Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

And that's because Maynooth will give you a scholarships if you can hold a hurl they are so desperate to win

And with all the so called KK county players they have

They can't even get out of their Fitzgibbon group

Maybe our players are no longer at the same standard as the Cork Clare and Limerick players. I'm not saying that's the players fault it's the fault of poor coaching in this county across all grades

Again in my opinion

No as far as I heard he stepped away completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭kentu

why do our clubs always do well in provincial and All Ireland series if coaching across all grades is very poor in your opinion??

I never mentioned clubs

I wasn't talking about our clubs I was talking about county underage and senior. I think I clearly stated our senior players.

Our clubs are better managed than our county teams and that in itself is a shame.

In all fairness in everything I said is that all you have to offer

You seem to be very arrogant with some of your comments on here lately towards me and others, you charged at me last week when YOU didn't actually read the team of the year that was excluding the Al semi final squad v clare this year.

I agree a few of our clubs are managed better than our county team but you didn't make that very clear with that comment you put up 1st which is why I questioned that was all.

BTW I think our county teams are performing poorly especially U20 and in Senior camp some strange choices seem to be made like not dropping some older players, possibly instead being advised to retire rather than actually dropping them. Players I mentioned last week who performed excellently for their clubs this year I will be surprised if many of them actually get the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Think your being harsh on maynooth

Maynooth in particular would remind me of Carlow it a few years ago there trying to up there standard of there hurling teams there a small college and know that they can’t attract the players from the bigger hurling school in kk like st Kieran’s so they go after the players from cbs comer etc

They know that the bigger colleges ul dcu ucc etc can offer more in terms of scholarships

Carlow it wasn’t exactly a hotbed of hurling 10 years ago and look where they are now

Maynooth have seen what they have done and are trying to copy it

As regards our players on Fitz gibbon teams particularly the Munster colleges I think it’s a bit of snobbery and politics tbh I don’t think our underage players are that bad

I think it’s more fashionable to be picking Limerick Clare and cork players as Kilkenny haven’t won an awful lot the last few years

Plus the hurling landscape has changed you have better hurlers coming out of Laois Carlow Offaly Wexford Westmeath Kerry and other smaller counties which wouldn’t have had maybe 10-15 years ago

In all fairness if I have an opinion and that makes me arrogant that's fine with me.

I'm not in any way directing any comments at you I just answered what you called me up on and I admitted twice I was wrong and apologised regarding the club team. But I still stand by my comments that Scally is an idiot.

I feel quiet strongly that our county set up is dismal. I feel we are very badly coached and I think It's the same old bull again this year so far. I do not rate Derek Lyng and definitely not Peter Donovan but I'd imagine you've guessed that by now.

As far as the u20 set up Mark Dowling and Rob Shorhall shouldn't be given an under 6 team to manage not alone a county U20 team.

If I'm wrong about them all then KK will will an U20 and Senior all ireland in 2025 and I'll be delighted to say I was wrong.

Fair point about Maynooth .

As regards Ul and UCC we had players on those teams and some starting in recent years. On UL Darragh Corcoran Niall Mason Niall Brennan Ian Byrne there could be others in UCC Joe Fitzpatrick Richie Mc Evoy those all started or came on the Fitzgibbon teams. Because they do favour the Munster counties Fair play to the players I mentioned. If our players are good enough they will start or be on Fitzgibbon panels

None of them on senior panel maybe only Niall Mason as far as I know but could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Who are the players not making the Munster college teams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Krazy gang

If darragh corcoran has been dropped that's a bit of a surprise. Didn't he hurl well enough for the club this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I could understand Delaney moving on there, he's been around a while and hasn't got much game time the last couple of years, I think Conor has been a good servant and injury and the form of Huw Lawlor has probably meant he never fulfilled his potential. Slightly surprised to see Corcoran going but after a couple of early league games Lyng seemed to discard him. I know there was a slight issue with Kevin & Liam where when they weren't on the first 26 for the championship games they wanted to go back and play the league games for Bennettsbridge to keep hurling and Lyng didn't really like it. Other than Neary, don't know much about the other players called up but I'd imagine there are a good few who were on the extended panel that will be called back in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Personally think that would be a disaster to lose him altogether, I know all the players really liked him so doubt they'll be best please to see him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭randd1

On the All-Stars. I think we can all agree we didn't deserve one, we had a poor year in general. On the balance of things, I think they got it right overall.

