Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭kksaints

I know Wexford had a man sent off but that's a very impressive scoreline by the Minors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Village87

God bless the Munster championship, route one is back. Cork can be got at going direct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Marrooned

minors win against Wexford KK 1-31 WX 0-12.I’ll give ye the heads up later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Had a Galway man beside me who was absolutely slating Pádraic Mannion. He was saying that he was essentially running the team and had been for years. Don't know how he thinks that runs in practice but he really really doesnt like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Seadin

There are plenty of routes where Kilkenny can be got too. Makes it very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,098 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

True but as long as Lawler is fit and ready we will not be caught for soft goals, he improved the players either side of him too because they know they can trust him.

I looked everything I saw yesterday except the injuries. Puckouts were way better, delivery from the back was (with some exceptions) improved majorly, the forwards without TJ stood up and looked for work as well as scoring points. Cody worked his way into the game. I must admit I was wrong about mckessy, didn't think he'd even make the panel but he was very good and he brings something different up front. Midfield looked great yesterday and I'm very relieved to see that we can probably name the two players in there every day now as long as they're fit. Everything that went through the two lads was well worked, and they were crucial to how we played ball forward.

Galway were septic in fairness, and I was optimistic going in anyway, but we are clearly addressing problems we've had in the past. Including conditioning, which will be very important against the Munster teams. Still think we'll fly in well under the radar this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭neverbet

League is league, championship is a totally different game. Rob Downey was a huge loss for Cork but what were they at emptying the bench as if the game was in the bag?Cahal malone never gets any credit for what he brings to Clare, might not even have been nominated last year for an All star. Was outstanding from ball one today. All four full backs were cleaned . Thank God for Huw Lawlor and fair play to Liam Cahill and Tipp, that was 70 mins no let up hurling and a draw was the least they deserved. What a days entertainment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭jamesbond2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

If Mackessy can keep up his level of hurling he will be important in the championship later on against the likes of Byrnes or Coughlan from Limerick or McInerney from Clare who like the physical stuff and are all big men.

without building them up too much they were good throughout the field Ollie O Donovan is a huge talent got 5 pts. From play and could have getting two goals only for the Wexford goalie pulling off two great saves.

Best minor team since 2003. Look an exceptional bunch. Best of luck to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Delighted with the continuing improvements in our play yesterday after a good performance against Limerick the last time out.

As others have said already you’d have to factor in just how poor Galway were on the day but great to see there has obviously been a lot of work done on our puck out and our patterns of play.

We look like a better coached team in the last couple of games and our support play and delivery into the forwards is so much better.Are we seeing the influence of Noel Doherty I wonder?

We certainly won’t be getting carried away but we’re going in the right direction and hopefully the injuries aren’t too serious as we need everyone fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭kk.man

Totally agree however how poor are Galway is the question. Galway stood off kilkenny players yesterday so the game plan was easily implement. Anyway there is improving which is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

2 great games in munster .

Some intensity and dogged battling...

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭The_Ghost

in fairness yesterday was very good. I had doubts going in, not because of Galway but because of our league campaign but in fairness that was good yesterday and sets us up well for Leinster. Very impressed with us even though Galway were very poor ( shambles really and felt like a league game) but we showed our depth. Actually really liked Mullen inside, he’s gifted enough to play anywhere as we’ve seen but he was always a forward and the fact he played on after going over on it ( even tho he wasn’t right) must be a good sign you’d hope. Donnolly done very well of the bench too. I wrote shine off earlier inde league but in fairness he’s looked better out the field. Huw Lawor is absolutely brilliant he doesn’t get the credit he deserves I think he’s the best full back in the country and by quite some distance since EOD is playing football, Burke is injured, Morresiary was dropped and L Ryan injured. I don’t know why Galway played Whelean inside he’s a fantastic hurler but it was great to see Butler clear him, he was brilliant first to every ball. Cian Kenny will never hit as many wides again and molloy was brilliant I thought. Cody took some while to get going but very good in the second half and in fairness were very versatile all over. Cody didn’t get much chances at frees which would have tested him because he’s not the best free taker in the world but thought Fionn done well on the long ones and delighted he kept hitting them even after a few wides. Don’t know if he’d foul as much in a competitive game but he did foul alot yesterday. Should get to Leinster final, TJ to come back will be massive. Seeing cork Clare today there’s alot to be said for 3 inside and if lads out the pitch could step up abit TJ would be very dangerous inside. Great win for the minors today. Haven’t seen them or know too much about them but by all accounts a very good team. Please god over the next few weeks the positivity stays. Antrim won’t be easy next week but should have enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Topcat32

