Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No more motorways - what ya reckon?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭Vic_08

so no actual bus routes use motorways?

Yes there are actual bus routes using motorways.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,533 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

If this idiot comes up with a suggestion you can pretty much guarantee its a bad idea - he should just stick to sleeping on the job - makes him look less of a fool

Lets be better for the planet but...
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/opw-rejects-green-party-idea-of-lighting-phoenix-park-for-joggers-1.4449796

Wasn't it Gormless that wanted to ban incandescent bulbs when it was already agreed EU wide to ban them within a timescale

How the green party ever gets votes is beyond me - they can't even agree on stuff between themselves

Building the M20 instead of an M24 shows just how clueless these people are.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Hasnt this pandemic shown us that global interest rates allow us to borrow vast sums indefinately with no ill effect? Build the motorways, a train station in every village.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭Banana Republic 1

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I asked a friend of mine recently, who's a farmer in the west, what his thoughts on Eamonn were as we were discussing a few things, and suffice it to say, they don't have much time for Eamo in rural Ireland.

Was that the same fella Enda met that time, with two pints in his hands….

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭mickuhaha

The government want to stop building the safest roads available. What absolute nonsense. They also have a rail network that slows down then there are leaves on the tracks and people sitting on the floor during busy times. A city bus that drives past stops during rush hour. Small towns within virtually no bus or train service. Unaffordable houses in urban areas. Allowed house's to be built with pirite. Virtually the worst cost over run for a hospital in the world. Want to sell there shares in a bank just as they start to increase in value. A rip of insurance industry. An unaffordable legal system. Ect. I don't think the Irish government are the best for taking recommendations from their costly experts as they seem to do what they like anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Build more bypasses ? Why so we can put a Tesco, Woodies etc on them and suck the life and all the traffic out of every town centre ? Eamon ryan is consistently the Top Clown in a circus full of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

If hes not going to build anymore more motorways here one. Can you ensure we have a proper rail service. The reason the ballybropy limerick line is so underused is none of the train times suit workers to get into limerick in time and it so slow any trains that do run on it

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The biggest eejits are all Greens.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭prunudo

This the same Emaon Ryan that has contributed to the delay in getting Metrolink built because he facilitated south Dublin residents in objecting against it going through their neighbourhood's?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Vic_08 wrote: »
    Yes there are actual bus routes using motorways.
    which ones? we were talking about dublin bus specifically, i think that context was lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

which ones? we were talking about dublin bus specifically, i think that context was lost.

The 76b used the m50. Haven't been on it since 2011, so no idea if it still operates or goes the same route.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,655 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

RobAMerc wrote: »
    Build more bypasses ? Why so we can put a Tesco, Woodies etc on them and suck the life and all the traffic out of every town centre ? Eamon ryan is consistently the Top Clown in a circus full of them.
    so we *shouldn't* bypass towns? surely the issue is those out of town retail parks - which happen with or without bypasses - not the bypasses themselves.

according to wikipedia, we currently have 916km of motorway in ireland; which means we've actually more km of motorway per capita than germany.

motorways in ireland seem to have become an article of faith. motorways = good, more motorways = more good, all the motorways = all the good.

RobAMerc wrote: »

Motorways bypass towns.

I didn’t think that argument for not building bypasses was made anymore. Whatever you think about motorways vs bypasses both are better than sending heavy traffic through congested town centres they don’t want to go through.

prunudo wrote: »
    This the same Emaon Ryan that has contributed to the delay in getting Metrolink built because he facilitated south Dublin residents in objecting against it going through their neighbourhood's?

Probably. The greens are totally class hypocrites.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

I honestly think Eamon is a fecking muppet the way he goes on sometimes, we dont need motorways everywhere but we do need a motorway network to be able to cover the links between major cities. Atm that network mainly radiates out of Dublin to the other cities and the North West is definately poorly connected compared to the rest of the country. Sometimes he really comes out with utterly stupid statements sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

the Cork - Limerick motorway is absolutely essential , very big population in the hinterland never mind the commercial advantages of a direct route , current route is awful

its a pity the M18 was built as it was not necessary , population North of Galway is very small and there already was a motorway from Gort to Limerick , the road from Gort to Oranmore wasnt even that bad , good and wide , M18 was built first for political reasons , Taoiseach at the time was a Mayo man and the M18 allows people from Claremorris etc to head south quicker

according to wikipedia, we currently have 916km of motorway in ireland; which means we've actually more km of motorway per capita than germany.

motorways in ireland seem to have become an article of faith. motorways = good, more motorways = more good, all the motorways = all the good.

I think the m20 is needed. Maybe something to Sligo.

