Peter McDonald and Zack Bay Hammond in particular, John Donnelly was the outstanding player of the Championship too, and will make a good captain for the county team next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

No John Donnelly on the team of the year. Whoever hired Scally needs to now fire him straight away the man hasn't a clue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Stripeyman

You need to reread the criteria for selection on that team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Stripeyman

And then give Scally back his job 😉

Fair enough just saw that

So basically only a bit of a team not the team of the year so and shouldn't be called team of the year if excluding players.

If you actually listened to the podcast rather than overreacting on here they will be doing the actual team of the year on next week's podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Krazy gang

Well done to thomastown. Not much more to do add than what's been said already. Classic case of underdogs out working the favourite and upsetting them. The hits thomastown were putting in combined with how well they use the ball is so impressive.

I thought they're full forward line might struggle but the opposite was the case. Rory Connellan has some workrate, not the most stylish hurler but didn't give loughlin full back line a moments peace.

No interest in listening to those lads unless I want to be put to sleep. My mistake but nothing would surprise me with those clowns

You're obviously a big fan

Have to say I find your obsession with a certain poster bizarre, especially when his posts are fairly mild and harmless and pretty much the same as lots of other supporters here. A certain other poster has been on an ongoing rant for the last year with everyone from managers to the co board in the firing line. A few posters here have been on the end of his ire as well 😂😂. strange how you have no issue with that poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

It says exactly what it is on the graphic 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

You seem to be pretty preoccupied with them for lads you supposedly have no interest in listening too. I don't agree with some of the opinions on it but they give club championships a bit of profile like other club championship podcasts in the country. All the national podcasts basically stopped covering GAA in July except for Colm Parkinson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭mullinr2

I see a lot of posters forgetting about a very talented hurler who just had a poor year last year - Billy Dreenan. He's a natural replacement for TJ on the placed balls. Why are posters not mentioning him?

I think I've already said my mistake or did you miss that comment 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 AhBoyDelaney

Scally hasn’t a clue. He gave Thomastown no chance all year. He bluffs on KCLR about games he was at when in fact he trips himself up by saying he was away elsewhere for the weekend. Then again it’s my choice to switch off when he comes on which I have learnt to do instead of listening to tripe he spouts.

Think I'll take your advice and block them on social media aswell so I won't have to read their tripe either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

There was a discussion of him not long ago where a lot of people questioned his workrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,915 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

In fairness the local radio stations give great coverage of the club games compared to some counties. You could have listened to 5 or 6 matches most weekends from senior down to junior. Minor, u16 and 14 finals were also broadcast.

I don't agree with a lot of what they say either, very biased for and against certain clubs and lot of simple details wrong, but it's good to hear clubs getting coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭droppingball

In fairness to both KCLR and CRKC they have given great coverage and I would say they have made the championships very enjoyable. I would actually give credit to Scally for keeping the podcast going.

As a thomastown man I wouldn't have an issue with the prediction of OLG winning by 8, I thought he made a mistake picking the combined team and going 11 to 4 or 12 to 3 OLG to ttown players or whatever it was. There is two aspects to that for me, 1 is that he put his own head on the block and it backfired and was going to be disrespectful to team who deserved to be in a final. The other is it did build it up for us before the match and he dealt with it well yesterday in the podcast and the banter was good so fair play to him for that.

The players had a good craic with it and sowed it in to him and he sucked it up and laughed it off. Shouldn't be making it personal anyway for sure.

Hopefully we can keep Noel Doherty his level of detail and the standards and structure he has bit in place have changed a whole club who were known as bottlers 18 months ago. He deserves every credit and the way he has been treated by the county board has been extremely poor.

I am not sure Noel will be given much influence in with Kilkenny and if he doesn't it will be a waste of time. This feels like we need a freshening of players, structure and coaching. Please god he can do both jobs next year.

Post edited by droppingball on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭bodun

On the match coverage and coverage in general, who looks after the social media for the county board? Shocking coverage of the final on Sunday, no score updates, just a couple of clubber retweets on twitter. Many other counties would have score and scorer updates as they happen, just thought it was very poor.

I was gonna say "typical Boro type response" ….

Isnt that right Ted ……

• Registered Users Posts: 5 terracedgarden

Someone might be able to correct me but did Jonjo Farrell create a bit of history by winning a clean sweep of Junior, Intermediate and now Senior County medals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭droppingball

Tucker, Richard o Hara and Dylan Waugh were also involved in all three, possibly Davey Pender also. Someone said Andy Comerford achieved it but don't know if that is the case.

Exactly. Hardly an off the wall call to say o loughlins we're going to win. Just saying they'd win by 8 or 9 seemed a bit over the top.

Like you said the thomastown players took it in good spirit and so did scally. I don't know why people get annoyed at pundits making predictions. It's only a pastime after all.

Interesting to see how many thomastown lads get called in with kilkenny apart from the 3 or 4 who were there last year. Of course lot depends on how far they go in the all Ireland club.

Anyone hear of who was called in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 pjvalentine

Heard a number of Threecastles players have been called in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 lob it in

Back to back county champions,they deserve a shot..

Thomastown U21’s v Ballycallan on Sunday if Thomastown win they play the village Friday night in Muckalee, that’s a short turnaround?

The junior Co final tomorrow is a very interesting game. Both of the beaten finalists last 2 years so both will be desperate to win. Windgap probably under more pressure after losing the final to b& whites 2 years ago when they were hot favourites and the semi to lachtaíns last year.

St lachtaíns were lucky to beat galmoy thanks to James Maher who is going very well in the forwards. With Darren brennan in goal, and Brian Kennedy at 6 they have a good spine. Windgap have very strong forwards with Emmet landy the main man and Jack Doyle and James power getting 3 or 4 points a game. Purcell started full forward the last day. Wouldn't surprise me if this finished in a draw, but windgap would be my pick if I had to call it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭KK36

Some of the Dunamaggin lads from the mid 90s/early 00s would have them too I'd say. Muckalee lads from 78-84 too. I'm sure there's more

first of all I would go with Freshford for the junior and surely the shamrocks have them all between 74,and78.

Thanks marooned, that era is before my time!. I will be shouting for Freshford as my Dad used to play with them as a youngster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Special Junior

Whoever doesn’t win tomorrow can see them going up next year. Conahy were a junior standard team in intermediate (along with blacks and whites) and can’t see with the age profile of the team them bouncing back.

Did Jack Doyle take part in world handball championships? Been a busy week for him if he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭mullinr2

No All star for Kilkenny, it was a poor season in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭robwen

Wasn't Harry Shine on the Kilkenny panel this year, pretty sure he was a sub for the Leinster final anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭conor05

I find it hard to believe that Gearoid Hegarty was better than John Donnelly this year.

A big two fingers up to Leinster hurling with that All Star selection in my view.

Limerick got to a semi final, the same as Kilkenny yet they are deemed to have 4 All stars.

Didn’t think Eoin Downey was any better than Huw Lawlor either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,729 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Just discovered its the first year since the All Stars began that neither Kilkenny, Kerry or Dublin won an award.

Mental

Hea

Heard on radio he has a handball match tomorrow at 10am with the co final at 2 30!! I know nothing about handball so have no idea the leigth of a match.

Nervy morning for windgap management

Hegarty had an excellent year, if not the semi final. Yes Donnelly probably unlucky but was quieter in last 2 or 3 matches. Cian Kenny bit unlucky too but I don't think the players lose any sleep over the all stars although there's some nice story's tonight like louth winning their 2nd ever all star & Paul conroy winning poty.

unless KK swept the boards in all competitions they can expect nothing, that’s the way it always was.