Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Special Junior

I see the camogie board have advertised for a management team couldn’t the other county board have done that for the three positions in the hurling teams

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Rules are being waived left right and centre, because it aids in making the game visually spectacular.

People who have never played the game gush at it all and tell everyone it's a better version of Quidditch.

But a lot of the spectacular is an illusion, a game that is being made easy by abandonment of rules. And the team/management that can best exploit the laxness in officiating will do best.

Throwing, steps, illegal pucks outs and illegal quick puck outs, ridiculous bas sizes making striking and lifting simple, all feeding into a dumbing down of the game to please the watching masses. But I'm almost certain it won’t end well.

For me the handpass will ultimately have to go I feel it has outlived its usefulness and is now primarily a tool for clever/devious coaches to gain an advantage by cheating (and let’s be clear here, instructing players to throw the ball is cheating). And maybe a yellow card for over carrying?

Post edited by Alonzo Moseley on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭zetecescort

is looking for refs to ignore the rules ok once your team is the one exploiting this?

I said it here several times and I was shot down over it as regards Limerick and the throwing of the ball, if it’s not in the rules then it’s cheating absolutely no argument that has to be the way and if it takes a hundred frees per match to stop

These rule breakers then carry it out it would soon stop it by yellow carding for two throws and a red card after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Sadly, there is little appetite to stamp out cheating because the cheating is essential in allowing the game to become a gushing spectacle of speed and scores.

I'd imagine if you sat down and watched the AI final you could probably come up with at least 100 examples of rules being broken but play went on.

If every over stepping and throw and illegal puck out or free was pulled, scorelines would probably drop off a cliff and the howling would start about “ruining the game as a spectacle”

Let me engage in a bit of heresy to emphasise. Tony Kelly’swonder goal in AI Final shouldn’t have stood!

The opening was made possible by him taking between 7 and 9 steps to run around the first 2 Cork defenders, before he engaged the stick to brilliantly beat the 3rd defender and keeper. Not one person in commentary or in print dared diminish that goal by pointing out that he essentially cheated to create the chance to work his magic stickwork.

And there lies the problem, no ref will want to incur the wrath of the “**** the rules, let the game flow, you will ruin the spectacle” merchants.

Ironically, if the rules were all strictly enforced, it’s the Tony Kellys who would prosper most, as the skills required would be harder and favour the gifted stickmen far more than the gym monkeys, runners and throwers. Imagine a game where 4 steps was strictly enforced, handpassing was banned and the ludicrous bas size reduced. It's a game where the most skillful stickmen will thrive.

I just don’t see it happening soon, it will need scorelines to reach truly farcical levels (75-80 pts a match) to force a light bulb “wtf have we done to the game” moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Ah lads whatever about giving out about hand passing/ throwing can we honestly give out about steps..did ger aylward not take about 13 steps before a goal against offaly one year..did Dj not take close to ten against wexford one year and several other examples we could think of if we weren't in a haze of depression because we aren't winning at the moment and its blame the managers ,blame other teams for cheating..

Haven't posted here in a month but reading back its gone very negative and whiny..id suggest we cheer up and go enjoy the club games and hope to see some new talent emerging

For what its worth i do think management has room to improve but they are there now so we should support them

I also dislike the throw ball but cant see it changing so whining about it is about as helpful as giving out about the weather..

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Topcat32

Some exaggeration about 10 and 13 steps and some pretty poor comments about Kilkenny players making under 17 teams of the year, I really hope the Kilkenny minor team don't care about armchair supporters being uncomfortable about them reaching a final, best of luck to the 6 underage teams in finals next weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭droppingball

Having watched some of the club games from other counties, I feel like we are blessed to have the standard of club hurling we have in kilkenny. Thought this forum would be full of chat about club games and players and it's all about topics that have been discussed for months during the inter county season.

I agree with you on the standard of club hurling in KK as is evident in the all Ireland club championships when nearly every year we would win at least one title. So what’s the problem with intercounty?

JJust Looked it up. Ger aylward goal was against galway. Some pundits claimed 16 and some 13 so im not actually exaggerating..anyway my point was simply that big bad limerick didn't invent the taking of extra steps

I agree completely with everything else you said though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭BQQ

big bad limerick didn't invent the taking of extra steps

did anyone say they did?

As far as I can see people are arguing that the throwing and steps are reducing the physical contact and skills of the game

And that goes for every team including Kilkenny

Argue against that if you like, but don’t pretend like anyone is blaming Limerick for inventing over carrying

You are probably right and i was responding to all the general comments about cheating and Limerick are often mentioned in that..but in fairness the main one here was about tony kellys goal so i was wrong there..but yes all teams are ignoring the rules including ourselves..unfortunately i dont see any way in which things will change any time soon

I see ac/dc played Croke park last night convenient that there are no Gaelic games on that would’ve interfere.

The reason we are doing well on the club scene is tha the clubs organisation is better run than the county board which is a disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Yes AC/DC schedule an entire European tour around the split season...

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭hogans heroes

Tommy shefflin and Adrian o sullivan are 2 names being mentioned, Tommy would be a good choice IMO.Intersesting to see who takes over.

I presume that’s the senior camogie manager post.

It's a idol point, there's been summer concerts in Croke Park for donkeys years weather the AI final is in July, Aug or Sept, there massive revenue drivers, sure Springsteen played up there too in May as there was 3-4 week gap between the 2 Leinster finals.

no there is a clear run at it now because there is no more games there till the finals of the club championship.

But sure if there was Sept AI like up to 2017 May and June would be as a good as a free run, only game during that period would be Leinster football semi finals, its just rearranging things, I can assure you whatever the calendar there will be summer concerts in Croke Park.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 lob it in

The system that we had here in Kilkenny where you had two matches in April and one in May and then a break until September worked really well,In fairness to Croke park they did try and bring in a club only month for March a few years back but egomaniac inter county managers ruined that.

In my opinion the split season is just an illusion,every intercounty team are back training in November so the intercounty season is November to July,where as the club season is now August to October so club players are waiting nine months for maybe three months hurling if you're lucky.Club players aren't going to hang around all year for maybe nine or ten weeks of hurling we are already seeing the effects now with alot of clubs decimated with lads gone travelling or moved abroad for work.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Neewollah

100%. As a club player I despise the new split season. Loved the schedule KK used to have for club games.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 TipperaryFox

Strongly agree with this. There are very few clubs hurling in September let alone October however. I know the Kilkenny club c/chip is extended somewhat but Waterford semi finals take place next weekend, Tipp, are at quarter final stage already, Carlow county final replay was held yesterday. Even with KK not starting the club action until August the reality for a lot of club players is that a their season will be over by the last weekend of September. 6-7 weeks from 52 weeks in the year is madness to grow the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 dodgysub

That is the fundamental problem with the split season as it stands. Even in Kilkenny, there will be teams finished on the 15/9 having only started on the August bank holiday. It can't be good for clubs. However the real issue is bloated inter county competitions particularly football. Unless this is addressed, everything else is a side show.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭hogans heroes

YEs