I wouldn't be expecting many more in the coming years either. We seem to be in a bit of slump coaching wise at county level. Clearly the club scene is doing something right, but whatever it is, we don't seem to be making it click in the way other counties are when it comes to the county side of things.

It's hard to put your finger on it, but there's something wrong with our coaching, our setup. Maybe we need to do the humble thing and start asking around for help and ideas.

I think as well, Leinster is hurting us.

Whatever way you want to look at it, Leinster is 5hite compared to Munster. The quality of competition at underage in Munster is going to see any half decent lad come out with a pretty serious apprenticeship. Offaly have bucked the trend in recent years, but in the main Leinster has been a poor proving ground at underage.

As for senior level, Leinster hurling is in the doldrums at the moment, we've won 5 on the bounce now and for the most part they've been trundle through a mediocre group, and handy wins in the final (bar maybe 2020). The league is better competition for us as a county than Leinster at the minute.

I don't know what's gone so badly wrong in Leinster hurling, and while the Leinster Council have been a disaster there, the hurling counties Wexford raised a gallop in 2019 and have barely made a run since, Galway have fallen off a cliff badly since 2018 and have been poor since, and Dublin seem to have given up the ghost. Hopefully Offaly can come good again and add some spice to it, but let's be honest, Laois could have beaten them in the Joe McDonagh final, so unless they kick it up a few notches, they have more a look of a yo-yo team at the minute.

The Leinster championship is a chore to get through. When that's the case, it's hardly going to excite fans and generate the interest in hurling that the Leinster Championship needs to grow, and the type of growth that lifts all boats. I'd love to see a Leinster Championship where Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin, Wexford and Offaly produce something like Munster, but so far the only county living up to that bargain is us, and we've hardly been pulling up trees in recent years.

Maybe join Munster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭neverbet

In the noughties we were consistently winning minor under 21 and practically every senior panel member had at least one Fitzgibbon. Now apart from TJ and possibly Eoin Murphy don't think any panel member has a Fitzgibbon. Our lack of success over 10 years or so at underage and Fitzgibbon suggests we have done quite well to remain in the top 2/3 teams in the country. I am not happy about it but the conveyor belt of talent isn't there at the moment and hasn't been for a number of years. That might be a home truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭kk.man

Imagine meeting Limerick, Clare or Cork in the first round. That would wipe the cobwebs off us for sure.

Yes agree Leinster hurling is terrible ATM. In the golden Cody years the Munster public would say ye have it so easy, no wounder ye win so many. That argument is surely put to bed now. I would say the state of hurling in Leinster has transgressed and we are not within an earshot of an AI.

I totally agree with

Corcoran didn't go of his own accord Lyng dropped him as he did the others I mentioned

I am very surprised about Darragh I feel he shouldn't have been dropped

Darragh a far superior hurler than lads he is now supposed to be bringing in

I don't think the man knows what he's doing seems he's in way over his head but perhaps I'm wrong

Hopefully I am

Is it our talent or is it the poor coaching and development at county level. I myself feel it's the latter

I think it's too easy to blame the players I personally don't think it's the players fault I lay full blame at the door of County Managers and County Coaches

Great post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Village87

Id have Darragh Corcoran over Richie Reid everyday.

