Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpaid leave in public sector

Options
  • 28-06-2021 3:23pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi, this is currently a very hypothetical question, just to clarify. I work full time in the public sector in a multi-disciplinary team. I would like to reduce my days to 4, maybe even 3, ideally through negotiating unpaid leave rather than changing my contract, in case I want to go back to full time.

My predecessor in the team didn't work full time, and I am currently the only team member who actually works 5 days a week (I say that to highlight that flexible working is the norm). Having this conversation with a colleague in the same discipline earlier, they mentioned that unpaid leave, in this manner, is only granted in the form of parental leave, and non-parental leave isn't granted as our discipline is "too valuable" and we're needed full-time unless we are taking parental leave. We can take unpaid leave in bulk sections (i.e. a couple of weeks at a time), but not in smaller chunks, like a day a week.

I do not have children, so stand to be denied flexible working if I were to request it, despite all others on my team (including those in the same discipline) having the option because they have children. Just wondering if anyone has ever experienced a situation like this, and how it was dealt with?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭maneno

Faith wrote: »