Then that’s it. There is no need for a M24. A better road, yes, a motorway no.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

We don’t always need motorways but some of our N roads need to be updated and part of that should be adding regular overtaking lanes / sections.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Packrat

Which is appropriate given how dispersed our population is by comparison with Germany.

That's about as relevant as how littlw/much of our CO2 emissions come from car manufacturing...

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Once you get past the headline this statement isn’t all that controversial and money spent on new motorways would be better spent on improving public transport.

But, until the planners and councillors start approving higher density housing it’s moot.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Eamon on the money again. Rural Ireland wont be happy till the whole country is tarmac however.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

BREAKING NEWS - no dublin bus routes use motorways, completed or yet to be built*

*citation required

The 142 uses the M1 from Holywell, through the Port Tunnel all the way to the Docklands. A glorious 10 km on the motorway at 60 km/h.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

BREAKING NEWS - no dublin bus routes use motorways, completed or yet to be built*

*citation required

The 142 uses the M1, the 145/155/46a/39a all use the N11, the 84x uses the M11

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭FoFo1254122

eamon ryan lives in dundrum in dublin
    and he has four children and before entering politics he used to run a travel company.
    what resources of the planet has he used up? whats his carbon footprint?
    he is also on record for using the n word - how does that even happen? whats going through your head to come out with that.
    And remember he fell asleep in the dail when they were debating a motion on workers rights. poor matty mcgrath did the same and was destroyed by the media for it- but not our man eamon. he justs a better person then matty mcgrath. there is no hypocrisy to eamon ryan just ask the people from Shell to Sea.
    and to top it off he is a career politician who believes rural ireland should foot ALL the cost to transition to this new green utopia his party promises.

how anyone in rural ireland votes for a green candidate is beyond me - they will fill our landscape with turbines and solar panels, they will make us poorer by not giving us the infrastructure we need to grow economically, they will destroy the agricultural sector.
    all the government do is invest mainly in the big cities and large towns and obviously the jobs follow.
    then rural people travel to and from rural areas to work in those places but if the road infrastructure is poor, fuel is expensive, there is no reliable rail/bus option, there is a sincere lack of housing in their rural area which makes even renting a very expensive option, then those people move permanently to where the jobs are.
    and remote working is not going to fix that problem because the only homes being built in rural ireland are one offs where planning is very restricted and social housing estates. which is nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 989 ✭✭✭ineedeuro

We don’t need motorways, we need huge investment in a rail system. Every other country in the world has a decent rail system yet in ireland we have an awful one….

People should stop demanding a road to get them faster to the traffic jam and demanding a rail system to glide past it in comfort

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

how anyone in rural ireland votes for a green candidate is beyond me - they will fill our landscape with turbines and solar panels, they will make us poorer by not giving us the infrastructure we need to grow economically, they will destroy the agricultural sector.

They don't vote for the Greens in rural Ireland! Only us pampered city folk.
    Also we need to look beyond growing economically being the be all and end all of everything, the world is finite.
    I am looking forward to the next Government as the Greens will be gone, just to see who people will blame for carbon taxes and climate policy then. It was FG who signed up to the Paris Agreement and brought in carbon taxes but Eamon and the Greens get the blame for all this.
    Who will rural Ireland blame for all their woes when the Greens are gone? Climate change policies aren't going to go away just because the Greens are no longer in Gov.

Packrat wrote: »
    Which is appropriate given how dispersed our population is by comparison with Germany.

That's about as relevant as how littlw/much of our CO2 emissions come from car manufacturing...

Our population is not dispersed

eamon ryan lives in dundrum in dublin
    and he has four children and before entering politics he used to run a travel company.
    what resources of the planet has he used up? whats his carbon footprint?
    he is also on record for using the n word - how does that even happen? whats going through your head to come out with that.
    And remember he fell asleep in the dail when they were debating a motion on workers rights. poor matty mcgrath did the same and was destroyed by the media for it- but not our man eamon. he justs a better person then matty mcgrath. there is no hypocrisy to eamon ryan just ask the people from Shell to Sea.
    and to top it off he is a career politician who believes rural ireland should foot ALL the cost to transition to this new green utopia his party promises.

all the government do is invest mainly in the big cities and large towns and obviously the jobs follow.
    then rural people travel to and from rural areas to work in those places but if the road infrastructure is poor, fuel is expensive, there is no reliable rail/bus option, there is a sincere lack of housing in their rural area which makes even renting a very expensive option, then those people move permanently to where the jobs are.
    and remote working is not going to fix that problem because the only homes being built in rural ireland are one offs where planning is very restricted and social housing estates. which is nice.

All the solar panels, wind farms etc was given planning when the greens where not in government. The Paris agreement was signed when the Greens where not in government

Maybe you need to look at someone else to blame