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,098 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Absolutely, all the raving about the matches but the defending was dire and I wouldn't swap Lawler for any back in munster right now. The intensity in Munster is undeniable but I think we're seeing a bit of an evolution of the game, for the better, right now, and teams are slow adjusting to it. They've been set up for a few years now to try and contest the middle third and close down longer range shots, some teams, especially Cork, have noticed this has left full back lines unprotected and vulnerable to being run at. The result is more goals, and more direct fast ball in, which is brilliant, but the full backs will have to adjust. One of the Cork goals today the Clare full back stood off, a few yards away from goal, watching the forward run in. Made you pine for the days when Noel Hickey would have put hurling out of his mind for a few weeks of he saw someone running at him like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭neverbet

Poor defending or not I don't think anyone can argue it wasn't a bloody great afternoons entertainment. Provided by four amateur teams in front of packed stadiums. We are blessed and more to come next weekend. Having looked back at our game it was like a mid february league game. Not taking from our lads they look well primed and I have no doubt they would compete well with the four munster teams. It is not good to see Galway so poor all over the field, not good for Leinster or the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Isnt that a good thing for spectators ? Ok point taken , but I actually was highlighting the intensity and the fire shown on the pitch , the pushing , shoving... Players wanting a game .

I know which game I'd prefer to watch .

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

I normally enjoy your contributions but this is simply false.

All 4 teams yesterday defended well. Take the games for what they were: brilliant spectacles by 4 great teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭jamesbond2022

The games might be more intense in Munster but it’s no different to Leinster with the same team winning the competition year after year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭me89

Any word on any of the injuries yet?

Hopefully they’re not too serious, Mullen showed glimpses of his class in his short time on the pitch and is at an age now to become a real leader for this team. He would be a massive loss if it’s anything long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

Lawlor is the best full back in Ireland by a distance, he has everything you want in a modern full back.

He is always at a minimum a 7/10 in every match he plays.

I also think attendances play a part in the Munster v Leinster debate in excitement & entertainment.

Them Munster games are a big occasion for fans etc and the same sense of occasion isn’t there for the Leinster games except for Kilkenny v Wexford, hopefully Offaly can bring some support to their home matches.

32,995 at the Tipperary v Limerick match

21,000 at Cork v Clare

8,243 at Kilkenny v Galway

5,394 at Dublin v Offaly

4,774 at Wexford v Antrim

Post edited by conor05 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Our home support is absolutely pathetic really isn't it. Home of hurling blah blah blah and people won't turn up to a 4.00 throw in game in the Park on a Saturday against the perceived 2nd best team in Leinster

Agree 100% with that post. Muster hurling is absolutely fabulous to watch, as a sports fanatic it is up there with the best sporting events in the world. Incredible entertainment. But watching yesterday i cannot see Cork winning an All Ireland, the all out swashbuckling hurling with 3 players inside the 21 is great to watch but the porous defence will cost them. If Kilkenny end up playing Cork i could see Kilkenny playing with 3/4 forwards and just dogging Cork and going long to TJ.

On the talk of Galway they should be embarrassed, only for they stumbled across an average Waterford team they would still have no All Ireland, they are shambolic, and will be down for 10 years. Kilkenny are the only threat to Munster dominance, Kilkenny will be one semi finalist with 3 Munster teams. I cant see that changing for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Glenomra

So accurate, unfortunately, as the survival of hurling needs a stronger Leinster championship. Kilkenny and Wexford are the only 2 teams that bring the requisite level of passion to the competition. Galway have become an atrocious watch, surprisingly as they have lots of talented hurlers and adjoining clare as they are, one would have assumed our success would have motivated Galway. Spoke to a few Galway supporters after yesterday's game in Ennis and they were actually embarrassed at their performance on Saturday evening.

6,000 over the quota in Ennis I doubt it. And I certainly thought there was more than 8,500 in Nowlan park.