From 2008 Leinster hurling was shite it was only when Dublin made a bit of a push and Galway entered the party did the standard come up but Kilkenny beat everyone in Leinster back then

The difference now is we’re beating those teams by less now

Each team in Munster have had there down period since 2008 Limerick tipp cork Waterford and Clare

There’s higher scoring matches in Munster but I don’t think it’s better I think it’s hyped up far to much and some of the defending in Munster matches is terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭kk.man

I was at an under age match recently where one side withdrew their corner forward back, and the other side whom had some county experience on the side-line hadn't a clue how to counter act it. Another game i was at where the coach told the half backs 'be ready for the puck out'. That puck out never got pasted mid field for the entire game! Many coaches cant read a game or know about a game plan.

I wouldn't say we're that far off an all Ireland though. Like if we had beaten clare this year ourselves and cork would have been a 50/50 game. With how weak leinster is we're nearly guaranteed to be in a semi final most years.

Also does anyone think any of the thomastown lads will be nearer a starting place next year, apart from John Donnelly obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭conor05

Agree on Peter, unbelievable hurler.

Zach Hammond is there physically, serious athlete and was putting in serious hits in the Ballyhale & OLG matches but hurling wise I am not sure if he is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭blackcard

Diarmuid Galway and Peter McDonald, the latter at half back alongside David Blanchfield. Possibly Stephen Donnelly and Luke Connellan in the forwards as squad members at least . Zack Bay is a serious athlete but doesn't have a great first touch i.m.o.

In Aidan Tallis and Diarmuid Galway we have 2 serious backup keepers, Dean Mason was in as 3rd choice aswell this year after Darren Brennan dropped off.

I wouldn't be one bit surprised if Eoin Murphy called it a day as I did hear he was thinking of doing some travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Marrooned

every team could handle one Zac Bay for his speed alone

We badly need a midfielder to partner c Kenny could Mac Donald or Hammond do a job there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭droppingball

Wouldn't rule Luke Connellan out either, physical, quick, unreal engine and can take a score, well worth a shot and only 21 so with a bit of work could nail down a place.

Lyng has 5 U20’s in training will this cause problems again this year for Mark Dowling?

He's come on in leaps and bounds alright but still inter County is different level altogether to club. No guarantee he'd be a whole lot better than Carey or deegan for example. Hopefully few thomastown lads get a run of matches in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭davidx40

Can anyone see us winning a senior all Ireland in the next 10 years ? I certainly can't see that prospect

I don't think that's a problem for the U20s it's Mark Dowling is the problem

Who are the 5

I just heard of Lyng Neary Murphy

No I can't with current set up of management and coaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭jimmythesulk

We will definitely win at least one. We have an easy draw every year. Leinster is so bad at the moment we are guaranteed a quarter final at worst if not a semi final. With Limerick going to come back to the pack, expect more all Ireland's to be shared out.

Yeah i agree, Kilkenny more or less guaranteed a semi final spot. Galway, Wexford, Antrim and Dublin are very poor now

I could see this being lyngs last year even if he wins the all Ireland with kk

I don’t think any inter county team will have a manager longer that 5 years in the future the demands are to high

We will win more all Irelands in the next 10 years but lyng will be well gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,043 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Can't speak to the next ten years but in the next couple of years I don't see us having the beating of two top Munster teams at the business end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 upnorth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭neverbet

Think you've been going a bit mad there lately. Mark Dowling one of a select number in this County to manage his own club to a senior title. Maybe you have achieved something similar or better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭KK36

Mark Dowling is an excellent man over a team. Looking back at how results went last year, he got rode out of an all ireland by our inept county board officers.

that’s old age for you mixed up between the two age groups.

spot on KK 36

Some good u21 matches on this weekend. GBC v Village especially catching the eye. These are also games where county management need to be all over. Ryan Corcoran looked very good last week v Thomastown. The search for new players standing out should continue at this grade. God knows we need them

🤣🤣🤣 that's the best post I've read on a long time

Gave me a great laugh

Select few

Seriously get over yourself

Boro men out in force